Montreal 375 Feiern

Sommer am Fuße des Mount Royal / Foto: Tourismus Montreal

Montreal ist eine der aufregendsten, romantischsten und modischsten Städte Kanadas - und auch eine der ältesten. Während der Rest Kanadas 150 feiert, bereitet sich Montreal, diese noble alte Dame, auf - warte darauf - 375 vor!

Die Feierlichkeiten in Montreal 375 sind ein großartiges Erlebnis für Besucher aus ganz Kanada.

WestJet hat gerade Pläne angekündigt, die Anzahl der wöchentlichen Flüge zwischen Montreal und Vancouver zu verdoppeln und die Flüge von Calgary von 14 auf 19 pro Woche zu erhöhen. Die Fluggesellschaft führt ab dem 15. März einen neuen, zweimal täglich verkehrenden Service zwischen Montreal und Halifax ein. Später im Jahr wird es zweimal täglich Verbindungen zwischen Montreal und Boston geben.

Egal, ob Sie mit der Familie reisen, eine kleine Romantik mit Mama und Papa planen oder einfach nur auf dem Weg zu oder von den Maritimes unterwegs sind, hier ist unsere Zusammenfassung der Ereignisse in diesem Jahr in Montreal:

Das ganze Jahr

Speicherstadt: Cité Mémoire ist ein von Künstlern selbst geführter Rundgang, bei dem Sie die Geschichte Montreals anhand einer Reihe von Projektionen rund um die Altstadt von Montreal erleben können. Laden Sie die App herunter und erleben Sie KOSTENLOS ein aufregendes Multimedia-Erlebnis. Vergessen Sie nicht Ihre Kopfhörer. Top-Auswahl: „Suzanne“, eine Liebesgeschichtenprojektion auf dem Clock Tower Quay, die vom verstorbenen Leonard Cohen zum Lied gesetzt wurde.

Montreal 375 Feiern, Memory City selbst geführte Tour

Memory City: eine ganzjährige, selbst geführte Tour für Montreal 375 / Photo: Tourismus Montreal

Winter

Les Hivernales (Februar) ist eines der Wahrzeichen von Montreal 375. Zu den Veranstaltungen gehört ein aufregender Zuschauersport, Die Montreal Ice Canoe Challenge (Februar 11. 12th). Auschecken Igloofest (Wochenenden bis 19. Februar), eine elektronische Tanzparty im Freien bis spät in die Nacht. In diesem Jahr hat Igloofest zu Ehren von Montreal 375 Programme für die ganze Familie hinzugefügt.

Montreal und Lumière (Februar 23rd bis März 11th). Mit mehreren erstklassigen Sponsoren Montreal und Lumiere ist ein riesiges Festival, bei dem es hauptsächlich um Essen und Kultur geht (die diesjährige Stadt ist die französische Essenshauptstadt Lyon). Es ist viel los, aber wenn Sie mit Kindern reisen, besuchen Sie die Milk Family Fun Zone auf der Esplanade de la Place des Arts für kostenlose Outdoor-Aktivitäten wie das Air France-Riesenrad, eine Mini-Rutsche und einige großartige Gourmet-Kioske .

Illuminart (Februar 22nd bis März 11th): Illuminart präsentiert eine kostenlose Präsentation der öffentlichen Lichtkunst im Freien. Packen Sie diese 3.6-Strecke mit interaktiven 25-Leuchtanzeigen zusammen und machen Sie einen Spaziergang.

Pink FloydThe Opera: (März 11th-24th) Ein weiterer Stein in der Mauer: Die Oper basiert auf Pink Floyds wegweisendem Konzeptalbum von 1979 Die Mauer. Die Oper ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Opera de Montreal und Roger Waters von Pink Floyd. Dies wird die Weltpremiere der Produktion sein, und ja, Waters wird als Librettist dabei sein!

Feder

Giant Marionnettes in Montreal - ein spannender Teil der Montreal 375-Feierlichkeiten

Riesenmarionetten (Mai 19-21) / Foto: Tourismus Montreal

Brückenbeleuchtung: Montreals genauer Geburtstag fällt auf 17. Mai - der Tag im Jahr 1642, an dem französische Missionare zum ersten Mal an Land kamen. Am 17. wurde der Jacques-Cartier-Brücke wird mit Tausenden von LED-Lichtern beleuchtet und danach wird die Brücke jeden Monat eine andere Farbe anzeigen. Die Jacques-Cartier-Brücke ist eine der großen Ingenieurleistungen des 20. Jahrhunderts, aber auch eine Ikone und ein Wahrzeichen von Montreal, die täglich von Pendlern genutzt wird, um den Sankt-Lorenz-Strom zu überqueren.

Der neue Fort Ville-Marie-Pavillon von Pointe-à-Callière (Ab 17. Mai): Die Pointe-à-Callière Museum ist eine nationale historische Stätte, die an der Stelle errichtet wurde, an der Montreal ursprünglich als Fort Ville-Marie gegründet wurde. Am 17. Mai wird das Museum einen neuen Pavillon eröffnen, Fort Ville-Marie. Das Museum restauriert auch die Sammler-KanalisationDieses restaurierte Abwassersystem gilt als Meisterwerk des Bauingenieurwesens und wird den neuen Fort Ville-Marie-Pavillon über einen unterirdischen Tunnel mit dem Hauptmuseum verbinden, das erste seiner Art, das 1832 und 1838 in Kanada gebaut wurde.

Riesige Marionetten (19. bis 21. Mai): Produziert von der französischen Straßentheatergruppe Royal de Luxe. “Die GigantenWird um Montreal herumziehen. Die Locations sind noch ein Geheimnis! Die Royal de Luxe Shows sind eine weltweite Sensation und versprechen viele Überraschungen. Dies ist eine einmalige Show.

Summer

Neues Freilichtmuseum: Walk for Peace (Mai 29th bis Oktober 27th): MDie Sherbrooke Street von ontreal wird zu einem KOSTENLOSEN Freilichtmuseum und lädt alle ein, an einem „gehe für den Frieden„Durch über 67 Kunstwerke, die den Geist der historischen Expo67 in Montreal widerspiegeln: Menschlichkeit, Toleranz und Offenheit.

Kostenloses Montréal Symphonique Konzert am Fuße des Mount Royal (19. August): Präsentiert am Fuße des Mount Royal, KOSTENLOS Musikleistung wird Montréals drei große Orchester zusammenbringen: das Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, das Orchestre Métropolitain und das McGill Symphony Orchestra. Bringen Sie ein Picknick und Sonnencreme mit!

Fallen

Leonard Cohen Montreal 375

Leonard Cohen: Ein Riss in allem (Nov 2017 - April 2018) / Foto: Tourismus Montreal

Leonard Cohen Ausstellung im MAC Museum (9. November bis 1. April 2018): Es gibt einfach keine Möglichkeit, einer so weltweiten Ikone wie dem Songwriter und Dichter Leonard Cohen aus Montreal eine Hommage zu erweisen, aber  Leonard Cohen: Ein Riss in allem  im Musée d'Art Contemporain de Montréal (MAC) wird es versuchen.

 

Montreal 375 QUebec

Worauf wartest du? Montreal 375 wird die Party des Jahrhunderts sein!

Move Over, Canada, Montreal is Way Older! (And There’s a Year-Long Party to Celebrate)

Montreal 375 celebrations

Summer at the foot of Mount Royal/Photo: Tourism Montreal

Montreal is one of Canada’s most exciting, romantic and fashionable cities – and it’s also one of the oldest. So, while the rest of Canada celebrates 150, Montreal, that classy old lady, is gearing up for – wait for it- 375!

The Montreal 375 celebrations translate into a great experience for visitors from all over Canada.

WestJet has just announced plans to double its number of weekly flights between Montreal and Vancouver, and increase its flights from Calgary from 14 to 19 per week. The airline is also introducing a new, twice-daily service between Montreal and Halifax, beginning March 15th. Later in the year, it will add twice-daily service between Montreal and Boston.

Whether you’re travelling with the family, planning a little Mom n’ Dad weekend romance, or just passing through on the way to or from the Maritimes, here’s our round-up of what’s happening this year in Montreal:

Year-Round

Memory City: Cité Mémoire is an artist-created self-guided walking tour that allows you to experience Montreal’s history through a series of projections around Old Montreal. Download the app to experience an exciting multimedia experience for FREE. Don’t forget your headphones. Top pick: “Suzanne”, a love story projection on the Clock Tower Quay set to the song by the late Leonard Cohen.

Montreal 375 celebrations, Memory City self-guided tour

Memory City: a year-round self-guided tour for Montreal 375/Photo: Tourism Montreal

Winter

Les Hivernales (February) is one of the landmark festivals of Montreal 375. Events include a thrilling spectator sport, The Montreal Ice Canoe Challenge (February 11-th 12th) . Check out Igloofest (weekends until February 19th), a late night outdoor electronic dance party. This year, Igloofest has added programming for the entire family in honour of Montreal 375.

Montreal en Lumière (February 23rd to March 11th). With multiple top-notch sponsors, Montreal en Lumiere is a huge festival that’s mostly about food and culture (this year’s featured city is the French food capital of Lyon). There’s plenty going on, but if you’re travelling with kids, head to the Milk Family Fun Zone on the Esplanade de la Place des Arts for free outdoor activities like the Air France ferris wheel, mini-slide, and some great gourmet food kiosks.

Illuminart (February 22nd to March 11th): Illuminart presents a free display of outdoor public light-art. Bundle up, and take a stroll around this 3.6 kilometre circuit of 25 interactive light displays.

Pink FloydThe Opera: (March 11th-24th) Another Brick in the Wall: The Opera is based on Pink Floyd’s 1979 seminal concept album The Wall. The Opera is a collaboration between Opera de Montreal and Pink Floyd’s Roger Waters. This will be the world premiere of the production, and yes, Waters will be there, as a librettist!

Spring

Giant Marionnettes in Montreal - an exciting part of the Montreal 375 celebrations

Giant Marionettes (May 19-21)/Photo: Tourism Montreal

Bridge Lighting: Montreal’s exact birthday falls on May 17th – the day in 1642 when French missionaries first came ashore. On the 17th, the Jacques-Cartier Bridge will be lit with thousands of LED lights, and each month thereafter, the bridge will display a different colour. The Jacques Cartier Bridge is one of the great engineering feats of the 20th century, but it’s also a Montreal icon and landmark, used daily by commuters to cross the Saint Lawrence River.

Pointe-à-Callière’s New Fort Ville-Marie Pavilion (Starting May 17th): The Pointe-à-Callière Museum is a National Historic Site is built on the site where Montreal was originally founded as Fort Ville-Marie.  On May 17th, the museum will open a new pavilion, Fort Ville-Marie. The museum is also restoring the Collector Sewer, the first of its kind to be built in Canada in 1832 and 1838. This restored sewer system is considered  masterpiece of civil engineering, and will connect the new Fort Ville-Marie pavilion to the main museum facility via an underground tunnel.

Giant Marionnettes (May 19th to 21st):  Produced by the French street theatre group Royal de Luxe, “The Giants” will parade around Montreal. The locations are, as of yet, a secret! The Royal de Luxe shows are a worldwide sensations, promising a plenty of surprises. This is a once-in-a-lifetime show.

Summer

New Open-Air Museum: Walk for Peace (May 29th to October 27th): Montreal’s Sherbrooke Street will turn into a FREE open-air museum, inviting everyone to join in a “walk for peace” through over 67 artworks reflecting the spirit of Montreal’s historic Expo67: humanness, tolerance and openness.

Free Montréal Symphonique Concert at the Foot of Mount Royal (August 19th): Presented at the foot of Mount Royal, this FREE musical performance will bring together Montréal’s three great orchestras: the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, the Orchestre Métropolitain, and the McGill Symphony Orchestra. Bring a picnic and some sunscreen!

Fall

Leonard Cohen Montreal 375

Leonard Cohen: A Crack in Everything (Nov 2017- April 2018)/Photo: Tourism Montreal

Leonard Cohen Exhibit at MAC Museum (November 9 to April 1, 2018): There’s just no way you can fully pay homage to such a worldwide icon as Montreal’s songwriter and poet Leonard Cohen, but  Leonard Cohen: A Crack in Everything  at the Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal (MAC) is going to try.

 

Montreal 375 QUebec

What are you waiting for? Montreal 375 is going to be the party of the century!

 

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. February 20, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *