一天和一夜,在基米内克托角省立公园徒步旅行

早晨凉爽阴沉。 我丈夫丹尼斯和我坐在树林小屋前的一个小甲板边上,在早晨潮湿的寒冷中抓着像塑像一样的薄塑料杯。 我们凝视着灌木丛和树梢,突然伸入芬迪湾的土地深灰色的手指,它同样灰暗,但像油画一样质地粗糙。 一块浓密的半透明的薄雾笼罩在它们身上,像纱布一样。 在手指的前方,塑造Advocate Harbour的大片土地才能辨认出来。

从Chignecto省立公园的客舱的早晨视图。 照片提供 HikeBikeTravel.com

我们抓住对方的眼睛,对我们正在蒸制的速溶咖啡咧嘴笑。 这是一个忧郁的看法,但我们赢了。

这一切是如何开始

几年前我们开始在露营地露营,在那里我的父母保留了一辆拖车,然后迅速毕业去其他地方露营。 我们也开始徒步旅行 - 首先是露营,然后在家里一日游,尝试不同的路线。 最终,我们准备好尝试 远足露营.

决定去哪里

我们选择了 海角Chignecto省立公园 在新斯科舍省的West Advocate Harbour,因为我们之前曾经在那里徒步,并且对地形感到舒适。 它还提供沿路的铺位,减轻我们必须携带的负担。


虽然公园拥有为期三天的52km环路,但我们计划了一晚的行程。 我们选择了米尔布鲁克峡谷小径的第一个8.5km腿到Arch Gulch的小屋,并预留了四个铺位中的一个。

准备好

在接下来的几周里,我们贪婪地使用YouTube视频和关于“粗加工”的文章。一旦我们想出如何将枕头滚入我们的睡袋,我们练习打包背包,发现必需品容易适应。

但是,我们并没有购买登山鞋,这是我们最大的错误。 尽管我们一直在处理更艰难的步伐,但我们坚持我们的运动鞋没有问题,但他们没有提供必要的支持来承载这么长时间的负荷。 菜鸟错误!

的线索

我们在中午之后抵达红岩入口处,登记入境并从沙滩上开始步行。 几分钟后,我们进行了定期的仪式,从现有的海滩木材中宣称我们的“拐杖”。 它们是我们曾经使用过的最具异国情调的手杖,光滑而滑腻。

在Chignecto省立公园的海滩上陡峭的楼梯。 照片提供:<a href="https://www.hikebiketravel.com/extreme-silence-solo-backpacking-trip-cape-chignecto-park/"> HikeBikeTravel.com </a>

在Chignecto省立公园的海滩上陡峭的楼梯。 照片提供 HikeBikeTravel.com

海滩有点跋涉,但我们设法找到悬崖上的楼梯没有太多问题。 具有讽刺意味的是,我认为这些65楼梯是徒步旅行中最艰难的部分,尽管路径本身由许多“起伏”构成。小径穿过树林,但也有许多美丽的海滨景色。

我们在溪边停下来收集水,这需要进行一些包装重组和关于脚磨擦的严肃谈判。 我们清楚地标记了溪水,以确保我们在煮沸之前不喝它。

当我们在傍晚的阳光下从客舱出现在100m附近的外屋时,我从未更加高兴地看到它 - 不仅因为我需要它,而且因为它离我们睡觉的地方相对较近。

我们在下午晚些时候抵达机舱,大约在我们开始三个小时后。 在享受了我们的牛皮纸晚餐并交换了上述足部摩擦之后,我们探索了一下,在没有我们的装备的情况下走了几公里。 当我们回到客舱时,夜幕正在降落。

海角Chignecto省立公园拱峡谷小屋 - 探险顾问

这张在Chignecto省立公园的Arch Gulch Cabin照片由TripAdvisor提供

完整的圆

这就是我们如何在一个有雾的早晨观看芬迪湾灰色的灰色。 徒步返回的速度更快,轻载和轻微的线索知识。 几个小时后,回到这座城市,感受几乎就像是一场梦。 今年夏天,我们期待更长的时间进入树林。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

A Day, and a Night, Hiking In Cape Chignecto Provincial Park

The morning is cool and overcast. My husband Dennis and I are perched on the edge of a small deck in front of a cabin in the woods, clutching thin plastic mugs like talismans against the damp chill of the morning. We’re gazing over shrubs and treetops to the dark grey finger of land jutting out into the Bay of Fundy, which is equally grey but textured like an oil painting. A dense, translucent mist hangs over them both like gauze. In front of the finger, the wisps of land that shape Advocate Harbour are just discernible.

 

Morning view from the Cabin in Cape Chignecto Provincial Park. Photo courtesy HikeBikeTravel.com

 

We catch each other’s eyes and grin over our steaming instant coffees. It’s a melancholy view, but one we’d earned.

How It All Began

We’d started camping a few years before at the campground where my parents keep a trailer, then quickly graduated to camping elsewhere. We also started hiking – first while camping, then by taking day trips from home to try different trails. Eventually, we felt ready to try hike-in camping.

Deciding Where to Go

We chose Cape Chignecto Provincial Park in West Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia because we’d hiked there before and were comfortable with the terrain. It also offers bunks along the trail, lightening the load we’d have to carry.


Although the park boasts a three-day, 52km loop, we planned a single night’s trip. We chose the first 8.5km leg of the Mill Brook Canyon Trail to the cabin at Arch Gulch and reserved one of the four bunks.

Getting Ready

In the following weeks, we voraciously consumed YouTube videos and articles about “roughing it.” We practised packing our backpacks and found the essentials were easily accommodated, once we figured out how to roll our pillows into our sleeping bags.

We did not buy hiking boots, however, which was our biggest mistake. Even though we had been tackling tougher trails we’d stuck to our sneakers without issue, but they did not provide the necessary support for carrying a load for so long. Rookie mistake!

On the Trail

We arrived at the Red Rocks entrance a little after noon, checked in and hit the trail starting on the beach. A few minutes in, we conducted our regular ritual of claiming our ‘walking sticks’ from the available beach wood. Smooth and creamy, they were some of the most exotic walking sticks we’d ever used.

Steep stairs off the beach at Cape Chignecto Provincial Park. Photo courtesy <a href="https://www.hikebiketravel.com/extreme-silence-solo-backpacking-trip-cape-chignecto-park/">HikeBikeTravel.com </a>

Steep stairs off the beach at Cape Chignecto Provincial Park. Photo courtesy HikeBikeTravel.com

The beach was a bit of a trudge, but we managed to find the stairs up the cliff without much issue. Ironically, I think those 65 stairs were the toughest part of the hike even though the trail itself consisted of many “ups and downs.” The trail wound through the woods, but there were also many beautiful coastal views.

We stopped at a brook to collect water, which required a bit of pack reorganisation and serious negotiations pertaining to foot rubs. We clearly labelled the brook water to ensure we didn’t drink it before we boiled it.

When we came upon the outhouses located about 100m from the cabin in the late afternoon sun, I had never been happier to see one – not only because I needed it, but also because it was relatively close to where we’d be sleeping.

We arrived at the cabin in the late afternoon, about three hours after we started. After enjoying our Kraft Dinner and exchanging the aforementioned foot rubs, we explored a bit, walking a couple kilometres further down the trail without our gear. Night was just falling as we arrived back at the cabin.

Cape Chignecto Provincial Park Arch Gulch Cabin –TripAdvisor

This photo of Arch Gulch Cabin in Cape Chignecto Provincial Park is courtesy of TripAdvisor

Full Circle

And that is how we came to view the greys-upon-greys of the Bay of Fundy on a misty morning. The hike back went a bit quicker, with lighter loads and a slight knowledge of the trail. Hours later, back in the city, the experience felt almost like a dream. This summer, we look forward to a longer trek into the woods.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *