fbpx

為Airstream Safari狂野奔跑:一款帶有迷人歷史的酷露營

Airstream Safari 1956孩子們跳海岸谷和工藝露營地,紐基康沃爾照片海倫Earley

紐奎康沃爾郡沿海谷地和工藝品露營地的1956 Airstream Safari野生動物園/ photo:Helen Earley

去年夏天,我們住在衝浪鎮 康沃爾紐奎,拜訪家人時,我們親愛的朋友,一家四口人,宣布他們要到西南部去看望我們。 作為夏季的高峰,酒店或Air BnB酒店數量極少,但他們最終找到了住處,結果發現這裡是康沃爾郡最酷的小點: 沿海谷營地和工藝品.

他們的實際住宿? 不是一個營地,或一個小屋,但一個非常酷 1956 Airstream Safari 儘管經歷了徹底的現代化改造,它像本世紀中葉的太空船一樣閃閃發光,在60年代它的鉚接鋁外表面保持不變。


我非常喜歡看到我的朋友們,並且渴望花時間接近這個冷靜的遺物(我從未真正碰過Airstream),所以我說服了孩子們,我們也會在這裡過夜。 停在英國最喜歡的目錄零售商 雅高 (如果你記得 '消費者分佈',你有正確的想法),我們買了一個便宜的“3-man”帳篷,有些睡袋隨後乘坐出租車前往海岸谷營地。 順便說一句,這是2017“年度廁所“根據他們的網站獲獎。 去野營的另一個原因!

在1956 Airstream面前就像坐在一位非常古老,非常優雅的1950電影明星旁邊。 我們感到不得不尊重她,讓自己和孩子只進行短暫訪問,確保我們的鞋子被移走,雙手清潔。

沿海谷野營康沃爾郡

敬酒於中世紀時尚的風格; 與Airstream相鄰就像是在一個非常古老,非常優雅的1950電影明星/寫真:Molly Neeb

當孩子們在甲板上玩耍的時候,我們就在我們出生很久的時候出生在這個美麗的東西上, 這是對旅行,冒險和時尚中世紀風格的激情的證明。

當葡萄酒流了出來,太陽開始落下的時候,我們思考著這個令人難以置信的機器 - 一個真正的美國偶像 - 最終在康沃爾郡的一片田野裡結束了嗎? 她去過哪裡? 在她令人驚嘆的21st世紀裝修之前,她原來的內飾是什麼樣的?

1956 Airstream safari室內裝修

我們沒有找到所有這些問題的答案,但有一個線索是附近的皇家空軍基地, 聖Mawgan是第二次世界大戰前美國空軍和美國海軍的重要裝置,直到2009,並且是許多美國軍人家庭的家園。 也許這些軍人家族中有一個擁有Airstream?

我們在大篷車裡找到一本很棒的書: 氣流 - 土地遊艇的歷史, 由布賴恩布克哈特和大衛亨特,並在封面上是一個女人的照片應用她的口紅在鋁的反射。

陸地遊艇的氣流歷史

的封面 氣流 - 土地遊艇的歷史 Burkhart和Hunt / Amazon.ca

曾經的冒險家們,我們無法抗拒重新創造這個鏡頭的誘惑!

Airstream Safari口紅攝影:Kate Green和Helen Earley

當你留在氣流中時誰需要口袋裡的鏡子?/照片:Helen Earley

當我回到家時,我對Airstream本身做了一些研究,並很快被帶到了Airstream的創始人Wally Byam,後者綽號為“拖車旅行的馬可波羅”。

沃利Byam

圖片: Airstream.com

Byam出生於1896,並開始在1920中製作旅行預告片,雖然我們今天知道的標誌性氣流是1936製作的'The Clipper'。 隨著拖車的普及,北美氣流愛好者決定組建一個大篷車俱樂部The 沃利Byam大篷車俱樂部 (WBCCI)在1955。 (有趣的是,我作為一位新斯科舍人,其創始人的位置是肯塔基州的肯特維爾!)

不久之後,Byam開始為他的成員組織異國情調的集體公路旅行,或者“Airstream Caravans” 一件統一的藍色貝雷帽 他們前往歐洲,古巴和墨西哥。 例如,每個大篷車內的角色都已建立,旅途中總是有一位退休的醫生。 儀式如會議圈,有時停放在一個圈內,觀察下一步的決定是民主決定的。 這樣,Byam不僅成為休閒車的創造者,而且成為美國人旅行新文化之父。

圖片: Airstream.com

Byam組織的最令人難以置信的旅行之一是 1959開普敦到開羅,非洲之旅。 任何指責美國人都是窮遊客的人都應該重新考慮這個旅程。

在1959中,36家族的Airstream Caravan(包括106兒童在內的21人)從非洲開普敦到開羅前往非洲12,000英里,其中包括11悲慘的日子,在努比亞沙漠中緩慢地與沙子​​作戰。 這次旅程最初預定三個月,需要七個月才能完成。

最近,這次旅行的錄像被發現在俄亥俄州傑克遜中心的Airstream總部(他們在那裡免費提供) Airstream工廠參觀!),結果在這裡。 承認這次旅行將發生在種族隔離期間,並且評論是其時間的反映(即對“黑暗大陸”的引用),這些素材仍然是道路旅行史上寶貴的教訓! 如果你有幾分鐘的時間,值得看這個非常令人難以置信的紀錄片:

我們在康沃爾遇到的1956 Airstream是否可能是這一非凡旅程的一部分? 誰知道?

可以肯定的是,下次我看到一條閃亮的銀色氣流在公路上被拖走,或者坐在農民的田野上時,我會給予它一種尊重。

回到沿海露營和工藝品,我和孩子們向我們的朋友們道了晚安,並將自己捆綁成薄薄的睡袋,在我們帳篷的寒冷堅硬的地板上一起擁抱。 當我陷入不安的睡眠時,我聽到尼龍上的一聲輕拍。

雨。

雖然冷水淋浴持續了整個晚上,滲入我們的帳篷,但我想到我們的朋友塞進了他們舒適的銀管裡,我希望我今晚也能在Airstream露營。

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Going Wild for the Airstream Safari: A Cool Camper with a Fascinating History

Airstream Safari 1956 kids jumping at Coastal Valley and Crafts Campground, Newquay Cornwall photo by Helen Earley

Kids going wild for the 1956 Airstream Safari at Coastal Valley and Crafts Campground, Newquay Cornwall, UK/ photo: Helen Earley

Last summer, we were staying in the surf town of Newquay, Cornwall, visiting family, when our dear friends, a family of four, announced that they were coming down to the South West to visit us. Being the height of summer, there were very few hotels or Air BnB’s available, but they eventually found accommodation, at what turned out to be the coolest little spot in Cornwall: Coastal Valley Camp and Crafts.

Their actual accommodation? Not a campsite, or a cabin but a seriously cool 1956 Airstream Safari which, despite having undergone a thoroughly modern renovation, shone like a mid-century spaceship, it’s riveted aluminium exterior unchanged in 60 years.


Intrigued, eager to see my friends, and dying to spend time in the proximity of this cool relic (I had never actually touched an Airstream), I convinced the kids that we too would camp for the night. Stopping at the UK’s favourite catalogue retailer Argos (if you remember ‘Consumers Distributing‘, you’ve got the right idea), we bought a cheap “3-man” tent, and some sleeping bags then took a taxi to the Coastal Valley campsite. As an aside, it’s the proud winner of the 2017 “Loo of the Year” awards, according to their website. Another reason to go camping!

Being in the presence of a 1956 Airstream was like sitting next to a very old, very classy 1950’s movie star. We felt compelled to treat her with respect, allowing ourselves and the children only brief visits inside, ensuring that our shoes were removed, hands clean.

Coastal Valley Camping Cornwall

A toast to sleek mid-century style; being next to the Airstream was like being in the company of a very old, very classy 1950’s movie star/photo: Molly Neeb

While the kids played on the deck, we oohed and ahhhed at the beauty of the thing, born long before we were; a testament to the passion for travel, adventure, and sleek mid-century style.

As the wine flowed and the sun began to set, we pondered how this incredible machine – a true American icon – end up in a field in the middle of Cornwall? Where had she travelled? Before her stunning 21st century renovation, what had her original interior been like?

1956 Airstream safari interior renovated

We didn’t find the answers to all these questions, although one clue is that the nearby Royal Air Force base, St. Mawgan, was an important installation for the US Air Force and US Navy from the second world war until 2009, and was home to many American military families. Perhaps one of these military families owned the Airstream?

We found a great book inside the caravan: Airstream – The History of the Land Yacht, by Bryan Burkhart and David Hunt, and on the cover was a photograph of a woman applying her lipstick in the reflection of the aluminium.

airstream history of the land yacht

Cover of Airstream- The History of the Land Yacht by Burkhart and Hunt/Amazon.ca

Ever the adventurers, we couldn’t resist the temptation to recreate the shot!

Airstream Safari Lipstick Photo by Kate Green and Helen Earley

Who needs a pocket mirror, when you’re staying in an Airstream?/Photo: Helen Earley

When I got home, I did a little bit of research into the Airstream itself, and was quickly led to the late Wally Byam, the founder of Airstream, nicknamed the “Marco Polo of trailer travel.”

Byam was born in 1896 and began building travel trailers in the 1920’s, although the iconic Airstream that we know today was made in 1936 as ‘The Clipper’. As the trailers gained popularity, North American Airstream enthusiasts decided to form a caravan club, The Wally Byam Caravan Club (WBCCI) in 1955. (Interestingly for me as a Nova Scotian, the location of its founding was Kentville, NS!)

Soon after, Byam began organising exotic group road trips, or ‘Airstream Caravans’ for his members, who wore a uniform blue beret as they travelled to Europe, Cuba and Mexico. Roles within each caravan were established, for example, there was always a retired doctor on the trip. Rituals such as meeting in a circle, sometimes parking in a circle, were observed, and decisions on where to go next were decided democratically. In this way, Byam became the creator not only of the recreational vehicle but the father of a new culture of travel for Americans.

One of the most incredible trips organised by Byam was the 1959 Cape Town to Cairo, Africa Tour. Anyone who accuses Americans of being poor travellers should look to this journey for a second thought.

In 1959, an Airstream Caravan of 36 families (106 people, including 21 children) travelled 12,000 miles across Africa from Cape Town to Cairo, including 11 harrowing days slowly battling sand in the Nubian desert. The trip, initially scheduled for three months, took seven months to complete.

Recently, footage of the trip was found at Airstream headquarters in Jackson Center, Ohio (where they offer free tours of the Airstream factory!), and the results are here. With the acknowledgement that the trip would have happened during Apartheid, and that the commentary is a reflection of its time (i.e. references to the “dark continent”), the footage remains a valuable lesson in road-trip history! If you have a few minutes, it’s worth watching this quite incredible documentary:

Is it possible that the 1956 Airstream we met in Cornwall was a part of this monumental pan-African journey? Who knows?

What is certain for me, is that next time I see a shiny silver Airstream being towed along the highway, or sitting atop of a farmer’s field, I will give it a nod of respect.

Back at Coastal Camping and Crafts, the kids and I said goodnight to our friends, and bundled ourselves into paper-thin sleeping bags, cuddling together on the cold, hard floor of our tent. As I fell into a restless sleep, I heard a tapping on the nylon.

Rain.

While the cold shower continued through the night and seeped into our tent, I thought of our friends tucked into their cosy silver tube, and I wished that I too was camping in an Airstream tonight.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *