Sault Ste。的家庭指南。 玛丽

Sault Ste。 玛丽 以其出色的捕鱼,在七国集团画家心中的位置以及宇航员罗伯塔·邦达(Roberta Bondar)的出生地而闻名,但您是否将其视为家庭度假的目的地?

这是我为一个美好的假期做的事情,在哪里吃饭和住宿的精选。 认为这是您对Sault Ste。的个人家庭指南。 玛丽!



Do

萨克洛克国家历史遗址 图片Jen Mallia

索尔运河 白鱼岛

允许娱乐性船只通过在苏必利尔湖和休伦湖之间流动的圣玛丽河的锁是美国国家历史遗址,即使您不认为自己是工程学怪胎,也可能会发现整个过程都非常迷人。 世界上第一个电动锁开始在1895中运行。 现在,这是一个有趣的地方,可以观看正在升高和降低的船只,也可以从美国那边乘坐Soo Locks游船游览。

刚通过锁 图片Jen Mallia

Parks Canada的口译员将为您提供游览锁的操作和站点历史的信息。 如果您在周末的下午到访,您将要停下来品尝下午茶(英式早餐和玫瑰茶的独特混合物)以及当地制作的三明治和美味佳肴。 历史悠久的总监住所目前正在改头换面,并将在不久后再次在阳台上提供茶水,目前,茶水是在树冠下提供的。

当您在船闸的地面上时,穿过人行桥进入圣玛丽岛,然后越过另一条路径进入怀特菲什岛,这是一块已经归还给Batchewana第一民族的土地。 这两个岛屿均设有可探索的小径,带给您远离城市的感觉。 如果您喜欢冒险,(并且您的孩子的腿长得足以容纳一辆成人大小的自行车),则可以从运河游客中心租借胖子自行车。

在丛林飞机遗产中心 图片Jen Mallia

加拿大丛林飞机遗产中心

计划花一个小时(或几个小时)来学习和攀爬丛林飞机,这些飞机对于维持加拿大偏远的北部地区的生命至关重要。 该中心位于海滨仓库中,该仓库曾经是安大略省航空局的所在地。 除了30展示飞机外,博物馆还设有一个互动的儿童区,对成年人也很有趣;还有一个飞行模拟器,可为您提供在水上飞机降落的体验。

乘船前往阿川峡谷 图片Jen Mallia

安川峡谷火车之旅

有一个迷恋火车的孩子吗? 您将要检查一下Agawa Canyon Train Tour。 早起,乘坐火车前往阿川峡谷。 机上食堂可让小吃保持稳定供应,而乘餐车旅行是一种令人愉悦的娱乐方式。 一路上,在岩石的加拿大盾牌上传递壮丽的风景。 如果您是七国集团(Group of Seven)的粉丝,那么您过去时可能会认识一些景点。 在火车上行驶大约3小时后,您将有时间漫步在Agawa Canyon。 如果孩子们的裤子里有一些蚂蚁,并且需要移动,可以沿着长长的楼梯欣赏公园的风景,或者悠闲地漫步到赛道两侧的瀑布。

神圣的阿川岩石上的大山猫和骗子米什佩吉约的象形文字 图片Jen Mallia

阿川摇滚象形文字

穿越苏必利尔湖省立公园徒步旅行本身就是一项很棒的活动,参观湖岸岩石上的象形文字使旅行变得更加特别。 徒步旅行到象形文字,描绘了Anishinaabe人的梦想和愿景的图画,这并不是一件容易的事,并且最适合带大孩子(青少年和青少年)的家庭。狭窄而湿滑的人行道只有在苏必利尔湖非常适合时才可使用。平静。 即使您不愿看象形文字的年轻人或大风大雨的日子,也值得去游览公园-距Sault Ste Marie市约135公里。

早餐猪 是该市最受欢迎的早餐和早午餐场所之一。 当地采购的原料,包括在Sunnynook农场饲养的猪。 希望您有一个愿意分享的家庭,因为将选择范围缩小到一个很困难。 早餐肉酱有人吗?

魁北克风味和梅蒂斯风味在菜单上 旅行者小屋旅馆。 在小木屋餐厅里沉醉于Tourtiere,poutine和当地鱼类菜肴。 旅行者号(Voyageurs)位于该市北部,位于Batchawana湾的45分钟处,是前往Agawa Rock途中的便捷停留点。 但是请相信我,大约自己一个孩子的脑袋大小的苹果油条值得一试

意大利人已定居在圣苏特。 玛丽地区已有100多年的历史,本地餐厅是丰富文化遗产的受益者之一。 步行距离河,市中心 独奏 是意大利风格舒适食品的绝佳选择。

预订达美滨水区旁木板路的日落是预订江景房的原因之一 图片Jen Mallia

在此 三角洲海滨酒店 顾名思义,在滨水区地理位置优越。 它在木板人行道上的位置使其非常适合作为沿河漫步的家庭基地,无论是到市政厅和Algoma美术馆外的锁或公园步道。 有个小游泳池可在附近嬉戏,Fluid的露台可欣赏到另一侧的圣玛丽河和密歇根州的美景,以及美味的食物和美味的鸡尾酒。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

A Family Guide to Sault Ste. Marie

Sault Ste. Marie is known for its excellent fishing, its place in the hearts of the Group of Seven painters, and as the birthplace of astronaut Roberta Bondar, but have you considered it as a family vacation destination?

Here are my picks for what to do and where to eat and stay for a fantastic vacation. Consider it your personal family guide to Sault Ste. Marie!



Do

The Sault Lock National Historic Site image Jen Mallia

The Sault Canal and Whitefish Island

The lock that allows recreational watercraft to pass along the St Mary’s River that flows between Lake Superior and Lake Huron is a National Historic Site, and even if you don’t consider yourself an engineering geek, you will likely find the whole thing pretty fascinating. The first electrically powered lock in the world started operating in 1895. Now, it is an interesting spot to watch the boats being raised and lowered—or ride it your self on a Soo Locks Boat Tour from the American side.

Just passing through at the lock image Jen Mallia

Parks Canada interpreters are on hand to give you a tour of the lock operations and history of the site. If you are visiting on a weekend afternoon, you will want to stop for high tea (featuring a unique blend of English Breakfast and rose tea) with locally crafted sandwiches and dainties. The historic Superintendent’s Residence is currently getting a facelift and will be hosting the teas on the porch again shortly, for now, the teas are served under a canopy on the grounds.

While you are on the grounds of the lock, cross the footbridge onto St. Mary’s Island, then another path onto Whitefish Island, which is land that has been returned to the Batchewana First Nation. Both the islands feature trails to explore, giving you the feeling of being far away from the city. If you are feeling adventurous, (and you have kids with legs long enough for an adult-sized bike) you can rent fat bikes from the Canal Visitors’ Centre.

At the Bushplane Heritage Centre image Jen Mallia

Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre

Plan to spend an hour (or a few) learning about–and climbing on–the bush planes that are so integral to sustaining life in Canada’s isolated North. The centre is on the waterfront in a warehouse that was once the home to the Ontario Provincial Air Service. In addition to 30 display planes, the museum houses an interactive children’s area that is also fun for the adults, and a flight simulator to give you the experience of landing on the water in a floatplane.

All aboard for a ride to the Agawa Canyon image Jen Mallia

Agawa Canyon Train Tour

Got a train-obsessed kid? You will want to check out the Agawa Canyon Train Tour. Get up early and ride the rails to the Agawa Canyon. An onboard canteen keeps snacks on steady supply, and trips to the dining car are a pleasant diversion. Along the way, pass stunning scenery on the rocky Canadian Shield. If you are a fan of the Group of Seven, you’ll probably recognise some of the sights as you chug past. After about 3 hours on the train, you’ll have time to stroll through the Agawa Canyon. If the kids have some ants in their pants and need to get moving, head up the long stairway for a view of the park, or take a more leisurely stroll to the waterfalls on either side of the track.

A pictograph of the Great Lynx and trickster Misshepezhieu at the sacred Agawa Rock image Jen Mallia

Agawa Rock Pictographs

Hiking through Lake Superior Provincial Park is a great activity on its own, made all the more special by a visit to the pictographs painted on the lakeshore rocks. Trekking out to the pictographs, which are painted depictions of dreams and visions of the Anishinaabe people, is no easy feat and is best for families with older kids (tweens and teens.) The narrow, slippery footpath is only accessible when Lake Superior is very calm. Even if you have youngsters or a blustery day that precludes seeing the pictographs, a visit to the park is well worth the drive—about 135 km from the city of Sault Ste Marie.

Eat

The Breakfast Pig is one of the most popular breakfast and brunch places in town. Locally sourced ingredients, including pigs raised at Sunnynook Farms. Hopefully, you have a family who is into sharing, because narrowing down the choices to just one is very, very difficult. Breakfast poutine anyone?

Quebecois flavours and Metis flair are on the menu at the Voyageurs’ Lodge and Cookhouse. Indulge in tourtiere, poutine, and local fish dishes in the log cabin dining room. The Voyageurs’ is about 45 minutes north of the city on Batchawana Bay, making it a convenient stop on the way to Agawa Rock. But trust me, the apple fritters that are roughly the size of a toddler’s head are worth the drive on their own

Italians have settled in the Sault Ste. Marie region for over 100 years and the local restaurant scene is one of the beneficiaries of the rich cultural heritage. Walking distance from the river, the downtown Solo Trattoria is an excellent choice for comfort food, Italian style.

Stay

The sunset over the boardwalk beside the Delta Waterfront is one of the reasons to book a river view room image Jen Mallia

The Delta Hotel Waterfront has an excellent location on (as the name implies) the waterfront. Its place on the boardwalk makes it perfect as a home base for riverside strolls, either to the lock or the park trails outside City Hall and the Art Gallery of Algoma. There is a small pool to splash around in, and the patio at Fluid offers great views of the St. Mary’s River and Michigan on the other side as well as yummy food and fun cocktails.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *