多芬诺家庭冲浪冒险 - 潜水服是最糟糕的部分!

在冲浪中短暂停顿了一下,我抓住了我丈夫的眼睛,我们分享了一个笑容 你相信吗? 我们终于找到了一个人人同时享受的活动!

在Tofino Bracey摄影冲浪的家庭

照片Bracey摄影

任何有多个孩子的人都知道想要立刻取悦所有人的努力。 然而,多芬诺长长的沙滩似乎提供了神奇的成分,其中最大的好处是,做娱乐的母亲不是我,而是大自然母亲。 但严肃地说,无论您是在寻找放松还是冒险,Tofino都能满足每个人的需求。 我,我通常是放松,但我的孩子,他们都是关于冒险。 所以,虽然你可能会发现我在上述沙滩之一的安全地点惊讶地看着冲浪者,但对于这次特别的旅行,我有计划加入他们。 我们都计划加入他们。


我从没想过我的家人和我一起去冲浪。 有三个3到8的孩子,还有我的脊髓损伤,冲浪从来没有列出“我们应该尝试的东西”。 当这次旅行首次提出时,我们都很兴奋,但随着它越来越近,我感到神经紧张。 我的意思是,说实话,邻里骑自行车可以延长孩子良好态度的门槛(以及父母的耐心),在海水中3小时用盐水,沙子和 - 最相关的 - 会是什么样的 - 绝对没有想法如何冲浪? 剧透警报:它会很棒!

优先考虑的是保持每个人的温暖。 在夏季,多芬诺的海洋温度介于13和17摄氏度之间,所以清晨时分用于拉扯,拉扯和拉紧我们匹配的黑色和橙色潜水服。 如果你在我们适合的时候走出我们的房间,你会听到咕噜声和嘶哑的声音,惊呼“里面有沙子”“我的还是湿的”和“它必须这么紧吗?”。 但是一旦他们上场,我们都看上去了,准备好前往南切斯特曼海滩。

Darnell家庭在Tofino Bracey摄影冲浪

照片Bracey摄影

教练在前一天晚上或课程当天选择海滩,具体取决于波浪最适合初学者的地方。 看到4脚膨胀让我觉得他们犯了一个错误,但是,不,太平洋冲浪公司的教练向我保证,那些是你学习的浪潮。

Tofino家庭冲浪的Bracey摄影

照片Bracey摄影

优先级二是保证每个人的安全。 安全信息是在沙滩上绘制的,好像它是世界上最大的白板。 虽然我最初担心的是没有人穿救生衣,但教练们解释说我们只是去了腰深水,我们的潜水服非常有活力。 教练的知识和信心缓解了我的焦虑。 如果我对孩子们享受自己有任何担忧,当我看到我的大儿子,我最谨慎的孩子,在他的第一波浪潮中带着最大的笑容 - 他们都做到了!

最重要的是,没有抱怨或打架。 我的孩子们一起快乐地骑在船上,尽管这些课程通常是五岁以上的孩子,但我最小的孩子走到海边甚至一两波。 面部充满了咸水和充满沙子的潜水服,每个人都有一个爆炸,在没有帮助的情况下按照自己的节奏前进。 在我们的课程结束时,我们中的一些人站在我们的董事会上,我们中的一些人正在铺设,但这并不重要; 我们都觉得像冲浪者。 三个小时过得很快,在我们知道之前,是时候离开水了。

妈妈在Tofino Bracey摄影中骑波浪

妈妈在托菲诺骑波浪。 照片Bracey摄影

我从未想过冲浪对于年幼的孩子和轮椅使用者来说是可以接触和娱乐的。 Pacific Surf Co.的教练经验丰富,可以与孩子们轻松互动。 他们提供了所有的设备和潜水服,这意味着我们必须以良好的态度出现。 这一切都是为了一个非常无压力的体验。

让您的家人充分享受冲浪冒险的小贴士

1。 带水和小吃。 在我们听到食物的召唤之前,我们几乎没有把它从水中取出来。 每个人都在挨饿,我担心如果没有小吃,这将是一个漫长而有点吵闹的回程。

2。 利用摄影服务。 我是那种必须有我们冒险的照片证据的妈妈。 在没有我们的手机或相机的情况下花费三个小时拍摄照片是非常自由的。

3。 为一些停工时间做好准备。 在我们上课后,我们五个人都筋疲力尽。 尝试开始一段时间后,让每个人都放松和恢复活力。 如果不出意外,那天晚上你的孩子会睡得好!

4。 有额外的毛巾和更换衣服。 我们的天气阴沉而轻快。 一旦我们离开大海,不久就会感到冰凉。 计划让孩子们快速穿上潜水衣,穿上干衣服,避免冲浪后的崩溃。

我强烈建议你把最后一个放在心上。 我们没有足够快地脱离我们的潜水服,并且通过喋喋不休的牙齿遭受了冲浪后的崩溃。 即便如此,这是一场我们不会很快忘记的冒险。 在托菲诺冲浪可能不属于我们家庭的待办事项清单,但它绝对是您应该添加到您的活动。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

A Family Surfing Adventure in Tofino – The Wetsuits are the Worst Part!

There was a brief pause in the surf in which I caught my husband’s eye, and we shared a smile that said Can you believe it? We finally found an activity that everyone is enjoying at the same time!

Family Surfing in Tofino Bracey Photography

Photo Bracey Photography

Anyone with multiple children knows the struggle of trying to please everyone at once. However, the long, sandy beaches of Tofino seem to offer the magic ingredient with the biggest perk of all being that the mother doing the entertaining isn’t me but Mother Nature. In all seriousness though, there is something for everyone in Tofino whether you are looking for relaxation or adventure. Me, I’m usually about the relaxation but my kids, they are all about the adventure. So, while you might typically find me watching the surfers in amazement from the safety of my spot on one of the aforementioned sandy beaches, for this particular trip, I had plans to join them. We all had plans to join them.


I never thought my family and I would go surfing together. With three children aged 3 to 8, and me with a spinal cord injury, surfing never seemed to make the list of “things we should try”. When the trip was first proposed we were all excited but as it drew closer, I felt the nerves. I mean, let’s be honest, a neighbourhood bike ride can stretch the thresholds of a child’s good attitude (and a parent’s patience), what would it be like in the ocean for 3 hours with salt water, sand and – most relevantly – absolutely no idea how to surf? Spoiler alert: it would be awesome!

Priority one was keeping everybody warm. The temperature of the ocean in Tofino falls somewhere between 13 and 17 degrees Celsius in the summer months so the early morning hours were spent pulling, tugging and zipping up our matching black and orange wetsuits. If you had walked outside our room while we suited up, you would have heard grunts and whiney voices exclaiming “There’s sand in it” “Mine is still wet” and “Does it have to be so tight?”. But once they were on, we all looked the part and were ready to make our way to South Chesterman Beach.

Darnell Family Surfing in Tofino Bracey Photography

Photo Bracey Photography

The beach is selected by the instructors the night before or the day of the lesson depending on where the waves are best for beginners. Seeing the 4-foot swells made me think they had made a mistake but, no, the instructors at Pacific Surf Co. assured me that those are the waves you learn on.

Tofino Family Surfing Bracey Photography

Photo Bracey Photography

Priority two was keeping everyone safe. The safety information was drawn on the sand as though it was the world’s largest whiteboard. Although I was initially concerned that nobody wears lifejackets, the instructors explained that we only go out to waist-deep water and that our wetsuits were very buoyant. The instructors’ knowledge and confidence eased my anxiety. And if I had any worries left about my children enjoying themselves, they were quickly erased when I saw my oldest son, my most cautious child, riding in his first wave with the biggest smile on his face – they all did!

Best of all, there was no complaining or fighting. My boys happily rode on boards together and even though the lessons are generally for children five and up, my youngest took to the ocean and even caught a wave or two. With faces full of salt water and wetsuits full of sand, everyone had a blast, going at their own pace with and without assistance. By the end of our lesson, some of us were standing on our boards and some of us were laying down but it didn’t matter; we all felt like surfers. The three hours went by quickly and, before we knew it, it was time to get out of the water.

Mom riding the waves in Tofino Bracey Photography

Mom riding the waves in Tofino. Photo Bracey Photography

I never thought surfing could be accessible and fun for young kids and a wheelchair user. The instructors at Pacific Surf Co. were experienced and interacted easily with the kids. They provided all of the equipment and wetsuits which meant that we just had to show up with a good attitude. It all made for a very stress-free experience.

Tips to Make the Most out of Your Family Surfing Adventure

1. Bring water and snacks. We barely made it out of the water before we heard the call for food. Everyone was starving and I fear it would have been a long and somewhat whiney drive back to the hotel without snacks.

2. Take advantage of the photography services. I’m the kind of mom that has to have photographic evidence of our adventures. Being able to have the photos while spending three hours without our phones or camera was very freeing.

3. Be prepared for some down time. All five of us were exhausted after our lesson. Try to carve out some time after for everyone to relax and rejuvenate. If nothing else, your kids will sleep well that night!

4. Have extra towels and a change of clothes. Our weather was overcast and breezy. Once we left the ocean it didn’t take long to feel chilled. Plan to get the kids out of their wetsuits and into dry clothes quickly to avoid a post-surf meltdown.

 

I strongly suggest you take that last one to heart. We did not get out of our wetsuits fast enough and did suffer a post-surf meltdown through chattering teeth. Even so, it was an adventure we will not soon forget. Surfing in Tofino may not have been on our family’s to-do list but it is definitely an activity you should add to yours.

 

Codi Darnell lives on the west coast with her husband and three kids. She spends most of her time juggling motherhood with a spinal cord injury and writing about the results. She was recently voted 2018 Vancouver Mom Top Blogger and you can follow her story at www.helpcodiheal.com and on social media Instagram @helpcodiheal and Facebook @helpcodiheal

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *