穿越滑铁卢地区的美食家之行{食谱!}

美食爱好者之旅…..尤其是那些饮食有限制的人!

如果您忍受不耐食物的食物,您将知道吃饭的困难程度。 但这正在迅速改变。 在最近的为期两天的滑铁卢地区三个城市(剑桥,滑铁卢,剑桥)的度假中,我发现了许多可以容忍不宽容的美食店。 许多厨师和业主的建议是:“说出来。 让我们知道您的具体过敏和不耐症,我们将与您合作。 我们需要知道,呼吁我们的顾客可以轻松做到这一点。

Del's意大利厨房锅烤鲑鱼-Photo Melody Wren

德尔的意大利厨房锅烤鲑鱼–照片旋律W

不要只听我的话。 Fat Sparrow Group的共同所有者尼克·本宁格(Nick Benninger)强调说,有两个对食物过敏的女儿,他想“使食物对食物敏感,从而使顾客脱颖而出”。 质量是体验的重要组成部分,“四全冰淇淋”的Ajoa Mintoh说:“我们希望素食主义者感到他们没有错过任何东西。” 在Del's Italian Kitchen,主厨Terry Salmond告诉我:“人们忘了提及他们的过敏症,我们每个月都会为数百名过敏症患者提供服务,因此这是我们业务的重中之重。” 木炭集团市场经理玛丽·特拉弗西(Mary Traversy)表示:“每晚至少有一位客人有严重的过敏反应。 如果是过敏症,我们会照顾您,如果是偏爱,我们会照顾您。”

在这里收获蔬菜比萨的食谱!

考虑到那些鼓舞人心的话,让我带您游览。 在午餐 滑铁卢的炸玉米饼农场 我可以从他们的99%无麸质菜单中点任何东西,这都是一个美味的开始,也是一种难得的享受。 尼克·本宁格(Nick Benninger)在2018年开设塔可农场(Taco Farm)时,他以真实性着手处理墨西哥菜单,并致力于将农场提高到餐桌:“我们每天都新鲜制作的无麸质玉米饼是使我们与竞争区分开来的原因–缺乏防腐剂意味着它们不能很好地保持健康,因此新鲜食用它们很重要,客人也喜欢它。 有时候陈词滥调是好事。” 我吃了无麸质炸鸡,蘸了当地蜂蜜,酸橙汁和龙舌兰酒,还有玉米饼的一面-纯金。

无麸质炸鸡,塔可农场-Photo Melody Wren

塔科农场无麸质炸鸡–照片旋律W

随着蓝天和阳光,冰淇淋自然而然地来到了。  四全冰淇淋 所有者Ajoa Mintah是一位化学工程师,他购买了冰淇淋机,然后在圭尔夫大学修了一个为期一周的冰淇淋制作课程,来自世界各地的人们参加了该活动。 独特,富有创造力和创造力的风味使她可以展示当地美食。 阿霍亚(Ajoa)的大女儿对牛奶敏感,促使她制作纯素和低乳制品的冰淇淋,这样“四全”才是真正的所有人。 我最喜欢的是甜玉米蓝莓和烤草莓大黄。

四人制冰激淋的所有人,阿霍亚·敏托(Ajoah Mintoh)-摄影旋律W

四人制冰淇淋所有人Ajoah Mintoh –摄影Melody Wren

快速更改并刷新后,该在 德尔的意大利厨房。 我吞下了盛在夏季玉米蔗糖,红土豆和芦笋上的泛着托斯卡纳鲑鱼。 根据Salmond厨师的说法,秋季菜单正在扩展,包括更多的无麸质,无乳制品和素食主义者。

第二天早上开始于 圣雅各布农夫市场-一个最受欢迎的农贸市场,摊位上展示着丰收:宝石色调的茄子,辣椒和西红柿。 对于所有美食家和热爱讨价还价的人来说,这都是必须的。 该市场始于1975年,最初是牲畜交易所的附属建筑。

圣雅各布市场上的农产品-摄影旋律W

圣雅各布市场上的农产品–摄影旋律W

圣雅各布的美食宝石!

圣雅各布农贸市场位于伍尔维奇的韦伯街北878号,周四和周六7-3:30开放。 St. Jacobs的市场经理Leanne McGray向我介绍了那些关注饮食限制的购物者的供应商:

谷物丰收面包屋 携带无麸质面包,饼干和正方形。

壁球 在市场上以及在Belmont Village的商店都有Keto零食。

斯科普里(Yvonne),店主的母亲-摄影Melody Wren

斯科特里,伊冯,所有者的母亲–摄影Melody Wren

玛丽亚的面条 携带由无头甘蓝,小扁豆,大米或鹰嘴豆制成的无麸质面食,鹰嘴豆面条的蛋白质含量最高。

摩洛哥美食 含有无麸质的Halva,素食辣辣国王饼,并且非常巧妙地制作出了“无馅的无麸质”馅料,但没有肠衣,因此不含麸质。

凯茜的康普茶 魁北克修道院的僧侣和修女给了他古老的遗传细菌组合发酵剂的礼物,现在却是由各种口味制作的小批量手工制作的康普茶的背后。 无酒精,无麸质和素食主义者,康普茶在古代亚洲被称为“生命的灵丹妙药”,忠实的客户分享了积极的经验。

巧克力 对于任何巧克力迷来说,获得纯巧克力体验都是必不可少的。 巧克力的比例和口味也各不相同,即使饮用的巧克力也占了70%,非常适合现在为寒冷的天气而购买。

千万不要错过 华夫饼屋,提供由店主Richard Bruckeder制作的美味无麸质和素食华夫饼。

背后 玉米粉蒸肉女孩 店主凯西(Kathy)从头开始制作无麸质玉米饼,并选择素食或肉类馅料。 玉米粉蒸肉是新鲜制作的,并填充有牛肉和猪肉的组合或纯素食黑豆馅。 客户还可以购买熟食和冷冻后在家中享用的食物。

tamale女孩,所有者凯西·汉肖-照片旋律W

塔玛莱女孩,主人凯西·汉肖(Kathy Hanshaw)–摄影旋律W

散装无麸质烘焙 来自Harriston的产品包括无麸质和无乳制品的烘焙食品。

Moo Free 是不含乳制品和素食主义者,以杏仁奶,椰奶和燕麦奶为特色。

披萨交界处 在市场大楼中制作无麸质披萨。

英国风味烘焙食品 在Pedlars村,有一个大的无麸质区,并拥有一个独立的厨房,可安全存放Celiacs。

腌鱼传统农场 携带无麸质香肠

看到所有漂亮的产品并在市场上烘烤后,我们准备在 咖啡馆Pyrus, 一个休闲的素食咖啡馆。 一切都是无麸质和素食主义者。 店主Tyzun James谈到开餐馆的想法时说:“基本上,我想要一个可以吃饭的地方,他希望能够提供他的母亲食物,将其作为肉食者享受。 本地制作的豆和本地大豆,如果可以的话,是有机的。 我吃了受欢迎的愤怒的素食主义者,里面有豆eh,鳄梨,朝鲜蓟和融化的不含乳制品的奶酪。 节省空间,使无麸质的饼干和松饼融化在您的嘴中,或者稍后带些零食回家。

下午中午开车经过剑桥,很自然地停在 糖爸爸面包店 请客。 店主Greg Gardner-Orbon和David Orbon于两年前开办了这家面包店,里面有大量的Keto烘焙选择,并且是每天现场烘焙的仅有的几家面包店之一。 充满了所有东西都是100%无麸质,无糖和低碳水化合物的糖果,几乎没有内感。 一切都可以被冻结,因此客户来自远方并存货。

糖爸面包店-Photo Melody Wren

傍大款面包店–照片旋律W

住哪里:

屡获殊荣的 滑铁卢圣智选假日套房酒店雅各布区 在圣雅各布市场对面。 自从COVID-19以来,这是我第一次入住酒店,在阅读了有关清洁协议的网站后,我的担忧很快就消失了。 前台提供个人防护设备套件。 设备齐全的客房可轻松实现自给自足,但是,酒店还设有一个休息室,提供欧陆式早餐。

有关该区域的更多信息: www.explorewaterlooregion.com

收获蔬菜比萨(不含麸质,不含乳糖和素食主义者!)

受到圣雅各布农夫市场上收获的蔬菜的启发,我将这些无麸质,无乳糖的素食比萨汇集在一起​​。 他们是一个巨大的打击,我知道他们将成为我们家中经常出现的一餐,希望您也能成为他们!

成份:

冷冻花椰菜皮

去除茎的波多贝罗蘑菇

茄子,切成1英寸的切片,两面都加盐

西葫芦,切成薄片

番茄帕萨塔(高大罐子或盒子中的纯净和过滤过的西红柿)

新鲜罗勒

方法:

对于烤蔬菜:

擦干已经放置了几个小时的咸茄子以去除苦味后,用香脂和低芥酸菜子油的组合充分调味。

西葫芦,切成薄片,用香醋覆盖。

移去波多贝罗蘑菇的茎,然后用香醋充分刷洗,使其静置至少45分钟

蔬菜应该在烧烤炉上烤至变嫩和变褐色,但是如果天气不佳,也可以在油和香脂的混合物中大量放烤,并在定期烧烤时以400英寸的速度反复放烤。 蔬菜应该嫩而不脆。

关于西葫芦的注意事项:如果您希望西葫芦对小孩子不可见,则将其直接切碎到准备好的面包皮上,即可添加蔬菜而不会大惊小怪。

披萨准备:

将花椰菜皮涂上普通番茄酱,然后在每个披萨中加入切碎的新鲜罗勒

将烤好的蔬菜冷却后,将其撒在比萨饼上,再从冰箱中添加其他兼容的蔬菜。 我经常在照片中的比萨饼上添加一些剩余的烤胡桃木块烤的德利卡塔南瓜。

用不含乳制品的意大利碎马苏里拉奶酪盖上准备好的比萨的顶部,或者,如果您不是素食主义者,则可以先添加山羊奶酪。

根据地壳的方向烘烤。

切成薄片,享受。 如果您可以留下任何剩余的东西,也可以作为剩菜美味!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

A Foodie Road Trip Through Waterloo Region {Recipe!}

A Food-lovers trip…..especially for those with dietary restrictions!

If you live with food intolerances, you will know how hard it can be to eat out.  But that is changing fast.  On a recent 2-day getaway to the three cities of Waterloo Region—Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge—I discovered a host of great food outlets that cater to intolerances.  The advice from many chefs and owners was, “Speak up. Let us know your specific allergy and intolerance and we will work with you.  We need to know, and patrons who call ahead make it easy”  How empowering is that?

Del's Italian Kitchen Pan seared salmon - Photo Melody Wren

Del’s Italian Kitchen Pan seared salmon – Photo Melody Wren

Don’t just take my word.  Nick Benninger, co-owner of the Fat Sparrow Group, emphasized that with two daughters with food allergies he wants to “make the food stand out for the customers with food sensitivities”.  Quality is a big part of the experience, and Ajoa Mintoh of Four All Ice Cream said “we want vegans to feel that they aren’t missing anything.” At Del’s Italian Kitchen, Head chef Terry Salmond told me, “ people forget to mention their allergies and we serve hundreds of people with allergies every month, so it’s a high priority for our business .” And Mary Traversy, Marketing Manager for the Charcoal Group,  shared that “there is at least one guest per night with serious allergies. If it’s an allergy, we will take care of you, and if it’s a preference, we will take care of you.”

Recipe for Harvest Vegetable Pizza Here!

With those encouraging words in mind, let me take you on a tour.  Lunch at Taco Farm in Waterloo was a delicious start and a rare treat as I could order anything from their 99% gluten-free menu. When Nick Benninger opened Taco Farm in 2018, he approached the Mexican menu with authenticity and a focus on boosting farm to table: “Our gluten-free tortillas, made fresh every day,  are the thing that separates us from the competition – a lack of preservatives means they don’t hold up well, so eating them fresh is important, and guests love it. Sometimes clichés are good”. I had the gluten-free fried chicken, smothered in local honey, lime juice and tequila with a side of corn tortillas — pure gold.

Gluten free fried chicken, Taco Farm - Photo Melody Wren

Gluten free fried chicken, Taco Farm – Photo Melody Wren

With blue skies and sunshine, ice cream treats naturally came next.  Four All Ice Cream owner, Ajoa Mintah is a chemical engineer who bought an ice cream maker, then took a one-week ice cream making course at the University of Guelph joining people from all over the world. Unique, inventive and creative flavours allow her to showcase local foods. Ajoa’s oldest daughter has a milk sensitivity prompting her to create the vegan and low dairy ice cream so that Four All really is for all.  My favourites were Sweet Corn Blueberry and Roasted Strawberry Rhubarb.

Four All Ice Cream owner, Ajoah Mintoh - Photo Melody Wren

Four All Ice Cream owner, Ajoah Mintoh – Photo Melody Wren

After a quick change and a refresh,  it was time for dinner at Del’s Italian Kitchen. I devoured the pan-seared Tuscan Salmon served on a bed of summer corn succotash, red potatoes and asparagus. According to Chef Salmond the fall menu is expanding to include more gluten-free, dairy-free and vegan options.

Next morning started at St. Jacob’s Farmer’s Market—a favourite farmer’s market with stalls showcasing the harvest: jewel-toned eggplants, peppers and tomatoes. It is a must for all foodies and those who love a bargain. The market started in 1975 beginning as an adjunct building to the livestock exchange.

Produce at St. Jacob's Market - Photo Melody Wren

Produce at St. Jacob’s Market – Photo Melody Wren

Foodie Gems at St. Jacobs!

St. Jacob’s Farmers Market is located at 878 Weber Street North, Woolwich and is open Thurs and Sat 7-3:30. Leanne McGray, Marketing Manager at St. Jacobs, introduced me to vendors that focus on shoppers with dietary restrictions:

Grain Harvest Bread House carries gluten-free bread, cookies and squares.

The Sconery has Keto treats at the market as well as their store in Belmont Village.

The Sconery, Yvonne, mother of owner - Photo Melody Wren

The Sconery, Yvonne, mother of owner – Photo Melody Wren

Maria’s noodles carries gluten-free pasta made with either kale, lentils, rice or chickpeas, with chickpea noodles having the highest protein content.

Moroccan Cuisine has gluten-free Halva, vegan spicy galette and very cleverly makes “naked samosas” which have all the filling, but no casing, making it gluten-free.

Cathy’s Kombucha was gifted the ancient genetic bacteria combination starter from monks and nuns from a Quebec Monastery and now is behind the small-batch, hand-crafted Kombucha produced in a variety of flavours.  Non-alcoholic, gluten-free and vegan, Kombucha has been referred to as the “elixir of life” in ancient Asia with positive experiences shared by loyal customers.

Chocosol is an essential stop for any chocolate fans for the pure chocolate experience. Ranging in different percentages and flavours, even the drinking chocolate is 70% and perfect to pick up now for the coming cold weather.

Don’t miss Waffle Haus, serving delicious gluten-free and vegan waffles made by Richard Bruckeder, the owner.

Behind The Tamale Girl, owner Kathy makes gluten-free corn tortillas from scratch and has vegan or meat choices for filling.  Tamales are freshly made and filled with a combo of beef and pork or a vegan black bean filling. Customers can also buy them fully cooked and frozen to enjoy at home.

The Tamale Girl, owner Kathy Hanshaw - Photo Melody Wren

The Tamale Girl, owner Kathy Hanshaw – Photo Melody Wren

Scoop It Bulk and Gluten-free baking from Harriston includes gluten-free and dairy-free baked goods.

Moo Free is dairy-free and vegan featuring almond milk, coconut milk and oat milk.

Pizza Junction in the market building makes gluten-free pizza.

Brtish Baked Goods in Pedlars Village has a large gluten-free section boasting a separate kitchen making it safe for Celiacs.

Kippers Heritage Farms carries gluten-free sausages

After seeing all the beautiful produce and baking at the market, we were ready for lunch at Café Pyrus, a casual vegan café.  Everything is gluten-free and vegan.  Tyzun James, owner, talked about his idea behind starting the restaurant “basically I wanted a place that I could eat, and he wanted to be able to serve his mother food that she would enjoy as a carnivore. Locally made tempeh and local soybeans, and when they can, it is organic. I had the popular Angry Vegan with tempeh, avocado, artichoke spread and melted dairy-free cheese. Save space for the melt in your mouth gluten-free cookies and muffins or take some home to snack on later.

Driving home through Cambridge mid-afternoon it was natural to stop in at Sugar Daddies Bakery for a treat.   Owners Greg Gardner-Orbon and David Orbon started the bakery two years ago with a large selection of Keto baking and one of the only bakeries that bake on-site every day. Filled with goodies where everything is 100% gluten-free, sugar-free and low carb, there is little guilt.  Everything can be frozen, so customers come from afar and stock up.

Sugar Daddies Bakery - Photo Melody Wren

Sugar Daddies Bakery – Photo Melody Wren

Where to stay:

The award-winning Holiday Inn Express and Suites Waterloo-St. Jacobs area was across the road from St. Jacob’s market. It was the first time I stayed in a hotel since COVID-19 and any apprehension I had was quickly dashed after reading the website on the cleaning protocols. Personal protective equipment kits are available at the front desk.  Well equipped rooms made it easy to be self-sufficient, however, there is a lounge with continental breakfast included.

More information on the area: www.explorewaterlooregion.com

Harvest Vegetable Pizza (Gluten-free, lactose-free and vegan too!)

Inspired by harvested vegetables from St. Jacob’s Farmer’s market, I pulled together these gluten-free, lactose-free, vegan pizzas. They were such a huge hit I know they will be a regular occurring meal in our home and hopefully yours too!

Ingredients:

Frozen cauliflower crusts

Portobello mushrooms with stems removed

Eggplant, cut into 1-inch slices and salted both sides

Zucchini, cut into long slices

Tomato passata (pureed and strained tomatoes that come in a tall jar or box)

Fresh basil

Method:

For the grilled vegetables:

After wiping off the salted eggplant that has sat for several hours to get rid of the bitter taste, baste liberally with a combo of balsamic and canola oil.

Zucchini, cut into lengthwise thin slices and cover with balsamic vinegar.

Remove stems from portobello mushrooms and brush liberally with balsamic vinegar letting it sit for at least 45 min

The veggies should be grilled on the bbq until tender and browned, but if the weather isn’t cooperating, they could also be basted liberally with a mixture of oil and balsamic and repeatedly basted while roasting at 400” checking regularly.  The vegetables should be tender and not overly crisp.

Note on zucchini: if you prefer the zucchini not to be visible to little ones, grating it directly onto the prepped crust will add a veg without the fuss.

Pizza prep:

Coat  the cauliflower crusts with plain tomato passata and add chopped fresh basil to each pizza

After cooling grilled vegetables, sprinkle them over the pizza base, adding any other veg from your fridge that would be compatible.  I often add pieces of leftover roasted Butternut pieces of roasted Delicata squash as on the pizza in the photo.

Cover the top of the prepared pizza with Dairy-free Italian shredded mozzarella type cheese or if you aren’t vegan, you could add goat feta first.

Bake according to crust directions.

Cut into slices and enjoy.  Delicious as leftovers too if you can leave any behind!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.