托菲諾的自然活動確保溫哥華島上的家庭樂趣

“我可以住在托菲諾,”我15歲的女兒在溫哥華島西海岸的這個小鎮上呆了幾天后宣稱。

我們從基洛納(Kelowna)向西冒險,在霧濛濛的早晨和被雨林環繞的寬闊海灘上,交易了歐肯娜根山谷(Okanagan Valley)的干燥景觀和煙熏天空。 經過幾個月的Covid隔離,溫哥華島是一口新鮮空氣,當我們經過高速公路上的Cathedral Grove時。 4號公路是連接島東海岸的Qualicum海灘和西端的Tofino的大風路-我們處於度假模式。

站立式划槳衝浪是家庭在Tofino 2上下水的好方法_Jeremy Koreski photo

站立式划槳衝浪是家庭在Tofino潛水的好方法。 傑里米·科雷斯基照片

我們回想起過去的假期,並談論我們九年來第一次母嬰之旅中最期待的事情。 托菲諾(Tofino)是喜歡戶外活動的家庭的首選目的地,而我的女兒艾弗里(Avery)無法決定會帶來更多樂趣:衝浪還是 與當地廚師一起覓食蘑菇.

在我們簽到新的 酒店Zed —看看時髦的酒店的迷你迪斯科舞廳,復古的拱廊以及看起來像唐·德雷珀(Don Draper)辦公室的公共區域—她贏得了托菲諾(Tofino)的魅力,而我們甚至都沒有涉足這條主要街道。 但是這個悠閒的小鎮很快就會在我們倆身上發揮作用。

Hotel Zed_Myles Beeby在大廳騎自行車照片

在Zed酒店的大堂騎自行車。 全新的Zed酒店具有鮮豔的色彩,復古的感覺和娛樂設施,包括隱藏的拱廊,非常適合家庭入住。 邁爾斯·比比照片

像當地人一樣探索:騎自行車

Marc Vezina,所有者 TOF循環,第二天早上將多彩的海灘巡洋艦送到酒店。 他給了我們一張地圖,並指示他們在退潮時乘坐它們在附近的切斯特曼海灘。 水退後,用硬包裝的沙子可以很容易地循環到Rosie灣,探索潮汐池和一個只有在潮汐出來時才能進入的洞穴。

這是切斯特曼海灘退潮時沙灘巡洋艦的原意_麗莎·凱丹照片

這是切斯特曼海灘退潮時沙灘巡洋艦的原意。 麗莎·卡丹妮照片

我們在酒店的黃色和綠松石自行車道上闖入巡洋艦,該自行車道一直貫穿大堂,然後沿著與高速公路平行的鋪裝步道踏入城鎮四公里。

我們在Common Loaf Bake Shop買了些健康的吐司,上面夾著果醬和花生醬,還逛了逛出售衝浪式服裝和當地藝術品和珠寶的精品店,然後漫步到Anchor Park,了解Tofino的航海歷史,看到Meares島在偷看我們穿過層霧。 午餐,我們騎車去原來的 Tacofino 食物卡車,吞噬西海岸最好的魚玉米餅。

 報名參加衝浪課程

近年來,托菲諾(Tofino)已成為加拿大衝浪小鎮的聲譽,它可能是加拿大學習如何成功站立在衝浪板上的最佳場所。 那天下午,我們與Vici Wewel的講師會面 衝浪姐姐,這是一所全女子衝浪學校,以使這項運動更容易為婦女和女孩所接受。

Wewel在Cox灣的海灘上貫穿這項運動的基礎知識,該海灘以沙質底部和穩定的粉飾而聞名。

她說:“通過衝浪,您將學會對自己和海洋保持耐心。”

韋維爾通過與艾利(Avery)站在15攝氏度的水中,整個課程(都穿著厚重的潛水服)展示了自己的美德(同時穿著個性化的指尖)。 在我的浮木鱸魚上,似乎用最少的力氣,我的女兒很快就在木板上保持平衡,並隨著海洋的運動而運動。

“我挺好的!” 艾利大喊,臉上掛著微笑。

當她一波又一波地騎著時,我呼吸著鹹的空氣,放鬆下來,聽到海浪和海鷗的聲音。 我們倆都讓海灘充滿活力,為下一次冒險做好準備。

一個有抱負的衝浪姐姐即將在考克斯灣海灘大浪淘沙_Lisa Kadane照片

一個有抱負的衝浪姐姐即將在考克斯灣海灘大浪淘沙。 麗莎·卡丹妮照片

在立式明dle板上與大自然交流

在衝浪開始之前,當地人和遊客與周圍海域聯繫的主要方式是在皮划艇上,最近在划槳板上。 從今年冬天開始,槳板租賃公司 膨脹的托菲諾 即將在Hotel Zed內開設第二個地點,以便客人可以在漲潮時從酒店的碼頭駛入Tofino入口和周圍的鳥類保護區。 它沒有比滑過平靜的水面更寧靜的地方,而一隻大藍鷺在岸邊涉水或白頭鷹俯衝而過。

在古老的雨林中擁抱一棵樹

什麼時候 太平洋沿岸國家公園保護區 於1970年開業,它使Tofino出現在地圖上。 突然,有理由開車到這條路的盡頭,看到廣闊的長灘,其寬闊的沙地新月形以令人愉悅的海馬形狀延伸了16公里。 雖然我們喜歡一個好的海灘,但艾弗里和我都同意公園的明星是相鄰的古老森林。

我們進入熱帶雨林小徑,這是一組由高架木棧道和樓梯構成的兩條短循環小路,可讓您進入高聳的西部紅柏,錫特卡雲杉和鐵杉的堅挺領域。 我們很快被五十種綠色陰影所吞沒,驚嘆於史前的蕨類植物大量生長,霓虹綠色的苔蘚覆蓋著每棵樹幹,令人愉悅的潮濕和腐爛的氣味象徵著健康的森林。 徒步結束時,我們每個人都擁抱了一棵具有800年曆史的雪松樹(在樹須旁邊感覺有點像霍比特人)。

在環太平洋國家公園徒步旅行Reserve_Lisa Kadane照片

在環太平洋國家公園保護區遠足。 麗莎·卡丹妮照片

陶菲諾(Tofino)令人驚嘆的超本地美食

我的女兒是個悲觀主義者,在Tofino的海鮮天堂裡。 我們在這裡品嚐鮭魚雜燴和烤扇貝 祖母 (簡而言之就是Tofino的“複雜的波西米亞風格”的縮寫),廚師Lisa Ahier從當地漁民那裡購買海鮮。

At 狼在霧裡 我們鏟入海藻沙拉,並在雪松汁中淋上烤黑鱈魚。 我們喜歡在酒吧里的酒吧,那裡的調酒師喜歡艾利(Avery),調酒師一直在搖晃她破碎的原始雞尾酒。

我們徘徊在長鰭金槍魚t和泰國咖哩碗裡,裡面塞滿了鱈魚,鮭魚,貽貝和蛤 庇護所餐廳。 嚴重的是,這裡的新鮮魚類和貝類會把任何孩子變成海鮮愛好者。

“食物一直是該鎮關注的重點,因為我們可以在島上獲得當地海鮮和優質農產品,這是有道理的,” Shelter的所有者Jay Gildenhuys說。

在當地廚師保羅·莫蘭(Paul Moran)的覓食課上,我們還直接從海裡吃鹹紫菜,並從森林地上砍下美味的蘑菇蘑菇。 這種自給自足的熱潮是與自然聯繫的另一種方式(並向孩子們傳授更多有關 野生起源 他們的食物)。

經過三天的徒步旅行,騎自行車和吃飽飯,我們回到了托菲諾(Tofino)的懷抱,並完全回到了家。 我們誓言明年夏天回來,甚至可能擴大我們的泡沫,包括父親和弟弟。

與Wild Origins的Paul Moran一起尋找蘑菇

與Wild Origins的Paul Moran一起尋找蘑菇

你去之前就知道了:

負責任地旅行並閱讀托菲諾的 Covid-19信息 在前往小鎮之前。 一些熱門的家庭活動,例如前往溫泉灣的遊覽,目前仍處於關閉狀態。

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

由於使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Tofino’s Nature-Based Activities Guarantee Family Fun on Vancouver Island

“I could live in Tofino,” my 15-year-old daughter declares after just a few days in this tiny town on the west coast of Vancouver Island.

We’ve ventured west from Kelowna, trading the dry landscape and smoky sky of the Okanagan Valley for misty mornings and wide beaches ringed by rainforest. After months of Covid isolation, Vancouver Island is a literal breath of fresh air, and as soon as we pass Cathedral Grove on Hwy. 4 — the windy road that connects Qualicum Beach on the island’s east coast to Tofino on the west — we’re in holiday mode.

Stand-up paddleboarding is a great way for families to get out on the water in Tofino 2_Jeremy Koreski photo

Stand-up paddleboarding is a great way for families to get out on the water in Tofino. Jeremy Koreski photo

We reminisce about past vacations and talk about what we’re most looking forward to on our first mother-daughter trip in nine years. Tofino is a destination for families that like the great outdoors, and my daughter Avery can’t decide what will be more fun: surfing, or foraging for mushrooms with a local chef.

After we check in to the new Hotel Zed — and check out the funky hotel’s mini disco, retro arcade, and common area that looks like Don Draper’s office — she’s won over to Tofino’s charms, and we haven’t even set foot on the main street. But the laidback town will soon work its magic on us both.

Cycling through the lobby at Hotel Zed_Myles Beeby photo

Cycling through the lobby at Hotel Zed. With bright colours, a retro feel and fun amenities, including a hidden arcade, the new Hotel Zed is perfect for families. Myles Beeby photo

Explore like a local: on a bicycle

Marc Vezina, the owner of TOF Cycles, delivers colourful beach cruisers right to the hotel the next morning. He leaves us with a map and instructions to ride them on nearby Chesterman Beach at low tide. After the water recedes, the hard-packed sand makes it easy to cycle all the way to Rosie Bay to explore the tide pools and a cave that’s only accessible when the tide’s out.

This is what beach cruisers are meant to do at low tide on Chesterman Beach_Lisa Kadane photo

This is what beach cruisers are meant to do at low tide on Chesterman Beach. Lisa Kadane photo

We break in the cruisers on the hotel’s yellow-and-turquoise bike path that runs right through the lobby and then pedal the four kilometres into town along a paved trail that parallels the highway.

We hit Common Loaf Bake Shop for wholesome toast slathered with jam and peanut butter, browse boutiques that sell surf-style clothing and local art and jewellery, and wander down to Anchor Park where we learn about Tofino’s nautical history and see Meares Island peeking at us through layers of fog. For lunch, we cycle to the original Tacofino food truck and gobble up the best fish tacos on the west coast.

 Sign up for a surf lesson

In recent years Tofino has gained a reputation as Canada’s surf town, and it’s probably the best place in the country to learn how to stand on a surfboard successfully. That afternoon, we meet up with Vici Wewel, an instructor with Surf Sister, an all-female surf school credited with making the sport more accessible to women and girls.

Wewel runs through the basics of the sport on the beach at Cox Bay, which is famous for its sandy bottom and consistent whitewash.

“With surfing, you learn to be patient with yourself and with the ocean,” she says.

Wewel demonstrates this virtue by standing in the 15C water with Avery the entire lesson (both are wearing thick wetsuits) while giving her personalized pointers. With what looks like minimal effort from my driftwood perch, my daughter is soon balancing on her board and going with the motion of the ocean.

“I’m doing good!” Avery yells, with a smile plastered across her face.

While she rides wave after wave, I breathe in the salty air and relax into the sound of waves and gulls. We both leave the beach refreshed and energized, ready for our next adventure.

An aspiring surf sister is about to hit the waves at Cox Bay Beach_Lisa Kadane photo

An aspiring surf sister is about to hit the waves at Cox Bay Beach. Lisa Kadane photo

Commune with nature on a stand-up paddleboard

Before surfing took off, the main way locals and visitors connected with the surrounding sea was in a kayak and, more recently, on a paddleboard.  Starting this winter, paddleboard rental company Swell Tofino is opening a second location inside Hotel Zed so guests can launch right from the hotel’s dock into the Tofino Inlet and surrounding bird sanctuary at high tide. It doesn’t get more peaceful than gliding across the calm water while a great blue heron wades close to shore or a bald eagle swoops overhead.

Hug a tree in an old-growth rainforest

When Pacific Rim National Park Reserve opened in 1970, it put Tofino on the map. Suddenly, there was a reason to drive to the end of the road to see expansive Long Beach, whose wide, sandy crescent extends for 16 kilometres in the pleasing shape of a seahorse. While we love a good beach, Avery and I agree the star of the park is the adjacent old-growth forest.

We take to the Rainforest Trail, a set of two, short loop pathways constructed of elevated wooden boardwalks and stairs that gain you entry into an otherwise impenetrable realm of towering western red cedars, Sitka spruce and hemlock. We’re soon swallowed up by fifty shades of green, and marvel at prehistoric ferns growing in abundance, neon green moss blanketing every tree trunk, and the pleasing smell of damp and decay that signifies a healthy forest. By the end of the hike, we’ve each hugged an 800-year-old cedar tree (and feel a bit like hobbits next to Treebeard).

Hiking in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve_Lisa Kadane photo

Hiking in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. Lisa Kadane photo

Bond over Tofino’s amazing, hyper-local food

My daughter, a pescatarian, is in seafood heaven in Tofino. We feast on salmon chowder and seared scallops at SoBo (short for ‘sophisticated bohemian,’ which is Tofino in a nutshell), where chef Lisa Ahier buys her seafood from local fishermen.

At Wolf in the Fog we shovel in seaweed salad and roasted black cod drizzled in cedar jus. We enjoy our perch at the bar where Avery is spoiled by the bartender, who keeps shaking her up crushable virgin cocktails.

We linger over albacore tuna tartare and Thai curry bowls stuffed with lingcod, salmon, mussels and clams at Shelter Restaurant. Seriously, the fresh fish and shellfish here will turn any child into a seafood lover.

“Food has always been a focus in the town, which makes sense since we have access to local seafood and great produce on the island,” says Jay Gildenhuys, Shelter’s owner.

We also eat salty nori straight from the sea, and cut tasty chanterelle mushrooms from the forest floor, during a foraging class with local chef Paul Moran. This self-sufficient craze is yet another way to connect with nature (and teach kids more about the wild origins of their food).

Sated and entirely under Tofino’s spell, we return home after three days of bonding over hikes, bikes and food. We vow to return next summer, and may even expand our bubble to include Dad and little brother.

Foraging for mushrooms with Paul Moran of Wild Origins

Foraging for mushrooms with Paul Moran of Wild Origins

Know before you go:

Travel responsibly and read Tofino’s Covid-19 information before heading to the town. Some popular family activities, such as tours to Hot Springs Cove, remain closed at this time.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.