看到的东西:超自然现象调查员为艾伯塔省寻找幽灵

信不信由你,大多数寻找超自然现象证据的人都是怀疑论者。 配备了最新的高科技设备,超自然现象的调查人员走遍世界各地,以记录或掩盖虚幻的事件。 不论有无目击,狩猎中都有乐趣。

炒作还是困扰?

夜幕降临在皇后公园公墓中,一小群人挤在发光的iPad上,听着一个名为EchoVox的应用程序,这是一种随机语言生成器,试图捕获与死者的对话。 当单词和音节在静电中颤抖时,他们向黑暗中讲出他们的问题,等待回应。

梅利莎·威尔顿(Melissa Wilton),美国 CAPI卡尔加里超自然现象研究者协会对此持怀疑态度。 她的小组“致力于科学调查据称的闹鬼地点”。 她说,他们的目标是“找到证明我可以证明我们确实捕获了某些东西的证据。 我们有一些证据使我感到非常引人注目,但我一直想知道,而且我们从未真正知道。” 她的三支团队使用最新的幽灵狩猎设备,包括热像仪,电子语音现象记录器或EVP,以及感应热或冷区域的电磁场辐射检测器,可以肯定地发现了幽灵的存在。

皇后公园公墓可以是一个安静的地方,尤其是如果你有一本好书-黛布拉·史密斯

皇后公园公墓可以是一个安宁的地方,尤其是如果您有一本好书–照片Debra Smith

团队成员之一贾斯汀·博林(Justin Bolin)在他位于德拉姆黑勒(Drumheller)的家中有一些第一手资料记载的经历。 那是牙医和共济会者罗伯特·约翰斯顿(Robert Johnston)的故居。 报告说,有人从空荡荡的房间传来声音,看到一个小女孩在跳舞和跪着祈祷的图像,据报道,一个金色的实验室像“一只普通的狗”一样在前廊上奔跑。不牢固”。

当晚的巡回演出团长罗布·西昆(Rob Sequin)在皇后公园公墓里与“黑暗实体”进行了多次接触,并在EchoVox上带了问题。 当晚他关闭应用程序之前,他当晚收到的一个明确信息是“再见”一词。 威尔顿将在其Facebook组页面上发布490个CAPI成员的完整报告。

您的房间已准备就绪

邦妮·米尔纳(Bonnie Milner)在 幽灵狩猎艾伯塔省 超过八年。 她的旅游公司专注于对鬼屋的通宵游玩。 她还担任与鬼有关的个人住宅的超自然现象调查员。 “我意识到,当超自然旅游将人们带入这些社区时,他们更有可能回来。 而这结合了我喜欢的两件事,那就是让人们离开并了解超自然现象,并保护小镇艾伯塔省。”

米尔纳(Milner)专注于酒店,因为与住所不同,酒店有成千上万的人在欢乐和悲伤的场合下住宿,从庆祝活动到更多不愉快的活动,导致更多的超自然活动。 在前往Longview Twin Cities酒店的旅途中,一个小组观察到一张桌子从地板上抬起并旋转了360度。 米尔纳在她的所有巡回演出中都通过红外热像仪和EMF设备听到并记录了阴影和声音。 她将Ghost Hunt巡回演出的结果发布到了她的YouTube频道。

今年,Ghost Hunt Alberta将首次在 埃德蒙顿堡,一间在梅隆农舍,一间在堡垒建筑。 Covid-19预防措施将到位。

与CAPI团队一起聆听来自其他方面的消息-图片Debra Smith

与CAPI团队一起聆听来自其他人的消息–图片Debra Smith

在公园里惊慌

尼尔森·帕克斯(Nelson Parkes)带领卡尔加里(Calgary)的幽灵故事之旅 遗产公园 自2016年以来,数十年来,有关公园历史古迹的故事一直吸引着人们。 王子之家以高高的脚步声,无助的平开门以及楼梯上的暗影而闻名,这一切都是帕克斯亲自经历的。 “我总是说,这栋房子比公园里其他所有房子都高,它在监视着您,并对您做出反应,您的工作以及在其中的行为方式很重要。”

公园的幽灵之旅每晚运行两次,秋季和春季每周每周一晚。 户外活动在社交上距离遥远,有一个针对儿童的早期表演和后来的仅限成人的游览。 在温赖特饭店(Wainwright Hotel),遗产公园(Heritage Park)颇受欢迎的“幽灵与美食”晚餐在各个镀层之间提供了令人毛骨悚然的故事,然后在幽灵幽灵漫步之后开始了豪华之旅。 小孩子可以通过不太吓人的卡通人物来享受万圣节的把戏或款待,户外表演,还可以在食尸鬼之夜(Ghouls Night Out)带回家的手工艺品。

准备震惊,遗产公园的王子之家已点亮-图片由遗产公园提供

准备震惊,遗产公园的王子之家已点亮–照片由遗产公园提供

退缩

哈里·桑德斯卡尔加里的历史学家和自由作家经常被要求就这座城市的超自然现象进行咨询。 他也是个怀疑者。 “根据我的经验,我还没有遇到过困扰和建筑物中任何可以确认的不幸事件的故事相吻合的情况。 但同样,我有一个令人怀疑的疑问。”

当记者问他是否会在迪恩之家或泵房剧院(据说都是闹鬼的地方)过夜时,他的回答是“不,当然不会。 我没有机会”。

在这些恐怖时刻要保持安全。 这里提到的所有小组都通过洗手,社交疏散和口罩帮助推动了Covid-19的利益,他们的许多活动都是在户外进行的。

CAPI托管了编写器。 一如既往,她的意见是她自己的。 欲了解更多照片,请在Instagram上关注她 @ Where.To.Lady

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Seeing Things: Paranormal Investigators Scour Alberta for Ghosts

Believe it or not, most of the folks who go looking for proof of the supernatural are sceptics. Armed with the latest in high-tech devices, paranormal investigators travel far and wide to document or discount ghostly happenings. With or without sightings, the fun is in the hunt.

Hype or Haunting?

Night had fallen in the Queen’s Park Cemetery and a small group huddled over a glowing iPad, listening to an app called EchoVox, a random language generator that was attempting to capture conversations from the departed. As words and syllables chattered out through the static, they spoke their questions into the darkness and waited for a response.

Melissa Wilton, the lead investigator of CAPI, the Calgary Association of Paranormal Investigators, is a sceptic. Her group is “dedicated to scientifically investigating allegedly haunted locations”. Their goal, she says, “is to find proof that I can show that we actually captured something. We have some evidence that I find extremely compelling, but I always wonder, and we never really know.” Her team of three uses the most up to date ghost hunting equipment including thermal imaging cameras, electronic voice phenomenon recorders or EVP’s, and electromagnetic field radiation detectors that sense hot or cold areas, a sure tip-off of a ghostly presence.

Queen's Park Cemetery can be a peaceful place, especially if you have a good book with you - photo Debra Smith

Queen’s Park Cemetery can be a peaceful place, especially if you have a good book with you – photo Debra Smith

Justin Bolin, one of the team members, has had several first-hand documented experiences in his house in Drumheller. It was the former home of a dentist and freemason, Dr Robert Johnston. Voices have been heard coming from empty rooms, the image of a little girl has been seen dancing and kneeling in prayer, and a golden lab was reported running across the front porch “like a normal dog,” according to the report, “only ‘not solid’.”

Rob Sequin, that night’s tour leader, has had several encounters with “dark entities” in Queen’s Park Cemetery and led the questions on the EchoVox. One clear message he got that night was the word “bye”, just before he shut down the app. Wilton will post a full report for the 490 members of CAPI on their Facebook group page.

Your Room is Ready

Bonnie Milner has been running popular tours around the province with Ghost Hunt Alberta for over eight years. Her tour company specializes in fun overnight visits to haunted hotels. She also acts as a paranormal investigator for individual homes with ghost-related issues. “I realized that when paranormal tourism gets people into these communities, they’re more likely to come back. And this combines two things that I love, which is getting people out and learning about the paranormal, and preserving small-town Alberta.”

Milner concentrates on hotels because, unlike residences, hotels have had thousands of people stay for occasions both happy and sad, from celebrations to more unsavoury activities, leading to more paranormal activity. On a trip to The Longview Twin Cities hotel, one group observed a table rise off the floor and rotate 360 degrees. Shadows and voices were heard and recorded with the infrared cameras and EMF devices that Milner brings on all her tours. She posts results of Ghost Hunt tours to her YouTube channel.

This year, for the first time, Ghost Hunt Alberta will be leading two tours at Fort Edmonton, one at the Mellon farmhouse and one at the fort complex. Covid-19 precautions will be in place.

Listening for messages from beyond with the CAPI team - photo Debra Smith

Listening for messages from beyond with the CAPI team – photo Debra Smith

Panic in the Park

Nelson Parkes has been leading ghost story tours at Calgary’s Heritage Park since 2016, but stories of the park’s historic homes have been fascinating people for decades. The Prince House is especially renowned for creaking footsteps overhead, doors that swing open unaided, and dark shadows on the staircase, all of which Parkes has personally experienced; “I always say, this house, above all others here at the park, it watches you, and it reacts to you, and what you do and how you act in it matters.”

Ghost Tours at the park run twice a night, one night each week in the fall and spring. The outdoor events are socially distanced, with an early show for kids and a later, adults-only tour. Heritage Park’s popular Ghosts and Gourmet dinner at the Wainwright Hotel serves up spooky tales between plated courses before embarking on a deluxe after dark ghost walk.  Little ones can enjoy Hallowe’en trick or treating, outdoor performances by not-too-frightening cartoon characters, and take home crafts at Ghouls Night Out.

Ready to shock, the Prince House at Heritage Park is lit - photo courtesy of Heritage Park

Ready to shock, the Prince House at Heritage Park is lit – photo courtesy of Heritage Park

Chickening Out

Harry Sanders, a Calgary historian and freelance writer, is often called upon to consult on supernatural goings-on in the city. He’s also a sceptic. “In my experience, I haven’t encountered a circumstance where a haunting, and a story of any untoward happening that can be confirmed in a building, have aligned. But all the same, I have a nagging doubt.”

When asked by a reporter if he would spend a night in the Deane House or the Pumphouse Theatre (both reputedly haunted), his reply was “No, of course not. I’m not taking a chance”.

Stay safe during these scary times. All the groups mentioned here help to drive a stake into Covid-19 with hand sanitizing, social distancing and masks, and many of their activities take place outdoors.

CAPI hosted the writer. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photos, follow her on Instagram @Where.To.Lady

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.