fbpx

你有足够的Griswold吗? 通过美国西南部的奇怪和古怪的公路旅行

我们的丈夫布莱克驾车离开拉斯维加斯,我们的白色雪佛兰汽车租赁赛车向东驶向犹他州的红色山脉,他们开始唱起“The Devil Went Down to Georgia”并开始唱歌和空中班卓琴。

“这是什么?”我们十几岁的女儿艾弗里从后座呻吟。 “我们为什么要听这个?”

它让我想起了原来的国家讽刺的假期中的那个场景,当时克拉克和艾伦格里斯沃尔德试图让他们的孩子一起唱“吉米克拉克玉米”,因为他们离开芝加哥的家庭卡车前往沃利世界 - 但拉斯和奥黛丽把在耳机和爆炸雷蒙斯而不是。

青少年和青少年确实是一个不同的物种。

但是在接下来的一周里,随着火山碎片和橙色条纹台面的火星风景在前往美国西南部一些最好的公园和地质奇观的途中滚动,我们将试图通过让艾弗里和她的弟弟接受这一代沟Bennett到AC / DC的“TNT”,是广播传教士慷慨激昂的讲道(因为,美国)的一部分,以及一些关于死狗和cheatin'心脏的乡村歌曲。

它已成为我们家庭公路旅行的蓝图:与有限的广播电台共享一辆小型车,并希望每个人在到达目的地时仍然会说话。 到目前为止,它是有效的,特别是如果我们记住克拉克格里斯沃尔德的口头禅:“到那里有一半的乐趣!”

布莱克福特在Page,Ariz._photo附近的Horseshoe Bend的“哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇”

亚马逊佩奇附近的马蹄湾的'哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇哇'

这也很有效,因为我们是一个内心的公路旅行家庭 - 我们喜欢在它触动我们的幻想时自由发挥,就像14脚高,绿色,tiki风格的头部沿着亚历克斯金曼附近的66路线爆发我们只需要停下来与Giganticus Headicus合影。 虽然我们在驾驶两个小时的路程中划出了参观亚利桑那流星陨石坑的路线,但即使当孩子们的抱怨从音乐演变为强迫游行时,我们仍然可以尽可能多地挤进Griswold。涉及高程增益的徒步旅行)。 我们通常会忽略他们的请求并开拓进取,就像我们在Horseshoe Bend离开汽车并跟随一线游客上山,看看科罗拉多河在亚利桑那州佩奇之外的一个令人印象深刻的掉头。

在路线66的Giganticus Headicus  - 布莱克福特的另一个路边吸引​​力照片

在66路线上的Giganticus Headicus - 另一个路边景点。 照片由布莱克福特拍摄

随着拉斯维加斯的霓虹灯让位于沙漠的橙色和绿色的自然色调,我们将探索 锡安国家公园在犹他州,导航在亚利桑那州的羚羊峡谷的幽闭曲线,鲍威尔湖的皮划艇部分,乘坐旅客列车前往大峡谷,然后在66号公路上结束旅行,大多数Griswoldy的道路都带有“旅游冒险的怀旧废话”(根据我们的大峡谷穿梭车司机) - 所有没有撞车,杀死一条狗或相对于雪佛兰顶部的一个死人。

里面的下羚羊Canyon_photo由布莱克福特提供

在较低的羚羊峡谷里面。 Blake Ford供图

“对我来说,这似乎永远不会真实,”我们在Dixie Ellis的下羚羊峡谷之旅中的纳瓦霍导游安德里亚说道,我们正穿过这个壮观的峡谷峡谷,在雨季的季节里,飙升的砂岩被闪水淹没了。 。 半公里的步行感觉就像一场梦 - 我们掠过蓝天,在橙色的砂岩墙之间偷看,似乎以懒惰的螺旋形流向地面; 几千年的水蚀造成的沙子艺术。

陡峭的楼梯在下羚羊Canyon_photo由Lisa Kadane

羚羊峡谷下陡峭的楼梯。 摄影:Lisa Kadane

因为难以进入下峡谷(入口和出口需要下降然后上升陡峭的金属楼梯),这种自然奇观在社交媒体之前仍然是一个相对秘密; 现在,关于3,000人每天都会穿过它的墙壁,但12的导游团体却错开了,所以每个人都有机会在这个特殊的地方感到孤独。

参观结束后,我们开车不远,与鲍威尔湖Paddleboards的老板Joe Lapekas会面。 他带领我们进行了两个小时的皮划艇之旅,直到羚羊峡谷进入鲍威尔湖(一个人工水库和休闲区)。 从水面看,橙色和白色灰色的悬崖壁看起来几乎机器切割,它们的下部用侵入的斑驴贻贝壳结壳。 我喜欢在平静的湖面上度过安静的时光,直到Avery用一种令人讨厌的卡通叮当声的歌词拍出来并且打破了我的醇厚。 是的,甚至孩子们都会把他们的Griswold时刻放在最大的影响力。

在Lisa Kadane与鲍威尔湖Paddleboards_photo在鲍威尔湖划皮划艇

与鲍威尔湖Paddleboards一起在鲍威尔湖划皮划艇。 摄影:Lisa Kadane

我们回到开阔的道路,将掀背车指向威廉姆斯,我们将在第二天登上大峡谷铁路。 我尝试享受土狼和走鹃的风景,但Bennett每隔几分钟打断一次,问道:“我们还在酒店吗?”如果Avery最喜欢的一部分是在我们终于与wifi重聚的情况下在Instagram上播出, Bennett是我们下降到酒店的游泳池和热水浴缸的那一刻。

第二天早上,我很高兴能把车停在比较豪华的火车上。 我们坐在大峡谷铁路酒店外面,享受松饼,新鲜咖啡(父母)和无尽的果汁补充(孩子们),以及唱歌牛仔的小夜曲,因为火车朝北。

布莱克·福特和女儿艾弗里在大峡谷铁路上拍摄了领土时代的一个姿势,由Lisa Kadane拍摄

布莱克福特和女儿艾弗里在大峡谷铁路上阅读了领土时代的姿势。 摄影:Lisa Kadane

大峡谷的火车服务始于1901,乘坐的是8小时崎岖不平的驿马。 火车实际上在1969完全停止运行,因汽车的成功和家庭公路旅行(具有讽刺意味)而死亡,但又开始作为1980的旅游景点。 这是到达大峡谷的一个非常后退的时间方式,我们试着让人想起那些第一批游客会感觉到达这里并向下看近一英里远的科罗拉多河。

在这次旅行中,我们加强了强制游行。 首先,我们沿着光明天使小径徒步进入峡谷,在那里艾利发展出一种神秘的“腿部疾病”,阻止她进一步下降,贝内特在返回上升时握紧我的手,就好像我拖着他回来一样。

然后,地质学家布莱克沿着地质小径的峡谷边缘将我们带走,确保在每个解释标志处停下来吸收岩石细节,而孩子们和我一起挤在风中(11月的亚利桑那州很寒冷!)。

布莱克福特和女儿艾弗里接受丽莎卡丹的大峡谷照片

布莱克福特和女儿艾弗里接受了大峡谷的广阔。 摄影:Lisa Kadane

每一个观点都是一个几乎无法接受的景象。我们乘坐火车回到威廉姆斯的女主人引用Vicki Corona说道:“生活不是通过我们采取的呼吸量来衡量的,而是通过我们采取的时刻来衡量一口气。“

当我们将路线66从威廉姆斯驾驶到亚利桑那州的金曼并回到拉斯维加斯的浮华之后,这种情绪真实地结束了。 我们一周之外的亮点并不是每天的无线聚会或热水浴浸泡 - 即使孩子们也认为这是自然带给我们的惊喜时刻,无论是从峡谷的底部还是通过车窗看到的。 事实证明,有一半的乐趣。

我们的美国西南公路之旅的灵感来自何方? 如果你走的话:

佩奇/鲍威尔湖

Do: 迪克西埃利斯的下羚羊峡谷之旅 每天多次出发,(928)640-1761。

Joe Lapekas出租皮划艇和桨板并带领游览, lakepowellpaddleboards.com,928 645-4017

: 鲍威尔湖度假村 拥有绝佳的位置,俯瞰鲍威尔湖,888-896-3829。

威廉姆斯/大峡谷

DO /住宿: 乘坐 大峡谷铁路 进入公园。 您可能需要在历史悠久的大峡谷铁路酒店乘坐火车之前或之后过夜,并提供乘车和住宿套餐。 303-843,8724

路线66

:在古怪的塞利格曼(Seligman)的RoadKillCafé咖啡厅停下来享用美味的菜肴,如Buzzard Bait(香肠和鸡蛋),在装饰着您可以想象的各种动物标本制作的餐馆中供应。

Do:访问 路线66博物馆 在金曼换乘“母亲道”之前,在州际公路上让公路旅行相当通用。 928-753,9889

布莱克福特礼貌的大峡谷照片

在大峡谷的暮光。 Blake Ford供图

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Are You Griswold Enough? A weird and wacky road trip through the American Southwest

Driving out of Las Vegas, our white Chevy rental car racing east toward the red mountains of Utah, my husband Blake cranks up “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” and starts singing and air banjo-ing along.

“What is this?” our teenage daughter Avery groans from the back seat. “Why are we even listening to this?”

It reminds me of that scene in the original National Lampoon’s Vacation when Clark and Ellen Griswold try and get their kids to sing along to “Jimmy Crack Corn” as they depart Chicago in the family truckster—bound for Wally World—but Russ and Audrey put on headphones and blast The Ramones instead.

Tweens and teens are indeed a different species.

But over the next week, as the Martian scenery of crumbling buttes and orange-striped mesas rolls by en route to some of the U.S. Southwest’s best parks and geological wonders, we’ll try to bridge the generation gap by subjecting Avery and her little brother Bennett to AC/DC’s “TNT,” part of a radio preacher’s impassioned sermon (because, America), and a few country songs about dead dogs and cheatin’ hearts.

It’s become our blueprint for a family road trip: share a small car for great distances with limited radio stations and hope that everyone will still be speaking when we arrive at the destination. So far, it’s worked, especially if we keep Clark Griswold’s mantra in mind: “Getting there is half the fun!”

A 'wow moment' at Horseshoe Bend near Page, Ariz._photo by Blake Ford

A ‘wow moment’ at Horseshoe Bend near Page, Ariz. Photo by Blake Ford

It also works because we’re a road trip family at heart—we love the freedom to pull off whenever it strikes our fancy, like when a 14-foot-tall, green, tiki-style head erupts along Route 66 near Kingman, Ariz. We simply have to stop for a photo op with Giganticus Headicus. And though we draw the line at driving two hours out of our way to visit the Arizona Meteor Crater, we are Griswold enough to squeeze in as much as we can in seven days, even when the children’s complaints evolve from music to forced marches (a.k.a. hikes that involve an elevation gain). We usually ignore their pleas and forge ahead, like when we exit the car at Horseshoe Bend and follow a line of tourists uphill to see where the Colorado River makes an impressive U-turn just outside of Page, Ariz.

At Giganticus Headicus on Route 66--just another roadside attraction_photo by Blake Ford

At Giganticus Headicus on Route 66–just another roadside attraction. Photo by Blake Ford

As the neon lights of Vegas give way to the desert’s natural palette of orange and green, we’ll explore Zion National Park in Utah, navigate the claustrophobic curves of Antelope Canyon in Arizona, kayak part of Lake Powell, and ride a passenger train to the Grand Canyon before ending the trip on Route 66, that most Griswoldy of roads with its “tourist trippy nostalgic crap” (according to our Grand Canyon shuttle driver)—all without crashing the car, killing a dog or strapping a dead relative to the top of the Chevy.

Inside Lower Antelope Canyon_photo courtesy Blake Ford

Inside Lower Antelope Canyon. Photo courtesy Blake Ford

“It never seems real to me,” says Andrea, our Navajo guide with Dixie Ellis’ Lower Antelope Canyon Tours, as we make our way through this spectacular slot canyon where the soaring sandstone has been sculpted smooth by flash flooding during aeons of rainy seasons. The half-kilometre walk feels like a dream—we gape up at blue sky peeking between orange sandstone walls that seem to flow toward the ground in lazy spirals; sand art created by millennia of water erosion.

 

Steep staircase out of Lower Antelope Canyon_photo by Lisa Kadane

Steep staircase out of Lower Antelope Canyon. Photo by Lisa Kadane

 

Because access to the lower canyon is difficult (entry and exit require descending and then ascending steep metal stairs) this natural wonder remained a relative secret until social media; now, about 3,000 people a day pass through its walls, but guided groups of 12 are staggered so everyone has a chance to feel alone in this special place.

After the tour, we drive a short distance and meet up with Joe Lapekas, owner of Lake Powell Paddleboards. He leads us on a two-hour kayak trip up to where Antelope Canyon empties into Lake Powell, a manmade reservoir and recreation area. From the water, the orange and white-grey cliff walls look almost machine cut, their lower reaches crusted with the shells of invasive quagga mussels. I relish the quiet time on the calm lake until Avery paddles up and harshes my mellow by belting out the lyrics to an annoying cartoon jingle. Yep, even the kids time their Griswold moments for maximum impact.

Kayaking at Lake Powell with Lake Powell Paddleboards_photo by Lisa Kadane

Kayaking at Lake Powell with Lake Powell Paddleboards. Photo by Lisa Kadane

We return to the open the road and point the hatchback toward Williams, where we’ll board the Grand Canyon Railway the following day. I try to enjoy the coyote-and-roadrunner scenery, but Bennett interrupts every few minutes to ask, “Are we at the hotel yet?” If Avery’s favourite part of the day is going on Instagram when we’re finally reunited with wifi, Bennett’s is the moment when we descend upon the hotel’s pool and hot tub.

I’m happy to leave the car for the comparative luxury of the train the next morning. We board it right outside the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel and enjoy muffins, fresh coffee (parents) and endless juice refills (kids), along with serenades by a singing cowboy, as the train chugs north.

Blake Ford and daughter Avery strike a pose reading the Territorial Times on board the Grand Canyon Railway_photo by Lisa Kadane

Blake Ford and daughter Avery strike a pose reading the Territorial Times on board the Grand Canyon Railway. Photo by Lisa Kadane

Train service to the Grand Canyon started in 1901 and the ride was a vast improvement over a bumpy eight-hour stagecoach. The train actually stopped running altogether in 1969, killed by the success of the automobile and the family road trip (ironically) but started again as a tourist attraction in the 1980s. It’s a very step-back-in time way to arrive at the Grand Canyon and we try and conjure what those first tourists would have felt arriving here and looking down almost a mile to the Colorado River far below.

At this point on the trip, we ramp up the forced marches. First, we hike down into the canyon along the Bright Angel Trail, where Avery develops a mysterious ‘leg ailment’ that prevents her from descending further, and Bennett holds my hand so tight on the return ascent it’s like I’m dragging him back up.

Then, Blake, a geologist, herds us along the canyon rim on the Geology Trail, making sure to stop at every interpretive sign to absorb the rock minutiae while the children and I huddle together against the wind (Arizona in November is chilly!).

Blake Ford and daughter Avery take in the vastness of the Grand Canyon_photo by Lisa Kadane

Blake Ford and daughter Avery take in the vastness of the Grand Canyon. Photo by Lisa Kadane

Every viewpoint is a sight almost too grand to take in. Our hostess on the train ride back to Williams sums it up nicely by quoting Vicki Corona: “Life is not measured by the amount of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.”

This sentiment rings true as we end the trip by driving Route 66 from Williams to Kingman, Ariz., and back to the glitz of Las Vegas. The highlight of our week away hasn’t been the daily wifi reunions or hot tub soak—even the kids agree it’s been the wow moments brought to us by nature, whether viewed from the bottom of a canyon or through the window of a car. It turns out getting there is half the fun.

 

Feeling Inspired by our American Southwest Road Trip? If you go:

Page/Lake Powell

Do: Dixie Ellis’ Lower Antelope Canyon Tours depart multiple times daily, (928) 640-1761.

Joe Lapekas rents out kayaks and paddleboards and also leads tours, lakepowellpaddleboards.com, 928-645-4017

Stay: Lake Powell Resort has a stunning location overlooking Lake Powell,  888-896-3829.

Williams/Grand Canyon

Do/Stay: Ride the Grand Canyon Railway into the park. You’ll likely need to stay overnight either before or after the train ride at the historic Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, and ride and stay packages are available. 303-843-8724

Route 66

Eat: Stop at the Road Kill Café in quirky Seligman for delicious dishes such as Buzzard Bait (chorizo and eggs) served up in a diner decorated with every kind of animal taxidermy you can imagine.

Do: Visit the Route 66 Museum in Kingman for a vicarious ride down the “Mother Road” before interstates rendered road travel rather generic. 928-753-9889

 

Evening light at the Grand Canyon_photo courtesy Blake Ford

Evening light at the Grand Canyon. Photo courtesy Blake Ford

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *