fbpx

锡安国家公园初学者指南

当我的孩子们很小的时候,这些日子一直拖着。 长时间的疲惫和尿布的变化被我脖子上的胖乎乎的手臂和我手上的小手的甜蜜时刻所打断。 但后来我眨了眨眼睛。 我最年长的人可能在短短几年内就要上大学,我想知道什么时候发生了。 我不再能够享受那些拥抱幼儿拥抱的胖乎乎的手臂,所以我决定是时候利用拥有大孩子并踏上一段小小的冒险之路了。

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

照片提供:慈善快速

公路旅行的时间! 几天的旅行带我们去了 锡安国家公园 在犹他州南部。 它位于科罗拉多高原,大盆地和莫哈韦沙漠地区的交界处,是家庭探险的绝佳去处。 该公园在1919建立,占地面积近600km²。 这个峡谷,穿过纳瓦霍砂岩,迫使你说出所有那些陈旧的形容词:美丽,惊人,壮观。 加拿大拥有自己的精致景观,但即使居住在落基山脉附近,也不会因为这座壮丽的峡谷的壮丽而熠熠生辉。 维尔京河被平原上的沙漠所环绕,沿着峡谷的底部流动,创造了自己的微环境。 公园独特的地理位置提供了各种生活区,使锡安峡谷充满了不寻常的动植物多样性。 拥有各种徒步旅行选择,各种能力的家庭都可以享受这个国家公园。

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

照片提供:慈善快速

你去的时候要考虑什么

A 锡安国家公园通行证 每辆车的运费为$ 30(USD),有效期为7天。 即使您只是在途中经过该区域,也可以考虑停留几个小时。 如果你在美国各地绊倒,美国通行证可能是正确的选择。 对于$ 80,您可以在旅途中访问锡安和其他几十个网站,并且有效期为一年。



在锡安国家公园度过了整整一天的时间,我们的家人从公园的南入口到我们住的犹他州雪松城开车一小时。 当地人告诉我们它会有多忙,但是我们习惯于班夫的夏季人群,四月的锡安是非常容易管理的。 话虽这么说,早上来不要太晚,因为停车可能有限。 春天的气候是不可预测的,但我们享受美好的天气,避免夏季沙漠的炎热。 有时风很大,但很温暖,可以享受这一天。 我们听说夏日可以在中午闷热(夜间凉爽),并且可能容易产生下午的雷暴,产生瀑布和潜在的洪水。

游客中心服务

有三个孩子,9,11和13,以及各种各样的热情,从“最艰难的徒步旅行在哪里?!”到“我没有吃零食的另一步”,我们决定慢慢开始。 公园提供卓越的班车服务,从您停放的游客中心开始,带您沿着峡谷的9不同点,消除狭窄道路上的车辆拥堵,并提供有记录的导游带领游览公园。 但在您离开游客中心之前,4岁以上的孩子可以购买小册子参加免费游戏 少年游侠计划.

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

努力练习少年Ranger活动并参加少年游侠承诺。 照片来源:Charity Quick

少年游侠计划是孩子们获得国家公园体验投资的一种方式。 根据他们的年龄,他们在书中完成了一定数量的活动,从公园周围收集信息。 当您在整个公园内移动时,这为孩子们提供了一个焦点,并有助于提高他们的参与度和兴趣。 我们13一岁的孩子给了那个给她带来一本反感粗暴的小册子的游侠,她说她显然已经太老了,不能说这么废话,但不久之后,她甚至兴奋地翻阅活动并试图找到答案。 。 在一天结束时,孩子们将他们的小册子带到了游侠身上,以换取特殊的锡安国家公园徽章。 这个护林员也不是在开玩笑。 她带领他们完成了他们所做的每一项活动,让他们谈论他们所学到的知识,纠正任何错误,并引导他们参加少年游侠誓言。


行山路径

随着 各种小径 沿着峡谷,你可以沿着铺砌的小路徒步半小时,或者沿着岩石,沿着悬崖,甚至沿着河流徒步几个小时。 (显然,后者建议采取特殊准备。)这些小道都可以通过您在游客中心登机的班车进入。 首先,我们抓住了穿梭于Weeping Rock的班车,这是一次轻松但陡峭的徒步旅行,多年前在高原上降雨的1200现在终于渗出了下面的砂岩,激发了孩子们对更多徒步旅行的兴趣。 (双关,不好意思!)

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

哭泣的岩石 - 图片来源:Charity Quick

我们前往Riverside Walk,这是一个简单但更长的徒步旅行,最终在着名的Narrows河徒步旅行结束。 要徒步穿越Narrows,您需要适合步行穿过维尔京河的登山杖和鞋子。 这次徒步旅行可能因高水位而关闭,并且总是有可能发生山洪。 (对我无敌的儿子来说,这是一个非常令人兴奋的可能性。)我们徒步前往Narrows,看到更多准备好的徒步旅行者从河里出来,其中一些人还有很小的孩子。 我们的儿子嫉妒地看着他们。

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

Riverside Walk和Narrows徒步旅行的地方开始 - 图片来源:Charity Quick

寻找更像“真正的徒步旅行”的东西,无论对我们的孩子意味着什么,我们发现了一个适度评级的翡翠池徒步旅行和返回Kayenta Trail,这非常适合我们。 完美意味着它对孩子们来说足够有趣和具有挑战性,对妈妈来说足够安全。 我们遇到了一些下落,在岩石,树木和瀑布下上下爬行。

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

徒步到翡翠池 - 图片来源:Charity Quick

在一天结束的时候,我们乘坐班车回到了入口,在那里我们看了一部关于公园的短片 锡安人类历史博物馆。 孩子们收到了他们的少年游侠徽章,我们都爬上,疲倦,炎热,尘土飞扬,进入面包车,开车返回雪松城。 尽管我们在路上遇到了皱眉和抱怨,但每个人都认为这是一个充满乐趣和难忘的一天。 在我们开车离开公园之前,我的儿子正在计划他的返回之旅,以加息锡安更加困难的天使登陆步道和狭窄。

“当我们上大学的时候,”他对他的姐姐说:“我们来这里徒步,而不是回家度假。”

非常感谢,孩子。 我想这可能是为孩子们灌输一种冒险感而意外的垮台。

锡安国家公园(Family Fun Canada)

必须。 保持。 徒步旅行!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
3条评论
  1. 3年2018月XNUMX日
  2. 20年 2018月 XNUMX日
  3. 20年 2018月 XNUMX日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

A Beginner’s Guide to Zion National Park

When my kids were little, the days dragged on forever. Long days of exhaustion and diaper changes were punctuated with sweet moments of chubby arms around my neck and little hands in mine. But then I blinked. My oldest could be leaving for college in only a few years and I wonder when that happened. No longer do I get to enjoy those chubby arms giving toddler hugs, so I decided that it was time to take advantage of having big kids and hit the road for a little adventure.

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Time for a road trip! A few days of travel brought us to Zion National Park in southern Utah. Located at the juncture of the Colorado Plateau, Great Basin, and Mojave Desert regions, it’s a fabulous place for a family adventure. The park was established in 1919 and covers nearly 600 km². This canyon, slashed through the Navajo sandstone, compels you to utter all those well-worn adjectives: beautiful, amazing, spectacular. Canada is filled with its own exquisite landscapes, but even living near the Rocky Mountains doesn’t jade you for the grandeur of this magnificent canyon. Surrounded by desert on the plain above, the Virgin River flows along the bottom of the canyon and creates its own micro-environments. The park’s unique geography provides for a variety of life zones, allowing Zion Canyon to be filled with unusual animal and plant diversity. With a wide range of hiking options, families of every ability are able to enjoy this National Park.

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Photo Credit: Charity Quick

What to Consider When You Go

A Zion National Park pass costs $30 (USD) per car and is valid for 7 days. Even if you’re simply passing through the area on your way somewhere else, consider stopping in for a couple hours. If you’re road-tripping through the States, an America the Beautiful pass may be the right option. For $80, you’ll get access to Zion and dozens of other sites on your trip, and it’s valid for one year.



With one full day to spend at Zion National Park, our family made the hour plus drive from Cedar City, Utah, where we were staying, to the south entrance of the park. Locals told us how busy it would be, but accustomed as we are to summer crowds in Banff, Zion in April was very manageable. That being said, don’t arrive too late in the morning, as parking may be limited. The spring climate is unpredictable, but we enjoyed wonderful weather, avoiding the summer desert heat. It was windy and cool at times, but warm enough to enjoy the day. We heard summer days can be stifling hot during the mid-day (cooler at night) and can be prone to afternoon thunderstorms that produce waterfalls and potentially, flash floods.

Visitor Centre & Shuttle Service

With three kids in tow, ages 9, 11, and 13, and various stages of enthusiasm ranging from, “Where’s the hardest hike?!” to “I’m not walking another step without a snack,” we decided to start slowly. The park has a brilliant shuttle service that begins at the Visitor Center where you park and takes you to 9 different points along the canyon, eliminating vehicle congestion along the narrow road and providing a recorded guided tour to the park. But before you leave the Visitor Center, kids over age 4 can grab booklets to take part in the free Junior Ranger program.

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Working hard on Junior Ranger activities and taking the Junior Ranger Pledge. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

The Junior Ranger Program is a way for kids to get invested in the National Parks experience. Depending on their age, they complete a certain number of activities in their book, collecting information from all around the park. This gives the kids a focus as you move throughout the park and helps increase their level of engagement and interest. Our 13-year-old awarded the ranger who handed her a booklet with a disgusted scowl that said she was clearly too old for such nonsense, but it wasn’t long before even she was excitedly paging through the activities and trying to find the answers. At the end of the day, the kids took their booklets to a ranger, in return for a special Zion National Park badge. This ranger wasn’t kidding around, either. She took them through each activity they’d done, making them talk about what they had learned, correcting any mistakes, and leading them in the Junior Ranger Pledge.


 

Hiking Trails

With a variety of trails along the canyon, you can hike for half an hour along a paved path, or for hours over rocks, along cliffs, and even literally down a river. (Special preparation is, obviously, recommended for the latter.) The trailheads are all accessible via the shuttle you board at the Visitor Center. To start, we grabbed the shuttle to the Weeping Rock, an easy, but steep, hike where rain that fell 1200 years ago on the plateau is now finally seeping out the sandstone below, whetting the kids’ appetites for more hiking. (Pun, excuse me, not intended!)

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Weeping Rock – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We moved on to the Riverside Walk, an easy, but longer, hike that ends at the famed river Narrows hike. To hike the Narrows, you need hiking poles and footwear suitable for walking along and through the Virgin River. This hike may be closed due to high water and flash floods are always a possibility. (An absurdly exciting possibility to my invincible son.) We hiked right to the Narrows and saw more prepared hikers head off down the river, some of them with quite young children. Our son stood jealously watching them.

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Riverside Walk and where the Narrows hike begins – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Looking for something more like a “real hike,” whatever that meant to our kids, we found a moderately-rated hike to the Emerald Pools and back the Kayenta Trail, which fit us perfectly. Perfectly means it was interesting and challenging enough for the kids and safe enough for the mom. We encountered some drop-offs and clambered up and down over rocks, through trees, and under a waterfall.

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Hike to the Emerald Pools – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

At the end of the day, we took the shuttle back to the entrance where we watched a short film on the Park at the Zion Human History Museum. The kids received their Junior Ranger badges and we all climbed, tired, hot, and dusty, into the van for the drive back to Cedar City. Despite the scowls and complaining we’d encountered along the way, everyone agreed that it had been a fun and memorable day. Before we drove out of the park, my son was planning his return trip to hike Zion’s more difficult Angel’s Landing trail and the Narrows.

“When we get to college,” he said to his sister, “Let’s come here and hike instead of going home for the holidays.”

Thanks a lot, kid. I guess this might be the unexpected downfall of instilling a sense of adventure in your kids.

Zion National Park (Family Fun Canada)

Must. Keep. Hiking!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
3 Comments
  1. August 3, 2018
  2. July 20, 2018
  3. July 20, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *