加拿大野生:露营或徒步旅行时穿越野生动物该怎么办

加拿大拥有39国家公园和八个国家公园保护区,包括草原,海岸线,森林和冰冻山峰,只占加拿大巨大的10百万平方公里陆地面积的一小部分。 在加拿大无休止地提供营地,徒步旅行和探险活动的地方意味着您很有可能会在加拿大令人印象深刻的野生动物附近。

在你系好登山鞋或展开你的帐篷之前,先在加拿大的野外学习。 如果你在冒险中遇到危险的野生动物,你应该怎么做。

狼队

不列颠哥伦比亚省金黄郡北极光狼中心

北极光狼中心供图

最大的狗科,东部和北极狼称加拿大为家。 随着猎物经常超过它们(老鼠,狐狸和野兔),它们以三到七包的方式捕食,轮流追逐它们追踪的猎物。


像许多加拿大的掠食性物种一样,狼往往会避开人类。 聪明且有良好的听力,狼会意识到你的方法,并会给你一个广阔的空间。 它们只对受伤或其他弱小的人类构成威胁,其中可能包括儿童。 如果你遇到一只狼,站在地上,不要跑或转过身。 举起双臂,让自己看起来更大,保持目光接触。 如果他们背上的头发上升,表明攻击性,开始大喊大叫,向他们的方向扔东西。 如果你失去了立足点或摔倒,狼群就会蜂拥而至,所以要使用棍棒,岩石或任何可以抵御攻击的东西。 与宠物一起旅行时,请将自己置身于狼与宠物之间,以帮助结束相遇。

蒙特贝罗魁北克Kenauk,熊正看着2

魁北克蒙特贝罗的一只好奇的熊

黑色和棕色熊

黑熊是您将遇到的最常见的熊,也是北美洲最常见的三种熊。 黑熊想要你的食物。 确保您的食物和垃圾超出动物的范围。 离开时,将垃圾收集并丢弃在适当的位置。 这个小步骤可以帮助劝阻进入您所在地区的熊。

棕熊,也被称为灰熊,是一些最大和最强大的熊。 他们想要独处,可能会因为你在他们所在的地区感到不安,但他们不太可能会吃掉你。 如果你在棕熊地区,努力不要惊慌失措。 熊喷雾,如果使用得当,有助于阻止它们进行攻击。

熊袭击是罕见的,但确实发生。 当您徒步前往露营地时,最好是团体旅行并发出噪音让熊有机会离开该地区,这样就不会感到拥挤。 如果您知道该地区的幼崽,熊会非常保护他们的幼崽,请立即更换地点。 从来没有,在熊和她的幼崽之间。

如果熊在你离开之前看到你,就不要靠近它们,即使它们看起来平静而平和。 另外,不要跑。 如果你这样做,你会看起来像猎物,它会直接跟着你。 你也不能超过他们,熊可以获得30英里/小时的速度。 在试图看起来更大,大喊大叫,挥动手臂和夸张的动作时,站在地上或慢慢地从熊身上慢慢退开。 如果熊收费,很可能是虚张声势。 别跑! 它们通常会在几英尺之内,然后在最后一秒内转向。

北极熊

北极熊孩子友好的魁北克市

照片来源SHUTTERSTOCK Sepaq

如果您位于加拿大最北部地区,您可能会遇到一只北极熊。 这种罕见的遭遇通常是熊寻找食物的结果,他们认为人类的食物。 同样的规则适用:不要运行。 你不能超越他们。 他们住在水里,所以你也不会超过他们。

如果一只北极熊被搅动,它会产生巨大的喘气声,并咬住它的下巴。 如果他们收费,它将不会是虚张声势。 尽量平静地离开该区域或进入建筑物内,但不要转身,不要进行目光接触。 制造噪音可能会把它们赶走。 如果一切都失败了,可以使用任何威慑力或武器。

你可能认为加拿大没有毒蛇,但你错了。 在加拿大,有大约35种蛇,其中26是原生的。 其中有四种是有毒的,可在艾伯塔省,萨斯喀彻温省,不列颠哥伦比亚省和安大略省找到。 最危险的蛇,草原响尾蛇是在萨斯喀彻温省和艾伯塔省发现的。

不要紧张,加拿大每年报道的蛇咬伤不到十几个。

大多数蛇既不危险也不毒。 当人们将手或脚伸入蛇洞,岩石下或灌木丛中的地方时,会发生80%咬伤。 如果你看到跟着你的人,那就踩你的脚吧。 振动会使蛇迷惑,它会离开。 如果你被咬了,不要试图吸毒 - 这只适用于电视。 洗一口,涂上止血带,找一位医疗专业人员。

美洲狮(又名山狮)

加拿大野生:当你在他们的草坪上遇到野生动物时该怎么办 - 美洲狮/山狮

Cougars是加拿大最大的野猫,在艾伯塔省和不列颠哥伦比亚省拥有健康的人口。 它们全年都在白天或黑夜捕猎,但在黄昏或黎明时更活跃。 由于它们体积小,动作不规则,类似于小猎物,儿童容易受到美洲狮的攻击,成年人蹲伏,坐着或跪着。

幸运的是,在北美,攻击平均每年只有6。 如果你发现自己与加拿大最危险的猫科动物面对面,不要跑,因为任何突然的运动都会激发攻击本能。 慢慢地看着他们的眼睛,永远不要背对他们。

提高你的声音,坚定地说话,抬起你的手臂,向他们的方向投掷石块(不要撞击他们),使他们相信你是一个威胁,而不是猎物。 同时让他们成为逃生的途径,这样他们就不会感到被困和受到攻击。 死亡不是建议的策略。 如果猫攻击,反击并且不停止; 人们用岩石和棍棒成功击退了美洲狮。 保持站立,或者如果你跌倒,尽快恢复。 如果你有胡椒喷雾或大棒,使用它或任何你可以作为武器来保护自己。

驼鹿和麋鹿

纽芬兰因其强壮的麋鹿种群而闻名于世,作者Ryan Hagerty [公共领域],通过维基共享资源

照片由Ryan Hagerty [公共领域],通过Wikimedia Commons

大多数人并不认为加拿大的外国文化图标具有攻击性,但是驼鹿可以,特别是如果惊慌失措,在车辙(交配)季节或与小牛犊时。 这些大型动物(600 - 800公斤)的庞大规模使它们成为一种威胁。 此外,驼鹿可以踢他们的前脚或后脚,这意味着你不知道攻击的来源。

如果你遇到一只驼鹿,请保持一个宽阔的铺位,然后仓促退出。 驼鹿习惯于成为最大的动物,并将坚守阵地。 在进行攻击时,他们可能会发出“虚张声势”的指控作为警告标志,他们的耳朵放松,长长的背部毛发抬起。 它会踩踏地面,朝你的方向摇头。 如果发生这种情况,请退后一步,找一些东西 - 汽车或树木 - 放在你和驼鹿之间,特别是它的鹿角。

麋鹿比驼鹿小,但仍然长到半吨。 在加拿大的荒野中,人们已经习惯了他们的存在而忘记了麋鹿可能是危险的。

许多相同的驼鹿规则适用于麋鹿。 始终保持安全的距离,永远不要接近小牛犊,即使你认为它是独自的,母亲可能很接近,你不想来到小牛和它的母亲之间。 如果你遇到麋鹿,不要背对动物,因为它们几乎总是从后面充电。 举起手臂,穿上夹克或背包,让自己看起来更大。 如果你有一条狗跟你在一起,那就把它放在动物身上,这可能会分散它们的注意力,使你可以逃脱或爬树。

加拿大野生:当你在他们的草坪上遇到野生动物时该怎么办 - 土狼

土狼遍布加拿大的国家和城市地区,他们并不害怕人类。 虽然对小孩子有一些危险,但它们对狗的威胁更大。 如果你看到他们对你的狗表现出兴趣,他们可能只是好奇,但记得在包狼土狼可能对大型犬构成威胁,所以如果可能的话,请将你的狗放在皮带或内侧。

如果你遇到一只土狼,不要跑。 站起来,试图通过大喊(不是尖叫),挥动你的手臂,向他们的方向扔东西而不是在他们身上来吓跑他们。

由Paige McEachren提供

Paige McEachren花费了20公司为全球领先的技术,医疗和制药公司工作。 在2015中,她决定离开专业工作场所留在家中,并帮助她的小孩带着注意力缺陷多动症和诵读困难度过生活。 当不照顾她的孩子时(包括她丈夫在内的3),她喜欢计划家庭度假,与烘焙爱好斗争,想要健康,挑战自己尝试新事物,如果幸运的话,会找到一段安静的时间。 她在她的博客上分享了她无序生活的故事 www.pieceofpie.ca。 你也可以跟着她 Twitter or Instagram.

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Canada Wild: What to Do When You Come Across a Wild Animal When Camping or Hiking

Canada has 39 National Parks and eight National Park Reserves encompassing prairies, coastlines, forests and frozen peaks, only a small fraction of Canada’s immense 10 million square kilometre landmass. The unending supply of places to camp, hike and adventure in Canada means there is a good chance you will be near Canada’s impressive wildlife.

Before you lace up your hiking boots or unroll your tent, get schooled on Canada’s wild side. Here is what you should do if you encounter dangerous wild animals on your adventures.

Wolves

Northern Lights Wolf Centre near Golden, BC

Photo courtesy Northern Lights Wolf Centre

The largest of the dog family, Eastern and Arctic wolves call Canada home. With prey that can usually outrun them (mice, foxes and hares), they hunt in packs of three to seven, taking turns chasing the prey they stalk.


Like many of Canada’s predatory species, wolves tend to avoid humans. Being intelligent and having excellent hearing, wolves are aware of your approach and will give you a wide berth. They only pose a threat to injured or otherwise weak humans, which can include children. If you come across a wolf, stand your ground and do not run or turn your back. Raise your arms to make yourself look larger and maintain eye contact. If the hair on their back rises, indicating aggression, start yelling and throwing things in their direction. If you lose your footing or fall the wolves will swarm you, so use clubs, rocks or anything you can to fend off an attack. When travelling with a pet, keep yourself between the wolf and your pet to help end the encounter.

 

Bears

Montebello-Quebec-Kenauk-Bear-Watching-2

A curious bear in Montebello Quebec

Black & Brown Bears

Black bears are the most common bears you will encounter and the smartest of the three bear species found in North America. Black bears want your food. Ensure that your food and garbage are beyond the reach of animals. When leaving, collect and dispose of your garbage in proper locations. This small step can go a long way to dissuading bears coming into your area.

Brown bears, also known as grizzly bears are some of the largest and most powerful bears. They want to be left alone and may be upset you are in their area, but it’s unlikely they will to eat you. Make an effort not to startle one if you are in brown bear territory. Bear spray, when used properly, is helpful in dissuading them from attacking.

Bear attacks are rare but do happen. When hiking to your campsite, it’s a good idea to travel in groups and make noise giving the bear a chance to leave the area so it doesn’t feel crowded. Since bears are very protective of their young if you know is a cub in the area, change locations immediately. Never, ever get between a bear and her cubs.

 

If the bear sees you before you can leave do not approach them, even if they seem calm and peaceful. Also, do not run. If you do, you will look like prey and it will follow you out of instinct. You can’t outrun them either, bears can get a speed of 30 mph. Stand your ground or back away slowly from the bear while trying to look larger, yelling, waving your arms and big exaggerated movements. If a bear charges, it is likely a bluff. DO NOT RUN! They will often come within a few feet then veer off at the last second.

 

Polar Bears

Polar Bear Kid Friendly Quebec city

Photo Credit SHUTTERSTOCK Sepaq

If you are in the northernmost region of Canada you may come across a polar bear. This rare encounter is usually the result of the bear looking for food, and they consider humans food. The same rules apply: Don’t run. You can’t outrun them. They live in water, so you won’t outswim them either.

If a polar bear is agitated it will make loud huffing noises and snap its jaws. If they charge it will NOT be a bluff. Try to calmly leave the area or get inside a building, but do not turn your back and do not make eye contact. Making noise may drive them away. If all else fails use whatever deterrent or weapon available.

Snakes

You might think there aren’t poisonous snakes in Canada, but you would be wrong. In Canada, there are around 35 species of snakes, of which 26 are native. Of those, four are venomous and found in Alberta, Saskatchewan, British Columbia and Ontario. The most dangerous snake, the Prairie Rattlesnake is found in Saskatchewan and Alberta.

Don’t get nervous, there are less than a dozen snakebites reported in Canada a year.

Most snakes are neither dangerous or poisonous. 80% of bites occur when people stick their hand or foot into places snakes hang out like holes, under rocks or in bushes. If you see one following you, stomp your feet. The vibrations will confuse the snake and it will leave. If you are bitten, do not attempt to suck the poison out – that only works on TV. Wash the bite, apply a tourniquet and get to a medical professional.

Cougar (a.k.a. Mountain Lion)

Canada Wild: What to Do When You Encounter Wild Animals on Their Turf – Cougar/Mountain Lion

Cougars, Canada’s largest wild cat, have healthy populations in Alberta and British Columbia. They hunt throughout the day or night all year round but are more active at dusk or dawn. Due to their small size and erratic movements similar to small prey, children are susceptible to cougar attacks, as are adults crouched, sitting or kneeling.

Fortunately, attacks average only 6 per year in North America. If you ever find yourself face-to-face with one of Canada’s most dangerous felines, do not run, as any sudden movement will spark the attack instinct. Back away slowly looking them in the eye and never turn your back on them.

Raise your voice and speak firmly, raise your arms, throw rocks in their direction (not hitting them) to convince them you are a threat, not prey. Also allow them an avenue of escape so they don’t feel trapped and attack. Playing dead is not a suggested strategy. If the cat attacks, fight back and don’t stop; people have successfully fought off cougars with rocks and sticks. Stay on your feet, or if you fall get back up as quickly as possible. If you have pepper spray or a large stick, use it or anything you can as a weapon to protect yourself.

Moose and Elk

Newfoundland is famous for its robust moose population By Ryan Hagerty [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Photo By Ryan Hagerty [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Most do not think of Canada’s gentile-looking cultural icon to be aggressive, but moose can be, especially if startled and during rutting (mating) season or while with their young calves. The sheer size of these large animals (600 – 800 kilograms), makes them a threat. Also, moose can kick with either their front or back feet, meaning you don’t know where the attack will come from.

If you come across a moose keep a wide berth and make a hasty exit. Moose are used to being the largest animals and will stand their ground. When going to attack, they may give a “bluff” charge as a warning sign with their ears laid back and their long back hairs raised. It will stomp the ground and swing its head in your direction. If this happens, back away and look for something—a car or tree—to put between you and the moose, especially it’s antlers.

Elk are smaller than moose but still grow to half a ton. Plentiful in Canada’s wilderness, people are used to their presence and forget elk can be dangerous.

Many of the same rules of moose apply to elk. Always keep a safe distance, never approach a baby calf, even if you think it’s alone, the mother is likely close and you don’t want to come between a calf and its mother.  If you come across an elk, do not turn your back on the animal since they almost always charge from behind. Raise your arms and use your jacket or backpack to make yourself appear larger. If you have a dog with you, turn it loose on the animal, and that may distract them enough that you can escape or climb a tree.

Coyote

Canada Wild: What to Do When You Encounter Wild Animals on Their Turf – Coyote

Coyotes are found across Canada in both country and urban areas, and they are not scared of humans. Although there is some danger to small children, they pose more of a threat to dogs. If you see them showing interest in your dog they are likely just curious, but remember in packs coyotes can pose a threat to large dogs, so keep your dog on a leash or inside if possible.

If you do come across a coyote, don’t run. Stand your ground and try to scare them off by yelling (not screaming), waving your arms and throwing things in their direction, but not at them.

By Paige McEachren

Paige McEachren spent over 20 years working in corporate communications for world-leading technology, healthcare and pharmaceutical companies. In 2015, she decided to leave the professional workplace to stay home and help her young kids navigate life with ADHD and dyslexia. When not taking care of her kids (3 including her husband), she loves to plan family vacations, struggles with the love of baking and wanting to be healthy, challenges herself to try new things and if lucky, finds a bit of quiet time. She shares her tales of a disordered life on her blog www.pieceofpie.ca. You can also follow her on Twitter or Instagram.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *