许多加拿大度假者都知道爱德华王子岛是一个老式的、悠闲的天堂,这里有红沙滩、美味的新鲜海鲜,还有很多适合孩子们玩耍的地方。 家庭冒险的中心是卡文迪什, 闪耀的水域家庭乐园, 沙嘴游乐园, 练习 卡文迪许浮桥, 而且当然, 卡文迪什海滩.

但是那些你需要从喧嚣中休息一下的日子呢?

如果您今年夏天在 PEI,并且正在寻找远离活动的凉爽一天,请考虑在新格拉斯哥村度过一个下午。 距离卡文迪什仅 10 分钟车程 中央海岸大道,这个小社区(不要与新斯科舍省的新格拉斯哥大镇混淆!)为一日游者提供了一些真正令人愉快的宝藏。 这里有五个最好的:

1. 爱德华王子岛保护区公司

PEI 蜜饯公司,新格拉斯哥,PEI - Helen Earley 的茶和蛋糕

PEI Preserve 公司/信用:Helen Earley

爱德华王子岛保护区公司 不止是一家奶茶店,早午餐晚餐菜单齐全,礼品店琳琅满目 杜农陶器,还有美丽的花园,有很多放松的地方——甚至可以午睡。 并非每个游客都意识到的一件事是,希望花园的尽头矗立着 喘息小屋,一个“休息、希望和更新精神的地方”。 改建后的小教堂可容纳 6 至 7 人,全年免费供患有危及生命的疾病的人或患有同情疲劳的护理人员使用。 仿佛茶、蛋糕、善意和美丽的花园还不够,现场还可以找到另一个自然之美的证明 蝴蝶之家, 季节性 对 游客 开放 .

2. 玩具厂

玩具厂 已经有超过 45 年的历史,销售精选的高品质制造和手工玩具。 漫步在古色古香的童话花园,或参观工作室,如果幸运的话,您或许可以制作出属于自己的个性化木制玩具。 如果您认为这只是另一家玩具店,请查看 猫途鹰 评论。 大多数游客对这个地方说的不够多!

3. 格拉斯哥格伦农场披萨

格拉斯哥格伦披萨,新格拉斯哥,爱德华王子岛,爱德华王子岛

格拉斯哥格伦农场/信用:Helen Earley

爱德华王子岛被称为“加拿大美食岛”是有原因的,没有比这更好的例子了 格拉斯哥格伦农场,由厨师、食谱作者和著名的前讲师 Jeff McCourt 经营的比萨餐厅和奶酪工厂 加拿大烹饪学院,位于首都夏洛特敦的顶级厨师学校。

新格拉斯哥

来自格拉斯哥格伦农场的新鲜岛屿食材的燃木比萨饼/信用:Helen Earley

McCourt 对他的燃木烤箱和由此产生的美味充满热情,包括他自己的美味食谱:Sweeza:甜比萨饼,带有椰子和烤菠萝、焦糖香蕉和热软糖或苹果脆和焦糖等口味。 这里提供的任何东西都不是普通的或普通的。 一切都很美味。

4. 格拉斯哥山高尔夫俱乐部

新格拉斯哥爱德华王子岛的格拉斯哥山高尔夫俱乐部

图片来源:©Tourism PEI / Yvonne Duivenvoorden

如果您喜欢打高尔夫球,那么爱德华王子岛的新格拉斯哥就是您的理想去处。 格拉斯哥山高尔夫俱乐部 是一个 18 洞锦标赛高尔夫球场,已获得《高尔夫文摘》的 4 星评级,据《环球邮报》报道,被认为是加拿大 70 家顶级高尔夫球场之一。 据说这是一个具有挑战性的课程,它拥有克莱德河和圣劳伦斯湾的美丽景色。 俱乐部的餐厅, 派珀的, 供应各种酒吧风格的美食。

5. 新格拉斯哥龙虾晚餐

新格拉斯哥龙虾晚餐

图片来源:©Tourism PEI / Yvonne Duivenvoorden

离开爱德华王子岛时,您不能不享用传统的龙虾晚餐,那么为什么不去参观一下有人说是岛上第一个(也有人说仍然是最好的)的地方呢? 新格拉斯哥龙虾晚餐 自 1958 年以来一直供应美味的龙虾餐。首先,享用新鲜的 PEI 贻贝或厚实的自制海鲜杂烩。 对于甜点,试试“英里高”柠檬蛋白酥皮派。 3 岁及以下儿童免费用餐!


作者是美丽的爱德华王子岛的常客,这次是 旅游PEI,它没有审查或批准这篇文章。

5 Delicious, Relaxing Family Adventures in New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island

PEI landscape

Credit: ©Tourism PEI / Yvonne Duivenvoorden

Many Canadian vacationers know Prince Edward Island as an old-fashioned, laid-back paradise with red sand beaches, delicious fresh seafood, and plenty to do for kids. The epicentre of family adventure is Cavendish, with Shining Waters Family Fun Park, Sandspit Amusement Park, the Cavendish Boardwalk, and of course, Cavendish Beach.



But what about those days when you need a break from the hustle and bustle?

If you’re on PEI this summer, and you’re searching  for a chilled out day away from the action, consider spending the afternoon in the village of New Glasgow. Located just 10 minutes’ drive from Cavendish along the Central Coastal Drive,  this small community (not to be confused with the larger town of New Glasgow in Nova Scotia!) has some truly delightful treasures for the day-tripper. Here are five of the best:

1. Prince Edward Island Preserve Company

PEI preserve company, New Glasgow, PEI - tea and cake by Helen Earley

PEI Preserve Company/credit: Helen Earley

The PEI Preserve Company is more than a tea shop, with a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, a gift store full of Dunoon pottery, and beautiful gardens with plenty of places to relax – or even have an afternoon nap. One thing that not every visitor realizes is that at the end of The Garden of Hope stands Respite Cottage, a “place of rest, hope and renewed spirit.” The converted chapel, which sleeps 6-7 people, is available free of charge, year-round, for those who have a life-threatening illness, or for caregivers suffering from compassion fatigue. As if tea, cakes, goodwill and beautiful gardens weren’t enough, another testament to the beauty of nature can be found in the onsite Butterfly House, open to visitors seasonally .

2. The Toy Factory

The Toy Factory has been going for over 45 years, selling a selection of high quality manufactured and hand-made toys. Stroll through the quaint fairy gardens, or visit the workshop where, if you are lucky, you might be able to craft a personalized wooden toy of your own. If you’re thinking this is just another toy store, check the Trip Advisor reviews. Most visitors can’t say enough about this place!

3. Glasgow Glen Farm Pizza

Glasgow Glen Pizza, New Glasgow, PEI, Prince Edward Island

Glasgow Glen Farm/credit: Helen Earley

There’s a reason that Prince Edward Island is called “Canada’s Food Island”, and there’s no better example than Glasgow Glen Farm, a pizza restaurant and cheese factory run by Jeff McCourt, a chef, cookbook author, and former instructor at the esteemed Culinary Institute of Canada, a top chef school located in the capital, Charlottetown.

New Glasgow

Wood-fired pizza with fresh island ingredients from Glasgow Glen Farm/credit: Helen Earley

McCourt is totally passionate about his wood-fired oven and the delicacies that come out of it, including his own delicious recipe: Sweeza: sweet pizza with flavours such as coconut and roast pineapple, caramelized banana and hot fudge, or apple crisp and caramel. Nothing served here is ordinary or run-of-the-mill. Everything is delicious.

4. Glasgow Hills Golf Club

Glasgow Hills Golf Club in New Glasgow Prince Edward Island

Credit: ©Tourism PEI / Yvonne Duivenvoorden

If golf is your thing, then New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island is a great place to be. Glasgow Hills Golf Club is an 18-hole championship golf course that has earned a 4-star rating from Golf Digest, and is considered one of the 70 top golf courses in Canada, according to the Globe and Mail. Said to be a challenging course, it has beautiful views of both the River Clyde and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The club’s restaurant, Piper’s, serves a variety of pub-style fare.

5. New Glasgow Lobster Suppers

New Glasgow Lobster Suppers

Credit: ©Tourism PEI / Yvonne Duivenvoorden

You can’t leave PEI without feasting on a traditional lobster supper, so why not visit what some say was the first (and some say is still the very best) on the island? New Glasgow Lobster Suppers has been serving delicious lobster meals since 1958. To start, enjoy fresh PEI mussels or chunky homemade seafood chowder. For dessert, try the “mile high” lemon meringue pie. Kids 3 and under eat free!


The author is a regular visitor to beautiful Prince Edward Island, and on this occasion was a guest of Tourism PEI, which did not review or approve this article.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *