fbpx

来一杯咖啡–安大略省南部的茶馆

传说在XNUMX世纪中叶,维多利亚女王的终身朋友贝德福德公爵夫人(Duchess of Bedford)一直喝下午茶,以此来吸引饥饿的客人,直到晚餐到来。

这一举动激发了导致世界各地茶馆开业的趋势。 多年来,在参观了许多茶馆之后,我可以说完美的茶馆包含三种成分:无可挑剔的服务,美味的手抓食物和茶以及略带复古和沉稳的装潢。

以下是一些我的最爱:



阿比盖尔的, 圣乔治–当我和我的女儿走进阿比盖尔的茶馆时,迷人的氛围像一条舒适的毯子一样环绕着我们。 它是悬挂在锡制天花板上的大型鸟笼吊灯,华丽的粉红色和绿色孔雀墙纸以及门旁的法国簇绒长椅上。

要打造完美的茶馆并不容易,但是夫妻洛琳和伊万·怀特对此很满意。 当这对夫妇于2012年从多伦多移居至圣乔治时,他们购买了位于主要街道拐角处的1911年建筑,并开始进行装修。 几个月后,他们将其转变为如今存在的经典英式茶馆。

在覆盖长凳,草绿色墙壁和浅绿色桌子的条纹靠垫中,始终可以看到粉红色和绿色的配色方案,并给人以镇定的感觉。

Abigails茶馆-照片Denise Davy

阿比盖尔的茶馆–照片丹妮丝·戴维

他们的菜单也很正确,在我们参观的所有茶馆中,他们的下午茶绝对是最丰富的。 下午茶(每人35美元)以一小份水果沙拉开始,先切成薄片的香蕉,葡萄,草莓和黑莓,然后再放一小盘饼干,配以可口的切达干酪老皮奶酪。 然后是美味的花园沙拉,上面放有胡萝卜,切成看起来像郁金香。

三层托盘上满是蓬松的烤饼,水果和浆果,德文郡奶油和果酱以及三明治。 我们几乎没有甜点的余地,其中包括美味的日期方块,黄油蛋and和糖饼干。

没有各种各样的茶,没有哪个茶馆是完整的,Abigail的茶有40多种散叶茶,包括他们自己的Raspberry Cream Earl Grey混合茶。 服务无可挑剔,锦上添花使这次访问非常完美。 我们对阿比盖尔(Abigail)的访问是一次迷人的经历,我们一定会回来的。

剑桥兰登厅 –如果您将茶馆比作汽车,那么兰登厅(Langdon Hall)可能是凯迪拉克(Cadillac)的优雅装饰和美丽的乡村环境。 红砖豪宅被安置在一个风景优美的院子里,这个院子似乎持续了数英里。 Langdon Hall的原始建筑可以追溯到1898年,尽管自那时以来进行了许多翻新,但古老的历史魅力仍然从墙壁上散发出来。

我当时是生日聚会的一部分,我们坐在其中一间宽敞的房间中,可以完全保密。 他们的下午茶(每人50美元)包括酪乳烤饼,蜂蜜黄油,自制果酱和德文郡奶油,以及包括胡萝卜蛋糕和五香西葫芦百香果派的甜点。

该设置的一个额外好处是,您之后可以在美丽的小径上漫步甜点。 虽然装饰是首屈一指的,但我并没有像他们希望的那样对他们的菜单感到眼花as乱,因为有些三明治有点干,我发现甜点有点太甜了。 尽管如此,兰登厅仍然是一个非常神奇的地方,非常适合那些特殊场合。

泰达茶室,邓达斯 –泰勒(Taylor's)的尺寸可能比兰登(Langdon)小,但它具有其姊妹茶馆的所有魅力和氛围。 茶室位于邓达斯(Dundas)的主要街道上,已有20多年的历史了,茶室营造出一种舒适的氛围,可容纳25人,适合与好朋友进行长时间的亲密聊天。 在冬季,壁炉增添了更多的氛围。

泰勒茶室-照片丹妮丝·戴维

泰勒茶室–照片丹妮丝·戴维

下午茶(每人30美元)包括各式各样的茶三明治(例如鸡蛋沙拉,黄瓜和鲑鱼)以及美味的烤饼,果酱和奶油奶酪,以及一盘杏仁饼,黄油蛋t和巧克力。 可以将其一分为二,这是我和我朋友所要做的。 我加了烤胡桃南瓜汤,这是我吃过的最好的。

泰勒(Taylor's)变得如此受欢迎,建议您在中午之前就坐下来。

白宫茶,Waterdown –在茶馆中引起关注的是小东西,其中之一就是茶杯。 我立刻在白宫的Tea上注意到的一件事是,茶杯手柄完全适合自己的手指。 事实证明,这是共同所有者和合作伙伴Connor Skingley和Andrew May选择它们的原因之一。

安德鲁说,在选择可爱的白色杯子之前,他们已经测试了好几次,这说明了这座华丽茶馆对细节的关注。 白宫的茶馆最初于1999年在Waterdown市中心的白宫(因此得名)开业。

白宫的茶-图片Denise Davy

白宫的茶–摄影丹妮丝·戴维(Denise Davy)

受欢迎的地点突然关闭(现在是Waterdown Tea House),两年半前,它在北大街35号重新开放时,这真是一个惊喜。 新茶馆具有开放,通风的感觉,墙壁浅灰色,地板深色,窗户大。

他们的220种散叶茶品种中的许多种都在柜台后面展出。 下午茶(每人30美元)包括英式甜烤饼,英式奶油和自制果酱。 手指三明治就像鸡蛋沙拉配细香葱一样,非常美味,甜点包括糖脆饼,巧克力慕斯和小三块巧克力布朗尼。

如果您有12岁以下的年轻人,他们可以提供王子/公主茶,每人$ 19。

Abigails Tea House Goodie托盘-照片Denise Davy

高大托盘的阿比盖尔茶馆的糖果–照片丹妮丝·戴维

Waterdown茶馆, 冲淡 - Waterdown茶馆的优势是可以在拥有精美骨头的华丽历史建筑中居住。 老房子带来的美妙氛围使它成为舒适的下午茶体验的完美之选。 它还有一个漂亮的露台,在温暖的月份开放。

下午茶(每人30美元)包括零食,进口的德文郡奶油和果酱,以及一小罐散叶茶。 由鸡蛋沙拉,黄瓜和奶油芝士,烟熏三文鱼配奶油芝士和鲑鱼酱制成的无壳三明治。 始终像对待皇室成员一样对待您的服务是完美的。

茶阿摩司, 汉密尔顿 –如果您无法前往茶馆,则可以随时让茶馆来找您。 这是Heather和Marian Peters自2019年XNUMX月以来一直经营的茶馆背后的想法。母女团队提出了对老式拖车进行翻新的想法,并主持生日,周年纪念日,淋浴,婚礼和公司活动在人们的家中和其他地方。

“我们来自爱尔兰的一个大家庭,因此与家人和朋友一起喝茶一直是我们生活的一部分。 我们很高兴我们现在可以通过我们的移动茶水服务与他人分享这种经验!”

这两人将带着他们的拖车来到您的家中或公司,并为您提供热的散茶,冰的散茶,本地烤制的咖啡以及诸如覆盆子蛋糕卷,脆饼和饼干的美味佳肴。 小团体也可以品尝美味的三明治。

一个朋友,她的生日那天在家里有茶馆的拖车,她很喜欢。 正如希瑟(Heather)所说:“其背后的想法是为人们带来下午茶的体验,无论是前门还是夏季市场。”

定价取决于人数和地点。

作者是白宫Abigail's and Tea的来宾,但是在发表之前,他们没有对此文章进行任何评论或编辑。

COVID更新(截至3年2020月XNUMX日)

白宫的茶馆一直在路边提供提货服务,并于周五和周六在本地送货上门,并为加拿大各地运送的大多数商品提供包裹送货服务。 他们甚至向育空地区发出了订单。 虽然他们的门不对公众开放,但他们一直在从周五至周日的上午11点至下午2点提供路边下午茶外卖,其中包括三明治,糖果和司康饼。他们计划在安全的情况下尽快重新开放,一直遵循公共卫生机构的建议。

兰登厅已对公众关闭,但计划在安全的情况下尽快重新开放。

泰勒的茶室一直在提供路边下车或接机时间为上午11点至下午2点之间的订单

阿比盖尔的茶馆一直在提供外卖的下午茶,并计划在安全的时候重新开放。

根据公共卫生规定,Waterdown茶馆一直在提供周末路边取货,并计划很快重新开放其内部餐厅和露台。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Come for a Cuppa – Tea houses in Southern Ontario

Legend has it that in the mid-eighteenth century the Duchess of Bedford, a lifelong friend of Queen Victoria, served an afternoon tea as a way of holding her hungry guests over until the evening meal arrived.

That move inspired a trend that leads to the opening of tea houses around the world. After visiting many tea houses over the years, I can say that there are three ingredients that make up the perfect tea house: impeccable service, tasty finger foods and teas plus a decor that’s a little vintage and lot of calm.

Here is a list of some of my favourites:



Abigail’s, St. George –As soon as my daughter and I stepped into Abigail’s Tea House, the charming ambience surrounded us like a comforting blanket. It was in the large birdcage chandeliers that hung from the tin ceiling, gorgeous pink and green peacock wallpaper and French tufted bench by the door.

It’s not easy to pull off the perfect tea house but husband and wife Lorene and Ivan White nailed it. When the couple moved to St. George from Toronto in 2012, they bought the 1911 building located at the corner of the main street and began renovations. After many months, they transformed it into the classic English tea house that exists today.

The pink and green colour scheme is seen throughout, in the striped cushions that cover the benches, the grass green walls and light green tables and give it a calming feel.

Abigails Tea House - Photo Denise Davy

Abigail’s Tea House – Photo Denise Davy

They also got the menu right and, of all the tea houses we visited, their High Tea was definitely the most abundant. High Tea ($35 per person) started with a small fruit salad, with sliced bananas, grapes, strawberries and blackberries, followed by a small plate of crackers served with delicious aged cheddar pimento cheese. Then came a delicious garden salad topped with a carrot that was sliced to look like a tulip.

The three-tiered tray was overflowing with fluffy scones, fruit and berries, Devonshire cream and jam, plus sandwiches. We barely had room for dessert which included delicious date squares, butter tarts and sugar cookies.

No tea house is complete without a wide selection of teas and Abigail’s has more than 40 loose leaf teas, including their own blend of Raspberry Cream Earl Grey. Service was impeccable and the icing on the cake that made the visit so perfect. Our visit to Abigail’s was a charming experience and we will definitely be back.

Langdon Hall, Cambridge – If you ranked tea houses like cars then Langdon Hall could be the Cadillac for its elegant decor and beautiful country setting. The red-brick mansion is set back on a beautifully landscaped yard that seemed to go on for miles. The original building at Langdon Hall dates back to 1898 and, while there have been many renovations since then, the old historic charm still emanates from the walls.

I was there as part of a birthday group and we were seated in one of the spacious rooms that allow for complete privacy. Their Afternoon Tea ($50 per person) consisted of buttermilk scones, honey butter, house-made preserves and Devon cream as well as desserts that included carrot cake and spiced zucchini whoopee pie.

An added bonus to the setting is that you can walk off the desserts on the beautiful trails afterwards. While the decor was second to none, I wasn’t as bedazzled with their menu as I’d hoped as some of the sandwiches were a little dry and I found the desserts a little too sweet. Still, Langdon Hall is a very magical place and perfect for those special occasions.

Taylor’s Tea Room, Dundas – Taylor’s may be smaller in size than Langdon but it has all the charm and ambience of its big sister tea houses. Located on the main street of Dundas for more than 20 years, the tea room has a cozy atmosphere that seats around 25 people and lends itself to long intimate chats with a good friend. In the winter months, the fireplace adds even more ambience.

Taylors Tea Room - Photo Denise Davy

Taylors Tea Room – Photo Denise Davy

Afternoon Tea ($30 per person) includes an assortment of tea sandwiches (egg salad, cucumber and salmon) as well as a delicious scone with jam and cream cheese plus a dessert plate of macaroons, butter tarts and chocolate. There’s more than enough to split it for two, which is what my friend and I did. I added the roasted butternut squash soup which was the best I’ve ever had.

Taylor’s has become so popular that it’s suggested you arrive before noon to get a seat.

Tea at the White House, Waterdown – It’s the little things that make a big statement at tea houses and one of them is the teacup. One thing I noticed right away at Tea at the White House was how perfectly the teacup handle fit into one’s finger. As it turned out, it’s one of the reasons co-owners and partners Connor Skingley and Andrew May chose them.

Andrew said they tested several before choosing the lovely white cups, which speaks to the attention to detail brought to this gorgeous tea house. Tea at the White House originally opened in 1999 in the white house (hence the name) in downtown Waterdown.

Tea at the White House - Photo Denise Davy

Tea at the White House – Photo Denise Davy

The popular spot closed quite suddenly (it is now the Waterdown Tea House) and it was a nice surprise when, two and a half years ago, it reopened at 35 Main Street North. The new tea house has an open, airy feel with light grey walls, dark floor and large windows.

Many of their 220 varieties of loose leaf tea are on display behind the counter. The Afternoon Tea ($30 per person) consists of English sweet scones with English cream and homemade jam. The finger sandwiches, like egg salad with chives, were delicious and dessert included sugar crunch shortbread, chocolate mousse and a small triple chocolate brownie.

If you have young ones under 12, they offer a prince/princess tea for $19 per person.

Abigails Tea House Goodie tray- Photo Denise Davy

Tall tray of goodies at Abigail’s Tea House – Photo Denise Davy

Waterdown Tea House, Waterdown – The Waterdown Tea House has the advantage of being in a gorgeous historic home that has great bones. The wonderful ambience that comes with older homes makes it perfect for a cosy high tea experience. It also has a lovely patio which is opened during the warmer months.

The High Tea ($30 per person) includes treats, imported Devonshire cream and preserves plus a small pot of loose leaf tea. The crustless sandwiches made from egg salad, cucumber and cream cheese, smoked salmon on cream cheese and salmon pâté. The service is always perfect with staff who treat you like royalty.

Tea Amos, Hamilton – If you can’t make it to a tea house, you can always have the tea house come to you. That’s the idea behind Heather and Marian Peters’ traveling tea house which they’ve been running since June of 2019. The mother-daughter team came up with the idea to renovate a vintage trailer and host birthdays, anniversaries, showers, weddings and corporate events at people’s homes and other locations.

“We come from a big Irish family, so coming together with family and friends over tea has always been a part of our lives. We are so happy that we can now share that experience with others, with our mobile tea services!”

The two will come to your home or business with their trailer and serve hot loose leaf teas, iced loose leaf teas, locally roasted coffee and dainty treats like raspberry cake rolls, shortbread, and cookies. Dainty sandwiches are also available for smaller groups.

A friend who had the tea house trailer at her home for her birthday loved it. As Heather said, “The idea behind it is to bring the afternoon tea experience to people, whether it’s someone’s front door or a summer market.”

Pricing depends on the number of people and location.

The author was a guest of Abigail’s and Tea at the White House, however, they did not review or edit this article before publication.

COVID UPDATE (as at June 3, 2020)

Tea at the White House has been offering curbside pickup with local home delivery on Friday and Saturday and parcel delivery for most items shipped across Canada. They even shipped an order to the Yukon. While their doors remain closed to the public, they have been offering Afternoon Tea Takeaway, which includes sandwiches, sweets and scones) from Friday to Sunday Curbside from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. They plan to reopen as soon as it is safe to do so and have been following recommendations made by public health agencies.

Langdon Hall has been closed to the public but plan to reopen as soon as it is safe to do so.

Taylor’s Tea Room has been offering curbside drop off or pick up with orders made between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.

Abigail’s Tea House has been offering takeaway High Tea and plan to reopen when it is safe.

Waterdown Tea House has been offering weekend curbside pickup and plans to reopen their inside restaurant and their patio soon, according to public health rules.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.