fbpx

沿着苏必利尔湖加拿大海岸的家庭娱乐之旅

随着夏令营的关闭,在线学习(或学习课程)的结束以及我们所有人都遭受着不同程度的混乱疯狂,这也许是加拿大史诗般的公路旅行的时候。

在苏必利尔湖畔,这是我们家庭历来最喜欢的冒险之旅之一。 凭借其广阔而人烟稀少的空间,令人难以置信的风景以及充满冒险精神的追求,这真是一次真正的家庭旅行。 最好的时刻是当我们的青少年(当时分别为15岁和13岁)再次成为孩子时。 在大自然的包围下,他们咯咯笑着从手中吃的花栗鼠,凝视着水在皮划艇上寻找航海者的文物,用岩石围着紫水晶,几乎到处都跳过石头。 光滑,彩色的石头(是世界上最古老的石头)覆盖了苏必利尔湖的许多海滩,非常适合跳过。 在我们旅途的开始,我们儿子扔下的许多石头都直下沉了。 但最后,他还是个熟练的摇滚乐手。 在我们的最后一个海滩停留站,他数了十次跳水,并举起了双手以示胜利(肢体语言通常保留给电子游戏中较高的分数)。 尽管如此,在我们的架子上仍然放着一个梅森罐子,里面装有我们女儿从海滩上收集的所有珍宝,包括石英,碎木片和海滩玻璃。

如果您正在考虑高级家庭度假,那么这就是我们旅途中的亮点。

多伦多 - Sault Ste。 玛丽 (700公里)

长途跋涉后,我们渴望伸腿,我们参观了白鱼岛。 这个占地22英亩的国家历史遗址上有许多步道和木板路,可探索这个重要土著岛屿的历史和野生动植物。 在这里,我们首先瞥见了强大的苏必利尔湖,这是世界上面积最大的淡水湖,其水量与其他四个大湖以及三个额外的埃里斯湖一样。

我们留在了 三角洲SM海滨,可以欣赏到圣玛丽河沿岸的美景。 北部城市的绰号“ The Soo”有许多令人惊奇的家庭友好活动。 加拿大丛林飞机遗产中心是一个25,000平方英尺的机库,专用于丛林飞机及其与该地区的历史联系。 该网站内还设有Entomica,这是一个“虫子动物园”,鼓励动手实践来学习昆虫。 如果想刺激肾上腺素,请查看树顶探险。 木板和绳索的这种障碍路线在松树中的位置很高,并且提出了越来越棘手的挑战,直到以令人振奋的拉链滑行结束。 您甚至可以参加该市最著名的景点-Agawa Canyon火车之旅,这是为期一天的火车旅行,将乘客从原始的荒野带到Agawa Canyon Wilderness Park。

我们这次旅行没有在The Soo停留很长时间,所以第二天早上我们在Kinsmen公园度过,在那里我们沿着木板路走来欣赏迷人的Crystal Falls。

午餐是在Gigi's Bistro&Pizzeria,然后是时候前往我们的下一站了。

苏圣 玛丽–娃娃(230公里)

瓦瓦(Oawa)是奥吉布韦人的名字,意为“大鹅之地”,以其大鹅而闻名。 这个著名的路边地标高28英尺,长22英尺,翼展20英尺。 这是一个强制性的照相站。

但是,我们不是去那儿的鹅,而是在附近 岩岛旅馆。 正是在这个偏远的划船目的地,我们第一次体验到了“湖水效应”,这个术语是为苏必利尔湖所具有的吸引力和力量而创造的,当我们看着我们的青少年彼此之间重新接触并与大自然保持联系时。

岩岛住宿苏必利尔湖公路旅行-照片珍妮弗·梅里克

沿着岩石岛旅馆附近的海岸漫步–照片珍妮弗·梅里克

旅馆提供住宿和皮划艇游览,从多日探险到半日游。 我们选择了后者; 在与我们的导游杰克(Jake)一起回顾了皮划艇的基本知识之后,我们开始在米希皮科滕河(Michipicoten River)上划船。 银瀑布(Silver Falls)是风景秀丽的瀑布,是我们的休息站,我们争先恐后地爬到岩石上享用热巧克力。 回到水面上,我们探索了河的两岸。

杰克告诉我们:“通常,我们会发现Voyageur文物–管子和瓷器。”这对于从蒙特利尔到桑德贝的皮草运输者来说,这是至关重要的一站。 这次半天的冒险是对苏必利尔湖历史和美景的理想介绍,而旅馆本身也是如此。

瓦瓦到桑德贝(485公里)

我们花了整整两天的时间 桑德贝,但是我们本来可以花整整两个星期的时间去做,而且要看的东西太多了,其中包括一些最原始的受保护的荒野。 仅决定从Wawa途中去哪里野餐是一个挑战,因为有许多吸引人的选择-Ouimet峡谷,Ney's省立公园或Pukaskwa国家公园。 最后,我们在煎饼湾省立公园停下来吃午餐。 它位于瓦瓦(Wawa)以西150公里处的高速公路旁,是一片美丽的地方,拥有沙滩,远足径和苏必利尔湖(Lake Superior)的广阔景色。

我们在桑德贝的基地是 TownePlace Suites,其家庭友好型单位(包括小厨房,现场洗衣设施和游泳池)非常适合我们的需求。 从这里,我们探索了该地区的一些最佳景点。

在鹰峡谷冒险中滑索:这条拉链线长半英里,高175英尺,时速超过45英里/小时,据称是加拿大最长,最高和最快的。 孩子们喜欢它! 自从我闭上眼睛并全程尖叫(他们的反应不断提醒我这一天),我无法欣赏到美景的美。 幸运的是,有一座悬索桥,横跨峡谷延伸至令人振奋但并非令人恐惧的有利位置。

紫水晶矿山全景:安大略省的官方宝石,紫水晶的闪闪发光的紫色色调在各个年龄段的人们中都很着迷。 我们仍然拥有在此地点发现的宝藏,该宝藏是北美这种珍贵宝石的最大储藏地。 对于每磅XNUMX美元的合理价格,我们心满意足,最难的部分是决定不保留什么。 我们离开了比计划更大的包。

苏必利尔湖紫水晶公路之旅-照片珍妮弗·梅里克

紫水晶珍品-照片珍妮弗·梅里克

帆船高级巡游:与风景优美的巡游相比,这不仅仅是一场航行冒险,体验乘船倾斜的感觉真是令人激动,因为当孩子们从耳朵到耳朵咧着嘴笑的时候,我们喷水并降温使我们驶入海浪。 乘船人数少于XNUMX人,巡航很容易进行自定义,因此当一对来自萨斯喀彻温省的夫妇想知道他们的谷物去向何处时,我们的船长将我们带到了靠近岸边的大型谷物升降机附近。 我最喜欢的视图是沉睡的巨人,这是一个类似于巨人躺在他的背上,双手交叉在胸前的土地。 它是桑德贝的地标,是沉睡的巨人省立公园的一部分,以其壮观的悬崖和原始的旷野而闻名。

威廉斯堡:在这个历史悠久的公园里,我们回到1816年与弗朗索瓦·布维(Francois Bouvet)会面,后者是这个250英亩土地上的商人,这里是毛皮贸易的总部。 在19世纪初,每年夏天成千上万的人聚集在这里,以大毛皮交易和社交。 在我们访问期间,通过展示和互动演示来重现了这段历史,这些互动吸引了孩子们,以至于他们几乎记不住他们在学习什么。 病态的,他们对药剂师特别着迷。 骨锯和放血工具揭示了比航海家在将皮草从内部运送到蒙特利尔时所经历的严酷条件所能提供的历史书籍更多的信息。

卡卡贝卡瀑布安大略省-图片詹妮弗·梅里克

安大略省卡卡贝卡瀑布–照片珍妮弗·梅里克

卡卡贝卡瀑布省立公园:我们在苏必利尔湖畔的加拿大海岸的最后一站让我们惊叹于130英尺的雷声大瀑布。 当我们沿着木制的木板路和平台走时,即使是旅游旺季,我也为之震惊。

卡卡贝卡瀑布(Kakabeka Falls)体现了我对这次史诗般的家庭公路旅行的全部热爱–自然的宏伟,无人拥挤。 这可能正是我们所有人在2020年的家庭度假所需要的。

旅游圣地 玛丽(Marie),桑德贝旅游(Thunder Bay Tourism)和安大略旅游(Ontario Tourism)提供了帮助,但他们在发布之前没有对此文章进行过评论。

詹妮弗·梅里克(Jennifer Merrick)

詹妮弗·梅里克(Jennifer Merrick)是一位多伦多自由职业作家,是ESL老师,也是两个孩子的妈妈,自2008年以来一直在撰写有关家庭旅行的文章。她的故事出现在30多个印刷品和在线商店中,包括《今日的父母》,travelingmom.com和蒙特利尔家庭。 您可以在Instagram @ JenniferMerrick3上关注她。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Family Fun Road Trip Along the Canadian Shores of Lake Superior

With summer camps closed, online learning (or unlearning) finished and all of us suffering from varying degrees of stir craziness, this just may be the time for an epic Canadian road trip.

One of our family’s all-time favourite adventures on the road was along the shores of Lake Superior. With its vast yet sparsely populated spaces, incredible scenery, and adventurous pursuits it was a true family odyssey. The best moments were when our teens (15 and 13 at the time) became kids again. Surrounded by nature, they giggled at chipmunks that ate from their hands, peered into the water to search for voyageur artifacts on a kayak, rock hounded for amethyst and skipped stones almost everywhere. Smooth, multi-coloured stones –some of the oldest on earth –covered many of Lake Superior’s beaches and were perfect for skipping. At the beginning of our road trip, many of the rocks our son threw sunk straight down; but by the end, he was a skilled rock-skipper. At our last beach stop, he counted 10 skips and raised his hands in victory (body language normally reserved for high scores on video games). Still, on our shelf is a mason jar holding all the treasures our daughter collected from the beaches–pieces of quartz, bits of driftwood and beach glass.

Here are the highlights of our journey in case you’re considering your Superior family vacation.

Toronto – Sault Ste. Marie (700 km)

Eager to stretch our legs after the long drive, we visited Whitefish Island. This 22-acre national historic site had trails and boardwalks to explore the history and wildlife of this important indigenous island. It was here that we first glimpsed the mighty Lake Superior, the largest freshwater lake in the world in surface area, holding the same amount of water as the four other Great Lakes plus three additional Lake Eries.

We stayed at the Delta SM Waterfront, which had a lovely view of the St. Mary’s River shoreline. There were a surprising amount of family-friendly activities in ‘The Soo’, this northern city’s nickname. The Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre is a 25,000-square-foot hangar dedicated to the bush plane and its historical connection to the region. Entomica, a ‘bug zoo’ that encourages a hands-on approach to learning about insects, is also housed inside the site. For an adrenaline rush, check out Treetop Adventures. This obstacle course of planks and ropes is set high among the pines and offers increasingly tricky challenges until it ends with an exhilarating zip line ride. You can even go on the city’s most famous attraction –the Agawa Canyon Train Tour, a day-long train ride that takes passengers through pristine wilderness to the Agawa Canyon Wilderness Park.

We weren’t in The Soo long on this trip, so we spent the next morning at Kinsmen Park, where we walked along a boardwalk to view the stunning Crystal Falls.

Lunch was at Gigi’s Bistro & Pizzeria, and then it was time to hit the road to our next stop.

Sault Ste. Marie –Wawa (230 km)

Wawa, an Ojibwe name meaning ‘Land of the Big Goose’ is, of course, known for its giant goose. This famous roadside landmark is 28 feet tall, 22 feet long and has a wingspan of 20 feet. It’s an obligatory photo stop.

However, we weren’t there for the goose, but nearby Rock Island Lodge. It was at this remote paddling destination that we first experienced the ‘lake effect’, a term coined for the attraction and power Lake Superior held as we watched our teens reconnect with each other and nature.

Rock-Island-Lodge Lake Superior Road Trip - Photo Jennifer Merrick

Walking along the shore near Rock Island Lodge  – Photo Jennifer Merrick

The lodge offered accommodation and kayaking excursions, ranging from multi-day expeditions to half-day jaunts. We chose the latter; and after reviewing the basics of kayaking with our guide, Jake, we started paddling the Michipicoten River. Silver Falls, a scenic waterfall, was our rest stop, and we scrambled onto the rocks to enjoy some hot chocolate. Back on the water, we explored the river’s banks.

“Often, we find Voyageur artifacts –pieces of pipe and china,” Jake told us and explained how this was an essential stop for the fur transporters en route from Montreal to Thunder Bay. The half-day adventure was the ideal introduction to the history and beauty of Lake Superior as was the lodge accommodation itself.

Wawa to Thunder Bay (485 km)

We spent a full two days in Thunder Bay, but we could have spent a full two weeks there was so much to do and see, including some of the most pristine protected wilderness anywhere. Just deciding where to have a picnic on our way from Wawa was a challenge, as there were so many appealing options — Ouimet Canyon, Ney’s Provincial Park or Pukaskwa National Park. In the end, we stopped for lunch at Pancake Bay Provincial Park. Located just off the highway, 150 km west of Wawa, it was a beautiful spot with sandy beaches, hiking trails and expansive views of Lake Superior.

Our base in Thunder Bay was the TownePlace Suites, which suited our needs well with its family-friendly units including kitchenettes, on-site laundry facilities and a pool. From here, we explored some of the area’s best attractions.

Ziplining at Eagle Canyon Adventures: At half a mile long, 175 feet high and speeds reaching over 45 mph, this zip line claimed to be Canada’s longest, tallest and fastest. The kids loved it! Since I closed my eyes and screamed the whole way (a reaction they continue to remind me to this day), I couldn’t appreciate the beauty of the view. Luckily, there was a suspension bridge, which extended across the canyon for an exhilarating but not terrifying vantage point.

Amethyst Mine Panorama: Ontario’s official gemstone, amethyst’s sparkling purple hues have enchanted people throughout the ages. We still have the treasures that we found at this site, which has the largest deposit of this precious gem in North America. For a reasonable four dollars a pound, we rock hounded to our heart’s content, and the hardest part was deciding what not to keep. We left with a bigger bag than we planned.

Lake Superior Road Trip amethyst - Photo Jennifer Merrick

Amethyst treasures- Photo Jennifer Merrick

Sail Superior Cruise: More of a sailing adventure than a scenic cruise, it was thrilling to experience the boat tilting, as we sailed into the waves with water spraying and cooling us while the kids were grinning from ear to ear. With less than ten people on board, the cruise was easy to customize, so when a couple from Saskatchewan wanted to see where their grain went, our captain brought us close to the massive grain elevators close to shore. My favourite view was of the Sleeping Giant, a land formation resembling a giant lying on his back with his hands folded across his chest. It’s a Thunder Bay landmark and part of Sleeping Giant Provincial Park, known for its dramatic cliffs and pristine wilderness.

Fort Williams: At this historical park, we travelled back to 1816 to meet Francois Bouvet, a tradesman at this 250-acre site, which was the headquarters of the fur trade. In the early 19th century, thousands of people gathered here every summer for the Great Rendezvous to trade furs and socialize. On our visit, that history was recreated through displays and interactive demonstrations that engaged the kids so much they scarcely registered that they were learning something. They were particularly fascinated, morbidly so, with the apothecary. The bone saws and bloodletting tools revealed more than history books ever could about the harsh conditions voyageurs endured while transporting furs from the interior to Montreal.

Kakabeka-Falls Ontario - Photo Jennifer Merrick

Kakabeka Falls, Ontario – Photo Jennifer Merrick

Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park: Our final stop on the Canadian shores of Lake Superior mesmerized us with its 130-foot thunderous waterfall. As we walked along the wooden boardwalks and platforms, I was struck how few people were here even though it was the height of tourist season.

Kakabeka Falls embodied all that I loved about this epic family road trip –the grandness of nature with none of the crowds. It just may be what we all need in a family vacation in 2020.

Tourism Sault Ste. Marie, Thunder Bay Tourism and Ontario Tourism provided assistance, but they did not review this article prior to publication. 

 

By Jennifer Merrick

Jennifer Merrick is a Toronto-based freelance travel writer, ESL teacher and mom of two teens who has been writing about family travel since 2008. Her stories have appeared in 30+ print and online outlets, including Today’s Parent, travelingmom.com and Montreal Families. You can follow her on Instagram @JenniferMerrick3.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.