fbpx

汉密尔顿很酷的酷咖啡馆

如果您只看到詹姆斯·艾伦桥(James Allan Bridge)的汉密尔顿(Hamilton)在从多伦多到尼亚加拉(Niagara)的途中在海湾上成拱形,那么您会错过很多东西。

从桥上可以看到的烟囱天际线比现在更能说明城市的过去。 多年来,与这些烟囱相连的钢厂为成千上万的汉密尔顿人提供了生计,并为这座城市赢得了斯蒂尔敦的绰号。 多年前,变革之风席卷了汉密尔顿,并改变了一切。 在过去的20年中,汉密尔顿已变成一个文化和咖啡馆之城,其充满活力的创造力环境不断吸引着艺术家和作家。



这种转变的一部分包括开设了几家时髦的咖啡馆,据我估计,这将使像蒙特利尔这样的城市能够赚钱。 我在汉密尔顿(Hamilton)喝咖啡已经有很多年了,很难挑选我的最爱,所以这是我的前五名:

1. 541 Eatery and Exchange – 541 Barton Street East

经常使用的541坐落在汉密尔顿东端的一处废弃旧银行中。 这是一个贫困人口众多的地区,这正是业主选择该地点的原因。 541不是您的常规咖啡馆,而是可以回馈社区的咖啡馆。 支付餐费时,您可以购买一些纽扣; 五个按钮XNUMX美元。

然后,您将那些按钮从柜台上的大玻璃罐子中取出,然后放入另一个罐子中,那些可能没有很多钱的人可以浸入,不问任何问题,然后自己吃饭。 可以把它想象成一个有心的咖啡馆。

汉密尔顿541 Eatery and Exchange-照片Denise Davy

541餐厅和交流-照片Denise Davy

“向前付款”政策并不是541 Eatery如此受欢迎的唯一原因。 从高高的天花板到粉刷成白色的墙壁,木桌和绿色花盆,装饰充满个性。 所有这些结合在一起,营造出一种舒适,温馨的感觉。

如果您在一张长桌子上坐了足够长的时间,那么您离开时可能会结交几个朋友。
菜单上有很多舒适的食物,例如烤奶酪,汤,沙拉和乳蛋饼,而且价格合理。 我上次拜访时吃了红薯汤,很美味。 值得一提的是,由于地理位置优越,也很容易找到免费的路边停车位,而且马路对面总是有很多东西,整天要花掉您2美元。

2.桑树街咖啡馆–詹姆斯街北193号

很难说是什么吸引了人群更多地进入桑树-温馨,轻松的氛围或美味的食物和美味的烘焙食品。 桑树(位于其他地方)桑树街(Mulberry Street),就在詹姆斯街北(James Street North)附近,该街以其画廊和餐馆而闻名。

桑树(Mulberry)在2010年XNUMX月开业时,很快就成为了热门景点。 当您走进喷砂砖墙的前门时,以及当您往下看时,在镶嵌的瓷砖作品中,业主便保存了许多旧的装饰。

座位安排很多,包括后面的旧木亭,侧面的椅子和小桌子以及房间中间的长桌子。 拿起一个大陶瓷杯中的一杯咖啡,然后用笔记本电脑坐下来。

汉密尔顿桑树街小餐馆-照片Denise Davy

桑街美食餐厅–照片Denise Davy

工业风格的装饰与时髦的作品混合在一起,例如房间中间的照片吊灯装置,绝对是设计的亮点。 如果仔细观察,您会看到汉密尔顿的街道和小巷在灯具上被粗糙的黑白照片捕获。 汉密尔顿表现最好。

至于食物,我从来没有在那里吃过我不喜欢的饭,包括蛋饼,汤和三明治。 至于种类繁多的甜点,您可以选择其中一个超大的日期方块,这不会出错。

3.民主咖啡屋–洛克街南202号

走进民主咖啡屋,您会注意到的第一件事是从地板到天花板的黑板,上面覆盖着消息,诗歌和图画。 一些说明包括有关本地事件的信息,而有些人只是向某人问好。

甚至还有石板桌子,人们可以在其中继续他们的艺术品和写作。 这是使民主如此受欢迎并给人以社区感觉的部分原因。 菜单“对素食主义者很友好”,他们最受欢迎的菜之一是菜花翅膀。 工作人员告诉我,焦糖香草拿铁是最受欢迎的选择,此外,他们还选择了多种有机茶,包括茉莉金龙和热带雾。

4.佩斯利咖啡馆和餐厅-国王街西1020号

无论您想要的是优质咖啡还是美味的覆盆子巧克力烤饼,佩斯利都很难出错。 咖啡馆位于麦克马斯特大学附近的韦斯特代尔(Westdale)的一个小广场上,因此毫不奇怪,它是学生们的热门去处。 它也吸引了大批正在品尝一杯咖啡和美味小吃的当地人。 唯一的缺点是食物和装饰或如此诱人,以至于很难找到座位。

他们的甜点令人赞叹,特别是伯爵茶蛋糕和糕点,上面滴满了冰淇淋,在圣诞节期间,您可以点上热巧克力和糖果棒和棉花糖。
悠闲的环境和复古的气氛。 即使您只想喝一杯好咖啡,佩斯利也可以提供。 正如一位游客在TripAdvisor上写道的那样; “如果一家咖啡馆只做正确的一件事,它会提供一杯好咖啡,而佩斯利咖啡馆则做得非常好。”

5. Cherry Birch General –国王街东219号

与核心咖啡馆相比,Cherry Birch General有点不方便,但是如果您正在寻找其他与众不同的地方,那么它就可以在这里找到。 汉密尔顿的许多咖啡馆都带有时髦的旧砖外观,并带有新潮的感觉,而樱桃桦的老板丽莎·贝伦德(Lisa Behrend)则选择了干净,简约的外观,带有开放空间,光滑的白色椅子和清脆的灰色墙壁。

汉密尔顿的樱桃桦木将军-照片丹妮丝·戴维

汉密尔顿的樱桃桦木将军–摄影丹妮丝·戴维

丽莎(Lisa)想要捕捉散乱,沉稳的外观,散发出轻松的感觉,她成功了。 丽莎(Lisa)在下岗后两年前就打开了樱桃木桦树店,她决定沉迷于烘烤的热情中。

快来镇静一下吧,留下来品尝Lisa的新鲜出炉的美食,例如烤饼,酥脆的米饭,黄油butter,南瓜Nanaimo条和甜甜圈。 樱桃桦木还提供各种礼品,包括来自近五十家加拿大公司的散装茶,蜡烛和枫糖浆。 作为奖励,墙壁上充斥着当地艺术家的摄影作品和艺术品,使樱桃木桦树具有明显的汉密尔顿氛围。

汉密尔顿樱桃白桦树综合咖啡-丹妮丝·戴维(Denise Davy)

汉密尔顿的樱桃桦木将军上的精美拿铁咖啡–丹妮丝·戴维(Photo Denise Davy)

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Cool Cafes That Are Hot in Hamilton

You’re missing a lot if you’ve only seen Hamilton from the James Allan Bridge that arches across the bay on the way from Toronto to Niagara.

The smokestack skyline that is your view from the bridge says more about the city’s past than the present day. For many years, the steel mills attached to those stacks provided the livelihood for thousands of Hamiltonians and earned the city the nickname of Steeltown. The winds of change blew through Hamilton many years ago and changed all that. Over the last 20 years, Hamilton has morphed into a city of culture and cafes where its energetic, creative environment continues to draw in artists and writers.



Part of that transformation included the opening of several funky cafes which, by my estimate, would give cities like Montreal a run for its money. I’ve been cafe-ing in Hamilton for years now, and it’s too hard to pick my favourite, so here are my top five:

1. The 541 Eatery and Exchange – 541 Barton Street East

The 541, as regulars call it, is located in an old abandoned bank in Hamilton’s east end. The fact that it’s an area with high pockets of poverty is precisely why the owners chose the location. The 541 isn’t your regular cafe – it’s a cafe that gives back to the community. When you pay for your meal, you can buy some buttons; five dollars for five buttons.

You then take those buttons out of the large glass jar on the counter and put them into another jar where folks who may not have much money can dip in, no questions asked, and buy themselves a meal. Think of it as a cafe with a heart.

Hamiltons 541 Eatery and Exchange - Photo Denise Davy

541 Eatery and Exchange – Photo Denise Davy

The ‘pay it forward’ policy isn’t the only reason the 541 Eatery is so popular. The decor is loaded with character, from the high ceilings to the white painted walls, wooden tables and pots of greenery. All combined, it creates a comfortable, welcoming feel.

If you sit long enough at one of the long tables, you just might make a few friends by the time you leave.
The menu is packed with comfort foods, like grilled cheese, soup and salads and quiche, which all come at a reasonable price. I had the sweet potato soup during my last visit, and it was delicious. It’s worth mentioning that because of the location, it’s also easy to find free side street parking and there’s always the lot across the street that will cost you a whopping $2 for the whole day.

2. Mulberry Street Coffeehouse – 193 James Street North

It’s hard to say what draws the crowds to the Mulberry more – the homey, relaxed atmosphere or the great food and delicious baked goods. The Mulberry is located on – where else – Mulberry Street, just off James Street North, which has become known for its galleries and restaurants.

When the Mulberry opened in August of 2010, it quickly became known as a go-to spot. The owners saved a lot of the old decor which you see as soon as you walk in the front door in the sandblasted brick walls and, if you look down, in the inlaid tile work.

There are many seating arrangements, including old wooden booths at the back, plus chairs and small tables along the side and a long table in the middle of the room. Grab a cup of coffee in one of their large ceramic mugs and sit back with your laptop.

Hamilton Mulberry Street Eatery - Photo Denise Davy

Mulberry Street Eatery – Photo Denise Davy

The industrial style decor is mixed with funky pieces, like the photo chandelier fixture in the middle of the room that’s definitely a design highlight. If you look closely, you’ll see the streets and alleyways of Hamilton captured in gritty black and white photos on the light fixture. It’s Hamilton at its gritty best.

As for the food, I’ve never had a meal there that I didn’t like, including the quiche, soups and sandwiches. As for the extensive selections of desserts, you can’t go wrong with one of their oversized date squares.

3. Democracy Coffee House – 202 Locke Street South

Walking into the Democracy Coffee House, the first thing you notice is the floor to ceiling chalkboards that are covered with messages, poetry and drawings. Some notes include information on local events, while some people just say hello to someone.

There are even slate tables where people can continue their artwork and writing. It’s part of what makes Democracy so welcoming and gives it a community feel. The menu is “proudly vegan and vegetarian-friendly”, and one of their most popular items are the cauliflower wings. Staff tell me the caramel vanilla latte is a huge favourite as are their wide selection of organic teas that include Jasmin gold dragon and tropical mist.

4. Paisley Coffeehouse and Eatery – 1020 King Street West

Whether it’s a great coffee or a delicious raspberry chocolate scones you’re after, it’s hard to go wrong at the Paisley. The cafe is located in a small plaza in Westdale, which is near McMaster University, so it’s no surprise it’s a popular spot with students. It also attracts a high number of locals who are after a great cup of coffee and a tasty snack. The only downside is that the food and decor or so attractive that it can be hard to finds seating.

Their desserts are amazing, especially the Earl Grey tea cakes and pastries that drip with ice cream and over Christmas, you can order your hot chocolate with candy cane pieces and marshmallows.
The environment is casual with a definite vintage vibe. Even if all you’re looking for is a good cup of coffee, the Paisley can deliver. As one visitor wrote on TripAdvisor; “If a cafe should do just one thing right, it offers a good cup of coffee and Paisley cafe does this extremely well.”

5. Cherry Birch General – 219 King Street East

The Cherry Birch General is a little out of the way compared to cafes in the core, but it’s the place to be if you’re looking for something different. While many Hamilton cafes have a funky, old brick look with a trendy feel, Cherry Birch owner Lisa Behrend went for a clean, minimalist look with open spaces, sleek white chairs and crisp grey walls.

Hamilton's Cherry Birch General - Photo Denise Davy

Hamilton’s Cherry Birch General – Photo Denise Davy

Lisa wanted to capture the decluttered, calm look that gave off a relaxed feel, and she succeeded. Lisa opened the Cherry Birch two years ago after being laid off, and she decided to indulge in her passion for baking.

Come for the calm and stay for Lisa’s freshly baked goodies, like her scones, crispy rice treats, butter tarts, pumpkin Nanaimo bars and doughnuts. The Cherry Birch also has a wide array of gift items, including loose leaf teas, candles, maple syrup from close to fifty Canadian companies. As a bonus, the walls are filled with photography and artwork by local artists, giving the Cherry Birch a definite Hamilton vibe.

Coffee at Hamilton's Cherry Birch General - Photo Denise Davy

A beautiful latte at Hamilton’s Cherry Birch General – Photo Denise Davy

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The COVID-19 situation is rapidly changing. The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.