fbpx

举杯敬酒–班夫和路易斯湖的炉边用餐

班夫和路易斯湖的炉边用餐

山区环境和壁炉像热巧克力和棉花糖一样融为一体。 从班夫到路易斯湖的每家餐厅似乎都设有石壁炉,铸铁炉或火炉,但有些餐厅为浪漫的气氛增添了卓越的用餐体验。 这是一些隐秘的地方,厨师驾驶的菜单和闪烁的火光相结合,使一个夜晚变成一个值得纪念的夜晚。

远离一切 贝克河小酒馆路易斯湖

在贝克溪小酒馆用餐的机会不大。 这里没有手机接收功能,坦率地说,这是一种缓解,也有机会专注于更重要的事情,例如您的就餐伴侣。 贝克河避暑山庄(Baker Creek Mountain Resort)集合了闪闪发光的金色小木屋和山林小屋,自1949年以来一直在旧的TransCanada公路(现为Bow Valley Parkway)上欢迎旅客。弓河遇到贝克河,然后消失在山上,只留下他的后代名字。

贝克溪舒适毛毯

依ugg在篝火旁或贝克河旁舒适地摔下–照片Debra Smith

小酒馆的小屋在夜晚依stars在星空下。 石头壁炉前有一个舒适的沙发,桌子上还铺着地毯,给人一种额外的活力。 童话般的灯光在窗户和原木柱周围闪烁。 行政总厨Collin Rogers来自东海岸,还有哈利法克斯厨师Michael Smith的厨房。 小盘子受到梅兹风格的影响,但主菜主要是加拿大菜。 精美镀上的AAA阿尔伯塔省牛里脊肉,浓厚的烤猪排和来自温哥华岛的精致野生鲑鱼,以及纯素食主义者的非食肉动物花生咖喱,都在这里亮相。 卑诗省提供的葡萄酒种类繁多,包括几种冰酒。 来自坎莫尔的Grizzly Paw和卡尔加里的Big Rock的当地啤酒以及适量的鸡尾酒单使饮料菜单更趋完善。

享用含Fra Angelico和打好的奶油的热巧克力后,跌跌撞撞地来到Heritage Trapper的小木屋,那里设有面向旷野的私人门廊,按摩浴缸和几码的格子装饰。 那部电话可以待一整夜。

在93 S高速公路上,距路易斯湖15分钟路程。 电话:403-522-3761。

是...的时候了 杜松小酒馆班夫

多年来,人们一直在虚张声势的地方,瞻博网络酒店和小酒馆俯瞰弓河谷。 大约有4,000年的历史,要花上一个世纪。 加拿大公园的考古发现发现了 可可丽,这是Shuswap人民季节性使用的一种维修区住宅,位于该物业旁边的地点。 最近,Arctos&Bird收购了建于1950年代的迷人的中世纪现代酒店,后者用轻松的手更新了小酒馆,重新使用了前Timberline饭厅的原始元素。 原始的菜单挂在门厅,龙虾开胃菜为1.00美元,菲力牛排为4.25美元。

班夫和路易斯湖的Juniper Bistro炉边用餐

在Juniper小酒馆–干杯中享受火上的饮料! –黛布拉·史密斯摄

小酒馆还有便宜货。 来自PEI的首席厨师达西·汤申德(Darcy Townshend)创建了招牌“十字路口美食”,该菜肴取材于加拿大各地以及她与当地生产者和家庭经营农场的私人关系。 Canmore的Valbella Gourmet Foods提供优质的腌制肉和工匠香肠,猪肉来自Sunterra和4K农场。 两者都采用可持续的耕作方式,从而消除了对抗生素和生长激素的需求。 纳吉斯第一民族在不列颠哥伦比亚省的陆地上饲养了Kuterra大西洋鲑,以防止海洋污染。 奶酪是100%加拿大的。 这些经过深思熟虑的成分汇集在一个季节性功能菜单中,该菜单每周更改一次,运行时间为星期二至星期四,直到28月XNUMX日th。 预计会吃到像带骨头的加拿大野猪里脊肉和波旁苹果酱以及浓郁的干贝和意大利调味饭这样的主菜。 仅仅39.00美元,它就被评为班夫的最佳晚餐菜单。 价格包括免费乘搭班夫(Banff),因此您可以毫无疑问地添加招牌鸡尾酒或一杯BC葡萄酒。

Juniper Bistro炉边露台景致

在班夫(Banff)的杜松小酒馆(Juniper Bistro)看山上的日落–照片黛布拉·史密斯(Debra Smith)

在壁炉旁享用甜点,或观看星星从广阔的落地窗上的落基山脉飞出的效果,就像它们自从黎明以来出现的样子一样。

1 Juniper Way,班夫,艾伯塔省。 电话:1-403-762-2281。

让它下雪 风暴山旅馆

早在1922年,加拿大太平洋铁路公司(Canadian Pacific Railway)就建造了Storm Mountain Lodge旅馆时,就曾吹捧它为野外度假胜地。 修建93号南部高速公路时,事情变得有些忙碌。 历史悠久的木屋随着年龄的增长而变黑,而新的松木小木屋则配备了更多的设施,例如私人浴室和爪足浴缸。 但是旅馆仍然保持自给自足,脱离电网,而且凶猛地属于加拿大人。

由于客舱中没有厨房或咖啡壶,因此餐厅必须发光,而且确实可以。 在行政总厨迈克·赫斯拉(Mike Hesla)的密切注视下,厨房中出现了精选的有机植物前菜,这些菜完美地铺好了盘子。 午餐时间,甜菜根汉堡,甜菜,野蘑菇,奎奴亚藜和黑豆饼配腰果奶酪,将使素食者感到满意。

晚餐时,将手缠在温暖的野生蘑菇布吉尼翁碗中。 丰富的港口和黑加仑的肉汁令人陶醉。 或者尝试用野牛短肋,用有机谷物和面粉自制的面包擦拭枫树威士忌和胡椒玉米绒布。 如果您只有时间参加一门课程,请品尝甜点。 您会很高兴的。

风暴山旅馆甜点

如果您只有点心的时间,可以在Storm Mountain Lodge享用–图片Debra Smith

原始木屋的环绕式阳台被封闭,可俯瞰风暴山和偶尔到来的灰熊的窗户。 西侧有一家狭窄的礼品店,里面塞满了加拿大美食,还有一个很小的书角,上面放着最诱人的扶手椅。 值得骄傲的是,一个完美的河石壁炉,配有水牛头和一张由古董雪橇制成的桌子。 一边看着舞动的火焰,一边在真皮沙发上卷曲。 但是,尝试在今年冬天到达这里。 TransCanada高速公路将在2020年春季和秋季关闭以进行维修,并且这种宝石不会长期隐藏。

风暴山旅馆舒适壁炉

在Storm Mountain用餐后探索这座历史悠久的旅馆-Debra Smith摄影

班夫国家公园(Banff National Park)的93 S高速公路,经过镭转向道,向北行驶。 电话1-403-762-4155。 XNUMX月关闭,请致电确认开放时间。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

A Toast to Getting Toasty – Fireside Dining in Banff and Lake Louise

Fireside Dining in Banff and Lake Louise

Mountain settings and fireplaces go together like hot chocolate and marshmallows. While it seems that every restaurant from Banff to Lake Louise has a stone fireplace, a cast iron stove, or a fire pit, some add an outstanding dining experience to that romantic glow. Here are some hideaways where chef driven menus and twinkling firelight combine, turning a night out into a night to remember.

Get Away from it All at Baker Creek Bistro, Lake Louise

There’s no chance of a dinner interrupted at the Baker Creek Bistro. Cell phone reception is unavailable here, and frankly it’s a relief, and a chance to concentrate on more important things, like your dining companion. Baker Creek Mountain Resort is a collection of gleaming, golden log cabins and lodges that’s been welcoming travelers on the old TransCanada Highway, (now the Bow Valley Parkway), since 1949. It was named after a local prospector, who searched this site where the Bow River meets Baker Creek, before disappearing into the mountains, leaving only his name for posterity.

Baker Creek cozy blankets

Snuggle up near the fire or under a cozy throw at Baker Creek – photo Debra Smith

The Bistro cabin snuggles under a blanket of stars at night. There’s a comfy couch in front of the stone fireplace, and lap rugs for an extra touch of hygge at the tables. Fairy lights glitter around the windows and log pillars. Executive Chef Collin Rogers hails from the East coast, and the kitchen of Halifax Chef Michael Smith. Small plates are mezze influenced, but the entrees are mainly Canadian. Beautifully plated cuts of AAA Alberta beef tenderloin, thick grilled pork loin chops and delicate wild salmon from Vancouver Island make an appearance, along with a vegan peanut curry for non-carnivores. The wine list is heavy on BC offerings, including several ice wines. Local beers from Grizzly Paw in Canmore, and Big Rock in Calgary plus a modest cocktail list round out the drinks menu.

After a boozy hot chocolate with Fra Angelico and whipped cream, stumble over to the Heritage Trapper’s log cabin with a private porch that faces the wilderness, a Jacuzzi tub, and yards of plaid décor. That phone can stay off for the night.

On Highway 93 S, 15 minutes from Lake Louise. Phone: 403-522-3761.

It’s Time for The Juniper Bistro, Banff

People have been coming to the bluff where the Juniper Hotel and Bistro overlooks the Bow Valley for years. About 4,000 years, give or take a century. An archaeological dig by Parks Canada uncovered a kekuli, a type of pit house dwelling, used seasonally by the Shuswap people, on a site beside the property. More recently, the attractive mid-century mod hotel, built in the 1950’s, was acquired by Arctos & Bird, who updated the bistro with a light hand, reusing original elements from the former Timberline dining room. An original menu hangs in the foyer, featuring lobster appetizers for $1.00 and filet mignon for $4.25.

Juniper Bistro Fireside dining in Banff and Lake Louise

Enjoy drinks by the fire at the Juniper Bistro – Cheers! – photo by Debra Smith

There are still bargains to be had at the Bistro. Head Chef Darcy Townshend, who hails from P.E.I, has created a signature “crossroads cuisine”, that draws from regions across Canada and her personal relationships with local producers and family run farms. Canmore’s Valbella Gourmet Foods supplies quality cured meats and artisan sausages, pork comes from Sunterra and 4K farms. Both use sustainable farming practices that eliminate the need for antibiotics and growth hormones. The Kuterra Atlantic salmon is raised on land in BC by the ‘Namgis First Nation to prevent contamination of the ocean. Cheeses are 100% Canadian. These carefully considered Ingredients come together In a seasonal feature menu, that changes weekly and runs Tuesday to Thursday until May 28th. Expect entrée items like a bone-in Canadian wild boar loin with bourbon apple sauce and thick, tender scallops with risotto. At a mere $39.00, it’s been voted Banff’s Best Dinner Menu. The price includes a free ride back into Banff, so you can add a signature cocktail or a glass of BC wine with no regrets.

Juniper Bistro Fireside patio views

Watch the sunset over the mountains at the Juniper Bistro in Banff – photo Debra Smith

Enjoy dessert by the fireplace, or watch the stars come out over the Rockies from the expansive picture windows, the same way they’ve appeared since the dawn of time.

1 Juniper Way, Banff, Alberta. Phone: 1-403-762-2281.

Let it Snow at Storm Mountain Lodge

Back in 1922 when Storm Mountain Lodge was built by the Canadian Pacific Railway, it was touted as a backcountry getaway. When Highway 93 South was built, things got a bit busier. The historic log cabins, now blackened with age, were joined by newer pine cabins with more amenities like private bathrooms and clawfoot tubs. But the lodge still remains self-sustaining, off the grid and fiercely Canadian.

Since there are no kitchens or coffee makers in the cabins, the dining room has to shine, and it does. Under the watchful eye of Executive Chef Mike Hesla, a delectable selection of organic, plant-forward dishes emerge from the kitchen, perfectly plated. Vegetarians will be delighted with the lunchtime beetroot burger, a beet, wild mushroom, quinoa and black bean patty draped with cashew cheese.

For dinner, wrap your hands around a warm bowl of wild mushroom bourguignon. It’s rich port and blackcurrant gravy are intoxicating. Or try the bison short ribs, mopping up the maple whiskey and peppercorn velouté with bread made in-house from organic grains and flours. And if you only have time for one course, have dessert. You’ll be glad you did.

Storm Mountain Lodge dessert

If you only have time for dessert have it at Storm Mountain Lodge – photo Debra Smith

The wraparound verandah of the original log lodge has been enclosed with windows that overlook Storm Mountain and the occasional visiting grizzly bear. The west side holds a narrow gift shop crammed with Canadian delicacies and a tiny book nook with a most inviting armchair. In pride of place is a perfect river stone fireplace, complete with buffalo head, and a table made from an antique sled. Curl up on the deep leather sofa while you watch the dancing flames. But try and get here this winter. The TransCanada Highway will be closed in the spring and fall of 2020 for repairs and this gem won’t stay hidden for long.

Storm Mountain Lodge cozy fireplace

Explore the historic lodge after dining at Storm Mountain – photo by Debra Smith

Highway 93 S, Banff National Park, past the Radium turnoff going north. Phone 1-403-762-4155. Closed in November, call to confirm opening times.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.