Dublin, Irlande: plus qu'une simple chance

Dublin, - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Dublin - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Il n'y avait aucun doute que j'aimerais l'Irlande, je ne savais juste jamais que je tomberais amoureux si fort. Avec Dublin à la barre, l'histoire de l'Irlande s'étend sur plus de mille ans, la musique live joue un rôle vital (Tradfest par exemple), les villages côtiers demandent à être explorés, des pubs emballés dans les rues, et les Irlandais sont parmi les gens les plus chaleureux et hospitaliers que j'ai jamais rencontrés. Cela dépasse les attentes C'est une manière de vivre. Et je pourrais m'habituer à ce mode de vie!

Si vos enfants entrent dans leurs préadolescents et adolescents, c'est un voyage parfait pour eux. Un qu'ils apprécieront et se rappelleront, avec des histoires qu'ils peuvent raconter à leurs enfants, alors peut-être un jour les emmèneront à Dublin pour recréer de vieux souvenirs et en faire de nouveaux.

Comment aller là:

Westjet propose des vols saisonniers vers Dublin, à partir du mois d'avril 30 jusqu'à la fin du mois d'octobre. Air Canada offre des vols de partout au Canada à destination de Dublin, et de la fin mai à septembre, vous trouverez des vols quotidiens au départ de Toronto, 5 / semaine de Vancouver et 4 / semaine de Montréal.


Quand je voyageais avec ma famille quand j'étais adolescente, je me demandais toujours si que se cache-t-il derrière ce rideau magique à l'avant de l'avion? Eh bien, lors d’un voyage à Dublin (au milieu de la trentaine), j’ai finalement découvert. Le service classe affaires international d’Air Canada offre une expérience inégalée comprenant des lits plats complets, des commodités, de nombreuses options de menu (c’est comme si vous ne cessiez de manger) et, pour les adultes, un assortiment de cocktails fabuleux, notamment des mousseux. Le salon et centre d’affaires Maple Leaf vous permet de vous détendre et de rester connecté en attendant que vous montiez à bord de votre vol.

Air Canada First Class - Dublin, Irlande: plus qu'une simple chance

Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Où rester: Fitzwilliam Hotel

Où leur slogan est Amical? En fait, c'est plus comme de la famille. Le Fitzwilliam est une escapade de luxe cinq étoiles en plein cœur de la ville. Il ressemble à un château, et si vos enfants ont cet âge où vous obtenez des points sympas pour les amener dans un endroit grandiose, c'est votre lieu. L'apport des anciennes touches personnelles de l'histoire irlandaise rencontre des caractéristiques modernes; Cet hôtel de caractère propose une décoration élégante dans un cadre confortable. Toutes les chambres offrent une vue sur la cour ou sur le parc St. Stephen's Green. Propriété indépendante irlandaise et à quelques pas de Grafton Street (psst, maman, c’est la principale rue commerçante) Temple Bar pour ses restaurants et bars (psst. Où papa peut prendre une pinte) et de l’impressionnant St. Stephens Green juste en face de faire une belle promenade en famille).

Le Fitzwilliam a récemment ouvert son nouveau restaurant, Glovers Alley, avec une touche française avec Andy McFadden comme chef cuisinier.

Envie d'un thé en fin d'après-midi ou d'un cocktail tardif? Inn on The Green est l'endroit où aller. La sélection de thé de l'après-midi est vaste et se marie bien avec leur assortiment délicieux de pâtisseries, de gâteaux et d'options salées. Un verre de Prosecco? Bien sûr, pourquoi pas. Une fois que les enfants sont rentrés, dirigez-vous vers un cocktail de fin de soirée au bar. Le vaste choix de vodka, de gin et de bière vous fera découvrir les recommandations du personnel, aussi amical que possible. Si authentiques et attentifs, ils feront partie de votre expérience.

FitzWilliam - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Chambre d'hôtel Fitzwilliam - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

FAIRE:

Les cours pavées de Trinity College ne sont pas seulement là où Oscar Wilde a fréquenté l'école, mais aussi où vous trouverez le magnifique Livre de Kells (un manuscrit du 9ème siècle) et la Longue Salle, abritant 200,000 des livres les plus anciens de la bibliothèque.

En face de St. Stephen's Green, vous trouverez Le petit musée de Dublin. Ici, vous pouvez découvrir la collection permanente au premier étage, The Irish Times Editor's Room et bien sûr, U2: Made in Dublin. Assurez-vous de participer à l'une de leurs visites guidées en racontant l'histoire de la capitale de l'Irlande au 20 siècle.

Assurez-vous d'emporter vos chaussures de marche et de profiter d'un «Cool & Creative Walking Tour» autour de Dublin. Vous traverserez de superbes parcs, des rues pavées et vous vous arrêterez pour explorer des boutiques comme Sheridans Cheesemongers, les vrais fournisseurs de fromages, et comme la musique est une grande partie de la culture irlandaise, assurez-vous de passer Charles Byrne Musik Instrumente. Une visite de la magnifique cathédrale Saint-Patrick (construite au 13 siècle) avec des vitraux et un intérieur gothique vaut la peine d'être visitée. Construit comme une forteresse, le château de Dublin abrite actuellement l'exposition Making Majesty, jusqu'à la fin du mois d'avril 2018, et quel enfant n'aime pas explorer un château!

Explorez vos routes irlandaises et faites un tour en mettant en évidence les connexions irlando-canadiennes à Epic, The Irish Emigration Museum.

Et bien sûr, il y a toujours un voyage au Zoo de Dublin, au Phoenix Park, à Imaginosity, au Children's Museum de Dublin, au National Wax Museum Plus et à Dublinia, où l'histoire prend vie!

Grafton - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Grafton - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Howth: Juste un tour de Dart 25-minute de la ville, vous découvrirez ce village de pêche pittoresque avec des magasins locaux, avec les restaurants de fruits de mer et glaciers les plus frais, une aire de jeux pour enfants et un endroit serein pour papa et maman. Emmenez votre famille le long de la falaise pour la promenade de falaise et profitez des vues spectaculaires depuis le sommet.

Howth - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Howth - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

MANGER, BOIRE ET ÊTRE MERRY:

Avec les pubs 7,000 en Irlande et les restaurants 2,000, il n'est pas étonnant que les Irlandais soient parmi les plus heureux de la planète. Certains de mes endroits préférés comprennent:

La Guinness Storehouse C’est là que vous apprendrez tout sur l’histoire de la célèbre bière et que vous pourrez peut-être même vivre l’expérience du connaisseur. Toute la famille peut explorer le plancher publicitaire, qui comprend certaines des plus anciennes publicités, Arthur's Lease et le magasin d’ingrédients. Après avoir visité le magasin, installez-vous au 5th étage où vous pourrez déguster une pinte ou une boisson sans alcool tout en profitant de la vue panoramique sur la ville.

Une dégustation de Guinness - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Une dégustation de Guinness - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Pour une gamme complète d'options de restauration fabuleuses, faites un tour de FAB Food Trails of Dublin. Le point culminant est mettant en vedette des ingrédients locaux de la ferme à la table, y compris une visite au marché de Temple Bar où vous pouvez voir des chèvres, des dindes et des poulets directement sur la place centrale.

Déjeuner à Dollard & Co. caractéristiques du poisson le plus frais, des frites délicieuses, des salades incroyables, et le plus grand merengue que j'ai jamais vu!

Vous vous sentirez comme un gamin de nouveau alors que vous êtes assis sur la balançoire géante dans l'entrée de Sophie au Dean. Menu délicieux et complet avec une vue imprenable sur Dublin pendant que vous dînez.

L'Eden Bar & Grill est un restaurant et bar somptueux proposant des concerts de musique irlandaise authentique.

Et enfin Hugo. C'est là que je recommande de mettre les enfants au lit tôt et passer une nuit romantique avec votre amour. Avec du steak et du foie gras, des frites à la polenta et un grand choix de vins, ajoutez du jazz et ce sera le repas qui clôturera votre voyage dans cette ville fantastique!

HUGOS - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

HUGOS - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Dublin, Ireland: More Than Just Luck

Dublin, - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Dublin – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

There was no doubt I’d like Ireland, I just never knew I’d fall in love so hard. With Dublin City at the helm, Ireland’s history spans over a thousand years, live music plays a vital role (Tradfest for example), coastal villages are begging to be explored, packed pubs line the streets, and the Irish are some of the warmest and hospitable people I’ve ever met. It more than exceeds expectations; it’s a way of life. And I could get used to this way of life!

If your children are entering their tweens and teens, this is a perfect trip for them. One they will appreciate and remember, with stories they can tell their children, then perhaps one day take them to Dublin to recreate old memories and make new ones.

How to get there:

Westjet offers seasonal flights to Dublin, starting April 30 through the end of October. Air Canada offers flights from across Canada to Dublin, and beginning end of May through to September, you’ll find daily flights from Toronto, 5/week from Vancouver and 4/week from Montreal.


When I travelled with my family as a young teen,  I always wondered is what is behind that magical curtain in the front of the plane? Well, on a trip to Dublin (in my mid-thirties) I finally found out. Air Canada’s International Business Class Service offers an unparalleled experience including full flat beds, amenities, extensive menu options (it’s like you don’t stop eating) and for adults, a fabulous cocktail assortment including bubbly. The Maple Leaf Lounge and business centre allows you to relax and stay connected while waiting for you to board your flight.

Air Canada First Class - Dublin, Ireland: More Than Just Luck

Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Where to stay: Fitzwilliam Hotel 

Where their tagline is Friendly? Actually, it’s more like family. The Fitzwilliam is a five-star luxury escape right in the heart of the city.It’s castle-like in stature, and if your kids are at that age where you get cool points for bringing them somewhere grand, this is your place. Bringing in the old personal touches of Irish history meets modern features; this boutique hotel offers elegant décor with a comfortable setting. All rooms have either a courtyard garden view or view of St. Stephen’s Green. Independently Irish owned and a few steps from Grafton Street (psst, mom, it’s the premier shopping street) Temple Bar for restaurants and bars (psst. where dad can grab a pint) and the stunning St. Stephens Green right across the street (for taking a beautiful stroll with the family).

The Fitzwilliam has recently opened their newest restaurant, Glovers Alley, featuring a French twist with Andy McFadden as head chef.

Fancy a late afternoon tea or a late night cocktail? Inn on The Green is the place to go. The Afternoon Tea selection is extensive and pairs well with their delightful assortment of pastries, cakes and savoury options. Glass of Prosecco? Sure, why not. Once the children are tucked in, head down for a late night cocktail at the bar. The vast menu options of vodka, gin and beer will have you looking for recommendations from the staff, who are as friendly as they come. So genuine and attentive they’ll become part of your experience.

FitzWilliam - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Fitzwilliam Hotel room- Photo Sabrina Pirillo

DO:

The cobblestone courtyards of Trinity College is not only where Oscar Wilde attended school, but also where you’ll find the magnificent Book of Kells (a manuscript from the 9th century) and the Long Room, housing 200,000 of the library’s oldest books.

Across the street from St. Stephen’s Green you’ll find The Little Museum of Dublin. Here you can experience the permanent collection on the first floor, The Irish Times Editor’s Room and of course, U2: Made in Dublin. Be sure to join one of their guided tours as they tell the story of Ireland’s capital in the 20th century.

Make sure to pack your walking shoes and enjoy a ‘Cool & Creative Walking Tour’ around Dublin. You’ll walk through stunning parks, cobblestone streets and stop in and explore shops like Sheridans Cheesemongers, the real cheese providers, and as music is a huge part of Irish culture, be sure to drop by Charles Byrne Musik Instrumente. A visit to the stunning and architecturally sound St. Patrick’s Cathedral (constructed in the 13th century) featuring stained glass windows and a gothic interior is worth the visit. Built as a fortress, Dublin Castle currently houses the Making Majesty exhibit, on until the end of April 2018, and what kid doesn’t like exploring a castle!

Explore your Irish routes and take a tour highlighting the Irish/Canadian connections at Epic, The Irish Emigration Museum.

And of course, there’s always a trip to the Dublin Zoo, Phoenix Park, Imaginosity, Dublin’s Children Museum, National Wax Museum Plus and Dublinia, where history is brought to life!

Grafton - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Grafton – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Howth: Just a 25-minute Dart ride from the city, you’ll experience this quaint fishing village featuring local shops, with the freshest seafood restaurants and ice-cream parlours, a children’s playground and a serene spot for mom and dad to enjoy. Take your family along the cliff’s edge for the Cliff walk and enjoy the spectacular views from up top.

Howth- Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Howth- Photo Sabrina Pirillo

EAT, DRINK & BE MERRY:

With 7,000 pubs in Ireland and 2,000 restaurants, it’s no wonder Irish people are some of the happiest-go-lucky people on the planet. Some of my favourite spots include:

The Guinness Storehouse is where you’ll learn all about the history of the famous stout and perhaps even take the Connoisseur Experience The whole family can explore the Advertising Floor which includes some of the earliest advertisements, Arthur’s Lease and the Ingredients Store. After touring the store, settle in on the 5th floor where you can enjoy a complimentary pint or soft drink whilst enjoying the panoramic views of the city.

A Guinness tasting - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

A Guinness tasting – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

For a full array of fabulous food options, take a FAB Food Trails of Dublin tour. The highlight is featuring local farm to table ingredients, including a trip to the Temple Bar Market where you can see goats, turkeys and chickens right in the centre square.

Lunch at Dollard & Co. features the freshest fish, delicious fries, amazing salads, and the biggest merengue’s I’ve ever seen!

You’ll feel like a kid again as you sit on the giant swing in the entrance of Sophie’s at The Dean. Delicious and extensive menu with a stunning view of Dublin as you dine.

Eden Bar & Grill is a plush restaurant and bar with live music serving authentic Irish cuisine.

And finally Hugo’s. This is where I’d recommend putting the kids to bed early and have a romantic night with your love. Featuring steak and foie gras with polenta fries and an extensive wine menu, add in some live jazz and this will be the meal to close out your trip to this fantastic city!

HUGOS - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

HUGOS – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *