华盛顿奥林匹克半岛的梦幻之城折衷主义的汤森港

“啊,男人! 现在我的牛仔裤已经湿透了!“当我们的孩子们大笑时,我的丈夫盯着他的裤子里滴着海水。 我几乎没有同情心; 如果你要踩踏你的7年龄大的海洋巨大海带灯泡,你会变湿。 我不知道我们的两个儿子在我们长达一小时,无鞋,在海边徒步旅行时如何保持干燥,没有涂在沙滩上。 在新鲜空气中喝酒,看着鹰眼望海玻璃,拖着20ft长海带,意味着我们的孩子们在我们在汤森港的3天小型假期中睡得像日志。

汤森港华盛顿州汤森港位于杰斐逊县,坐落在奥林匹克半岛东北端的太平洋沿岸。 虽然您可以从温哥华开车前往汤森港,但较短的路程需要从Coupeville乘坐40分钟渡轮前往海滨小镇。 被称为“新濠天地”的汤森港被定为美国西部最大的港口,在1800s晚期投入大量资金,造成市中心一座迷人的维多利亚式砖瓦建筑。 当最后一分钟的决定将铁路总站重新布置在普吉特湾东部而不是在汤森港时,梦想破灭了。 在汤森港大规模流亡之后,军方搬入并在1890s中创建了Fort Worden,这是1902的活跃基地,直到1953。 在1920s建造一个造纸厂帮助修补该地区的经济衰退。 今天,这个城镇里充满了磨坊工人,医院工作人员,退休人员和艺术家。 不拘一格的居民,令人惊叹的建筑,温和的气候和社区的步行能力使Port Townsend成为寻找海滨度假胜地的家庭的理想之选。



休息的地方:

主教维多利亚酒店在汤森港

照片提供:Lindsay Follett

维多利亚主教酒店:在1890建造的维多利亚主教酒店散发着历史魅力。 红砖墙壁,绘画,古董家具和可爱的欢迎光环让客人感觉他们已经到家了。 维多利亚主教做了一项让孩子们更轻松旅行的特殊工作。 酒店位于华盛顿街,位于市中心。 在大堂里,客人可以借用DVD并拿起一包爆米花在房间里制作。 还有一个橱柜粉笔,可以让任何人使用棋盘游戏。 酒店客房宽敞:我们住在一个带休息区和小厨房(冰箱,微波炉,咖啡壶,餐具和水槽)的2卧室套房里。 所有客人都可以在客房内享用欧陆式早餐。

沃森港在汤森港

照片提供:Lindsay Follett

沃尔登堡:Fort Worden位于433亩,是一个州立公园,拥有一系列真正迷人的住宿选择:沿着海滩露营,在宿舍风格的军事建筑中进行掩体,或者在独立建筑物中进行冒险。 我们的家人很幸运地给管家的小屋打电话一晚。 这座100岁的两层楼房屋紧挨着老军医院,因为小屋是护士晚上睡觉的地方。 从前门廊和白色栅栏上,我们喜欢看着小船在海洋上航行,在夜间晒太阳。 Fort Worden已经成为Port Townsend游客和居民的文化中心:木船节,作家会议,布鲁斯和爵士音乐节,以及音乐,舞蹈和现场表演只是其中的一部分。 当你参观时一定要走到火炮山; 当我们参观时,我们发现一艘巨大的潜艇被护送到海军杂志印度岛,这是美国海军在太平洋沿岸的主要弹药处理码头。

填补你的肚子的地方:

高架冰淇淋和糖果店

照片提供:Lindsay Follett

高架冰淇淋和糖果店:一家真正的老式冰淇淋店! 高架冰淇淋店和糖果店的业主已经为40年制作了自己的美味冰淇淋,冰冻果子露和意大利冰。 这家商店还有大量的自制甜点,特浓咖啡饮料,巧克力和特制糖果。 你可以在商店里用餐,或者你可以要求你去吃点东西,走出后门,沿着铺满海洋的木板走道坐下。

Doc's Marina Grill

照片提供:Lindsay Follett

Doc's Marina Grill:俯瞰水面,Doc's Marina Grill显然是当地人的最佳去处。 当他们告诉你建议预订时,他们不是在开玩笑。 但是,在吃了牡蛎和洋芋螃蟹汤之后,我很惊讶没有更大的线路来买桌子。 当桌子上的所有谈话都停止时,你知道食物是好的! 我们的9岁的老人仍然对大文件汉堡大吃一惊。

起床号:位于Fort Worden的Commons大楼,Reveille为早餐,午餐和晚餐提供美味的农场至餐桌菜单。

增长你的大脑的地方:

汤森港的海洋科学中心

照片来源:Greyson Follett

海洋科学中心:当你走进海洋科学中心的大门时,尽最大努力与朋友之一交朋友。 该中心是一个互动的实践空间。 通过排水沟爬上去,触摸鲸鱼的蜡烛,在你家中发现毒素,注视着被称为希望的逆戟鲸巨大的骨骼; 孩子们会喜欢所有面向他们的活动。 但毫无疑问,我们此次访问的一个亮点是与名为琳达的讲堂所花费的时间。 她在吸引我们的男孩方面非常出色,突出了我们错过的中心区域,提供了深入而迷人的信息。 大多数时候,中心只在星期五 - 星期日中午开放 - 下午4。 但是,在夏季,除周二外,每个小时都会切换到11 - 5下午。 而且,对于那些能够在Port Townsend待了一段时间的人,一定要查看为期一周的夏令营(面向年仅三岁的孩子开放)。

杰森博物馆艺术与历史在汤森港

照片提供:Lindsay Follett

杰斐逊艺术与历史博物馆:漫步在一个前法庭,一个曾经运作过的消防大厅,还有一个可怕的监狱。 从未参观过监狱,我没想到会看到酒吧和牢房,镣铐拴在地上,以及单独的监禁室。 我会说实话,我看了一下,很快就赶紧离开了那里。 在博物馆其他部分发现的历史远远超过了我的速度。 前市政法庭和消防厅展示了汤森港的历史。 花时间观看介绍性电影绝对是值得的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Eclectic Port Townsend, City of Dreams on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula

“Ah man! Now my jeans are soaked!” While our kids howled with laughter, my husband stared down at his pants dripping with sea water. I had little sympathy; if you are going to stomp on a massive kelp bulb hauled out of the ocean by your 7-year-old, you are going to get wet. I have no clue how our two sons managed to stay dry and not coated in the sand during our hour-long, shoe-free, hike along the beach. Drinking in the fresh air, watching eagle-eyed for sea glass, and dragging 20ft long ropes of kelp with them meant our kids slept like logs during our 3-day mini-break in Port Townsend.

Port TownsendPort Townsend, Washington, is in Jefferson County and nestled along the Pacific Ocean at the northeast tip of the Olympic Peninsula. While you can drive to Port Townsend from Vancouver, the shorter journey involves a 40-minute ferry ride from Coupeville over to the ocean-front town. Dubbed “the City of Dreams”, Port Townsend was slated to be the largest harbour on the west of the USA and scads of money was invested in the city during the late 1800s resulting in a stunning downtown core filled with Victorian brick buildings. The dreams crumbled when a last-minute decision re-routed the railroad terminus to the east of Puget Sound rather than in Port Townsend. After a massive exodus from Port Townsend, the military moved in and created Fort Worden in the late 1890s, an active base from 1902 until 1953. In the 1920s a paper mill was constructed helping mend the economic downturn of the region. Today the town is populated with mill workers, hospital staff, retirees, and artists. The eclectic residents, the stunning architecture, the mild climate, and the walkability of the community make Port Townsend a perfect retreat for families looking for an oceanside getaway.



Places to Rest Your Head:

Bishop Victorian Hotel in Port Townsend

Photo credit: Lindsay Follett

Bishop Victorian Hotel: constructed in 1890 the Bishop Victorian Hotel exudes historic glamour. The red brick walls, the paintings, antique furniture, and lovely welcoming aura makes guests feel like they have arrived home. The Bishop Victorian does an exceptional job of making travelling with kids easier. Located on Washington Street, the hotel is in the heart of downtown. In the lobby, guests are invited to borrow DVDs and grab a pack of popcorn to make in their room. There is also a cupboard chalk full of board games for anyone to use. The hotel rooms are spacious: we stayed in a 2-bedroom suite complete with a sitting area and kitchenette (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dishes and sink). All guests are provided with a continental breakfast in their room.

Fort Worden in Port Townsend

Photo credit: Lindsay Follett

Fort Worden: Situated on 433 acres, Fort Worden is a state park and has a truly charming array of accommodation options: camping along the beach, bunking in a dormitory-style military building, or having an adventure in one of the stand-alone buildings. Our family was fortunate to call The Steward’s Cottage home for one night. The 100-year-old, two-storey house is tucked right beside the old military hospital as the Cottage was where the nurses would sleep at night. From the front porch, and over the white picket fence, we enjoyed watching boats sail on the ocean and the sun setting at night. Fort Worden has become a cultural hub for both Port Townsend visitors and residents alike: a Wooden Boat Festival, writers’ conference, and blues and jazz festivals, plus music, dance, and live theatre performances are just some of the programming offered. And when you visit be sure to walk to Artillery Hill; when we visited we spotted a massive submarine being escorted to open water from the Naval Magazine Indian Island which is the US Navy’s primary munitions-handling dock on the Pacific coast.

Places to Fill Your Belly:

Elevated Ice Cream & Candy Shop

Photo credit: Lindsay Follett

Elevated Ice Cream & Candy Shop: A true old-fashioned ice cream shop! The owners of Elevated Ice Cream & Candy Shop have been making their own delicious ice cream, sherbet, and Italian ices onsite for 40 years. The store also has a large selection of home-baked desserts, espresso beverages, chocolates and specialty candies. You can dine in the store, or you can ask for your treat to go, head out the back door, and sit along the covered boardwalk jutting over the ocean.

Doc's Marina Grill

Photo credit: Lindsay Follett

Doc’s Marina Grill: Overlooking the water, Doc’s Marina Grill is clearly a go-to place for the locals. When they tell you reservations are recommended, they aren’t kidding. But after devouring the she-crab soup along with the oysters & chips, I’m surprised there wasn’t an even bigger line to get a table. You know the food is good when all conversation at the table ceases! Our 9-year-old is still raving about the Big Doc Burger.

Reveille: Located in the Commons Building of Fort Worden, Reveille provides delicious farm-to-table menus for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Places to Grow Your Brain:

Marine Science Centre in Port Townsend

Photo credit: Greyson Follett

Marine Science Centre: When you walk in the door of the Marine Science Centre, do your best to befriend one of the docents. The Centre is an interactive, hands-on space. Climb through a storm drain, touch the baleen of a whale, identify toxins in your home, gaze at the massive skeleton from the orca named Hope; kids will love all of the activities geared towards them. But without a doubt, a highlight of our visit was the time spent with a docent named Linda. She was exceptional at engaging our boys, highlighting areas of the Centre we missed seeing, providing in-depth and fascinating information. For much of the year, the Centre is only open Friday – Sunday noon – 4 pm. However, in the summer the hours switch to 11 – 5 pm every day except Tuesday. And, for those of you able to be in Port Townsend for a bit longer, be sure to check out the week-long summer camps (open to kids as young as three years old).

Jefferson Museum of Art & History in Port Townsend

Photo credit: Lindsay Follett

Jefferson Museum of Art & History: Wander through a former courtroom, a once-operational fire hall, and a slightly terrifying jail. Having never toured a jail I wasn’t expecting to be so rattled seeing the bars and cells, the shackles bolted to the ground, and the solitary confinement room. I’ll be honest I had a look and skedaddled out of there very quickly. The history found in the rest of the museum was much more my speed. The former municipal courtroom and fire hall displayed the history of Port Townsend. Taking time to watch the introductory movie is definitely worthwhile.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *