fbpx

吃牙買加 - 5牙買加食品,你不想跳過!

當您在牙買加坐下來享用晚餐時,您將體驗到島嶼的真實味道 - 熱帶地理,豐富的歷史和當代文化潮流。 牙買加的一些食物對整個家庭來說都是完美的,而其他食物只適合媽媽和爸爸。 這是一個牙買加之旅,通過五種食物的鏡頭。

Bluefields Bay Villas酒店將很快為您提供晚餐。 照Adan Cano Cabrera

Bluefields Bay Villas酒店很快就會供應晚餐。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

西非荔枝果

忘了培根和雞蛋。 在牙買加,選擇的早餐是ackee和saltfish,國菜。 最初來自西非的ackee很可能在十六世紀通過奴隸船進入該島。 但是,雖然這種水果不是牙買加本土的,但牙買加卻像其他國家一樣接受它。 在牙買加的第一個早晨,我在Iberostar Rose Hall享用了ackee和saltfish早餐。 我之前從來沒有吃過口味,並且驚訝地發現它的質地非常像炒雞蛋。



朗姆酒

牙買加朗姆酒是如此之好,以至於值得離開海灘,所以 - 如果你能遠離孩子們 - 一定要參加酒廠之旅。 我建議在1749成立的Appleton Estate。 這是該國最古老的糖廠和連續生產的釀酒廠,其目前的主攪拌機是Joy Spence,這是世界上第一位擔任此職位的女性。 抵達Appleton後,您將被引導至提供迎賓飲品的酒吧。 得到 暴風雨谷,這是該房產的版本 月黑風高然後坐下來,通過巨大的窗戶欣賞風景如畫的綠色山脈。 一旦進行了互動導遊,您將了解從甘蔗到杯子的朗姆酒生產。 您將獲得比您可能處理的更多朗姆酒樣品,您將嘗試使用甘蔗棒和鮮榨甘蔗汁。 Appleton的甘蔗具有特別令人愉快和復雜的味道,這是該莊園生產如此優質朗姆酒的主要原因之一。

在其他產品中,阿普爾頓擁有一種有著五十年曆史的朗姆酒,這是世界上最古老的桶裝朗姆酒。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

在其他產品中,阿普爾頓擁有一種有著五十年曆史的朗姆酒,這是世界上最古老的桶裝朗姆酒。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

混蛋

這不只是雞肉。 混蛋魚和豬肉也值得品嚐。 將肉醃製或用香料混合物乾燥揉搓蘇格蘭帽子辣椒和五香粉,在島上稱為多香果。 混蛋的起源可以追溯到十七世紀,當時英國入侵牙買加,西班牙人逃離,留下了他們的奴隸。 為了避免被英國人佔領,這些奴隸逃到了山區,在那裡他們與土著人民Taíno混在一起,並採用非洲烹飪技術和本地食材來減慢烹飪野豬的速度。 最初的混蛋食譜隨著時間的推移而變化,現在看來每個廚師都有自己獨特的風格。 雖然我和我家人的所有版本都很美味,但我們最喜歡的是Border Jerk; 位於牙買加Lucea的一個休閒的路邊挺舉站,受到當地人的歡迎。 節日 - 略帶甜味的玉米麵餃子 - 是一個著名的一面,但根據我的味蕾,厚厚而溫馨的炸麵包果條甚至更好。

Bluefields Bay Villas酒店是享用早晨咖啡的理想場所。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

Bluefields Bay Villas酒店是享用早晨咖啡的理想場所。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

咖啡

一些世界上最著名的咖啡種植在牙買加的藍山。 以下是牙買加文化這三方面的飲酒方式:(1)去島嶼之路上騎自行車遊覽藍山。 你會用一杯熱氣騰騰的Blue Mountain咖啡沖洗牙買加早午餐。 你會在瀑布下游泳,看到擁抱山腰的咖啡種植園。 (2)參加一個節日。 從3月23-25,2018開始,首屆藍山咖啡節以咖啡師演示,雷鬼音樂表演等慶祝。 (3)喝一杯咖啡,把自己停在美麗的地方,欣賞碧綠的海水,如果需要,加入糖和牛奶,慢慢啜飲。 我喜歡我最喜歡的甜美,堅固的杯子,同時入住家庭友好且無與倫比的美麗Bluefields Bay Villas。

Gizzada也被稱為pinch-me-round,因為地殼的邊緣被擠壓。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

Gizzada也被稱為pinch-me-round,因為地殼的邊緣被擠壓。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

椰子

海灘上的牙買加之夜奧喬里奧斯讓我的家人有機會品嚐過多的牙買加椰子糖果,包括椰子汁,一種將椰子,生薑和紅糖加在一起的糖果; gizzada,一種帶有五香椰子餡的撻; 磨碎的蛋糕,一種含有粉紅色長方形的含糖小孩; 和蛋白杏仁餅乾 - 我最喜歡的 - 它們是耐嚼且令人愉快的甜椰子球。 但在牙買加,椰子不僅僅是甜美的一面。 嘗試一下鹹味,嘗試一下將魚和蔬菜燉煮成“淡化”狀態,這樣它的椰奶基質就會變得厚重。 當然,如果沒有至少幾份普遍存在的大米和豌豆,也就是所謂的牙買加徽章,那麼牙買加的旅行就不會完整。 也就是說,用椰子汁燉豌豆或芸豆。

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Eat Jamaica – 5 Jamaican Foods You Won’t Want to Skip!

When you sit down to dinner in Jamaica, you get an authentic taste of the island—its tropical geography, its varied history, and its contemporary cultural currents. Some of Jamaica’s foods are perfect for the whole family, while others are for mum and dad only. Here is a Jamaican journey through the lens of five foods.

Dinner will soon be served at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adan Cano Cabrera

Dinner is soon be served at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Ackee

Forget bacon and eggs. In Jamaica, the breakfast of choice is ackee and saltfish, the national dish. Originally from West Africa, ackee most likely made its way to the island on a slave ship in the sixteenth century. But, though this fruit isn’t native to Jamaica, Jamaica has embraced it like no other nation. On my first morning in Jamaica, I enjoyed ackee and saltfish for breakfast at Iberostar Rose Hall. I’d never had ackee before and was surprised to discover that the texture is very much like scrambled eggs.



Rum

Jamaican rum is so good that it’s worth leaving the beach for, so—if you can get away from the kids—be sure to take in a distillery tour. I suggest Appleton Estate, which was established in 1749. It’s the country’s oldest sugar estate and distillery in continuous production, and its current master blender is Joy Spence, the world’s first woman to hold such a position. As soon as you arrive at Appleton, you’ll be directed to the bar where a welcome drink is offered. Get a Stormy Valley, which is this estate’s version of a Dark and Stormy, then take a seat and enjoy the picturesque view of vibrant green mountains through the giant windows. Once the interactive guided tour is underway, you’ll learn about rum production from cane to cup. You’ll be offered more rum samples than you can probably handle and you’ll get to try sticks of sugarcane and freshly squeezed sugarcane juice. The sugarcane at Appleton has a particularly pleasant and complex flavour, and this is one of the key reasons that the estate produces such fine rums.

Among other products, Appleton has a fifty-year-old rum, which is the world’s oldest barrel-aged rum. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Among other products, Appleton has a fifty-year-old rum, which is the world’s oldest barrel-aged rum. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Jerk

It’s not just for chicken. Jerk fish and pork are also well worth tasting. The meat is marinated, or dry rubbed with a spice mixture starring Scotch bonnet peppers and allspice, known as pimento on the island. The origins of jerk date back to the seventeenth century when the British invaded Jamaica and the Spanish fled, leaving behind their slaves. To avoid being captured by the British, these slaves escaped into the mountains where they mixed with the indigenous people, the Taíno, and took to slow cooking wild hogs using African culinary techniques and native ingredients. The original jerk recipe has shifted over time, and now it seems that each chef has their own unique touch. While all versions my family and I sampled were delicious, our favourite was at Border Jerk; a casual roadside jerk stand in Lucea, Jamaica, which is popular with locals. Festivals—slightly sweet cornmeal dumplings—are a famous side, but according to my taste buds, the thick and homey strips of fried breadfruit are even better.

A perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

A perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Coffee

Some of the world’s most celebrated coffee is grown in the Blue Mountains of Jamaica. Here are three ways to drink in this aspect of Jamaican culture: (1) Go on Island Route’s biking excursion to the Blue Mountains. You’ll wash down a Jamaican brunch with steaming cups of Blue Mountain coffee. You’ll swim under a waterfall and see coffee plantations hugging the mountainsides. (2) Take in a festival. From March 23-25, 2018, the inaugural Blue Mountain Coffee Festival was celebrated with barista demos, Reggae performances, and more. (3) Get a cup of coffee and park yourself somewhere beautiful with a view of the turquoise water, add sugar and milk, if desired, and sip slowly. I enjoyed my favourite sweet, strong cups while staying at the family-friendly and incomparably beautiful Bluefields Bay Villas.

 

Gizzada is also known as pinch-me-round because the edges of the crust are pinched. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Gizzada is also known as pinch-me-round because the edges of the crust are pinched. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Coconut

Jamaica Night at Beaches Ocho Rios offered my family the opportunity to sample a plethora of Jamaican coconut sweets including coconut drops, a candy that brings together diced coconut, ginger, and brown sugar; gizzada, a tartlet with a spiced coconut filling; grater cake, a sugary kid-favorite in the form of tinted-pink rectangles; and macaroons—my favorite—which are chewy and pleasantly sweet coconut orbs. But in Jamaica coconut is not only served on the sweet side. For a savoury taste, try run down, a fish and vegetable stew which is cooked into a “run down” state, so that its coconut milk base becomes custardy thick. And, of course, no trip to Jamaica is ever complete without at least several servings of the ubiquitous rice and peas, also called Jamaican Coat of Arms. That is, either pigeon peas or kidney beans simmered in coconut milk.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *