Ешьте ямайку - 5 Ямайские продукты, которые вы не захотите пропустить!

Когда вы садитесь на ужин на Ямайке, вы получаете аутентичный вкус острова - его тропическую географию, ее разнообразную историю и современные культурные потоки. Некоторые из продуктов Ямайки идеально подходят для всей семьи, в то время как другие предназначены только для мамы и папы. Вот ямайское путешествие через объектив из пяти продуктов.

Ужин скоро будет подан в виллы Bluefields Bay. Фото Адан Кано Кабрера

Ужин вскоре будет подан в виллы Bluefields Bay. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Ackee

Забудьте бекон и яйца. На Ямайке завтрак по выбору - это ackee and saltfish, национальное блюдо. Первоначально из Западной Африки, ackee, скорее всего, пробился к острову на рабском корабле в шестнадцатом веке. Но, хотя этот плод не является родным для Ямайки, Ямайка обняла его, как никакой другой народ. В мое первое утро на Ямайке мне понравился ackee and saltfish на завтрак в зале Iberostar Rose Hall. Раньше я никогда не встречался с ним и был удивлен, обнаружив, что текстура очень похожа на яичницу.



Ром

Ямайский ром настолько хорош, что его стоит оставить на пляже, так что, если вы можете уйти от детей, обязательно посетите винокурню. Я предлагаю Appleton Estate, которая была создана в 1749. Это старейшее в стране сахарное заведение и ликеро-водочный завод в непрерывном производстве, а его нынешний мастер-блендер - Джой Спенс, первая женщина в мире, занимающая такое положение. Как только вы прибудете в Appleton, вас направят в бар, где предлагается приветственный напиток. Получить Бурная долина, который является версией этого состояния Темная и бурная, затем занять место и насладиться живописным видом на яркие зеленые горы через гигантские окна. Как только интерактивная экскурсия продолжается, вы узнаете о ром-производстве от тростника до чашки. Вам будет предложено больше образцов ромов, чем вы, возможно, справитесь, и вы сможете попробовать палочки сахарного тростника и свежевыжатый сок сахарного тростника. Сахарный тростник в Appleton имеет особенно приятный и сложный аромат, и это одна из ключевых причин того, что поместье производит такие прекрасные рома.

Среди других продуктов, Appleton имеет пятидесятилетний ром, который является старейшим в мире бором в возрасте. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Среди других продуктов, Appleton имеет пятидесятилетний ром, который является старейшим в мире бором в возрасте. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Придурок

Это не только для цыпленка. Рыбу-рыбу и свинину также стоит дегустации. Мясо маринованное или сухое натирается смесью, в которую встряхиваются перцы и шотландские перцы с перцем, называемые пименто на острове. Истоки рывка восходят к семнадцатому столетию, когда англичане вторглись на Ямайку, а испанский бежал, оставив своих рабов. Чтобы избежать захвата англичанами, эти рабы сбежали в горы, где они смешались с коренными народами, Таино, и приняли меры для медленного приготовления диких свиней с использованием африканских кулинарных приемов и местных ингредиентов. Оригинальный рецепт рывка со временем изменился, и теперь кажется, что каждый шеф-повар имеет свой собственный уникальный прикосновение. В то время как все версии, которые я выбрал для своей семьи, были восхитительны, наш любимый был у Border Jerk; случайный придорожный рывок в Люсе, Ямайка, который популярен среди местных жителей. Фестивали - слегка сладкие кукурузные пельмени - это знаменитая сторона, но, по моим вкусовым рецепторам, толстые и живые полоски жареного хлеба еще лучше.

Идеальное место для утренней чашки кофе в Bluefields Bay Villas. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Идеальное место для утренней чашки кофе в Bluefields Bay Villas. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Кофе

Некоторые из самых знаменитых кофе в мире выращиваются в Голубых горах Ямайки. Вот три способа выпить в этом аспекте ямайской культуры: (1) Пойдите на велосипедную экскурсию Island Route в Голубые горы. Вы запишете ямайский бранч паровыми чашками кофе Blue Mountain. Вы будете плавать под водопадом и видеть плантации кофе, обнимающие горы. (2) Возьмите фестиваль. С марта 23-25, 2018, первый фестиваль кофе в Голубой Горе был отмечен демонстрациями баристов, реггейскими спектаклями и многое другое. (3) Возьмите чашку кофе и припаркуйтесь где-нибудь красивым с учетом бирюзовой воды, добавьте сахар и молоко, если хотите, и медленно потягивайте. Мне понравились мои любимые сладкие, сильные чашки, оставаясь в семейных и несравненно красивых виллах Bluefields Bay.

Гизада также известна как щепотка, потому что края коры защемлены. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Гизада также известна как щепотка, потому что края коры защемлены. Фото Анан Кано Кабрера

Кокос

Ямайская ночь в пляжах Очо Риос предложила моей семье возможность попробовать множество ямайских сладостей из кокосового ореха, включая капли кокоса, конфеты, которые объединяют кубики кокоса, имбиря и коричневого сахара; gizzada, тарталет с приправленной кокосовой начинкой; торт-терка, сладкий ребенок-любимый в виде тонированных розовых прямоугольников; и макароны - мои любимые, которые являются жевательные и приятные сладкие кокосовые шары. Но на Ямайке кокосовый орех не только подается на сладкой стороне. Для пикантного вкуса, попробуйте сбежать, рыбное и растительное рагу, которое готовится в «бегущее» состояние, так что его кокосовое молоко становится толстым. И, конечно же, никакая поездка на Ямайку никогда не заканчивается без по крайней мере нескольких порций вездесущего риса и гороха, также называемого Ямайским Гербом. То есть, голубей или фасоль, кипящие в кокосовом молоке.

Вот еще несколько статей, которые, по нашему мнению, вам понравятся!

Хотя мы делаем все возможное, чтобы предоставить вам точную информацию, все детали событий могут быть изменены. Пожалуйста, свяжитесь с администрацией, чтобы избежать разочарования.

Eat Jamaica – 5 Jamaican Foods You Won’t Want to Skip!

When you sit down to dinner in Jamaica, you get an authentic taste of the island—its tropical geography, its varied history, and its contemporary cultural currents. Some of Jamaica’s foods are perfect for the whole family, while others are for mum and dad only. Here is a Jamaican journey through the lens of five foods.

Dinner will soon be served at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adan Cano Cabrera

Dinner is soon be served at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Ackee

Forget bacon and eggs. In Jamaica, the breakfast of choice is ackee and saltfish, the national dish. Originally from West Africa, ackee most likely made its way to the island on a slave ship in the sixteenth century. But, though this fruit isn’t native to Jamaica, Jamaica has embraced it like no other nation. On my first morning in Jamaica, I enjoyed ackee and saltfish for breakfast at Iberostar Rose Hall. I’d never had ackee before and was surprised to discover that the texture is very much like scrambled eggs.



Rum

Jamaican rum is so good that it’s worth leaving the beach for, so—if you can get away from the kids—be sure to take in a distillery tour. I suggest Appleton Estate, which was established in 1749. It’s the country’s oldest sugar estate and distillery in continuous production, and its current master blender is Joy Spence, the world’s first woman to hold such a position. As soon as you arrive at Appleton, you’ll be directed to the bar where a welcome drink is offered. Get a Stormy Valley, which is this estate’s version of a Dark and Stormy, then take a seat and enjoy the picturesque view of vibrant green mountains through the giant windows. Once the interactive guided tour is underway, you’ll learn about rum production from cane to cup. You’ll be offered more rum samples than you can probably handle and you’ll get to try sticks of sugarcane and freshly squeezed sugarcane juice. The sugarcane at Appleton has a particularly pleasant and complex flavour, and this is one of the key reasons that the estate produces such fine rums.

Among other products, Appleton has a fifty-year-old rum, which is the world’s oldest barrel-aged rum. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Among other products, Appleton has a fifty-year-old rum, which is the world’s oldest barrel-aged rum. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Jerk

It’s not just for chicken. Jerk fish and pork are also well worth tasting. The meat is marinated, or dry rubbed with a spice mixture starring Scotch bonnet peppers and allspice, known as pimento on the island. The origins of jerk date back to the seventeenth century when the British invaded Jamaica and the Spanish fled, leaving behind their slaves. To avoid being captured by the British, these slaves escaped into the mountains where they mixed with the indigenous people, the Taíno, and took to slow cooking wild hogs using African culinary techniques and native ingredients. The original jerk recipe has shifted over time, and now it seems that each chef has their own unique touch. While all versions my family and I sampled were delicious, our favourite was at Border Jerk; a casual roadside jerk stand in Lucea, Jamaica, which is popular with locals. Festivals—slightly sweet cornmeal dumplings—are a famous side, but according to my taste buds, the thick and homey strips of fried breadfruit are even better.

A perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

A perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Coffee

Some of the world’s most celebrated coffee is grown in the Blue Mountains of Jamaica. Here are three ways to drink in this aspect of Jamaican culture: (1) Go on Island Route’s biking excursion to the Blue Mountains. You’ll wash down a Jamaican brunch with steaming cups of Blue Mountain coffee. You’ll swim under a waterfall and see coffee plantations hugging the mountainsides. (2) Take in a festival. From March 23-25, 2018, the inaugural Blue Mountain Coffee Festival was celebrated with barista demos, Reggae performances, and more. (3) Get a cup of coffee and park yourself somewhere beautiful with a view of the turquoise water, add sugar and milk, if desired, and sip slowly. I enjoyed my favourite sweet, strong cups while staying at the family-friendly and incomparably beautiful Bluefields Bay Villas.

 

Gizzada is also known as pinch-me-round because the edges of the crust are pinched. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Gizzada is also known as pinch-me-round because the edges of the crust are pinched. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Coconut

Jamaica Night at Beaches Ocho Rios offered my family the opportunity to sample a plethora of Jamaican coconut sweets including coconut drops, a candy that brings together diced coconut, ginger, and brown sugar; gizzada, a tartlet with a spiced coconut filling; grater cake, a sugary kid-favorite in the form of tinted-pink rectangles; and macaroons—my favorite—which are chewy and pleasantly sweet coconut orbs. But in Jamaica coconut is not only served on the sweet side. For a savoury taste, try run down, a fish and vegetable stew which is cooked into a “run down” state, so that its coconut milk base becomes custardy thick. And, of course, no trip to Jamaica is ever complete without at least several servings of the ubiquitous rice and peas, also called Jamaican Coat of Arms. That is, either pigeon peas or kidney beans simmered in coconut milk.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *