当朋友告诉我 佛罗里达群岛和基韦斯特 是他们快乐的地方,我知道我必须去南方旅行,亲自去看看。 它被称为世界上看日落的前两个地方之一,感觉就像在加勒比海。 在找到标有美国大陆最南端的浮标之前,很容易忘记自己的位置。 这是一个人们觉得自己归属的地方,这是有道理的,因为他们的标语是 “随你便”.

佛罗里达群岛最南端标记浮标

在 2017 年飓风艾尔玛穿过该州几个月后,80% 的钥匙已恢复运行。 随着复苏的迹象和象征,包括著名而令人惊叹的七英里大桥,您能感受到的一件事是团结起来重建的人们的韧性和坚韧,他们保持坚强和团结在一起。 这就是为什么它们被称为 海螺.

佛罗里达礁岛群 - 七英里桥 - 萨布丽娜·皮里洛

七英里桥 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

佛罗里达群岛由 150 个岛屿组成,但构成该链大部分的 5 个主要岛屿是基拉戈岛、马拉松岛、伊斯拉莫拉达岛、大松礁岛和基韦斯特岛。 从上到下开车,停下来体验这些岛屿提供的所有令人惊叹的水上运动和活动。



基拉哥:

从迈阿密国际机场出发,您将沿着风景优美的大沼泽地驾车穿越大沼泽地,观看 Mile Marker 标志倒计时(您会在 Key West 找到 Mile Marker 0)。 在这里,您还将见证野生动物的邂逅、钓鱼、划皮划艇,当然还有潜水,在那里您可以找到著名的 4,000 磅重的基督铜像,它矗立在海面之下 约翰彭尼坎普珊瑚礁州立公园. 高级浮潜者可以下潜 25 英尺并触摸他的手。

深渊基拉戈的基督 斯蒂芬·弗林克摄 佛罗里达礁岛群新闻局

照片由斯蒂芬弗林克佛罗里达群岛新闻局提供

自 Irma 以来,水肺生活发生了怎样的变化? 珊瑚礁现在有点毛茸茸,并且已经实施了珊瑚修复工作以移植珊瑚礁。 这个过程大约需要两年时间,您可以在 CoralRestoration.org,包括如何在度假时自愿参与珊瑚修复。

积极的一面是,一些沉船已经得到改善,因为它们在风暴中移动变得更加明显和容易接近,同时为水肺潜水员发现了新的潜水点。

马拉松:

Faro Blanco Resort & Yacht Club-Hyatt Place: 非常适合全家在码头度过美好时光,拥有迷人的海滨,在那里您可以看到鹈鹕飞过或参观著名的灯塔、在泳池边休息或在木板路上散步。 拥有 125 间客房和套房,您和您的家人可以在阳光下享受一天的乐趣后舒适地休息,然后醒来享用美味的自助早餐,包含在您的住宿中。

水族馆邂逅 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

水族馆邂逅 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

佛罗里达群岛拥有美国唯一的活珊瑚礁,拥有 6000 多种海洋生物。 你可以从 水族馆邂逅. 有多种互动体验和大量海洋生物展示,整个家庭的一次奇妙体验是珊瑚礁邂逅,它有两个坦克:海洋捕食者和另一个友好的坦克,您可以在那里浮潜和喂牛鼻黄貂鱼命名为奇普和戴尔。 您还可以找到 50 种其他鱼类来挥手,并有机会喂鲨鱼!

 

佛罗里达礁岛群 - 水族馆邂逅 - Sabrina Pirillo

水族馆邂逅 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

脱下潜水衣后(ps 妈妈们会欣赏这一点,它就像全身 Spanx,你感觉像香肠肠衣)带孩子们探索各种互动展览,包括抚摸黄貂鱼、了解海马和寻找忍者神龟……在它们变异之前。

大松键和下键:

国家重点鹿护城 免费向公众开放,成立于 1957 年,旨在保护和保护关键鹿和其他野生动物。 它的 9,200 英亩由森林、淡水湿地和红树林组成。 一定要留意小鹿斑比。

鹿避难所 - Sabrina Pirillo

鹿保护区 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

基韦斯特:

距离基韦斯特市中心仅 15 分钟路程,享受美妙的住宿体验, 海洋边缘酒店和码头 一定会让大家去WOW! 该物业有 175 间宽敞的套房(适合大家庭)和六个游泳池! 这座三层楼的建筑拥有传统的木板路度假风格、木制门廊和沿水边的人行道。 还提供免费水上运动,如皮划艇和桨板冲浪,以及自行车出租服务。 你见过海牛吗? 我也没有……直到现在。

海洋边缘游泳池 - 佛罗里达群岛 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

海洋边缘游泳池 - 佛罗里达群岛 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

从 Oceans Edge 搭乘免费班车前往市中心 马洛里广场 拥有一系列商店、餐厅和纪念品摊位,以及观看船只经过和日落在海港上空的绝佳地点。 别忘了在日落时鼓掌,这是基韦斯特的传统。

帆船漂浮在马洛里广场的日落中 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

帆船漂浮在马洛里广场的日落中 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

每个人都来到基韦斯特的马洛里广场看到的日落 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

每个人都在基韦斯特的马洛里广场看到的日落 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

到参观 欧内斯特·海明威故居和博物馆 海明威在 1930 年代居住和创作杰作的地方是任何作家和爱猫人士的必去之地! 我是海明威作品的忠实粉丝,在他写作(站在路边)和度过他的日子的家中穿行令人着迷。 这所房子目前有 54 只猫,有 6 个脚趾,被称为多趾猫。 在飓风艾尔玛期间,十名员工和猫一起留在地下室。 你问他们是怎么把所有这些猫赶到里面的? 好吧,我们出色的导游史蒂夫(Steve)已经主持了这次旅行 13 年,他告诉我们猫非常聪明,并且感觉到有什么东西要来了,所以门一打开,所有 54 只猫都跑进去避难。

海明威工作室 - Sabrina Pirillo

海明威工作室 – 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

房子里堆满了海明威的历史、纪念品、他的书籍海报、照片、他的船的复制品、皮拉尔(以他的妻子波琳命名)等等。

浮潜者会喜欢 怒水冒险 Double Dip 2 站珊瑚礁浮潜之旅。 当您的孩子告诉朋友他们在世界第三大珊瑚礁系统和美国大陆唯一的珊瑚礁系统中浮潜时,他们可以持有#braggingrights! 当您离岸约 45 分钟时,您将体验独一无二的体验,探索两个充满众多鱼类、活珊瑚礁和其他海洋野生动物的珊瑚礁。

ury Water Adventures 浮潜 - Sabrina Pirillo

Fury Water Adventures 浮潜 - 照片 Sabrina Pirillo

佛罗里达礁岛群和基韦斯特是您的家人将在未来几年回忆的地方。 这是一个时间放慢脚步的地方,您可以享受 Keys 提供的一切。 你来就像你一样,但带着每个岛屿的一部分离开,在你心中构成一个特殊的地方。

Paradise in 5 Keys: The Florida Keys & Key West

When friends told me The Florida Keys & Key West was their happy place, I knew I had to take a trip down south and see it myself. It’s known as one of the top two places in the world to watch the sunset and feels like you are in the Caribbean. It’s easy to forget where you are until you find the buoy marking the Southernmost point in the continental USA. It’s a place where people feel they belong, which makes sense since their tagline is “come as you are”.

Florida Keys Southernmost Point Marker Buoy

Months after Hurricane Irma made its way through the state in 2017, 80% of the Keys were back up and running. With signs and symbols of recovery, including the famous and stunning Seven Mile Bridge, the one thing you can feel is the resilience and toughness of the people who have come together to rebuild, who have stayed strong and bonded together. That’s why they are called the conch.

Florida Keys -Seven Mile Bridge - Sabrina Pirillo

Seven Mile Bridge – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The Florida Keys are made up of 150 isles, but the 5 main islands that make up the majority of the chain are Key Largo, Marathon, Islamorada, Big Pine Key and Key West. Take a drive from top to bottom, stopping to experience all the amazing watersports and activities these islands offer.



Key Largo:

From Miami International Airport, you’ll take a scenic drive thru the Everglades watching as the Mile Marker signs countdown (you’ll find Mile Marker 0 in Key West). Here you’ll also witness wildlife encounters, take in fishing, kayaking and of course, diving, where you can find the famous 4,000-pound bronze statue of Christ that stands beneath the ocean’s surface in John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. Advanced snorkellers can dip down 25 feet and touch his hand.

Christ of the Abyss Key Largo Photo by Stephen Frink Florida Keys News Bureau

Photo courtesy by Stephen Frink Florida Keys News Bureau

How has scuba life changed since Irma? The reef is a little shaggy right now and coral restoration efforts have been implemented to transplant coral reefs. This process will take about two years and you can find out more at CoralRestoration.org, including how to volunteer in coral restoration while on vacation.

On a positive note, some of the shipwrecks have improved because they’ve shifted in the storm to become more visible and accessible while uncovering new diving spots for scuba divers.

Marathon:

Faro Blanco Resort & Yacht Club-Hyatt Place:

Perfect for the family to enjoy spending time by the marina with a stunning waterfront where you can see pelicans flying by or visit the famous lighthouse, lounge by the pool or take a walk on the boardwalk. With 125 rooms and suites, you and your family can rest comfortably after a day of fun in the sun, then wake up and enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast, included with your stay.

Aquarium Encounters - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Aquarium Encounters – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The Florida Keys is home to the only living coral reef in the US, featuring over 6000 species of marine life. You can get a taste of this from Aquarium Encounters. With several interactive experiences to be had and lots of marine life on display, one fantastic experience for the whole family is the Coral Reef Encounter which features two tanks: predators of the ocean and the other friendly tank where you can snorkel and feed cow nose stingrays named Chip & Dale. You’ll also find 50 other species of fish to wave to and have the opportunity to feed sharks!

 

Florida Keys -Aquarium Encounters - Sabrina Pirillo

Aquarium Encounters -Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Once you’ve peeled out of your wetsuit (p.s moms will appreciate this, it’s like a full body Spanx and you feel like a sausage casing) take the kids to explore all sorts of interactive exhibits including petting stingrays, learning about seahorses and finding The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles…before they mutated.

Big Pine Key & The Lower Keys:

National Key & Deer Refuge is free and open to the public and was established in 1957 to preserve and protect Key deer and other wildlife. Its 9,200 acres are made up of forests, freshwater wetlands and mangrove forests. Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for Bambi.

Deer Refuge - Sabrina Pirillo

Deer Refuge -Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Key West:

For a fabulous stay, just 15 minutes from downtown Key West, Oceans Edge Hotel and Marina will be sure to make everyone go WOW! The property has 175 spacious suites (suited for large families) and six pools! The three-story building features traditional boardwalk resort style, wooden porches and walkways along the water’s edge. Complimentary watersports such as kayaking and paddle boarding are also available, along with bike rentals. Have you ever seen a manatee? Me neither…until now.

Ocean's Edge Pool - Florida Keys - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Ocean’s Edge Pool – Florida Keys – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Take the free shuttle from Oceans Edge into downtown to Mallory Square featuring an array of shops, restaurants, and souvenir stands, and a stunning spot to watch ships go by and the sun go down over the harbour. And don’t forget to clap when the sunsets, a Key West tradition.

Sailboat floating off into the sunset off Mallory Square - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Sailboat floating off into the sunset off Mallory Square – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The sunset that everyone comes to see in Key West's Mallory Square - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The sunset that everyone comes to see in Key West’s Mallory Square – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

A visit to the Ernest Hemingway Home & Museum where Hemingway lived and wrote his masterpieces in the 1930’s is a must-see for any writer and cat lover! I am a big fan of Hemingway’s work, and navigating through the home where he wrote (standing by the way) and spent his days is fascinating. The home currently houses 54 cats with 6 toes, known as polydactyl cats. During hurricane Irma, ten employees stayed back with the cats in the basement. How did they herd all those cats inside you ask? Well, our fantastic guide, Steve, who has been hosting this tour for 13 years, tells us cats are very smart and sensed something was coming so as soon as the doors were open, all 54 cats ran inside to shelter.

Hemingway Studio - Sabrina Pirillo

Hemingway Studio – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The house is filled with tons of Hemingway history, memorabilia, posters of his books, photos, replica’s of his boat, Pilar (named after his wife, Pauline) and so much more.

Snorkellers will love Fury Water Adventures Double Dip 2-stop reef snorkel tour. Your kids can hold #braggingrights when they tell friends they snorkelled in the third largest coral reef system in the world and the only one in the continental USA! The experience is one like no other as you head about 45 minutes offshore to explore two reefs filled with numerous fish species, live coral reefs plus other marine wildlife.

ury Water Adventures snorkel - Sabrina Pirillo

Fury Water Adventures snorkel – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The Florida Keys & Key West is a place where your family will reminisce about for years to come. It’s a place where time slows down and you can enjoy everything the Keys have to offer. You come as you are but leave with a piece of each island making up a special place in your heart.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *