fbpx

安大略省萨德伯里动态比例的体验式学习假期

你最后一次让孩子决定去哪里度假?

在6,7和11的主题公园和水上乐园之外,我的孩子们从未建议过他们想去的地方。 然后有一天,他们三人问我们是否可以 客场之旅萨德伯里 安大略省是的,我很惊讶你们所有人。

动态地球萨德伯里,安大略1

事实证明,孩子们一直在观看加拿大惊人的比赛和参赛者前往你猜对了 - 安大略省萨德伯里,其中一个挑战是地下深处,曾经是一个工作地雷,现在是 动态地球.

再过几天的“萨德伯里将是一个很棒的家庭度假“来自孩子们的暗示,我们开始认真研究萨德伯里该做什么。 我们发现的是,我们的目标是在未来五年向加拿大的每个省和领地展示孩子,并在此过程中体验令人难忘的体验式学习机会,与安大略省北部城市所提供的完美一致。

这是为什么...

动态地球

在干燥的房间里检查你的采矿班次,在很长一段时间之前乘坐玻璃电梯乘坐深层地下多媒体视频,戴上安全帽,准备好享受前所未有的体验!

动态地球萨德伯里,安大略5

超过10亿年前的1.85,萨德伯里被直径超过10km的巨型陨石击中。 动态地球令人印象深刻的地下展览影响和由此产生的火山口(一个巨大的巨大洞,在这种情况下超过200km)是萨德伯里美丽的地理背景,长期的采矿历史和我们的幸运。

我们的矿山之旅开始不到一个小时的等待是非常容易的,因为孩子们因为您注册了特定的旅行时间而无需轮流排队。 这意味着孩子们可以在地上的展览中漫步,特别是在矿井入口外面的多层游乐场,我儿子的话就是“史诗“! 孩子们爬起来,玩耍,把石块打倒在地,然后大叫“在洞里开火“在推下想象的炸药点火之前。

动态地球萨德伯里,安大略3

我的11岁女儿最喜爱的地上展览远远超过了淘金。 “Blue Coats”是工作人员和志愿者的组合,随时可以回答问题,让孩子们参与淘金活动,让孩子们学习淘金的完美技术 - 他们从育空地区订购并投入其中每天展览。 我的女儿对完美技术的承诺得到了回报,她带着一小块黄金贴到卡片上回家了。

动态地球萨德伯里,安大略2

当我们巡回演出的时候,我们排队了,那就是兴奋开始建立的时候。 矿井经验第二次开始,我们进入了干燥房间,在那里我们登记为地下矿工,进行我们的班次,与我们的船员领导人(即导游)会面,然后参观了三次代表采矿历史中不同点的独立矿场展品。

动态地球萨德伯里,安大略8

提示:

  • 动态地球也是萨德伯里着名的“大镍”的世界所在地,因此请务必准备好相机。
  • 当您支付入场费时注册您的地下游,以便确认您的游览时间。 这也是从加拿大唯一的地下邮箱购买预先加盖明信片的理想时间。 在进入地下之前,请务必填写明信片。
  • 地下寒冷潮湿,无论外面多么炎热潮湿,穿上封闭的鞋子并带上毛衣。
  • 为年轻的孩子准备好地下的东西,这是个好主意。 一定要让他们知道在某些地方它会很黑并且会潮湿。 戴上提供的安全帽之一是不可谈判的,并且在巡回演出的某一时刻,有机会引爆冒充炸药,这非常响亮。

动态地球萨德伯里,安大略10

科学北部

当他们说科学北是安大略省北部最受欢迎的旅游景点时,不难理解为什么 - 即使建筑结构是可以谈论的东西!

科学 - 北 - 萨德伯里,安大略1

我们强烈建议您提供当天的活动时间表,并计划何时花费一些空闲时间漫游展品,以及何时前往众多预定体验之一。 请务必记下Wildfires 4D展览的预定时间,与动物和IMAX电影见面并问候。

活体动物和昆虫展品的组合,鼓励游戏的互动式展览以及由最先进的技术引导的体验,让我们想要回来探索更多。

科学 - 北 - 萨德伯里,安大略2

孩子们可以在蝴蝶房里呆上几个小时,那里有400类型的蝴蝶可以观察,在头顶上飞,如果他们耐心等待,就会落在孩子们手中。

科学 - 北 - 萨德伯里,安大略5

他们每人轮流学习电机,同时建立起赛车赛车,并且三个人都冒着钉床。

科学 - 北 - 萨德伯里,安大略8

一件意想不到的好处是,Blue Coats总是准备好,等着帮助孩子们开展一项活动或者潜心教他们关于具体展品的事情。 许多Blue Coats也是双语的,这意味着讲法语和英语的孩子可以在两种语言中体验科学北部。

科学 - 北 - 萨德伯里,安大略10

萨德伯里美术馆

如果您可以围绕萨德伯里美术馆提供的任何课程,研讨会或户外旅行计划行程,我们100%将推荐它。

Onaping  - 瀑布 - 萨德伯里 - 艺术画廊 - 萨德伯里,安大略1

我们很幸运地参加了一次户外旅行,并与我们的导游Nancy Gareh一起,在教育和项目经理的带领下,我们在同一地区参加了Onaping Falls的活动,AY Jackson是七国集团成员之一, 。 经过七人小组的一小段历史短暂的加息后,我们检查了桥梁,岸边,树木和整个景观,而南希教导孩子们如何精神框架他们想画的东西。

Onaping  - 瀑布 - 萨德伯里 - 艺术画廊 - 萨德伯里,安大略2

是的,画!

在她的背包里,南希制作了艺术家高质量的水彩画,画笔和绘画纸,并给孩子们一个迷你美术课,然后鼓励他们找到一个沿岩石画的地方。 一旦她看到每个孩子都在绘画,她会提供关于如何绘画树木的技巧和指导,给岩石尺寸以及如何添加颜色到对方。

Onaping  - 瀑布 - 萨德伯里 - 艺术画廊 - 萨德伯里,安大略5

这是一种我们永远不会忘记的经历,而这些画作或许不是萨德伯里艺术画廊挂着的那些画作的质量,它们已经被框定,并在我们的家中自豪地悬挂着。

Onaping  - 瀑布 - 萨德伯里 - 艺术画廊 - 萨德伯里,安大略6

提示建议

  • 萨德伯里艺术画廊有一些伟大的展品 - 在你学习经验探索之前或之后的一段时间内建立。
  • 由于徒步旅行的温度适中,穿着舒适的衣服和鞋子,但有一些岩石区域和一些倾斜和下降。
  • 即使您无法参加预定的游览活动,您也可以参观萨德伯里美术馆寻求灵感,然后收拾野餐午餐,一些美元商店油漆,画笔和油画,然后前往您在Onaping Falls的徒步旅行和绘画冒险。

北安大略铁路博物馆

关于安大略省Capreol市萨德伯里的30会议纪要 北安大略铁路博物馆。 如果你有喜欢火车的孩子,这绝对是一个参观的地方。 在这里,孩子们了解安大略省北部铁路的重要性以及该省大部分北部地区的人们如何生活和工作。

北 - 安大略省铁路博物馆 - 萨德伯里,安大略5

其中一个最好的部分是孩子们可以沿着铁轨走,探索不同类型的火车车厢,一切都可以触摸,修补和体验。

北 - 安大略省铁路博物馆 - 萨德伯里,安大略6

自行车上的这辆车很值得这次旅行。 亲切地恢复,孩子们可以坐在木制书桌上,亲眼目睹如何使用这种铁路车教育没有任何学校的北部社区的儿童。 他们了解到,我们省(或国家)的所有部门与我们在城市郊区的资源并不相同,加拿大人也一样,我们一直都是非常足智多谋的。

北 - 安大略省铁路博物馆 - 萨德伯里,安大略4

提示:

  • 享受博物馆和户外展品。 尽管有些已经过时,但志愿者清楚地知道,一次一件展品正在精心修复。
  • 让你的孩子带头 - 没有正确的顺序去探索。 只要选择一辆火车车,享受。
  • 不要忘记花一些时间来观看户外托马斯火车展。

北 - 安大略省铁路博物馆 - 萨德伯里,安大略1

非常感谢你 萨德伯里旅游 为城市内外的惊人体验式学习机会!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Experiential Learning Vacation of Dynamic Proportions in Sudbury Ontario

When was the last time you let your kids decide where to go on vacation?

At ages 6, 7 and 11 aside from theme parks and waterparks, my kids had never once suggested a destination they wanted to visit. And then one day all three of them asked if we could road trip to Sudbury Ontario and yes, I was surprised as all of you.

Dynamic-Earth-Sudbury-Ontario-1

It turns out, the kids had been watching The Amazing Race Canada and the contestants had traveled to you guessed it – Sudbury, Ontario where one of the challenges was deep underground in what used to be a working mine and is now Dynamic Earth.

After a few more days of “Sudbury would be an awesome family vacation” hints from the kids, we started to seriously look at what there was to do in Sudbury. What we discovered was that our goal of showing the kids every province and territory in Canada over the next five years and having memorable experiential learning opportunities along the way, perfectly aligned with what this Northern Ontario city has to offer.

Here’s why…

Dynamic Earth

Check in for your mining shift in the dry room, take a glass elevator ride deep underground complete with multimedia video about a time long ago, put your hard hat on and get ready for an experience you’ve never had before!

Dynamic-Earth-Sudbury-Ontario-5

More than 1.85 billion years ago, Sudbury was hit with a massive meteorite over 10km in diameter. The impact and the resulting crater (a huge gigantic hole, in this case more than 200km across) is the reason behind Sudbury’s beautiful geography, long mining history and lucky for us, Dynamic Earth’s impressive underground exhibit.

The wait of just under an hour for our mine tour to begin was surprisingly easy because the kids don’t have to line-up for their turn since you register for a specific tour time.  This means the kids can roam the above-ground exhibits and especially the multi-story play place right outside of the entrance to the mine, which in my son’s words was “epic”! Kids climb, play, toss play rocks down shafts and yell out “fire in the hole” before pushing down on the imaginary dynamite ignition.

Dynamic-Earth-Sudbury-Ontario-3

My 11-year old daughter’s favourite above-ground exhibit was by far panning for gold. The “Blue Coats” are a combination of staff and volunteers and are readily available to answer questions, engage the kids and in the gold panning area, teach the kids the perfect technique to pan for gold – which they order from the Yukon and pour into the exhibit on a daily basis. My daughter’s commitment to the perfect technique paid off and she went home with a small fleck of gold taped to a card.

Dynamic-Earth-Sudbury-Ontario-2

When our tour time was called we lined up and that’s when the excitement started to build. The mine experience started the second we entered the dry room where we registered as miners heading underground for our shift, met with our crew leader (ie: tour guide) and then toured three separate mine exhibits all representing different points in mining history.

Dynamic-Earth-Sudbury-Ontario-8

Tips:

  • Dynamic Earth is also home to Sudbury’s famous “Big Nickel”, the largest coin in the world, so make sure to have your camera ready.
  • Register for your underground tour when you pay your entry fees so that you have a confirmed tour time. This is also the ideal time to purchase pre-stamped postcards to post from Canada’s only underground mailbox. Just be sure to fill out the postcards before going underground.
  • It’s chilly and damp underground, so no matter how hot and humid it is outside, wear closed toed shoes and bring a sweater.
  • It’s a good idea to prepare younger children for what it will be like underground. Be sure to let them know that it will be very dark in some spots and will be damp. Wearing one of the provided hard hats is non-negotiable and at one point in the tour there is the opportunity to detonate pretend dynamite, which is very loud.

Dynamic-Earth-Sudbury-Ontario-10

Science North

When they say that Science North is the most popular tourist attraction in Northern Ontario, it’s not difficult to see why – even the building architecture is something to talk about!

Science-North-Sudbury-Ontario-1

We highly recommend picking up a schedule of activities for the day and planning when to spend some free time roaming the exhibits and when to head to one of the many scheduled experiences. Be sure to make note of the scheduled times for the Wildfires 4D exhibit, meet and greet with the animals and the IMAX films.

The mix of live animal and insect exhibits, interactive exhibits encouraging play and the experiences guided by state of the art technology, left us wanting to come back and explore some more.

Science-North-Sudbury-Ontario-2

The kids could have spent hours in the butterfly room where there were over 400 types of butterflies to be observed, fly overhead and even land in the kids’ hands if they were patient and still.

Science-North-Sudbury-Ontario-5

They each had a turn at learning about motors while building then racing their race cars and the bed of nails was braved by all three.

Science-North-Sudbury-Ontario-8

An unexpected bonus was the Blue Coats were always ready and waiting to help the kids with an activity or dive into teaching them about specific exhibits. Many of the Blue Coats are also bilingual which means that kids who speak French and English can experience Science North in both languages.

 

Science-North-Sudbury-Ontario-10

The Art Gallery of Sudbury

If you can plan your trip around any of the classes, workshops or outdoor excursions being offered through the Art Gallery of Sudbury, we 100% recommend it.

Onaping-Falls-Sudbury-Art-Gallery-Sudbury-Ontario-1

We were lucky enough to participate in one of the outdoor excursions and together with our guide, Nancy Gareh, the Education and Program Manager we hiked Onaping Falls in the same area where A.Y. Jackson, a member of the Group of Seven, painted along the shores. After a short hike with a bit of history on the Group of Seven, we examined the bridge, the shore, the trees and the landscape as a whole while Nancy taught the children how to mentally frame what they wanted to paint.

Onaping-Falls-Sudbury-Art-Gallery-Sudbury-Ontario-2

Yes, paint!

From her backpack, Nancy produced artist quality watercolours, brushes and painting paper and gave the kids a mini art lesson before encouraging them to find a place to paint along the rocks. Once she saw what each of the kids was painting she would offer tips and instruction on how to paint trees, give the rocks dimension and how to add colours onto each other.

Onaping-Falls-Sudbury-Art-Gallery-Sudbury-Ontario-5

This was an experience we will never, ever forget and the paintings, while perhaps not the quality of those hung in the Art Gallery of Sudbury, have been framed and are hung proudly in our home.

Onaping-Falls-Sudbury-Art-Gallery-Sudbury-Ontario-6

Tips

  • The Art Gallery of Sudbury has some great exhibits – build in some time before or after your learning experience to explore.
  • Wear comfortable clothes and good shoes as the hike is a moderate level but there are some rocky areas and a few inclines and declines.
  • Even if you’re unable to participate in a scheduled excursion, visit the Art Gallery of Sudbury for some inspiration then pack up a picnic lunch, some dollar store paints, brushes and canvases and head out for your own hike and painting adventure at Onaping Falls.

Northern Ontario Railroad Museum

About 30 minutes from Sudbury in Capreol, Ontario is the Northern Ontario Railroad Museum. If you have children who love trains, this is definitely a place to visit. Here kids learn about the importance of the railroad in Northern Ontario and how people in the most Northern parts of the province lived and worked.

Northern-Ontario-Railroad-Museum-Sudbury-Ontario-5

One of the best parts is that the kids can walk along the railroad tracks and explore different types of train cars and everything can be touched, tinkered with and experienced.

Northern-Ontario-Railroad-Museum-Sudbury-Ontario-6

The school car on it’s own was worth the trip. Lovingly restored, the kids can sit at wood desks and see firsthand how this one rail car was used to educate children in Northern communities where there weren’t any school. They learned that not all parts of our province (or country) have the same resources as we have in our city suburbia and that as Canadians, we have always been incredibly resourceful.

Northern-Ontario-Railroad-Museum-Sudbury-Ontario-4

Tips:

  • Enjoy the museum and outdoor exhibits for what they are. Though some are dated, it is clear from the volunteers that everything is being lovingly restored one exhibit at a time.
  • Let your kids take the lead – there’s no right order to explore. Just choose a train car and enjoy.
  • Don’t forget to take some time to watch the outdoor Thomas the Train exhibit.

Northern-Ontario-Railroad-Museum-Sudbury-Ontario-1

A big thank you to Sudbury Tourism for the amazing experiential learning opportunities in and around the city!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.