fbpx

冬季家庭乐趣的“黄金”机会!

冬季家庭乐趣的“黄金”机会!

“一起滑雪的家庭聚在一起。”

好吧,那可能是我的座右铭,但显然它仍然适用于我。 曾经只是前往当地滑雪胜地的旅行已经变成了周末和微型住宿在金,不列颠哥伦比亚省我们吸引踢马山度假村滑雪,但发现了更多的“黄金宝石”,当我们决定不使用我们时滑雪。 这里有一个黄金家庭有趣的事情的快速列表。

参观狼群

不列颠哥伦比亚省金黄郡北极光狼中心

曾经告诉孩子们不要吃掉午餐? 看着狼在吃东西 北极光狼中心 这证明狼很快就会吃掉。 更有趣的是,当他们吃完一顿饭后,超过二十种其他物种从剩下的东西中受益。

北极光狼中心只有几分钟路程,在金色西部的一条铺成了茂密森林的道路上。 参观中心让您和孩子们有机会了解难以捉摸的猎人并亲眼看到他们。 没有必要保留; 主人随时可以带你的小组快速浏览狼围栏。

当我们到达那里时,狼群都在四处徘徊,在雪中痊愈。 突然他们的耳朵竖起来,他们都站起来了。 他们一个接一个地开始嚎叫。 野狼包装在附近,并已经叫出来。 大约十分钟,我们站在那里看着他们吼叫 - 停下来 - 听着又嚎叫。 这值得这次旅行。 我们永远不会忘记的音乐会。

在冬季至5月,北极光狼中心每天开放12-5。 时间在春天延长。 检查网页上的狼群选项(不需要皮带!)入场费为$ 35 /家族。 漫步和摄影之旅是额外的。

踢马踢了家庭乐趣的因素

金色的冬天是关于雪的。 我们每趟冬天至少要去一趟 踢马山度假村 因为我的女儿在滑雪的时候失去了她的第一颗婴儿牙齿(没有 - 没有滑雪......只是掉了下来)。 有些人可能认为它更像是专家的小山,但我们可以证明那些无牙的六岁小孩可以处理绿色的跑步。 我的四边形在第一年尖叫了“It's Ten”的全部路线,但是跳了十几年,她处理了一切 - 我只希望我能!

因为它在卡尔加里的住所有点跋涉,它变成了我们预计每个季节的周末活动。 我们住在戈登,沿着高速公路的酒店,在B&B的树丛里,但我们最喜欢的住宿地点是在金鹰快速缆车步行距离内的基地。

我们的阳台上的金色冰川登山家旅馆的踢马缆车基地的看法

The Glacier Mountaineer Lodge酒店的阳台上的踢马缆车基座

踢马住宿 在几个不同的小屋有各种房间配置,但我们喜欢一个或两个卧室的单位配有厨房。 这是完美的。 我们为早餐和午餐包装了一个凉爽的食物,以降低成本。 早晨很快。 在午餐时,他们又扯下另一个碗,然后我开始加热汤,然后摆放三明治。 每个人都随意出入。 我喜欢它。 而且,面向斜坡的甲板上的景色是我最喜欢的。 酒店设有热水浴池,管公园和溜冰场,为您提供滑雪后的活动。 日托和课程也是如此。

在Corks的美食餐厅和Kicking Horse Saloon俱乐部的酒吧餐厅,您可以在山上享用晚餐。 孩子们被邀请进入轿车,直到8下午。 如果您在周末参观,可以在缆车顶部的鹰眼餐厅预订,尽情享受。 在壮观的用餐体验中,来自五个国家公园的高峰环绕着您。

踢马 有四部电梯将客人带到超过2,800英亩的可滑雪地形,超过1,000等待开放的土地。 121标记运行,四个碗,无数滑槽和地形向20挑战所有人,对于初学者来说是完美的,对于中间体来说是20百分比,对于高级滑雪者来说是45百分比,准备踢专家的15百分比(或者你的骄傲青少年)到下周。 每年冬季,山顶会看到每年超过七米的降雪量,而中山高度的距离几乎超过四米。

在靠近金色的踢马山顶部

在踢马山的顶部

寻找驯马滑雪? 试试黎明山北欧中心

从踢马山度假村很短的车程是 黎明山北欧中心 与33公里的轨道设置为经典和滑冰滑雪。 这些小径从绿色到黑色都有很好的标记,并且提供了通过采取分支和环回的路线来尝试更加艰难的地形的机会。 所有的小径最终都会回到会所,这样你就不会迷路。 我之前没有想到这一点,但是我听说很多人在晚饭后带着他们的越野装备和前大灯,并且出去吃晚餐。

雪鞋步道竟然和越野步道一样有趣。 如果你做了整个雪鞋电路,它只需要一个多小时。

使用路径的用户费用很小,如果没有人在当天出现,则在收件箱中收取。 周末提供滑雪和雪鞋租赁服务。 考虑到装备的质量,租赁费用令人惊讶地便宜。

黎明山越野

黎明山越野

爬上Golden的墙壁

也许孩子们不想在度假的每一天或像往常一样滑雪,剩下的能量太多了。 狗牙攀岩健身房 对于任何需要攀爬墙壁,穿过天花板并再次返回的人来说,金色是完美的。 每个表面都有手和脚的固定 - 除了地板。 它覆盖在柔软的表面或衬垫上。 顶部绳索在那里夹住更长的攀登。 入住率合理 - 您可以为小于$ 60的家庭娱乐。 该设施每周一至周四从4-9:30开放。 星期六1 - 8下午和星期天中午到9:30。

狗牙爬健身房信用布鲁诺长

狗牙爬健身房信用布鲁诺长

有关Golden的更多信息,请访问 旅游黄金网页。 检查 踢马山度假村页面 为住宿交易。

Joanne Elves的照片除非另有说明。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:,

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

A “Golden” Opportunity for Winter Family Fun!

A “Golden” Opportunity for Winter Family Fun!

“A family that skis together stays together.”

Okay, that might be my motto but apparently it’s still working for me. What used to just be trips to the local ski resorts has turned into weekends and mini stay-cations in Golden, B.C. We gravitate to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort to ski but have found a few more “Golden Gems” to amuse us when we decide not to ski. Here’s a quick list of family fun things to do in Golden.

Visit with the wolves

Northern Lights Wolf Centre near Golden, BC

Ever told the kids to not wolf down their lunch? Watching the wolves eat at the Northern Lights Wolf Centre is proof that wolves tend to eat quickly. What’s even more interesting is that when they are done eating a meal, over twenty other species benefit from what is left over.

The Northern Lights Wolf Centre is only a few minutes west of Golden up a paved road into a thick forest. A visit to the centre gives you and the kids a chance to learn about the elusive hunters and to see them up close. There is no need for reservations; the hosts are always available to take your group on a quick tour of the wolf enclosures.

When we got there, the wolves were all just lazing around, cured up in the snow. Suddenly their ears perked up and they all stood up. One by one they started to howl. The wild wolf pack was in the vicinity and had called out. For about ten minutes we stood there watching as they howled – stopped – listened then howled again. That was worth the trip. A concert we will never forget.

During the winter and until May, Northern Lights Wolf Centre is open 12-5 daily. The hours extend in the spring. Check the webpage for options to walk with the wolves (no leash required!) Admission to the centre is $35/family. Walks and photography tours are extra.

Kicking Horse kicks up the family fun factor

Winter in Golden is all about the snow. We’ve been making the trip at least once each winter to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort since my daughter lost her first baby tooth while skiing there ( no – not skiing…it just fell out). Some people may think of it as more of an expert’s hill but we can attest that toothless six-year-olds can handle the green runs. My quads screamed the entire route of “It’s a Ten” that first year but jump forward a dozen years and she handles everything – I just wish I could!

Being that it’s a bit of a trek from our home in Calgary, it turns into a weekend event that we anticipate each season. We’ve stayed in Golden, at the hotels along the highway, at B&B’s tucked into the trees but our favourite place to stay is up at the base within walking distance of the Golden Eagle Express Gondola.

The view of Kicking Horse Gondola Base from our balcony at the The Glacier Mountaineer Lodge near Golden

The view of Kicking Horse Gondola Base from our balcony at the The Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Kicking Horse Lodging has a variety of room configurations in a few different lodges but we like the one or two-bedroom units complete with kitchens. It’s perfect. We pack a cooler of food for breakfasts and lunches to keep the costs down. Mornings are a snap. At lunch, while they rip down yet another bowl, I head in to heat up the soup and lay out the sandwiches. Everyone comes and goes as they please. I love it. And, the view from the deck facing the slopes is my favourite. Hot tubs, a tube park and a skating rink round out the après ski activities. Day care and lessons are available too.

There are a few choices for dinner on the hill from fine dining at Corks to pub grub at the Kicking Horse Saloon. Kids are invited into the saloon until 8 pm. If you are visiting on the weekend, pamper yourself with reservations at Eagle’s Eye Restaurant at the top of the gondola. Peaks from five national parks surround you during a spectacular dining experience.

Kicking Horse has four lifts taking guests to over 2,800 acres of skiable terrain with a stash of over 1,000 more acres waiting to be opened. There are 121 marked runs, four bowls, countless chutes and terrain to challenge everyone with 20 per cent perfect for beginners, 20 per cent for intermediates, 45 per cent for the advanced skier and 15 per cent ready to kick the experts (or your cocky teenagers) into next week. Each winter the summit sees an annual snowfall of over seven metres while the mid-mountain runs are covered in almost four metres of that champagne powder.

At the top of Kicking Horse Mountain near Golden

At the top of Kicking Horse Mountain

Looking for tamer skiing? Try Dawn Mountain Nordic Centre

A short drive from Kicking Horse Mountain Resort is the Dawn Mountain Nordic Centre with 33 kilometres of track set for both classic and skate skiing. The trails are well marked from green to black and offer opportunities to try harder terrain by taking routes that branch off and loop back. All the trails eventually loop back to the club house so you can’t get lost. I didn’t think of this before but I heard that lots of people bring their cross country gear and headlamps and head out after supper for a night ski.

The snowshoeing trail turned out to be just as fun as the cross country trails. If you do the entire snowshoe circuit it will take just over an hour.

There is a small user fee to use the trails and it’s collected at the drop box if there isn’t someone present at the day lodge. Ski and snowshoe rentals are available on weekends. The fee for the rentals is surprisingly inexpensive considering the quality of the gear.

Dawn Mountain cross country

Dawn Mountain cross country

Climb the walls in Golden

Maybe the kids don’t want to ski every day of the holiday or as usual, have too much energy left over. Dog Tooth Climbing Gym in Golden is perfect for anyone needing to climb the walls, across the ceiling and back down again. Every surface has hand and foot holds – except for the floor. Its covered in a soft surface or padding. Top ropes are there to clip in for the longer climbs. The drop-in rates are reasonable – you can entertain the family for less than $60. The facility is open daily from 4-9:30, Monday to Thursday. Saturday 1 – 8 pm and Sunday noon to 9:30.

Dog Tooth Climbing Gym credit Bruno Long

Dog Tooth Climbing Gym credit Bruno Long

For more information about Golden visit the Tourism Golden webpage. Check the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort page for deals on accommodations.

 

Photos by Joanne Elves unless noted.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates