孩子们会喜欢迈尔斯堡和萨尼贝尔的贝壳,蝴蝶,福特和灯泡

再来一次,加拿大。 可怕的冬季带来了雨夹雪和大雪,伴随着如此多的层次,让您感觉像米其林人。 对于大多数加拿大人来说,他们的度假胜地是佛罗里达州,今年应该没有什么不同。

佛罗里达州阳光明媚的西南海岸主演 迈尔斯堡,俘虏和萨尼贝尔岛,使此举成为家庭的最爱。

佛罗里达Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏岛迈尔斯堡码头照片Sabrina Pirillo

迈尔斯堡码头照片Sabrina Pirillo

迈尔斯堡

迈尔斯堡(Fort Myers)以其海滩,独特的购物体验和垂钓而闻名,还是两个非常重要人物的冬季故居:一个是举世闻名的发明家,另一个是富有创造力的商人。 需要提示吗? 好吧,今天您很可能已经打开了灯,也许您开过车。 就像我使用1992 Ford Tempo时一样。


抵达后 爱迪生和福特冬季庄园,您会看到爱迪生的雕像,在他身后,是他在1927上种下的一棵大榕树,一直保存至今。 该庄园拥有超过20英亩的植物园,爱迪生植物实验室(国家历史化学地标),爱迪生的书房和月光花园,冬季庄园,主要房屋和招待所以及最古老的看守者之家之一。西南佛罗里达(1928)的站立结构。 您将通过15,000平方英尺的博物馆(包括留声机)全面了解托马斯·爱迪生的思维过程,并探索史密森尼星火! 儿童实验室,其中包括一个动手实践区,孩子们可以在这里进行自己的发明。 孩子们还可以参加全年举办的教育计划。

佛罗里达Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏俘虏Islane Edisons实验室图片Sabrina Pirillo

爱迪生的实验室照片Sabrina Pirillo

爱迪生的亲爱的朋友亨利·福特(Henry Ford)在其导师1916附近购买了一块土地。 在福特庄园附近,您会找到The Car Exhibit,里面存放着1916 Model T的复制品,该产品是福特在生日那天捐赠给爱迪生的。

在此 蝴蝶庄园 是一个飘飘的好时光。 该音乐学院严格安置佛罗里达本地的蝴蝶,以保护蝴蝶。 您的孩子不仅想花数小时去追逐蝴蝶,而且当您尝试捕捉诸如君主,黑燕尾和海湾贝母之类的物种时,您也会如此。

我饿了

踏上旅程,开始您美好的一天 贝内特的新鲜烤。 他们所有的甜甜圈都是从头开始制作的,包括枫培根和釉面甜甜圈以及我个人最喜欢的波士顿奶油。 当然,如果您不喜欢吃糖,他们的早餐票价比较便宜。

佛罗里达州Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏俘虏Islane Bennetts甜甜圈照片Sabrina Pirillo

贝内特的甜甜圈照片Sabrina Pirillo

以啤酒和汉堡而闻名 福特车库 带您回到1920的服务站,达到禁止氛围。 从他们尊敬的Estate Burger(半磅烤黑安格斯,烟熏荷兰扁豆,甜红洋葱果酱,芝麻菜,番茄,炸洋葱秸秆和白松露培根蒜泥蛋黄酱放在奶油蛋卷面包上)到他们的鸡肉,虾仁和奶酪,经过一整天的探索,我想停下来。

佛罗里达州Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏俘虏伊斯兰妮福特斯车库房地产Burge照片Sabrina Pirillo

福特的车库庄园Burge照片Sabrina Pirillo

感觉像是中餐,还是想要一些冰淇淋来消暑? 然后向诺曼·洛夫(Norman Love)表达爱意。 从Key Lime,花生酱杯和Yuzu Mango巧克力到焦糖山核桃海龟或覆盆子冰糕冰淇淋,这对整个家庭来说都是。废的甜食。

佛罗里达Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏俘虏岛诺曼爱情照片Sabrina Pirillo

诺曼·爱照片Sabrina Pirillo

您现在正在上车,不是吗?

约会之夜应在 The Veranda; 自本世纪初以来,便在迈尔斯堡中心融合了历史魅力。 工作人员很细心,食物会令您口感愉悦。 从波多贝罗蘑菇酱,洋蓟馅和蓝蟹馅到波旁牛排和新西兰烤羊排的主菜,这是您不想要的一种就餐体验。

佛罗里达萨尼贝尔堡迈耶斯堡俘虏岛Panko结s的大比目鱼从阳台上拍摄Sabrina Pirillo

阳台照片上的Panko烤大比目鱼Sabrina Pirillo

该睡觉了。 前往 沿海Dayz啤酒厂。 在现场使用16水龙头时,我是否建议尝试一个包含我个人最爱的航班,那就是Isla Mirada金色强麦酒和菠萝酒,酸大草原Pra杜松和孟买IPA。

住宿:

位于与联邦法院隔街相望的历史建筑中, 迈尔斯堡市区河区英迪格酒店 是该地区唯一的精品酒店。 其宽敞的客房和大窗户享有迈尔斯堡(Fort Myers)的美景。 设施包括屋顶游泳池,免费无线网络和浴室内的Aveda产品。

佛罗里达萨尼贝尔迈耶斯堡俘虏岛靛蓝酒店客房图片Sabrina Pirillo

靛蓝酒店客房照片Sabrina Pirillo

Captiva的岛

离迈尔斯堡(Fort Myers)仅一个小时的车程,您会发现迷人的Captiva岛。 与生态船和海豚之旅相匹配的就餐体验是添加到任何旅行清单中的一种。

总是在圣诞节 泡泡室; 这家位于Captiva的独特餐厅的主题。 Bubble Room内置于1979中,其名称来自所有装饰用的圣诞灯和泡泡灯。

好莱坞老电影明星的古董和照片很快就塞满了墙,顾客开始掉下古董和玩具来填补这个地方。 店员的打扮得像男孩和女童子军一样,因为主人的女儿曾经是女童子军。

佛罗里达Sanibel迈耶斯堡俘虏岛泡泡室内照片Sabrina Pirillo

泡泡室内照片Sabrina Pirillo

日落庆祝活动在Captiva岛上很重要,每个人都聚集在海滩上观看太阳下山。 之后,前往 福特博士 赶上一天。

佛罗里达Sanibel迈耶斯堡俘虏岛俘虏岛上的日落图片Sabrina Pirillo

俘虏岛上的日落照片Sabrina Pirillo

Captiva Cruises Inc.提供令人难以置信的海豚和野生动物游览。 没有什么比看到宽吻海豚在自然栖息地玩耍更美了。 如此狂野和自由。 被雄伟的风景所环绕,可以看到鹈鹕和老鹰,这是一次旅行,一定会为任何家庭度假留下美好的回忆。

萨尼伯尔

吃:

如果您喜欢阅读古怪的标志并沉迷其中,那么 岛牛 是给你的。 继续订购西班牙海鲜饭,我敢。 嫩黄色的米饭坐在鸡肉,扇贝,贻贝和虾条的下面,一定要填满你的肚子,直到你下一次冒险。

说到这个, CROW(野生动物修复诊所) 是一家致力于拯救野生动物的教学医院和游客中心。 单翼猫头鹰Mina等动物参加了旨在帮助游客了解野生动植物的计划。 您的入场券($ 25)包括特殊的儿童区和医院进诊室内的实时摄像头进纸口,这笔钱将用于非营利性诊所。

佛罗里达州Sanibel迈耶斯堡Captiva Islane医生帮助受伤的鸟进入CROW照片Sabrina Pirillo

医生帮助受伤的鸟被带到乌鸦照片Sabrina Pirillo

在Sanibel进行炮击是针对儿童和成人的#1活动,我不确定这是否需要任何解释。

萨尼贝尔(Sanibel)的佛罗里达萨尼贝尔(Sanibel)迈耶斯堡(Fort Meyers)俘虏岛贝壳

萨尼贝尔(Sanibel)照片中的贝壳Sabrina Pirillo

在此 JN丁达令国家野生动物保护区 是美国最大的红树林生态系统的一部分。 它是245种鸟类的家园,其中包括大白鹭,双冠Cor和玫瑰琵鹭。 这个避难所是鸟类觅食和筑巢的理想场所,也是观察这个独特生态系统居民的好地方。 与认证的博物学家一起进行90分钟的有轨电车之旅,以获取完整体验。

佛罗里达Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏俘虏Islane丁达令图片Sabrina Pirillo

丁达令照片Sabrina Pirillo

留:

在1895中打开大门, 岛屿旅馆 是萨尼贝尔岛上最古老的旅馆。 主楼中的49房间在短短一年前进行了翻新,并配备了现代化的设施和装饰,起居室,餐桌,可欣赏海滩景观的宽敞阳台以及完整的厨房,使您宾至如归。 您还会发现图书馆和游戏室,温水游泳池以及包含在住宿内的免费欧陆式早餐。 海滨小屋是较大家庭的理想选择,并配备相同的设施。 只是在沙滩上。

佛罗里达州Sanibel迈尔斯堡俘虏岛岛INN主楼的生活区图片Sabrina Pirillo

岛INN主楼的生活区图片Sabrina Pirillo

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 14年2019月XNUMX日

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Kids Will Love Seashells, Butterflies, Fords, & Light Bulbs in Fort Myers and Sanibel

Here we go again, Canada. The dreaded winter months bringing sleet and snow accompanied by so many layers you feel like the Michelin Man. For most Canadians, their get-away-go-to is Florida, and this year should be no different.

The sunny southwest coast of Florida starring Fort Myers, Captiva and Sanibel Island, makes this stop a family favourite.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Fort Myers Marina Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Fort Myers Marina Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Fort Myers

Known for its beaches, unique shopping experiences and fishing, Fort Myers was also a winter home to two very important men: one, a world-famous inventor and the other, an innovative businessman. Need a hint? Well, you’ve most likely turned on a light today, and perhaps you’ve driven a car; like I did when I had my 1992 Ford Tempo.


Upon arrival at The Edison and Ford Winter Estates, you’ll be greeted by a statue of Edison and behind him, a massive banyan tree that he planted in 1927, which has been preserved to this day. The estate features more than 20 acres of botanic gardens, the Edison Botanic Laboratory (a National Historical Chemical Landmark), Edison’s Study and Moonlight Garden, Winter Estate, the Main home and Guest House, and the Caretakers House, which is one of the oldest standing structures in Southwest Florida (1928). You’ll learn all about Thomas Edison’s thought process via the 15,000-square-foot-museum full of his inventions (including the phonograph) and explore the Smithsonian Spark! Lab for kids, which includes a hands-on area where children can build their own invention. Kids can also take part in the educational programs that take place year-round.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Islane Edisons Laboratory Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Edison’s Laboratory Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Edison’s dear friend, Henry Ford, purchased land next door to his mentor in 1916. Next to Ford’s Estate, you’ll find The Car Exhibit, which houses the replica of the 1916 Model T that was donated to Edison by Ford for his birthday.

The Butterfly Estates is a fluttering good time. This conservatory strictly houses Florida native butterflies, dedicated to their protection. Not only will your kids want to spend hours chasing butterflies, but so will you, as you try to catch species like the monarch, black swallowtail and gulf fritillary.

I’m Hungry

Start your day off right with a trip to Bennett’s Fresh Roast. All their doughnuts are made from scratch, including the maple bacon and glazed doughnut and my personal favourite, the Boston cream. Of course, they have light breakfast fare options if sugar isn’t your breakfast go-to.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Islane Bennetts Donuts Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Bennett’s Donuts Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Known for their beer and burgers, Ford’s Garage takes you back to a 1920’s service station meets prohibition vibe. From their esteemed Estate Burger (half pound of grilled Black Angus, smoked Gouda, sweet red onion marmalade, arugula, tomato, fried onion straws, and white truffle bacon aioli on a brioche bun) to their chicken and shrimp mac and cheese, you’ll want to stop in after a long day of exploring.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Islane Fords Garage Estate Burge Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Ford’s Garage Estate Burge Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Feel like a mid-day treat or fancy some gelato to cool down? Then show some love for Norman Love. From Key Lime, Peanut Butter Cup and Yuzu Mango chocolate to scoops of Caramel Pecan Turtle or raspberry sorbet ice cream, this is a decadent sweet for the whole family.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Norman Love Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Norman Love Photo Sabrina Pirillo

You’re getting in your car right now, aren’t you?

Date night should be celebrated at The Veranda; combining historic charm in the heart of Fort Myers since the turn of the century. The staff is attentive, and the food will delight your palate. From portobello mushroom pate and the artichoke fritters stuffed with blue crab to the mains of bourbon street filet and baked rack of New Zealand lamb, this is one dining experience you won’t want to pass up.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Panko crusted halibut from The Veranda Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Panko-crusted halibut from The Veranda Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Time for a nightcap. Head to Coastal Dayz Brewery. With 16 taps on-site, may I suggest trying a flight that includes my personal favourites, Isla Mirada blonde ale mixed with pineapple cider, the sour Prairie lime juniper and the Bombay IPA.

Stay:

Located in a historic building across the street from the Federal Courthouse, The Hotel Indigo Fort Myers Downtown River District Hotel is the only boutique hotel in the neighbourhood. Its spacious rooms and large windows offer great views of Fort Myers. Amenities include a rooftop pool, free WIFI and Aveda products in the bathroom.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Hotel Indigo Room Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Hotel Indigo Room Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Captiva Island

Just over an hour drive from Fort Myers, you’ll find stunning Captiva Island. The dining experiences matched with the eco-boat and dolphin tours are one to add to any travel list.

It’s always Christmas at The Bubble Room; the theme of this unique restaurant in Captiva. Built in 1979, the Bubble Room got its name from all the Christmas lights and bubble lights that were used as décor.

Antiques and photos of old Hollywood movie stars soon filled the walls and customers began dropping off antiques and toys to help fill the place. The staff are dressed like boy and girl scouts as the owner’s daughter used to be a girl scout.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Inside the Bubble Room Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Inside the Bubble Room Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Sunset Celebrations are a big deal in Captiva Island, and everyone gathers on the beach to watch the sun go down. Afterwards, head over to Doc Fords for the catch of the day.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Sunset on Captiva Island Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Sunset on Captiva Island Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Captiva Cruises Inc. offers incredible dolphin and wildlife tours. There’s nothing more beautiful than to see bottlenose dolphins playing in their natural habitat; so wild and free. Surrounded by majestic scenery where pelicans and eagles can be spotted, this is one tour sure to make the memory wall for any family vacation.

 

Sanibel

EAT:

If you enjoy reading quirky signs and indulging in massive portions, then The Island Cow is for you. Go ahead and order the Paella, I dare you. The tender yellow rice sits under strips of chicken, scallops, mussels and shrimp and sure to fill your belly until your next adventure.

Speaking of which, CROW (Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife) is a teaching hospital and visitor centre dedicated to saving wildlife. Animals like Mina, the one-winged owl, participate in programs to help educate visitors about wildlife. Special children’s areas and live camera feed inside the hospital intake rooms are included with your admission ($25), which goes towards the non-for-profit clinic.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Islane Doctor helping injured bird brought into CROW Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Doctor helping injured bird brought into CROW Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Shelling in Sanibel is the #1 activity for children and adults alike, and I’m not sure this one needs any explanation.

 

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Shells in Sanibel Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Shells in Sanibel Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The J.N Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge is part of the largest mangrove ecosystem in the United States. It is home to over 245 species of birds including the Great Egret, Double-Crested Cormorant and the Roseate Spoonbill. This Refuge is an ideal place for birds to feed and nest and a great place to observe the inhabitants of this unique ecosystem. Take a 90-minute guided tram tour with a certified naturalist for the full experience.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Islane Ding Darling Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Ding Darling Photo Sabrina Pirillo

STAY:

Opening its doors in 1895, The Island INN is the oldest Inn on Sanibel Island. The 49 rooms in the main building were renovated just a short year ago and feature modern amenities and décor, living room, dining table, spacious balconies with beach views, and complete kitchens so you can feel right at home. You’ll also find a library and games room, heated swimming pool and complimentary continental breakfast included with your stay. Beachfront cottages are ideal for larger families and equipped with the same amenities. Just on the beach.

Florida Sanibel Fort Meyers Captiva Island Living area in Island INN main building Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The living area in Island INN main building Photo Sabrina Pirillo

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. November 14, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *