fbpx

与你的父母和孩子打在一起? 以下是如何生存多代旅行

未来之路

前方的路。 (信用:Pixabay)

啊,它终于来了。 一年中没有时间像夏天一样令人兴奋。 对于那些认为夏天会永远持续下去的孩子来说,整个赛季都会让你感到紧张。 也许和其他家庭一样,你是否正在与一个大型的多代人群中的其他家庭成员一起计划旅行的上升旅行趋势?

如果您计划与大家庭一起进行夏季公路旅行,而您之前从未尝试过,那么在将该车放入云端硬盘之前,您应该了解一些事项。 从那些曾经参与多代旅行战壕的人那里接过来,然后活着讲述这个故事。 一点准备和计划对于保持自己(和家人)的旅行理智有很大帮助。

何时何地

容易,对吗? 你决定开车去迪斯尼乐园! 哎呀,祖父母实际上想开车到俄勒冈州海岸并租一间海滨别墅。 目的地和路线需要在旅行计划过程的早期进行一些头脑风暴和共识。 毕竟,如果你不知道你要去哪里,你就不能计划一次公路旅行。

这里有许多美妙的公路旅行目的地和家庭旅游选择。 规划路线是一个早期的步骤,如果分享不是一个可行的计划,决定你是否要分享住宿或彼此相邻。 如果您租用一间带多间卧室的大房子,分享将节省资金并确保每个人的隐私。 如果祖父母希望亲近但不太亲近,即在他们自己的单位,灵活性和对他们需求的理解是重要的。 它们不仅仅是作为婴儿保姆的骑行,是吗?

一辆车还是两辆?

你的后座司机有多糟糕,真的吗? 你的母亲或婆婆怎么样? 如果你不认为你可以在快乐的面包车中处理打桩作为一个大家庭单位,每天6小时开车超过三周,不要。 压力,争论和方向挑战很快就会破坏你的公路旅行冒险。 租两辆车(除非使用自己的车辆),将家庭分开以减轻压力,并找出谁将带领快乐的高速公路。

预行车检查

如果您计划使用自己的车辆,请在预订机场预订一次。 补充液体,检查轮胎磨损,让机械师知道您的最终目的地和路线。 这对于确保您的油粘度对于炎热的加利福尼亚沙漠是正确的,或者您的制动器能够处理BC落基山脉的陡峭下降和曲线是有价值的。 确保您的CAA保险是最新的。

明智地使用技术

GPS和SAT-NAV系统可以节省您的培根在路上,特别是在繁忙的城市地区和令人困惑的公路三叶草叶子。 但它们并非万无一失,它们也不能代替窗户,以确保您不仅仅通过同一台风车两次。 哦,我们在圈子里!

如果你一直在圈子里(去过那里,做过那些),那么你或年轻的旅行者也可能需要减轻晕车。

技术很棒,直到电池耗尽。 踢它的旧学校,并从您的CAA办公室获取可靠和免费的纸质地图作为导航备份。 这也是孩子学习如何实际阅读地图的学习机会。

确保您可以在两辆车之间进行沟通,这可能意味着如果在美国或欧洲旅行,可以预购每日手机漫游。 不要吝啬和假设手势会起作用。 如果一辆或两辆车都迷路了,交流对于重新连接并重返正轨至关重要。

享受优质的多代家庭时间。 (信用:Pixabay)

享受高质量的多代家庭时间。 (信用:Pixabay)

保持健康的道路

夏季公路旅行往往是热门,汗流。背的事。 使用独立的水瓶不断补充水分,在冷却器中包装零食,方便后座。 穿上舒适的浅色衣服,戴上防晒霜,太阳镜和帽子。

保持身体健康是良好旅行计划的一个方面,但我们的心理健康呢? 作为成年子女,在照顾我们的小孩和我们年迈的父母之间陷入三明治之中,我们往往对自己的压力水平没有给予足够的重视。 在多代公路旅行期间,这种压力可以多次复合。 对方向,酒店预订,每日行程,育儿方式,午睡时间,谁支付什么的分歧。 甚至古老的童年时期的不满也会以惊人的,令人惊讶的不愉快的方式重现。

了解自己的触发点和压力点以及为他们开发应对机制至关重要。 如果这意味着将自己锁在5-10分钟的浴室里,尖叫到枕头上,数到十,然后分离出一天的活动,然后这样做。 公共成人的崩溃与幼儿变种一样丑陋。 想办法应对,以确保您的家庭度假保持正轨,并保持身体健康。

还有一些药物可以帮助减轻压力相关的症状,如紧张,过敏和烦躁。

良好的规划和准备是确保成功的多代夏季公路旅行的关键,这将为年轻人和老年人创造持久的家庭旅行记忆。 保持你的眼睛在路上,快乐的旅行!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

COVID-19的情况正在迅速改变。 加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Hitting the Road with Your Parents AND Kids? Here’s How to Survive a Multi-generational Road Trip

Road Ahead

The road ahead. (Credit: Pixabay)

Ahh, it’s finally here. There’s no time of year quite as exciting as the beginning of summer. The entire season feels stretched out ahead of you, doubly so for the kids who think summer’s going to last forever. Perhaps like other families, you’re riding the upward travel trend of planning a trip with other family members in a large, multi-generational group?

If you’ve planned a summer road trip with extended family, and you’ve never attempted it before, there are a few things you should know before you put that car into Drive. Take it from someone who’s been in the multi-generational travel trenches and lived to tell the tale. A little prep and planning goes a long way to maintaining your own (and family’s) travel sanity.

The Where and When

Easy, right? You’ve decided to drive to Disneyland! Oops, the grandparents actually want to drive to the Oregon coast and rent a beach house. Destination and routing requires some brainstorming and consensus early on in the travel planning process. After all, you can’t plan a road trip if you don’t know where you’re going.

There are so many fabulous road trip destinations and options for families to visit. Planning the route is an early step, as is deciding whether you’re going to share accommodation or stay next to each other if sharing isn’t a workable plan. If you rent a large house with multiple bedrooms, sharing will save money and ensure some privacy for everyone. If grandparents wish to be close but not too close i.e. in their own unit, flexibility and understanding of their needs is important. They’re not just along for the ride as baby-sitters, are they?

One Car or Two?

How bad of a backseat driver are you, really? How about your mother or mother-in-law? If you don’t think you can handle piling in the happy van as an extended family unit for a 6 hour daily drive over three weeks, don’t. The stress, arguments and directional challenges can quickly ruin your road trip adventure. Rent two vehicles (unless using your own), divide up the family to minimize stress, and figure out who’s going to lead the merry high-way.

Pre-Trip Car Inspection

If planning to use your own vehicles, book a pre-departure mechanical once over. Top up fluids, check tire wear, and let your mechanic know your ultimate destination and route. This is valuable to ensure that your oil viscosity is correct for the hot California desert, or your brakes are capable of handling the steep descents and curves of the BC Rocky Mountains. Ensure your CAA coverage is up-to-date.

Use Technology Wisely

GPS and SAT-NAV systems can save your bacon on the road, particularly in busy urban areas and confusing highway clover-leaves. But they’re not foolproof, nor are they a substitute for looking out the window to ensure you haven’t just passed the same windmill, twice. Oh yay, we’re going in circles!

If you have been going in circles (been there, done that), then it’s likely you or young travelers need motion sickness relief too. Boiron’s Cocculine relieves symptoms of motion sickness, such as nausea, vomiting, dizziness and cold sweats, in adults and children 2 years of age and older. The non-drowsy, quick-dissolving tablets are convenient to take, since no water is needed. You can even take two tablets before you depart if someone is prone to becoming car sick, circles or no circles.

Technology is great until the batteries die. Kick it old school and pick up a trusty and free paper map from your CAA office as navigational back-up. This also doubles as a learning opportunity for kids to learn how to actually read a map.

Ensure you can communicate between the two vehicles, which may mean pre-purchasing daily cell phone roaming if travelling in the US or Europe. Don’t skimp out and assume hand signals will work. If one or both vehicles get lost, communication is vital to reconnect and get back on track.

Enjoying quality multigenerational family time. (Credit: Pixabay)

Enjoying quality multi-generational family time. (Credit: Pixabay)

Stay Healthy on the Road

Summer road trips are often hot, sweaty affairs. Hydrate constantly with individual water bottles, pack snacks in coolers for easy access in the back seats. Wear comfortable, light-colored clothing and slap on sunscreen, sunglasses and hats. If you or your kids are prone to motion sickness or nervousness while road tripping, ensure your on-the-go medical kit includes medicines such as Boiron’s homeopathic products.

Maintaining physical health is one aspect of good travel planning, but what about our mental health? As adult children, caught up in the sandwich between caring for our young kids and our aging parents, we often don’t pay enough attention to our own stress levels. This stress can be compounded several times over during a multi-generational road trip. Disagreements over directions, hotel bookings, daily itinerary, parenting styles, nap times, who pays for what. Even ancient childhood grievances can resurface in surprising, and surprisingly unpleasant ways.

It’s vital to know what your own trigger and stress points are, and to develop a coping mechanism for them. If this means locking yourself in the bathroom for 5-10 minutes, screaming into a pillow, counting to ten, separating out for one day’s activities, then do so. Public adult meltdowns are just as ugly as those of the toddler variety. Find ways to cope to ensure your family holiday stays on track and your relationships in good health.

There are also medications that can help reduce stress-related symptoms, like nervousness, hypersensitivity and irritability. Boiron’s Sédatil offers an effective way to help you and your body cope with stress. The chewable tablets are available without a prescription for adults and children 12 years of age and older.

Good planning and preparation are keys to ensuring a successful multi-generational summer road trip that will create lasting family travel memories for young and old. Keep your eyes on the road, and happy travels!

Thanks to Boiron for sponsoring this post. As always, the writer’s opinions are honest and her own.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates