约书亚树的北部:古怪,狂野和奇妙

“……沙漠里有奇特的艺术品。 艺术在外面! 而且到处都是仙人掌!” 今天是阳光明媚的XNUMX月,沙漠风急转,我坐在生锈的折叠椅子上,看着五岁的“表演”在星光闪烁的舞台上,在由艺术家和偏心 诺亚普瑞福.

Noah Purifoy的明星闪烁的舞台照片Miranda Post

约书亚树户外艺术博物馆收藏了Noah Purifoy的再生艺术品。 照片米兰达邮报

我们位于丝兰山谷的中心地带,看看奇异但神奇的Purifoy创作。 这是一条由管道和屋顶瓦片组成的15英尺长的火车轨道,顶部是由啤酒桶,自行车轮胎和马桶水箱组成的“火车”。 附近是一个儿童大小的圆顶冰屋,用棍棒和瓦楞铁制成。 Purifoy的10-acre户外艺术博物馆包含由任何东西组成的装置:从抽水马桶到轮胎,再到开壳电视机。

Purifoy户外艺术照片Miranda Post

Noah Purifoy户外艺术博物馆充满了回收的古怪。 照片米兰达邮报

欢迎来到南加州狂野而古怪的一面,在这里,洛杉矶和棕榈泉的完美上镜背景让人感受到了世界。 被称为加利福尼亚州的高原沙漠,一系列小型的另类景点毗邻约书亚树国家公园的北部地区。 从西部的丝兰山谷到中心的约书亚树村到东部的29棕榈树,这个喜欢沙漠的地区为许多旅行者和他们的迷你提供冒险活动:无论你是喜欢大自然的徒步旅行者,还是喜欢艺术的流浪者或者一个摇滚乐迷。

少年游侠在约书亚树照片米兰达邮报徒步旅行

在少年游侠徒步旅行期间了解莫哈韦丝兰。 照片米兰达邮报

徒步旅行(少年)游侠

约书亚树国家公园 是开始您的Hi-Desert冒险的自然景点。 充满植物和动物,看起来像他们的直接 霍顿听到了谁 or 在狂放的事,国家公园风景如画,各种各样的徒步旅行,散步和以家庭为中心的节目,适合所有年龄段。



我强烈建议前往29 Palms的Oasis游客中心,获取一份免费的小报式报纸“The Guide”,该报告包括地图,徒步旅行描述和警告语。  奖励:绿洲游客中心拥有充足的停车位和友好的工作人员提供建议。 看到我的孩子,主持人给了我们一个 少年游侠 小册子,我们在三天探索期间可以填写的免费活动手册。 为了开始我们的初级游侠冒险,我们选择第二天早上在9与Ranger Kylie进行解释性徒步旅行:30在Skull Rock附近的探索之路上犀利。 我们穿着风裤,背着满满的小吃和水,开始了一公里的徒步旅行(#prepared)。 在我们的1.5小时曲折期间,我们了解了铅笔Cholla cacti,Mojave Yuccas和无处不在的约书亚树。 有四个孩子在徒步旅行中,包括我的,他们在描述沙漠动植物时听取了Ranger Kylie口中的每个音节。 在接下来的几天里,我们填写了Junior Ranger指南。

一旦您的孩子填写了少年游侠指南的所有部分,游侠就会签署指南并重复承诺,保护公园让所有人享受。 然后新出现的少年游侠获得了一个徽章,我的孩子在我们旅行的剩余时间里穿了这个徽章。 我们最喜欢的儿童友好 上涨 在约书亚树包括:巴克水坝(1.8km),隐谷(1.6km)和Cholla仙人掌花园(0.4km)。

与山羊,Pioneertown加利福尼亚徒步旅行

您可以在Pioneertown附近与山羊一起徒步旅行。 山羊!

嗨沙漠远足与扭曲: 与山羊徒步旅行。 所有者Emmanuel位于Pioneertown的Yogi山羊农场,每周约五天带着他的Nubian山羊去探索沙漠。 每次徒步旅行的时间约为2-3小时,而Emmanuel则提供茶水和水,更不用说一群活泼,友好的山羊。

Pappy的周日乐队和Harriet的照片Miranda Post

让您的家人在Pioneertown的Pappy和Harriet's体验现场音乐和Santa Maria BBQ。 图片米兰达邮报

Rock'n'Roll与Wild West相遇

位于尤卡山谷的丘陵地带, Pioneertown的 是一部前西部电影,以褪色的假前线和真正的约翰韦恩气氛为特色。 Pioneertown最初是32,000英亩土地和1880s风格的西部城镇,建于1940后期,是50s和1950s中1960西部电影拍摄地的所在地。

如今,Pioneer Town是一个非法人社区,以其着名的烧烤和现场音乐联合而闻名 Pappy和Harriet的.  Pappy&Harriet's拥有酒吧小食,Santa Maria烧烤和少量的Cal-Mex菜肴,是整个家庭困境的不二之选。 这里有适合您的小家庭的小型餐桌,有供大家庭共享和结识新朋友的大型餐桌。 当我们在一个忙碌的星期日晚上去参加现场音乐晚宴时,门外排着队,晚上8:00本地乐队开始演奏从Dire Straits到Bruce Springsteen的所有专辑。

众所周知,像罗伯特·普兰特和露辛达·威廉姆斯这样的客串音乐人都来参加。这就是麻烦所在:Pappy&Harriet's的大多数演出都是不同年龄的,但它们从8:00 pm开始,我建议您尽量推迟一点晚餐经过一整天的徒步旅行尽管我的小孩子在先锋镇(Pioneertown)参加了“摇滚晚餐”,但他被时间带打扫了。

巨岩咖啡照片米兰达邮报

丝兰谷最好的咖啡:巨石会议室和咖啡屋。 图片米兰达邮报

更多喜欢吃沙漠的食物: 约书亚树村到处都是独立小吃。 试用 自然姐妹 咖啡馆的所有东西素食和美味或 约书亚树沙龙,另一个充满友好对话和多汁汉堡的小镇现场音乐表演场地。 在丝兰山谷一定要到了 巨石会议室和咖啡厅,弗拉明戈高地的一片通风,植物和艺术的绿洲。

Starship Landing:极光照片Miranda Post

在星际星舰登陆:奥罗拉,拥抱你的空间好奇的自我。 照片米兰达邮报

拥抱空间:一个远远的度假租赁

虽然约书亚树地区有许多大型连锁酒店,但我们决定留在位于尤卡山谷北部弗拉明戈高地中心的Airbnb路旁。 由一对洛杉矶夫妇拥有,他们在沙漠和金属镇之间分配时间 星舰降落:极光 这是一个欢快的乐趣,不仅因为它是世纪中期的现代 - 迪斯科舞厅装饰,而且还有它的内外乐趣。

Starship Landing Aurora吊床圈照片Miranda Post

在加州的高沙漠地区,沙漠风光和吊床圈并不罕见。 图片米兰达邮报

奥罗拉(Aurora)有一个吊床圈,以不明飞行物(UFO)为主题的槌球课程,一个热水浴缸和一个而不是两个迪斯科球。 一个家庭旅行可能会很昂贵,而外出吃饭可能会很累,这就是为什么在我们探索约书亚树地区的时候,将Aurora住三天两夜真有趣。 房东想到了许多细节,从雨水式淋浴到带Apple TV的投影仪,再到简单的早餐用品,如速溶燕麦片,咖啡和茶,应有尽有。 我儿子在Aurora上最喜欢的功能-巨大的黄豆袋椅和迪斯科球。 矿山: 饭厅 适合与疯狂的魔鬼演员一起用餐。 宝贝,凹槽在心里!

另一个嗨沙漠睡眠: 坐落在约书亚树国家公园的绿洲大门附近 29 Palms Inn。 29 Palms酒店拥有艺术画廊,游泳池和土坯舱,是一个历史悠久的家庭友好型酒店,距离公园入口仅有10分钟车程。

我去过了 约书亚树地区 在与我最好的朋友之一成为2012的父母之前。 我们徒步,喝了冰镇啤酒,探索了奇怪而又令人敬畏的古董店。 我不得不说今年和我的小家伙在那里旅行时有点紧张。 我问自己......会不一样? 它真的只是一个充满成人乐趣的时髦区吗? 我的儿子会对我的仙人掌的痴迷感到厌倦吗? 答案是:响亮的'不!'

加息是有益的。 不明飞行物槌球很热闹。 我们的仙人掌物种鉴定技术现已脱离图表。

看着我的儿子在Purifoy展览周围比赛,大声说道,“妈妈,来看看这个,真是太酷了!”我不得不承认,我全心全意地同意了。

约书亚树北部:奇怪的,野性的,美妙的照片米兰达邮报

 

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

North of Joshua Tree: The Weird, Wild and Wonderful

“… And the desert has strange art. The art is outside! And there are cacti all around!” It is a sunny February day, a sharp desert wind blows and I’m sitting on a rusty fold up chair watching my five-year-old ‘perform’ on a star-spangled stage in an outdoor exhibit made of recycled items by artist and SoCal eccentric Noah Purifoy.

Noah Purifoy's star spangled stage Photo Miranda Post

The Joshua Tree Outdoor Art Museum contains recycled art by Noah Purifoy. Photo Miranda Post

We’re in the heart of the Yucca Valley, checking out the strange yet magical Purifoy creations. There’s a 15-foot long train track assembled from pipes and roof shingles, topped with a ‘train’ made of beer kegs, bicycle tires and toilet water tanks. Nearby is a child-sized igloo constructed with sticks and corrugated iron. Purifoy’s 10-acre outdoor art museum contains installations made of anything and everything: from toilet bowls to tires to disembowelled television sets.

Purifoy Outdoor art Photo Miranda Post

Recycled wackiness abounds at the Noah Purifoy outdoor art museum. Photo Miranda Post

Welcome to the wild, wacky side of Southern California, where the polished, perfectly photogenic backdrops of Los Angeles and Palm Springs feel a world away. Dubbed the California Hi-desert, a string of small, offbeat attractions border the northern climes of Joshua Tree National Park. From Yucca Valley in the West to Joshua Tree Village in the centre to 29 Palms in the East, the hi-desert region houses adventures for many travellers and their minis: whether you’re a nature-loving hiker, an art-admiring wanderer or a rock’n’roll fan.

Junior Ranger hike in Joshua Tree Photo Miranda Post

Learning about the Mojave Yucca during a Junior Ranger hike. Photo Miranda Post

Hike like a (Junior) Ranger

Joshua Tree National Park is a natural spot to start your Hi-Desert adventures. Full of plants and animals that look like their straight out of Horton Hears a Who or Where the Wild Things Are, the national park is as picturesque as it is fun with a variety of hikes, walks and family-focused programs geared toward all ages.



I’d highly recommend heading to the Oasis Visitor Centre in 29 Palms to nab a copy of ‘The Guide’, a free tabloid-style newspaper complete with map, hike descriptions and words of warning.  The bonus: the Oasis Visitor centre has ample parking and friendly staff to give advice. Seeing my kiddo, the hosts offered us a Junior Ranger booklet, a free activity book we could fill up during our three days of exploring. To start our Junior Ranger adventures we chose to go on an interpretive hike with Ranger Kylie the next morning at 9:30 a.m. sharp on the Discovery Trail near Skull Rock. Wearing wind pants and with backpacks full of snacks and water, we set off on our one-kilometre hike (#prepared). During our 1.5 hour meander, we learned about pencil Cholla cacti, Mojave Yuccas and the ubiquitous Joshua Trees. There were four kids on the hike total including mine and they listened to every syllable escaping Ranger Kylie’s mouth as she described the desert flora and fauna. Throughout the next few days, we filled out the Junior Ranger guidebook.

Once all sections of the Junior Ranger Guidebook are filled out by your kid, a ranger signs the guidebook and both repeat a pledge vowing to protect the park for all to enjoy. Then the newly minted Junior Ranger gets a badge, which my child wore for the remainder of our trip. Our favourite kid-friendly hikes in Joshua Tree included: Barker Dam (1.8km), Hidden Valley (1.6km) and Cholla Cactus Garden (0.4km).

Hiking with Goats, Pioneertown California

You can hike with goats near Pioneertown. GOATS!

Hi-desert hiking with a twist: Hiking with Goats. Located at the Yogi Goats Farm in the Pioneertown, owner Emmanuel takes groups out about five days a week with his Nubian goats to explore the desert. Each hike is about 2-3 hours long and Emmanuel supplies both tea and water, not to mention a herd of frisky, friendly goats.

The Sunday Band at Pappy and Harriet's Photo Miranda Post

Give your family a taste of live music and Santa Maria BBQ at Pappy and Harriet’s in Pioneertown. Photo Miranda Post

Rock’n’Roll meets Wild West

Located in the hilly reaches of Yucca Valley, Pioneertown is a former western movie set that features faded false fronts and a real John Wayne atmosphere. Originally a 32,000-acre plot of land and 1880s-style Western town built in the late 1940s, Pioneertown was home to about 50 Western movie shoots in the 1950s and 1960s.

These days, Pioneer Town is an unincorporated community known for its famous BBQ and live music joint Pappy and Harriet’s.  Featuring pub grub, Santa Maria barbecue and a smattering of Cal-Mex dishes, Pappy & Harriet’s is a worth the stop for the whole fam-jam. There are smaller tables for just your little family and big communal ones for sharing and meeting new people. When we went for our live music-infused dinner on a busy Sunday night, there was a line up out the door and a local cover band up at 8:00 p.m. playing everything from Dire Straits to Bruce Springsteen covers.

Guest musicians like Robert Plant and Lucinda Williams have been known to drop in. Here’s the rub: most shows at Pappy & Harriet’s are all ages but they start at 8:00 p.m. I’d suggest pushing dinner a bit late if you can and not going after a day of hiking as we did. Though my little one was stoked for his ‘rock’n’roll dinner’ in Pioneertown, he was wiped by the time band came on.

Giant Rock Coffee Photo Miranda Post

Yucca Valley’s best coffee: Giant Rock Meeting Room & Coffee House. Photo Miranda Post

More Hi-desert eats: Indie eats are everywhere in Joshua Tree Village. Try out The Natural Sisters cafe for all things vegan and delicious or the Joshua Tree Saloon, another small-town live music venue full of friendly conversations and juicy burgers. In the Yucca Valley be sure to stop by the Giant Rock Meeting Room & Coffee House, an airy, plant and art filled oasis in Flamingo Heights.

Starship Landing: Aurora Photo Miranda Post

Embrace your space-curious self at the interglactic Starship Landing: Aurora. Photo Miranda Post

Embrace Space: a far out vacation rental

While there are a number of big-chain hotels in the Joshua Tree area, we decided to stay at a wayside Airbnb located in the heart of Flamingo Heights, north part of Yucca Valley. Owned by a Los Angeles couple who splits their time between the desert and tinseltown, the Starship Landing: Aurora was a rollicking fun stay not only because of it’s mid-century modern-come-disco-a-go-go decor but also for it’s heaps of inside and outside fun.

Starship Landing Aurora hammock circle Photo Miranda Post

Desert views and a hammock circle, not an uncommon sight in California’s Hi-desert area. Photo Miranda Post

The Aurora had a hammock circle, UFO-themed croquet course, a hot tub and not one but two disco balls. Travelling as a family can be expensive and eating out can be tiring, that’s why it was so fun to call the Aurora home for three days and two nights while we explored the Joshua Tree area. The hosts thought of many details with everything from rainwater style showers to a projector with an Apple TV to simple breakfast supplies like instant oatmeal, coffee and tea. My son’s favourite feature at the Aurora – the gigantic yellow bean bag chair and disco balls. Mine: the dining room fit for a meal with the vacationing cast of Mad Men. Groove is in the heart, baby!

Another Hi-desert sleep: Nestled near the Oasis gate of Joshua Tree National Park is the 29 Palms Inn. Complete with an art gallery, pool and adobe cabins, the 29 Palms is a historic family friendly and a mere 10 minute drive to the park entrance.

I visited the Joshua Tree area before becoming a parent back in 2012 with one of my best friends. We hiked, drank cold beer and explored strange and awesome vintage shops. I have to say that I was a bit nervous travelling there this year with my little family. I asked myself… Would it be the same? Is it really just a hipster area full of adult-only fun? Would my son be bored with my cacti obsession? The answer: a resounding ‘No!’

The hikes were rewarding. The UFO croquet was hilarious. Our cacti species identification skills are now off the charts.

Watching my son race around the Purifoy exhibit, exclaiming, “Mom, come look at this, this is so cool!” I have to admit, I wholeheartedly agreed.

North of Joshua Tree: the weird, the wild, the wonderful Photo Miranda Post

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *