fbpx

在德克萨斯州丘陵地区弗雷德里克斯堡肆虐德州神话

德克萨斯州Bluebonnets  - 信贷弗雷德里克斯堡CVB

德州矢车菊–弗雷德里克斯堡CVB

像其他任何旅行过的加拿大人一样,我也被问到其他国家的人们认为他们是典型的加拿大人的神话。 我遇到的一些常见问题:所有加拿大人都能说流利的英语和法语(我希望),每个人都喜欢木薯条(当然!),在我们49岁以北的一年中,至少有一部分人住在冰屋里(我能说什么) ?)。

对目的地有刻板的期望并不罕见。 因此,当我决定前往位于德克萨斯州丘陵地区Gillespie县的小城市11,000人弗雷德里克斯堡时,我不得不承认我期待一个充满风滚草,长角牛,牛排馆和牛仔的干燥沙漠景观。 /女孩。

一个大而美丽的德克萨斯长角牛 - 信用凯特罗伯逊

大而美丽的德克萨斯长角牛-归功于凯特·罗伯森

相反,当我发现一个城市被郁郁葱葱的绿色环境和葡萄园所环绕,并充满着文化时-超过150家精品店,20多家美术馆和工作室,各种餐厅和德国遗产-我毫不感到惊讶。

 

(Adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || [])推({});

德国历史

当德国人离开他们的祖国避免政治动荡时,弗雷德里克斯堡由Hans von Meusebach在1846成立,德克萨斯被视为无限机会之地。 一定要步行游览国家历史区,在那里你可以看到700历史上重要的建筑 桁架,传统的德国木框架式建筑,到美丽的白色德克萨斯石灰石内战建筑。

Vereins Kirche  -  Marktplatz中心的历史建筑 -  Kate Robertson

Vereins Kirche –位于Marktplatz中心的历史建筑–感谢Kate Robertson

在Marktplatz的中间,是八角形的Vereins Kirche(社会教堂),是1847建造的原始复制品,作为教堂,学校和社区中心,旁边是 麦鲍姆 (五月柱),用于传统的五一节庆祝活动。

在先锋博物馆了解更多有关历史的信息,在那里您可以找到100的文物和德国先驱时代的真实建筑,如独特的“星期日之家”。 因为许多弗雷德里克斯堡居民最初住在农场,所以他们建造这些一居室的房子,带着一个睡觉的阁楼,当他们周六早上去城里去舞蹈,然后在周日早上去教堂时,住宿的地方。

甚至德国后裔所说的方言德克萨斯德语也是如此,尽管我被告知这种语言已经与年轻一代接近灭绝,因此最近有一种保护它的运动。

Der Lindenbaum是弗雷德里克斯堡众多德国餐厅之一 - 信用凯特罗伯森

德林登堡(Der Lindenbaum),弗雷德里克斯堡(Fredericksburg)众多德国餐馆之一-凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

弗雷德里克斯堡的德国传统的另一个提醒是散落在城镇周围的众多德国餐馆,如主要街道上的Der Lindenbaum,他们供应传统的德国特色菜,如炸肉排,sauerbraten和bratwurst。 新开业的Alstadt啤酒厂,他们只酿造德国式啤酒,是对德国根源的另一个点头。

桃子,葡萄酒和矢车菊

如果你像我一样,你从来没有听说过德州桃子。 好吧,弗雷德里克斯堡是德克萨斯州的桃子之都,从5月到8月,路边的桃子在道路上排成一行。

Das Peach Haus-由Fischer&Wieser提供

Das Peach Haus –由Fischer&Wieser提供

想要一站式购物,请访问Fischer&Wieser的Das Peach Haus。 这家特色食品公司起源于91年前种植的桃园。 现在,他们与桃子一起出售数百种产品,例如果酱,意大利面酱和芥末酱。 近年来,他们还开设了品酒室,并开始了烹饪冒险之旅,您可以参加烹饪班,学习如何提升当地食材。

令人惊讶的是,德克萨斯山国家,他们在那里种植适合炎热和干旱的葡萄藤(如tempranillo),是继纳帕谷之后第二个最繁忙的葡萄酒旅游目的地。 弗雷德里克斯堡(Fredericksburg)是震中,您可以参观超过40的葡萄酒厂和品酒室。

德克萨斯山国家葡萄 - 信誉Blake Mistich

德克萨斯州希尔乡村葡萄–布莱克·米斯蒂克(Blake Mistich)

感谢前第一夫人和德克萨斯夫人伯德约翰逊,他热衷于保护和美化自然景观,弗雷德里克斯堡周围的地区充满了草药农场,薰衣草和野花田。 在野花季节(3月下旬至4月)期间,您将看到大量的蓝靛子(州花),印度画笔和罂粟花。 位于弗雷德里克斯堡郊外的Wildseed农场是美国最大的野生种子生产国,在这里您可以看到200英亩的五颜六色的鲜花田。

在Wildseed农场的野花领域 - 信用凯特罗伯逊

Wildseed Farms的野花田–感谢Kate Robertson

远足和骑自行车的乡村

骑自行车Grapetown Loop Road  - 信用卡Kate Robertson

骑行葡萄镇环路-归功于凯特·罗伯逊

凭借其起伏的丘陵和全景,希尔乡村被认为是德克萨斯州的自行车之都。 仅在吉莱斯皮县,就有805公里的安静,铺砌的乡间小路。

在弗雷德里克斯堡的希尔乡村自行车厂等商店租一辆自行车(如果您不想工作太辛苦,可以租用电动自行车),然后开车出城去卢肯巴赫,在那里您可以停放车辆。 在这里,沿着小河穿过格雷普敦环路,穿过古老的石灰石家园,到美丽的绿色田野环绕,那里充满了绵羊,母牛(我确实看到了德克萨斯州的长角牛)和马匹。

Luckenbach邮局 - 信用卡Kate Robertson

吕肯巴赫邮局–凯特·罗伯逊(Kate Robertson)

经过两个小时的骑行,你将准备好喝啤酒,回到Luckenbach Saloon,你很幸运(好吧,这是经典的德克萨斯州,但这是我最喜欢的一站)。 以非法乡村音乐和Waylon以及Willie的1976经典热门而闻名(是的,他们确实在这里演出),所有Luckenbach都是轿车,邮局和着名的1880舞厅,他们仍然定期举行音乐会和节日。

若想进行更多户外活动,请前往附近的魔岩州自然保护区,以远足广阔的粉红色花岗岩剥落圆顶。 在美国,最大的岩基之一是未被侵蚀的地下岩层,穹顶高出周围景观150米。 这条小径的一部分很陡峭,但不到一个小时就可以到达山顶,从山顶可以看到360度绿色的田野和森林,非常值得。 绝对是考虑定型观念的不正确之处。

在魔法岩(Enchanted Rock)徒步旅行 - 凯特罗伯逊(Kate Robertson)

在Enchanted Rock远足径–归功于Kate Robertson

 

 

Fredericksburg Texas旅游信息:

  • 大多数主要航空公司都飞往圣安东尼奥。 从那里租一辆车,然后乘坐1到1.5小时车到弗雷德里克斯堡
  • 弗雷德里克斯堡(Fredericksburg)有1,000多家短期出租和具有当地风味的B&B。 我在洛奇山镇小旅馆里有个带壁炉的房间(得克萨斯州夜晚可能会变冷),我喜欢德克萨斯州的牧场聚会和古董装潢,并且它距离主要街道只有一个街区,方便您探索历史悠久的市中心。 其他的好处是,他们有一个室外游泳池,而且每天早上都有一个可爱的小早餐篮在门口等待
  • 弗雷德里克斯堡有三个繁忙的季节:3月下旬至4月为野花季节,秋季是葡萄收获季节和慕尼黑啤酒节,圣诞节时街道上装饰着灯光和装饰
  • 有关活动的更多信息,请转到 visitfredericksburg.com

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Busting Texas Myths in Fredericksburg, Texas Hill Country

Texas Bluebonnets - credit Fredericksburg CVB

Texas Bluebonnets – credit Fredericksburg CVB

Like any Canadian who has travelled, I’ve been questioned about the myths that people from other countries believe to be quintessentially Canadian. Some common ones I’ve come across: all Canadians speak fluent English and French (I wish), everyone loves poutine (of course!), and north of the 49th we live at least part of the year in igloos (what can I say?).

It’s not unusual to have a stereotypical expectation of a destination. So when I decided to take a trip to Fredericksburg, a small city of 11,000 people, located in the Gillespie County of Texas Hill Country, I have to admit I was expecting a dry, desert landscape filled with tumbleweeds, longhorn cattle, steakhouses and cowboys/girls.

A big, beautiful Texas Longhorn - credit Kate Robertson

A big, beautiful Texas Longhorn – credit Kate Robertson

When I instead found a city surrounded by lush green surroundings and vineyards and brimming with culture–over 150 boutiques, more than 20 art galleries and studios, all kinds of restaurants, and German heritage–I couldn’t have been more surprised.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

German History

Fredericksburg was founded in 1846 by Hans von Meusebach when Germans were leaving their home country to avoid political upheaval, and Texas was seen as a land of limitless opportunity. Be sure to do a walking tour of the National Historical District, where you can see 700 historically significant structures, from fachwerk, traditional German timber-frame style buildings, to the beautiful white-ish Texas limestone civil war buildings.

Vereins Kirche - historical building in the centre of the Marktplatz - credit Kate Robertson

Vereins Kirche – a historical building in the centre of the Marktplatz – credit Kate Robertson

In the middle of the Marktplatz, is the octagonal Vereins Kirche (Society Church), a replica of the original built in 1847, which served as a church, school and community centre, next to the maibaum (maypole), used for traditional May Day celebrations.

Learn more about the history at the Pioneer Museum, where you will find 100s of artifacts and a collection of authentic structures from the German pioneer days, like the unique “Sunday house”. Because many Fredericksburg residents initially lived on farms, they built these one-room houses with a sleeping loft for a place to stay when they would make the trip to town on Saturdays to go to dances and then church on Sunday morning.

There’s even such a thing as Texas German, a dialect spoken by the German descendants, although I was told that the language is near extinction with the younger generations, hence a recent movement to preserve it.

Der Lindenbaum, one of the many German restaurants in Fredericksburg - credit Kate Robertson

Der Lindenbaum, one of the many German restaurants in Fredericksburg – credit Kate Robertson

Another reminder of Fredericksburg’s German heritage is the numerous German restaurants scattered about the town, like Der Lindenbaum on the main street, where they serve up traditional German specialities like schnitzel, sauerbraten and bratwurst. The newly opened Alstadt Brewery, where they brew only German-style beer, is another nod to the German roots.

Peaches, Wine and Bluebonnets

If you’re like me, you’ve never heard of a Texas Peach. Well, Fredericksburg is the peach capital of Texas, and roadside peach stands line the roads from May through August.

Das Peach Haus - Courtesy of Fischer & Wieser

Das Peach Haus – Courtesy of Fischer & Wieser

For some one-stop shopping, visit Fischer & Wieser’s Das Peach Haus. This speciality food company grew up out of the peach orchard that was planted out back 91 years ago. Now, along with peaches, they sell hundreds of products like jams, pasta sauces, and mustards. Over recent years, they have also opened a wine-tasting room and started a culinary adventure experience where you can join a cooking class to learn how to elevate local ingredients.

Amazingly, the Texas Hill Country, where they cultivate vines suited to heat and drought (like tempranillo), is the second busiest wine tourism destination after Napa Valley. Fredericksburg is the epicentre, and you can visit more than 40 wineries and tasting rooms.

Texas Hill Country grapes - credit Blake Mistich

Texas Hill Country grapes – credit Blake Mistich

Thanks to former First Lady and Texan Lady Bird Johnson, who was passionate about protection and beautification of the natural landscape, the area around Fredericksburg is filled with herb farms, lavender and wildflower fields. During wildflower season (late March-April), you will see masses of bluebonnets (the state flower), Indian paintbrush and poppies. Wildseed Farms, just outside of Fredericksburg, is the largest wild seed producer in the United States, and here you can see 200 acres of fields of colourful flowers.

Wildflower fields at Wildseed Farms - credit Kate Robertson

Wildflower fields at Wildseed Farms – credit Kate Robertson

Hiking and Biking the Countryside

Cycling Grapetown Loop Road - credit Kate Robertson

Cycling Grapetown Loop Road – credit Kate Robertson

With its rolling hills and panoramic views, Hill Country is considered to be the cycling capital of Texas.  In Gillespie County alone, there are 805 kilometres of quiet, paved country roads.

Rent a bicycle from a shop like Hill Country Bicycle Works in Fredericksburg (they have e-bikes if you don’t want to work too hard), then drive out of town to Luckenbach, where you can park your vehicle.  From here, cycle the Grapetown Loop Road over creeks, past old limestone homesteads and alongside lovely green fields filled with sheep, cows (and I did see a Texas longhorn) and horses.

Luckenbach Post Office - credit Kate Robertson

Luckenbach Post Office – credit Kate Robertson

After the two-hour ride, you’ll be ready for a beer, and back at Luckenbach Saloon, you’re in luck (okay, this is classic Texas, but it was one of my favourite stops). Made famous by outlaw country music and Waylon and Willie’s 1976 classic hit (and yes, they really did perform here), all there is to Luckenbach is the saloon, a post office, and the famous 1880s dance hall, where they still hold regular concerts and festivals.

For more outdoors, head over to nearby Enchanted Rock State Natural Area to hike the vast, pinkish granite exfoliation dome.  One of the largest batholiths, an underground rock formation uncovered by erosion, in the United States, the dome rises 150 metres above the surrounding landscape. Parts of the trail are steep, but it takes less than an hour to reach the summit, and the 360-view of the green fields and forests of the Hill Country from the top make it well worth it. Definitely a good spot to contemplate the inaccuracies of stereotyping.

Hiking the trail at Enchanted Rock - credit Kate Robertson

Hiking the trail at Enchanted Rock – credit Kate Robertson

 

 

Fredricksburg Texas Travel info:

  • Most major airlines fly into San Antonio. From there, rent a car and make the 1 to 1.5-hour drive to Fredericksburg
  • Fredericksburg has over 1,000 short-term rental and B&Bs with a local flavour. I had a room with a fireplace (Texas nights can get chilly) at Lodge Above Town Creek and loved its Texas ranch-meets-antique décor, as well as the fact it’s located only one block from the main street, making for easy exploration of the historical downtown.  Other perks are that they have an outdoor pool, and every morning a cute little breakfast basket is waiting at your door
  • Fredericksburg has three busy seasons: late March-April for wildflower season, fall which is grape harvest time and Oktoberfest, and Christmas when the streets are decked out with lights and decorations
  • For more info on activities, go to visitfredericksburg.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *