fbpx

纳什维尔的明星,酒吧和吉他 - 美国的音乐城

“滚进城里,离开公共汽车/摇晃'你来自'尘埃/抓住你的吉他,走在街上/ Sign,田纳西州纳什维尔。” - Jason Aldean

“我朋友的兄弟有一个录音室,我可以和她待在一起,而我正在寻找演出。”这是我在纳什维尔机场听到的第一次谈话。 四处询问,发现从服务器到优步驱动程序的每个人都是歌曲作者或音乐家并不罕见。 通过参观SoBro(百老汇南部)区及其他地区,了解吸引他们前往纳什维尔的原因。

百老汇的明亮灯光吸引人群直到凌晨 - 照片Debra Smith

百老汇的明亮灯光吸引人群直到凌晨 - 照片Debra Smith

“唱歌回家” - Merle Haggard

从最先进的350,000平方英尺开始 乡村音乐名人堂和博物馆。 档案视频追溯了爱尔兰和英国民间音乐和牛仔民谣的融合,创造了经典的美国乡村音乐。 有明星刺绣的舞台服装,由明星Nudie Cohn定制; 许多着名音乐家如Hank Williams,Ralph Stanley和Jimmie Rodgers使用的吉他,曼陀林和班卓琴; 还有像Elvis Presley着名的金色凯迪拉克和Smoky以及Bandit的1977 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am这样的明星车。 全新的价值100万美元的泰勒斯威夫特教育中心让孩子们去寻找在纳什维尔工作过的艺术家,包括加拿大人伦纳德科恩,戈登莱特富特和尼尔杨。 在录音棚里唱歌,找出今天乡村音乐的热门人物,然后参观名人堂圆形大厅。 数以百计的青铜牌匾荣获乡村音乐界最耀眼的明星。

乡村音乐名人堂充满星光熠熠的纪念品,如猫王的金色镶边凯迪拉克 - 照片Debra Smith

乡村音乐名人堂充满星光熠熠的纪念品,如猫王的金色镶边凯迪拉克 - 照片Debra Smith

“如果没有观众,那就没有表演” - 奇利瓦克

乡村音乐名人堂的大堂还有两个额外的旅行团。 歌舞杂耍,马戏团,政治家和音乐家的广告海报已经推出 舱口盖展示打印 从1879开始按下。 Hatch Show Print是美国历史最悠久的凸版印刷店之一,为海滩男孩和Tori Amos等数百名当代艺术家设计和印刷海报。 他们使用商店原创的“dingbats和wingnuts”(木制手工雕刻的字母)并手动操作印刷机,一次一种颜色。 当地音乐会的阵容在节目开始前几个小时就有机会购买他们有限的海报。 旅游从乡村音乐名人堂大厅开始,您可以制作自己的纪念海报,然后在商店购买经典重印。

Hatch Show Print展出了数百张海报,全部由手工制作 - 照片Debra Smith

Hatch Show Print展出了数百张海报,全部由手工制作 - 照片Debra Smith

“现在或从未” - 访问猫王的“最爱的工作室”

参观 历史悠久的RCA Studio B 将及时送回到Chet Atkins从乡村音乐中取出音乐的地方,并用弦乐和备用人声代替它以创造“纳什维尔声音”。 从Elvis到Dolly Parton,Jim Reeves,Waylon Jennings和Willie Nelson的表演者都在这个工作室录制。 有一个小的蓝色“x”胶带贴在猫王曾经站立的地板上,你可以在施坦威三角钢琴上自拍,在那里他演奏福音音乐。 该工作室一直保持原状。 仪器,混合板和泛黄的棋盘亚麻油地板仍然存在。 它也是纳什维尔唯一一家提供公众观光的录音室。

“打倒音乐排,如果你想成为一个明星,那就是你要去的地方” - Dolly Parton

“每天都有超过一百人搬到纳什维尔,他们中的大多数人都希望能够创造一项创纪录的成绩,”斯蒂芬妮·莱恩说道,他是一名创作歌手,也是纳什维尔音乐界12年的资深人士。 她也是Studio B之旅的导游。 “在巅峰时期,纳什维尔有超过一千个专业工作室,但采用新的录音技术,任何人都可以在家庭工作室录制,Music Row主要由大牌艺术家使用。”不要与笨蛋相提并论和音乐街的下百老汇和酒吧都是商务。 明星通过门控入口进入录音室,出版商和视频制作人的办公室。 铁杆粉丝可以带着步行游览该地区 我们去旅行吧 并通过访问跟进 GIG,贝尔蒙特大学标志性吉他画廊。 如果你很幸运,Vince Gill或者Ricky Skaggs可能会在其中一首罕见的吉他或banjos上播放一些曲调。

GIG是音乐学生的学习中心,里面装满了罕见的标志性吉他 - 照片Debra Smith

GIG是音乐学生的学习中心,里面装满了罕见的标志性吉他 - 照片Debra Smith

“对不起,请你把饼干递过来” - 吉米迪恩

南方烹饪可能是英语中最令人垂涎​​的两个词。 让 走,吃纳什维尔 在三个小时的午餐之旅中,您可以品尝从舒适食品的现代风味到SoBro五个最佳餐饮场所的经典糖果棒。 流行 农舍 并享受每个季节最好的当地美食。 一旦你品尝了一个chocolaty群集 Goo Goo商店,你会明白为什么他们在一个多世纪以来一直是田纳西州着名的款待。



自己吃饭? 在纳什维尔,过去一年有超过一百家新餐厅开业,除了传统的“肉三餐”外,还有很多可供选择的餐厅。 冒险出去 民间 在东南纳什维尔,Bon Appetit的美国2018最佳新餐厅之一,精美的共享盘子和手工比萨饼。 在The Gulch区,前往 小章鱼 享用纯素和海鲜菜肴以及新鲜的加州风格装饰。 在 尼基的煤炭被解雇了 意大利菜单几乎完全由内部制作,包括烤面包,奶油冰淇淋和果汁冰糕,家庭酒吧混合物,苦味糖浆和糖浆以及熟食。 他们的披萨是在一个四吨无烟的燃煤炉中煮熟的。 无论你做什么,都不要错过 Hattie B's 炸鸡的热量从没有热量“南方炸”到五火警“关闭Cluck!”。

Hattie B的热鸡用羽衣甘蓝和mac和奶酪两面是纳什维尔经典 - 照片Debra Smith

Hattie B的热鸡用羽衣甘蓝和mac和奶酪两面是纳什维尔经典 - 照片Debra Smith

“有一年他们收回了你的卡车,接下来你赚了几百万美元” - 杰森阿尔丁

名望和财富的诱惑让有抱负的纳什维尔艺术家充满希望。 抓住下一个冉冉升起的新星 听力室 和著名的 蓝鸟咖啡馆。 来到作家的圈子,听听路上的歌曲和生活故事。

来到听音室听听未发行的歌曲 - 照片Debra Smith

来到听音室听听未发行的歌曲 - 照片Debra Smith

当艺术家终于迎来了大时代,你可能会在44,000座位上找到他们,最先进的,最先进的 大奥普里。 在冬季,Opry从其郊区位置移动到历史悠久的2,362座位的旧住宅 莱曼剧院 在SoBro。 从安静的俱乐部到喧闹的大门,霓虹灯照明的下百老汇音乐厅,以及DJ们旋转嘻哈音乐的屋顶酒吧,纳什维尔拥有音乐爱好者想要的一切。

有抱负的乡村艺术家的目标是有一天站在大奥普里的舞台上 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

有抱负的乡村艺术家的目标是有一天站在大奥普里的舞台上 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

当我的飞机降落在卡尔加里时,一名年轻男子伸手从架空垃圾箱里抓起他的吉他盒。 它的金色闩锁依旧闪亮,皮革无懈可击。 这可能是他第一次去纳什维尔,但可能不会是他的最后一次。 希望它不会是我的。

纳什维尔的住宿地点

纳什维尔威斯汀酒店:这个27故事LEED认证的财产在2016开业,拥有一颗金色的心脏,它致力于国际慈善计划。 从大堂闪亮的银色带扣吊灯到拉斯维加斯风格套房的顶级魅力,这家酒店保持了当地艺术家及其音乐之家的真实。 地理位置十分完美 - 距离百老汇,乡村音乐名人堂和极好的重新设想的人们的明亮灯光只有两步之遥 第一艺术博物馆,前1930的装饰时代主要邮局。 不要错过俯瞰纳什维尔灯光的顶层无边泳池。

有关纳什维尔的更多信息,请访问 VisitMusicCity.com. 这位作家是纳什维尔CVC的嘉宾。 一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。 有关纳什维尔景点的更多照片,请在Instagram @ where.to.lady上关注她

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Stars, Bars and Guitars in Nashville – America’s Music City

“Roll into town, step off the bus / Shake off the ‘where you came from’ dust / Grab your guitar, walk down the street / Sign says Nashville, Tennessee.” – Jason Aldean

“My friend’s brother has a recording studio and I can stay with her while I’m looking for gigs.” This was the first conversation I heard at the Nashville airport. Ask around and it’s not unusual to find that everyone from your server to your Uber driver is either a songwriter or a musician. Find out what draws them to Nashville with a visit to the SoBro (South of Broadway) district and beyond.

The bright lights of Broadway draw crowds until the wee hours - photo Debra Smith

The bright lights of Broadway draw crowds until the wee hours – photo Debra Smith

“Sing Me Back Home” – Merle Haggard

Start at the state of the art 350,000 square foot Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. Archival videos trace the blending of Irish and English folk music and cowboy ballads that created the classic American country sound.  There are extravagantly embroidered stage costumes by tailor-to-the- stars Nudie Cohn; guitars, mandolins and banjos used by many famous musicians like Hank Williams, Ralph Stanley and Jimmie Rodgers; plus cars of the stars like Elvis Presley’s renowned gold Cadillac and Smoky and the Bandit’s 1977 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am. The new $4-million-dollar Taylor Swift Education Centre takes kids on a quest to discover artists who worked in Nashville including Canadians Leonard Cohen, Gordon Lightfoot and Neil Young. Sing along in a recording booth, find out who’s hot in country music today then visit the Hall of Fame rotunda. Hundreds of bronze plaques honour country music’s brightest stars.

The Country Music Hall of Fame is full of star-studded memorabilia like Elvis' gold trimmed Cadillac - photo Debra Smith

The Country Music Hall of Fame is full of star-studded memorabilia like Elvis’ gold trimmed Cadillac – photo Debra Smith

 “If there’s no audience, there just ain’t no show” – Chilliwack

Two additional tours leave from the lobby of the Country Music Hall of Fame. Advertising posters for vaudeville, circuses, politicians and musicians have been rolling out of Hatch Show Print presses since 1879. One of America’s oldest working letterpress print shops, Hatch Show Print designs and prints posters for hundreds of contemporary artists from the Beach Boys to Tori Amos. They use the shop’s original “dingbats and wingnuts” (wooden hand carved letters) and run the presses manually, one colour at a time. Lineups at local concerts start hours before a show for a chance to buy one of their limited run posters. Tours begin in the Country Music Hall of Fame lobby and you can make your own souvenir poster, then shop the store for classic reprints.

Hatch Show Print has hundreds of posters on display all made by hand - photo Debra Smith

Hatch Show Print has hundreds of posters on display all made by hand – photo Debra Smith

“It’s Now or Never” – Visit Elvis’ Favorite Studio

A tour of Historic RCA Studio B will whisk you back in time to the place where Chet Atkins took the twang out of country music and replaced it with strings and backup vocals to create the “Nashville sound”. Performers from Elvis to Dolly Parton, Jim Reeves, Waylon Jennings and Willie Nelson recorded in this studio. There’s a small, blue “x” taped to spot on the floor where Elvis used to stand, and you can have a selfie at the Steinway grand piano where he played gospel music. The studio has been kept in its original condition.  The instruments, mixing board and yellowed checkerboard linoleum floor are still in place. It’s also the only recording studio in Nashville that offers tours to the public.

“Down on Music Row, If You Want to be a Star, That’s Where You’ve Got to Go” – Dolly Parton

“Over a hundred people move to Nashville every day and most of them are hoping to work on a hit record,” says Stephanie Layne, a singer-songwriter and a 12- year veteran of the Nashville music scene. She’s also our tour guide for the Studio B tour. “At its peak, there were over a thousand professional studios in Nashville, but with the new recording technology anyone can record in a home studio and Music Row is mainly used by big-name artists.” Not to be confused with the honky-tonks and bars of Lower Broadway, Music Row is all business. Stars enter the offices of recording studios, publishers and video producers through gated entrances. Hardcore fans can take a walking tour through the area with Let’s Go Travelin’ and follow it up with a visit to The GIG, the Gallery of Iconic Guitars at Belmont University.  If you’re lucky, Vince Gill or Ricky Skaggs may drop in and play a few tunes on one of the rare guitars or banjos on display.

The GIG is a learning centre for music students that's full of rare and iconic guitars - photo Debra Smith

The GIG is a learning centre for music students that’s full of rare and iconic guitars – photo Debra Smith

“Excuse me, Would You Please Pass the Biscuits” – Jimmy Dean

Southern cooking might be the two most mouth-watering words in the English language. Let Walk, Eat Nashville whet your appetite on a three-hour lunch tour to sample everything from a modern twist on comfort food to classic candy bars at five of SoBro’s best dining spots. Pop into The Farm House and enjoy the best local bites of each season. Once you taste a chocolaty cluster from the Goo Goo Shop, you’ll see why they’ve been a famous Tennessee treat for over a century.



On your own for dinner? With over a hundred new restaurants opening up in the past year in Nashville, there’s a lot to choose from besides the traditional “meat and three” sides. Venture out to Folk in East Nashville, one of Bon Appetit’s America’s Best New Restaurants of 2018, for exquisite sharing plates and artisanal pizza. In The Gulch district, head to Little Octopus for a vegan and seafood-driven menu and fresh California style décor.  At Nicky’s Coal Fired the Italian menu is made almost entirely in-house with baked bread, creamy gelato and sorbetto, house bar mixes, bitters and syrups and charcuterie. Their pizza is cooked in a four-ton nearly smokeless coal-burning oven. Whatever you do, don’t miss Hattie B’s fried chicken with heat levels that go from no heat “Southern Fried” to five-alarm fire “Shut the Cluck Up!”.

Hattie B's hot chicken with collard greens and mac and cheese sides is a Nashville classic - photo Debra Smith

Hattie B’s hot chicken with collard greens and mac and cheese sides is a Nashville classic – photo Debra Smith

“One year they repossess your truck, and the next you make a couple million bucks” – Jason Aldean

The lure of fame and fortune keeps hope alive for aspiring Nashville artists.  Catch the next rising star at places like The Listening Room and the famous Bluebird Cafe. Drop in on a writers’ circle to hear songs and stories of life on the road.

Drop in to The Listening Room to hear unreleased songs in the making - photo Debra Smith

Drop in to The Listening Room to hear unreleased songs in the making – photo Debra Smith

When artists finally hit the big time, you might find them on the stage at the 44,000 seat, state-of-the-art Grand Ole Opry. During the winter months, the Opry moves from its suburban location to its former home in the historic 2,362 seat Ryman Theatre in SoBro. From quiet clubs to the raucous, doors open, neon-lit honky-tonks of Lower Broadway to rooftop bars where DJs spin hip-hop, Nashville has everything a music lover could want.

The goal of aspiring country artists is to one day stand on the stage of The Grand Ole Opry - photo Debra Smith

The goal of aspiring country artists is to one day stand on the stage of The Grand Ole Opry – photo Debra Smith

As my plane touched down in Calgary, a young man reached up and grabbed his guitar case from the overhead bin.  Its gold latches were still shining, and the leather was unscarred. It might have been his first trip to Nashville, but it probably wouldn’t be his last. Hopefully, it won’t be mine.

Where to Stay in Nashville

The Westin Nashville: This 27 story LEED certified property that opened in 2016 has a heart of gold that shines in its dedication to international charitable programs. From the shiny silver belt buckle chandelier in the lobby to the over the top glam of the Vegas-style suites, this hotel stays true to local artists and its musical home. The location is perfect – only a two-step from the bright lights of the honky-tonks on Broadway, the Country Music Hall of Fame and the stunningly reimagined Frist Art Museum, a former 1930’s deco era main post office.  Don’t miss the top floor infinity pool that overlooks the lights of Nashville.

 

For more information on Nashville, go to VisitMusicCity.com. The writer was a guest of the Nashville CVC. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photographs of Nashville attractions, follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *