Зимняя прогулка по пляжу Честермана. (Кредит: Жак Виндх)

Зимняя прогулка по пляжу Честермана. (Кредит: Жак Виндх)

История: Когда я приехал в Британскую Колумбию более 20 лет назад, мы посетили Тофино в октябре. В нашем лагере был дождливый осенний муссон, и мы укрылись в местном отеле типа «постель и завтрак», наслаждаясь дикой погодой и местными ресторанами, прежде чем все рестораны закрыли магазин на сезон. Да, Тофино спал в это время года.



К счастью для нас сегодня, Тофино больше не подходит для осеннего или зимнего сезона. Деревня охватила страшный сезон. Это время года - это праздник дикого, природного мира, который существует в конце дороги, которая является Тофино.

Если вас привлекает мысль о том, как наблюдать бушующий бушующий океан снаружи, прижимаясь в целости и сохранности к пылающему огню с чем-то теплым в руке, то ЭТО время, чтобы проложить свой путь по ветреному Тихоокеанскому шоссе, по пути к нему уникальный осенний опыт.

Серфинг волн с Виком в фоновом режиме (Кредит: Уэйн Барнс)

Серфинг волн с Виком в фоновом режиме (Кредит: Уэйн Барнс)

Где поесть, поспать и поиграть во время просмотра шторма в Тофино:

 

Дела, которые необходимо сделать

Прогулка по пляжам Честерман, Лонг, Кокс-Бей или Мидл-Бич сама по себе - это занятие, которое стоит упомянуть как обязательное. Соберите теплые водонепроницаемые вещи и ботинки, и погрузитесь в грохот серфинга, летящих над головой орлов и поднимающихся из океана туманов на прогулке. Детям понравится исследовать приливные бассейны во время отлива на пляже Честерман или найти искривленные коряги на Лонг-Бич. Обязательно держитесь на безопасном расстоянии от воды, не упускайте из виду своих детей и никогда не отворачивайтесь от океана. Осенние и зимние моря могут быть интенсивными.

Если вы ищете тропу в глуши, попробуйте Радарные пляжи поход. Поход начинается на стоянке Радар-Хилл и спускается по довольно крутому пути к пляжу. Тропа находится на сложной стороне, поэтому будьте готовы и знайте пределы своей семьи. С другой стороны, 2-километровая тропа Тонкин приятно вьется через Национальный парк Тихоокеанского региона и открывается к океану на пляже Маккензи. Следите за своим положением на скользких досках тропы дощатый, когда влажно, что чаще, чем не в это время года.


Культура прибоя в Тофино сильна, и да, вы и ваши дети могут поразить волны в осенние месяцы. Даже если вы никогда не пробовали заниматься серфингом, это стало большой частью опыта Tofino. В этом районе много прекрасных школ для серфинга, и лучше всего начать с занятий серфингом. Тихоокеанская школа серфинга и Сёрфир Сестра являются наиболее развитыми школами, и оба предлагают фантастические уроки и экскурсии по серфингу. Другим вариантом является Bruhwiler Surf School управляется местным профессионалом, Ральфом Брювилером. Вы можете забронировать семейные групповые уроки или частные уроки для людей из любой из этих школ серфинга.

Тофино с воздуха: дикий, прочный и красивый (кредит: туризм Tofino)

Тофино с воздуха: дикий, прочный и красивый (кредит: туризм Tofino)

Где остановиться

В Тофино есть много вариантов проживания для семейного отдыха. Middle Beach Lodge расположен на выступе между пляжем Маккензи и ужасно изолированным Мидл-Бич. Доступ к двум разным пляжам дает фантастические возможности для пляжного прочесывания. Один из его домиков подходит для семейного отдыха, а другой предназначен только для взрослых.

Один из оригинальных семейных курортов в Тофино, Pacific Sands Beach Resort имеет большой выбор номеров, с вариантами для автономных апартаментов и хорошим диапазоном ценовых вариантов. Pacific Sands находится на пляже Кокс-Бей, который является прекрасным полумесяцем песка, который заканчивается на Национальный заповедник Тихоокеанского региона, В Кокс Бэй есть два других курорта, подходящих для семейного отдыха: Cox Bay Beach Resort, который обеспечивает впечатляющие люксы; и географически сложные Long Beach Lodge Resort, который фактически расположен на пляже Кокс-Бей.

Если ваш бюджет позволяет проживать в Wickaninnish Inn (он же The Wick), вы не пожалеете об этом. Этот отель Relais & Chateaux в конце дороги предлагает безупречный сервис, роскошные номера и великолепные удобства. Место наверху Пляж Честерман нельзя бить.

Что поесть

Волк в тумане, Прекрасный ужин с превосходной кухней. Акцент на местных морепродуктах, вдохновленный и под влиянием его окружения.

Уединенный гриль, Фантастическая рыба и чипсы с самыми свежими морепродуктами, прямо из океана.

SoBo для Сложного богемского обеда. Здоровые супы, обертывания и удобные для детей меню. Расположен на углу улиц 1st и Neill, напротив магазина алкогольных напитков BC.

Приют - один из самых популярных ресторанов Тофино. Акцент на местной и экологически чистой кухне с большим выбором меню для детей.

Ресторан Pointe, Расположенная в Wick Inn, это элегантная столовая, подходящая для романтики и особых случаев. Завершая трапезу с общей плиткой темного шоколада или темного шоколада, наблюдая за тем, как волны разбиваются под вами, вы не скоро забудете об этом.

Storm Watching in Tofino

October 16 2016

A winter walk on Chesterman Beach. (Credit: Jacqui Windh)

A winter walk on Chesterman Beach. (Credit: Jacqui Windh)

A story: When I arrived in British Columbia over 20 years ago, we visited Tofino in October. Our campsite was rained out by a fall monsoon, and we took shelter in a local bed and breakfast, enjoying the wild weather and the local dining scene before all the restaurants closed up shop for the season. Yes, Tofino used to go into hibernation at this time of year.

Luckily for us today, Tofino doesn’t close for the fall or winter season anymore. The village has embraced its storm season with a passion. This time of year is a celebration of the wild, natural world that exists at the end of the road that is Tofino.

If the thought of watching the stormy ocean rage outside, while snuggling safe and sound by a blazing fire with something warm in hand is appealing to you, THIS is the season to make your way along the windy Pacific Rim Highway, on route to a one-of-a-kind autumnal experience.

Surfing the waves with The Wick in the background (Credit: Wayne Barnes)

Surfing the waves with The Wick in the background (Credit: Wayne Barnes)

Where to eat, sleep & play when you’re storm watching in Tofino:

 

Things to Do

Walking along Chesterman, Long, Cox Bay or Middle Beaches is an activity in itself that merits mention as a must-do. Bundle up in warm, water-proof gear and boots, and take in the pounding surf, eagles flying overhead, and mist rising from the ocean on your stroll. Kids will love exploring the tide pools at low tide at Chesterman Beach, or finding twisted driftwood on Long Beach. Be sure to maintain a safe distance from the water, don’t lose sight of your children, and never turn your back on the ocean. Fall and winter seas can be intense.

If you’re looking for an off-the-beaten path trail, try the Radar Beaches hike. The hike begins at the Radar Hill parking lot, and descends down a fairly steep path tot he beach. The trail is on the difficult side, so be prepared and know your family’s limits. On the easier side, the 2 kilometer Tonquin Trail winds pleasantly through the Pacific Rim National Park, and opens up to the ocean at MacKenzie Beach. Watch your footing on the slippery planks of the trail boardwalk when wet, which is more often than not at this time of year.

The surf culture in Tofino is strong, and yes, you and your kids can hit the waves in the fall months. Even if you haven’t ever tried surfing, it’s become a big part of the Tofino experience. There are many terrific surf schools in the area, and the best place to start is with some surf lessons. Pacific Surf School and Surf Sister are the most established schools, and both offer fantastic lessons and surf outings. Another option is the Bruhwiler Surf School run by local pro Ralph Bruhwiler. You can book family group lessons or private lessons for individuals from any of these surf schools.

Tofino from the air: wild, rugged and beautiful (Credit: Tourism Tofino)

Tofino from the air: wild, rugged and beautiful (Credit: Tourism Tofino)

Where to Stay

There are many family-friendly accommodation options to choose from in Tofino. Middle Beach Lodge is located on an outcropping between MacKenzie Beach and the terrifically isolated Middle Beach. Access to two different beaches makes for some fantastic beach-combing opportunities. One of its lodges is family-friendly, while the other is adult-only.

One of the original family resorts in Tofino, the Pacific Sands Beach Resort has a great choice of rooms, with options for autonomous suites, and a good range of price options. Pacific Sands is on Cox Bay Beach, which is a beautiful crescent of sand that ends at Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. There are two other resorts on Cox Bay that are both family friendly: Cox Bay Beach Resort, which provides amazing suites; and the geographically-challenged Long Beach Lodge Resort, which is actually located on Cox Bay Beach.

If your budget allows for a stay at the Wickaninnish Inn (aka The Wick), you won’t regret it. This Relais & Chateaux property at the end of the road has impeccable service, luxurious rooms, and fabulous amenities. The location perched above Chesterman Beach cannot be beat.

What to Eat

Wolf in the Fog. A fine dining experience with award-winning cuisine. An emphasis on local seafood, inspired and influenced by its surroundings.

Wildside Grill. Amazing fish and chips with the freshest seafood, straight from the ocean.

SoBo for a Sophisticated Bohemian lunch. Healthy soups, wraps and kid-friendly menus. Located at the corner of 1st and Neill Streets, across from the BC Liquor Store.

Shelter is one of Tofino’s most popular restaurants. An emphasis on local and sustainable cuisine, with lots of kid-friendly menu choices.

The Pointe Restaurant. Located at the Wick Inn, it’s a fine dining room, fit for romance and special occasions. Finishing a meal with a shared s’more or dark chocolate bar while watching the waves crash below you isn’t an experience you’ll soon forget.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates