冬天在切斯特曼海滩散步。 (来源:Jacqui Windh)

冬天在切斯特曼海滩散步。 (来源:Jacqui Windh)

一个故事:几年前我在20抵达不列颠哥伦比亚省时,我们在十月份访问了多芬诺。 我们的露营地被一场秋季季雨降下来,我们在当地的一家住宿加早餐旅馆避难,享受狂野的天气和当地的餐饮场景,然后所有的餐厅都关闭了本季的商店。 是的,多芬诺曾经在一年的这个时候冬眠。



今天幸运的是, 托菲诺 在秋季或冬季不再关闭。 这个村庄充满激情地迎接了它的风暴季节。 这一年的这个时间是对Tofino道路尽头存在的野生自然世界的庆祝。

如果想在外面观看暴风雨的海洋狂风,而在烈火中手持温暖的东西依safe在安全无声的想法吸引了您,那么本赛季是您沿着多风的环太平洋公路驶向一个人的季节同类秋季体验。

与威克在背景中冲浪(信用:韦恩巴恩斯)

与威克在背景中冲浪(信用:韦恩巴恩斯)

在Tofino观看暴风雨时在哪里吃饭,睡觉和玩耍:

 

要做的事

沿着切斯特曼(Chesterman),朗(Long),考克斯湾(Cox Bay)或中海滩(Middle Beaches)散步本身就是一项值得一提的活动。 穿上温暖,防水的装备和靴子,接受冲击的冲浪,飞过头顶的鹰,以及散步时从海洋上升起的雾气。 孩子们一定会喜欢在切斯特曼海滩(Chesterman Beach)退潮时探索潮汐池,或者在长滩(Long Beach)找到扭曲的浮木。 一定要保持与水的安全距离,不要忘记你的孩子,不要背对着海洋。 秋天和冬天的海洋可能很激烈。

如果你正在寻找一条不受欢迎的小道,试试吧 雷达海滩 远足。 徒步旅行从Radar Hill停车场开始,然后在海滩上下降一条相当陡峭的路径。 这条路很艰难,所以要做好准备,了解你家人的极限。 更方便的是,2公里的Tonquin Trail蜿蜒穿过环太平洋国家公园,在MacKenzie海滩向海洋开放。 在潮湿的时候,您可以在滑木板的滑板上观察您的立足点,而这在一年中的这个时候通常是这样。


托菲诺的冲浪文化是强大的,是的,你和你的孩子可以在秋季几个月内掀起波澜。 即使你从未尝试过冲浪,它也成为托菲诺体验的重要组成部分。 该地区有许多了不起的冲浪学校,最好的地方是一些冲浪课程。 太平洋冲浪学校 和 冲浪姐姐 是最成熟的学校,都提供美妙的课程和冲浪郊游。 另一种选择是 Bruhwiler冲浪学校 由当地职业选手Ralph Bruhwiler负责。 您可以为任何冲浪学校的个人预订家庭小组课程或私人课程。

来自空中的托菲诺:狂野,坚固和美丽(信用:旅游托菲诺)

来自空中的托菲诺:狂野,坚固和美丽(信用:旅游托菲诺)

住哪里

托菲诺有许多适合家庭入住的住宿选择。 中间海滩小屋 位于MacKenzie海滩和极度孤立的中间海滩之间的露头处。 可以使用两个不同的海滩,这有一些神奇的海滩梳理机会。 它的其中一间小屋适合家庭入住,而另一间仅适合成人入住。

Tofino最原始的家庭度假村之一 太平洋金沙海滩度假村 酒店提供多种客房选择,可选择自主套房,并提供多种价格选择。 太平洋金沙(Pacific Sands)位于考克斯湾海滩(Cox Bay Beach),这是一个美丽的新月形沙滩 太平洋沿岸国家公园保护区。 考克斯湾还有另外两个适合家庭居住的度假村: 考克斯湾海滩度假村,提供令人印象深刻的套房 和地理上的挑战 长滩旅馆度假村,它实际上位于考克斯湾海滩。

如果您的预算允许在 Wickaninnish Inn (又名The Wick),您不会后悔。 这家位于道路尽头的Relais&Chateaux酒店提供无可挑剔的服务,豪华的客房和一流的设施。 该位置位于上方 切斯特曼海滩 无法击败。

吃什么

狼在雾中。 享受美食的美食体验。 强调当地海鲜,受其周边环境的启发和影响。

Wildside烧烤。 神奇的鱼和薯条搭配最新鲜的海鲜,直接来自海洋。

祖母 享用精致的波希米亚午餐。 健康的汤,包裹和儿童友好的菜单。 位于1st和Neill Streets的拐角处,对面就是BC Liquor Store。

庇护 是托菲诺最受欢迎的餐厅之一。 注重本地和可持续性美食,并提供许多儿童友好的菜单选择。

Pointe餐厅。 酒店位于Wick Inn酒店,是一间优雅的用餐室,适合浪漫和特殊场合。 在看着海浪在你身下坠落的同时,与共享的s'more或黑巧克力棒完成一顿饭,这不是你很快就会忘记的经历。

Storm Watching in Tofino

October 16 2016

A winter walk on Chesterman Beach. (Credit: Jacqui Windh)

A winter walk on Chesterman Beach. (Credit: Jacqui Windh)

A story: When I arrived in British Columbia over 20 years ago, we visited Tofino in October. Our campsite was rained out by a fall monsoon, and we took shelter in a local bed and breakfast, enjoying the wild weather and the local dining scene before all the restaurants closed up shop for the season. Yes, Tofino used to go into hibernation at this time of year.

Luckily for us today, Tofino doesn’t close for the fall or winter season anymore. The village has embraced its storm season with a passion. This time of year is a celebration of the wild, natural world that exists at the end of the road that is Tofino.

If the thought of watching the stormy ocean rage outside, while snuggling safe and sound by a blazing fire with something warm in hand is appealing to you, THIS is the season to make your way along the windy Pacific Rim Highway, on route to a one-of-a-kind autumnal experience.

Surfing the waves with The Wick in the background (Credit: Wayne Barnes)

Surfing the waves with The Wick in the background (Credit: Wayne Barnes)

Where to eat, sleep & play when you’re storm watching in Tofino:

 

Things to Do

Walking along Chesterman, Long, Cox Bay or Middle Beaches is an activity in itself that merits mention as a must-do. Bundle up in warm, water-proof gear and boots, and take in the pounding surf, eagles flying overhead, and mist rising from the ocean on your stroll. Kids will love exploring the tide pools at low tide at Chesterman Beach, or finding twisted driftwood on Long Beach. Be sure to maintain a safe distance from the water, don’t lose sight of your children, and never turn your back on the ocean. Fall and winter seas can be intense.

If you’re looking for an off-the-beaten path trail, try the Radar Beaches hike. The hike begins at the Radar Hill parking lot, and descends down a fairly steep path tot he beach. The trail is on the difficult side, so be prepared and know your family’s limits. On the easier side, the 2 kilometer Tonquin Trail winds pleasantly through the Pacific Rim National Park, and opens up to the ocean at MacKenzie Beach. Watch your footing on the slippery planks of the trail boardwalk when wet, which is more often than not at this time of year.

The surf culture in Tofino is strong, and yes, you and your kids can hit the waves in the fall months. Even if you haven’t ever tried surfing, it’s become a big part of the Tofino experience. There are many terrific surf schools in the area, and the best place to start is with some surf lessons. Pacific Surf School and Surf Sister are the most established schools, and both offer fantastic lessons and surf outings. Another option is the Bruhwiler Surf School run by local pro Ralph Bruhwiler. You can book family group lessons or private lessons for individuals from any of these surf schools.

Tofino from the air: wild, rugged and beautiful (Credit: Tourism Tofino)

Tofino from the air: wild, rugged and beautiful (Credit: Tourism Tofino)

Where to Stay

There are many family-friendly accommodation options to choose from in Tofino. Middle Beach Lodge is located on an outcropping between MacKenzie Beach and the terrifically isolated Middle Beach. Access to two different beaches makes for some fantastic beach-combing opportunities. One of its lodges is family-friendly, while the other is adult-only.

One of the original family resorts in Tofino, the Pacific Sands Beach Resort has a great choice of rooms, with options for autonomous suites, and a good range of price options. Pacific Sands is on Cox Bay Beach, which is a beautiful crescent of sand that ends at Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. There are two other resorts on Cox Bay that are both family friendly: Cox Bay Beach Resort, which provides amazing suites; and the geographically-challenged Long Beach Lodge Resort, which is actually located on Cox Bay Beach.

If your budget allows for a stay at the Wickaninnish Inn (aka The Wick), you won’t regret it. This Relais & Chateaux property at the end of the road has impeccable service, luxurious rooms, and fabulous amenities. The location perched above Chesterman Beach cannot be beat.

What to Eat

Wolf in the Fog. A fine dining experience with award-winning cuisine. An emphasis on local seafood, inspired and influenced by its surroundings.

Wildside Grill. Amazing fish and chips with the freshest seafood, straight from the ocean.

SoBo for a Sophisticated Bohemian lunch. Healthy soups, wraps and kid-friendly menus. Located at the corner of 1st and Neill Streets, across from the BC Liquor Store.

Shelter is one of Tofino’s most popular restaurants. An emphasis on local and sustainable cuisine, with lots of kid-friendly menu choices.

The Pointe Restaurant. Located at the Wick Inn, it’s a fine dining room, fit for romance and special occasions. Finishing a meal with a shared s’more or dark chocolate bar while watching the waves crash below you isn’t an experience you’ll soon forget.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates