Les joies de l'Angleterre Cornish Riviera Express - luxe de la famille sur un Britrail Pass

Luxe Cornish Riviera Express de l'Angleterre en famille sur un Britrail Pass

Photographe: Helen Earley


Ma fille a le nez serré contre le verre et regarde par la fenêtre, rêveuse, des champs verdoyants et lisses, des chevaux et des vaches, ainsi que quelques touffes d'arbres: un paysage doux et vallonné que seule l'Angleterre peut offrir. Soudain, la pression change et, avec un énorme WHOOSH, tout ce qui se passe à l'extérieur devient noir. Elle se retourne, les yeux écarquillés, et je la rassure: «on ne fait que traverser un tunnel». ZOOM! La vue extérieure réapparaît et ma fille retourne le nez dans le verre, les yeux étincelants.

Mon mari et moi avons amené nos enfants, âgés de 7 et 2, dans le voyage en train 5-heure de Londres Paddington à Cornouailles, sur le Cornish Riviera Express, un service ferroviaire qui emmène les vacanciers britanniques sur la côte depuis 1904.

Cornish Riviera Express First Class Famille voyage en train photo Helen Earley

GWR First Class / Photo: Helen Earley

Le terme "Riviera anglaiseA été adopté par le comté de Devon, dans le sud-ouest de l’Angleterre, à l’époque victorienne, en raison de l’aspect très français de certaines de ses villes, notamment Torbay et Torquay: eaux claires, sable blanc, promenades fantaisies et palmiers. Plus tard, Cornwall a adopté le terme «Riviera de Cornouailles» pour décrire le tronçon de sa propre côte sud, courtisant les vacanciers potentiels avec les désormais célèbres affiches ferroviaires, comme celle ci-dessous, qui compare les «beautés naturelles» de l'Italie et de la Cornouailles. .

Nous voyageons facilement, en utilisant un BritRail Flexipass. Non disponible au Royaume-Uni, les passes Britrail peuvent être achetés en ligne auprès de ACP Rail Global, aussi longtemps que vous résidez au Canada. Lorsque nous décrivons les termes du flexipass (jours 4 de voyages illimités dans un mois; les jeunes enfants voyagent gratuitement) à nos amis et parents britanniques, leur mâchoire tombe, puisqu'un voyage en train régulier en Grande-Bretagne est si coûteux et souvent restrictif.


Les sections locales donneraient n'importe quoi pour pouvoir monter et descendre à leur guise, comme nous le faisons pendant ces vacances. Nous prenons nos parents en train de prendre note de notre adresse et de mettre en pratique leurs accents canadiens pour voir s’ils pourraient tromper un inspecteur de billets.

Voyage en famille sur la Riviera Cornish Express par Helen Earley

Un personnel amical! / Photo: Helen Earley

Pendant cette fête, en raison de l’âge des enfants (et du niveau de stress correspondant que nous ressentons en tant que parents), nous avons décidé de voyager en première classe. Les avantages? Plus grands sièges, plus de salle de bagage, des casse-croûte substantiels, et le meilleur de tous: accès au salon de GWR à Paddington station.

FGW Lounge Famille Paddington Voyagez sur le Cornish Riviera Express par Helen Earley

Salon GWR First Class à Paddington Station / Photo: Helen Earley

Le salon est en effet formidable: journaux gratuits, magazines, stations de recharge, jus de fruits, café, pâtisseries, boissons sans alcool, fruits frais, délicieux gâteau éponge et, surtout, toilettes gratuites ) Nous avons utilisé le salon GWR First Class plusieurs fois pendant nos vacances en Angleterre; c'était parfait pour contenir les enfants pendant ces moments «quoi ensuite?» de nos vacances en famille.

Cornish Riviera Express Voyage en famille en train

Passer le temps que le monde passe / Photo: Helen Earley

Alors que notre voyage vers Cornwall se poursuit, nous nous détendons et reprenons des routines familiales familières. Comme nous voyageons en milieu de semaine en milieu de semaine, cette voiture est presque vide et notre famille est actuellement répartie sur six sièges - huit si nous incluons nos bagages à main. Les enfants sont bien nourris, nous avons joué à des jeux et raconté quelques histoires. Mon mari est suffisamment détendu pour mettre ses écouteurs et je reste donc avec la fillette de deux ans qui, après avoir été contrainte, finit par s'endormir, allongée sur deux sièges, laissant ma fille et moi-même profiter du paysage à nouveau.

Voyage en famille sur la Riviera Cornish Express par Helen Earley

À marée basse, l'Exe est une vaste vasière brillante, retenant captif les petits bateaux, révélant le squelette occasionnel d'un naufrage. / Photos: Helen Earley

La Riviera elle-même commence juste après la ville de la cathédrale de Exeter. Ici, le paysage change radicalement: ciel dégagé, bateaux de pêche et eaux scintillantes de la rivière Exe. À marée basse, l'Exe est une vaste vasière brillante, tenant les petits bateaux en captivité, révélant le squelette occasionnel d'un naufrage.

Une connexion spéciale et fugace - Voyage en train Cornish Riviera Express Family par Helen Earley

Une connexion spéciale, fugace / Photo: Helen Earley

Entre Exmouth et Dawlish, la voie ferrée passe si près du mur de la mer, vous avez l'impression d'être sur un bateau à grande vitesse, en passant devant les brise-lames comme les oiseaux de mer, et les randonneurs tombent dans le lointain. Nous agitons et un enfant fait un signe de la main. Une connexion spéciale et fugace.

Riviera des Cornouailles

L'estuaire à marée basse / Photo: Helen Earley

Les jours d’orage hivernal, les eaux bleu foncé de la Manche s’effondrent de façon spectaculaire au-dessus de la voie, projetant du sel sur les fenêtres du train. Un an, alors que j’habitais en Angleterre, je me souviens que l’eau était si haute et qu’elle causait tant de dégâts, ils ont dû fermer la piste pendant des semaines.

Cornish Riviera Express Voyage en famille - Traversée du pont Tamar à Cornwall en train / Photo: Helen Earley

Traverser le pont de Tamar / Photo: Helen Earley

Et puis, aussi dramatiquement que cela a commencé, le paysage maritime se termine à Plymouth. Après un changement d'équipage (le buffet et le service de trolley sont temporairement fermés), le Cornish Riviera Express traverse le pont de Tamar, marquant la frontière entre les deux comtés de Devon et de Cornouailles.

À une station appelée Par, nous allons nous connecter à Atlantic Coast Line, un petit service local, l’une des rares lignes d’embranchement restantes de l’époque des vacances ferroviaires britanniques à Cornwall. Ensuite, nous rendrons visite à la famille et ferons du surf à Newquay, peut-être prendre une excursion d'une journée à Falmouth or St. Ives.

Lumière cornouaillaise

Cornish Light / Photo: Helen Earley

Nous aimons Cornwall. Des collines luxuriantes, des tertres funéraires, des pierres et des croix le rendent indéniablement celtique et totalement unique. La Cornouailles abrite le thé à la crème, le pâteux des Cornouailles et certaines des plus belles plages du monde.

Mais qu'est-ce que nous aimons le plus dans la côte de Cornouailles? Y aller, en train.

Helen Earley est une écrivaine de voyage basée à Halifax.
Merci à ACP Rail Global pour obtenir de l'aide avec le flexipass Britrail.

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

The Joys of England’s Cornish Riviera Express – Family Luxury on a Britrail Pass


My daughter has her nose pressed to the glass and is gazing dreamily out the window at smooth green fields, horses and cows and the occasional clump of trees: gentle, rolling countryside that only England can offer. Suddenly there is a change in pressure, and with a tremendous WHOOSH, everything outside goes black. She turns round, eyes wide, and I reassure her: “we’re only going through a tunnel”.  ZOOM! The outside view reappears and my daughter returns her nose to the glass, eyes sparkling.

My husband and I have brought our children, aged 7 and 2, on the 5-hour train journey from London Paddington to Cornwall, on The Cornish Riviera Express, a rail service that has been taking British holidaymakers to the coast since 1904.

Cornish Riviera Express First Class Family train journey photo by Helen Earley

GWR First Class/ Photo: Helen Earley

The term “English Riviera” was adopted by the county of Devon, in South West England, in Victorian times because of the very French look of some of its towns, notably Torbay and Torquay: clear azure waters, white sand, fancy promenades and palm trees. Later, Cornwall adopted the term “Cornish Riviera” to describe the stretch along its own South Coast, wooing would-be holiday makers with the now famous railway posters, such as the one below, which compares the “natural beauties” of Italy and Cornwall.

We are traveling the easy way, using a BritRail Flexipass. Not available in the UK, Britrail passes can be purchased online from ACP Rail International, so long as you reside in Canada. When we describe the terms of the flexipass (4 days of unlimited travel within a month; young kids travel free) to our British friends and relatives, their jaws drop, since regular train travel in Britain is so expensive, and often restrictive.


Locals would give anything to be able to hop on and off trains as they please, the way we are doing on this vacation. We catch our relatives taking note of our address and practicing their Canadian accents to see if they could fool a ticket inspector.

Family Travel on the Cornish Riviera Express by Helen Earley

Such friendly staff!/Photo: Helen Earley

On this holiday, because of the age of the kids (and the corresponding levels of stress that we feel as parents) we splashed out to travel First Class. The benefits? Bigger seats, more luggage room, substantial snacks, and best of all: access to the GWR lounge at Paddington Station.

FGW Lounge Paddington Family Travel on the Cornish Riviera Express by Helen Earley

GWR First Class Lounge at Paddington Station/Photo: Helen Earley

The lounge is indeed great: free newspapers, magazines, charging stations, juice, coffee, pastries, soft drinks, fresh fruit,  delicious sponge cake, and most importantly, free toilets (In the station, it  costs 30p to “spend a penny”). We used the GWR First Class Lounge several times during our British holiday; it was perfect for keeping the kids contained during those “what next?” moments of our family vacation.

Cornish Riviera Express Family train journey

Passing the time as the world passes by/Photo: Helen Earley

As our journey toward Cornwall continues, we relax and settle into familiar family routines. Since we are traveling mid-week in the middle of the day, this particular carriage is nearly empty, and our family is actually spread across six seats – eight if you include our hand luggage. The kids are well-fed, we’ve played games, and had a couple of stories. Hubby is sufficiently relaxed to put on his headphones and so I am left with the two year-old, who after some coercing, eventually falls asleep, stretched across two seats, leaving my daughter and I to enjoy the scenery again.

Family Travel on the Cornish Riviera Express by Helen Earley

At low tide, the Exe is a wide, shiny mudflat, holding the little boats captive, revealing the occasional skeleton of a shipwreck/Photos: Helen Earley

The Riviera itself begins just after the Cathedral city of Exeter. Here, the scenery changes dramatically to clear skies, fishing boats, and the sparkling waters of the River Exe. At low tide, the Exe is a wide, shiny mudflat, holding the little boats captive, revealing the occasional skeleton of a shipwreck.

A special, fleeting connection - Cornish Riviera Express Family train journey by Helen Earley

A special, fleeting connection/Photo: Helen Earley

Between Exmouth and Dawlish, the train track runs so close to the sea wall, you feel like you’re actually on a high-speed boat, zooming past the breakwaters as seabirds, and ramblers (hikers) fall into the distance. We wave, and a child waves back. A special, fleeting connection.

Cornish Riviera

The Estuary at low tide/Photo: Helen Earley

On stormy winter days, the dark blue waters of The English Channel crash dramatically up over the track, splashing salt onto the train windows.  One year, when I lived in England, I remember the water coming so high, and causing so much damage, they had to close the track for weeks.

Cornish Riviera Express Family train journey - Crossing the Tamar Bridge to Cornwall by train/ Photo: Helen Earley

Crossing the Tamar Bridge/Photo: Helen Earley

And then, as dramatically as it began, the maritime scenery ends at Plymouth. After a change of crew (the buffet and trolley service closes temporarily at this time), The Cornish Riviera Express crosses the Tamar bridge, marking the border between the two counties of Devon and Cornwall.

At a station called Par, we will connect with Atlantic Coast Line, a small local service -one of the few branch lines left over from the heyday of British rail holidays to Cornwall.  Then we will visit family, and do some surfing in Newquay, perhaps taking a day trip to Falmouth or St. Ives.

Cornish Light

Cornish Light/Photo: Helen Earley

We love Cornwall. Lush rolling hills, burial mounds, stones and crosses makes it undeniably Celtic and totally unique. Cornwall is home to the cream tea, the Cornish pasty, and some of the most stunning beaches in the world.

But the thing we love best about the Cornish coast? Getting there, by train.

 

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based travel writer.
Thank you to ACP Rail International for assistance with the Britrail flexipass. 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates