冬季活动

在加拿大的天然湖泊和池塘上享受安全的家庭滑冰技巧

我很早就记得父母将BOB溜冰鞋绑在笨重的冬靴上,让我与兄弟姐妹在艾伯塔省南部的一个天然湖泊中闲逛。 今天,我仍然在敞开的空间中感到惊奇和自由的感觉。 现在带孩子
继续阅读 ”

FFC-Snow-angel -Photo Jennifer Morton
下雪时间:雪地第一次的冬日指南!

第一次在雪地里观看和玩耍是一次激动人心的有趣体验。 滑雪,单板滑雪,滑冰,油管,堆雪人和打雪仗是充分利用您的积雪假期的最爱且有趣的方式。 在这篇文章中,我们分享一些技巧和最佳
继续阅读 ”

HI Kananaskis Hostel的户外火灾 -  Photo Credit Tanya Koob
计划一个家庭过夜Kananaskis冬季逍遥游

在过去的几年里,我的家人每年都在圣诞节前的Kananaskis冬季度假胜地度过假期,我们总是喜欢与朋友一起度过几天,在雪地里玩耍,滑雪,远足和休假假期。 在本赛季晚些时候,我们也喜欢
继续阅读 ”

加拿大北部 - 卡梅隆瀑布的Inukshuk  - 图片:JS Dinham
加拿大北部:等待您的冒险,准备探索!

我记得那天像昨天。 即使是按耶洛奈夫标准,也很冷,这种冷感会使您无法呼吸,但我很快了解到,当您在-40°C外出时,会通过鼻子浅呼吸。 只有新手才能深呼吸
继续阅读 ”

如何有非滑雪度假
如何在不列颠哥伦比亚省弗尼市举办非滑雪,滑雪假期(请继续阅读,我将解释!)

如果我今年冬天告诉我,我的家人决定去家庭滑雪旅行,没有滑雪怎么办? 你会看着我,就像我迷失了巴拉克拉瓦吗? 更好的是,如果我告诉您,除了滑雪之外,我们无所不能。 没有反对滑雪
继续阅读 ”

加拿大150溜冰场在渥太华 -  Photo Credit Sabrina Pirillo
渥太华的一个神奇的冬季仙境

有时我们会把自己家后院的美景视为理所当然,而说实话,加拿大拥有一个令人难以置信的游乐场,国家首都渥太华掌舵。 在冬季,渥太华变成了一个神奇的冬季仙境,提供许多适合任何人的活动和节日
继续阅读 ”

寒假在班夫
7适合您在班夫和路易斯湖度假的家庭友好探险

今冬渴望山区度假吗? 在粉状斜坡上滑雪一天后,考虑一下舒适的木屋,那里有高山远景,美味的食物和精酿啤酒,由火炉供应。 想想白雪皑皑的山峰,热水浴缸​​,新鲜的山间空气以及在您的脸上风的感觉
继续阅读 ”

赢得温尼伯冬季赛的5技巧

越来越多地呼吸的声音几乎消失了的,sw的,sw的雪裤套着的大腿。 愚蠢的想法是我应该加入雪鞋的新手群体,而不是初学者群体,我是凝聚和冻结的一部分
继续阅读 ”

魁北克市神奇冰酒店
魁北克市神奇冰酒店的6个秘密

魁北克市的Ice Hotel酒店有一些隐藏的秘密。 例如,您知道您可以在那里结婚吗? 每年冬天,来自迪拜和澳大利亚的数十对夫妇在教堂里喜结连理。 以下是我们在发现的其他一些有趣的花絮
继续阅读 ”

魁北克市的冬季嘉年华和Bonhomme魔术
魁北克市的冬季狂欢节和Bonhomme魔术

Bonhomme不仅仅是一个雪人。 对于魁北克人来说,Bonhomme和您或我……或牙仙子一样真实! 乔利·邦霍姆·卡纳瓦尔(Jolly Bonhomme Carnaval)是冬季之王。 对于某些孩子(和大多数成年人)来说,他比圣诞老人更具魔力。 据说高7英尺,由雪做成,
继续阅读 ”

Winter Activities

Tips to Enjoy Safe Family Skating on Canada’s Natural Lakes & Ponds

I have early memories of my parents strapping BOB Skates onto my bulky winter boots, and letting me shuffle around with my siblings on a natural lake in Southern Alberta. The sense of wonder and freedom I felt at the wide-open space still remains with me today. Now with kids
Continue Reading »

FFC-Snow-angel -Photo Jennifer Morton
Snow Time: A Wintry Guide for First-Timers in the Snow!

Seeing and playing in the snow for the first time is a thrilling and fun experience. And skiing, snowboarding, ice skating, tubing, making snowmen, and having snowball fights are favourite and playful ways to make the most of your snow holiday. In this post, we share some tips and best
Continue Reading »

Outdoor fire at HI Kananaskis Hostel - Photo Credit Tanya Koob
Plan a Family Overnight Kananaskis Winter Getaway

My family has taken an annual pre-Christmas Kananaskis Winter Getaway getaway for the last several years, and we always enjoy spending a couple of days with friends playing in the snow, skiing, hiking, and taking a break from the business of the holiday season. Later in the season we also enjoy
Continue Reading »

Canada's North - Inukshuk at Cameron Falls - Photo: JS Dinham
Canada’s North: Your Adventure Awaits, Get Ready to Explore!

I remember the day like it was yesterday. It was cold, even by Yellowknife standards, the kind of cold that will take your breath away, but I had quickly learned that when you step outside at -40 C, breathe shallowly, through your nose. Only rookies take that deep breath that
Continue Reading »

How to Have A Non Ski Ski Holiday
How to Have a Non Ski, Ski Holiday in Fernie, BC (Read On, I’ll Explain!)

What if I told you this winter my family decided to go on a family ski trip, sans ski? Would you look at me like I’d lost my balaclava? Better yet, what if I told you, we had an absolute blast doing anything and everything except skiing. Nothing against skiing
Continue Reading »

Canada 150 Rink in Ottawa - Photo Credit Sabrina Pirillo
A Magical Winter Wonderland in Ottawa

Sometimes we take for granted the beauty in our own backyard, and let’s be honest, Canada has a pretty incredible playground, with our national capital, Ottawa, at the helm. During the winter months, Ottawa turns into a magical winter wonderland, offering many activities and festivals that are fitting for any
Continue Reading »

winter holiday in Banff
7 Family-Friendly Adventures for Your Winter Holiday in Banff and Lake Louise

Craving a mountain getaway this winter? Think cozy log cabins with alpine vistas and delicious food and craft beer served by the fire after a day of skiing on powdery slopes. Think snow-capped peaks, hot tubs, fresh mountain air, and the feel of the wind on your face as you
Continue Reading »

5 Tips for Winning the Winnipeg Winter

The swish, swish, swish of snow pant clad thighs rubbing against each other is almost lost in the sound of my increasingly laboured breaths. The deluded thought that I should have joined the novice group of snow-shoers instead of the beginner group I am a part of condense and freeze in
Continue Reading »

Quebec City's Amazing Ice Hotel
6 Secrets of Québec City’s Amazing Ice Hotel

Québec City’s Ice Hotel has a few hidden secrets. For example, do you know that you can get married there? Each winter , dozens of couples from as far and wide as Dubai and Australia tie the knot in the chapel. Below are some other interesting tidbits that we discovered at
Continue Reading »

Québec City's Winter Carnival and the Magic of Bonhomme
Québec City’s Winter Carnival and the Magic of Bonhomme

Bonhomme is much more than just a snowman.  To the Québecois, Bonhomme is as real as you, or me…or the Tooth Fairy! Jolly Bonhomme Carnaval  is The King of Winter. To some children (and most adults) he is more magical than Santa Claus. At 7 feet tall, and allegedly made of snow,
Continue Reading »