fbpx

野生大西洋之路

紧贴爱尔兰西部边缘的是一条长长的道路,即Wild Atlantic Way。 你驾驶它去寻找冒险,冒险就是驱动器。 在欧洲最高的海崖边缘,风吹拂的海滩旁有二百六十公里。 Wild描述了风暴中的大西洋和沿着它的边缘的骑行。 从北部的Malin Head到南部的Kinsale,各种形式的自然景观都在展出,散布着小岛屿,灯塔和村庄。 在当地乡村酒吧结束一天的驾车,享受激动人心的爱尔兰音乐。

Wild Atlantic Way标牌 - 照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

在一辆运动型汽车中,我丈夫和我一起从金塞尔(Kinsale)到特拉利(Tralee)的南部地区,沿着三个西半岛:丁格尔(Dingle),贝拉(Beara),伊维拉(Iveragh),包括着名的凯里环(Carry Kerry),环绕着比拉(Beara)。

爱尔兰人异常温暖,可能是因为爱尔兰不得不获得超过其海上旅行者的份额,可追溯到数千年前。 区域方言是来自其第一批居民的盖尔语,并且所有标志都是盖尔语和英语:请放慢速度是“TógBogE” - 在随意的谈话中使用意味着“放轻松”。

扰流警报; 在某些地区,迷人的爱尔兰口音与快速说话相结合,可以娱乐但难以辨认。 这些村庄的名字在嘻哈节拍或儿童故事中是理想的; Incheydoney,Skibbereen,Bayylydehob,Sneem,Clonakilty,Parknasilla,Tahilla和Tralee。 在盖尔语中,所有这些都沉浸在历史中。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  -  Beehive hut  - 照片Melody Wren

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Beehive hut - 照片Melody Wren

离开主要道路,因为真正的爱尔兰生活在小村庄。 从地图上看,无法测量山丘的陡峭程度,这里的山路在巨大的岩石周围蜿蜒转弯,或者向着大海冲去。 村庄很少,而且很远。 相反,岩石,景观由石墙,孤立的农舍和历史的地幔定义。 与1500 BCE建造的石头蜂窝小屋相比,毁坏的2000修道院是“最近的”。 丁格尔半岛的Slea Head Drive在道路的一侧拥有绝佳的海景,另一方面,爱尔兰饥荒小屋,Dunbeg堡和古老的蜂巢小屋。 圆形和圆顶形,没有使用砂浆来组装使用当地石块的小屋,每个小屋都向下和向外倾斜以减少频繁的降雨。 这个小小的遗址从远古时代就有人居住在1200 AD。

Slea Head在爱尔兰

Slea Head

内陆的基拉尼镇是探索凯里风景区的理想基地。 基拉尼本身可以轻松享受大自然,悠闲自在。 您可以悠闲地散步,挑战远足,骑自行车和租船。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  -  Macgillycuddy's Reeks  -  Photo Melody Wren

MacGillycuddy的Reeks - 照片Melody Wren

环形凯里(Ring of Kerry)的小镇上摆满了色彩缤纷的房屋和市场摊位,出售从烘焙咖啡到服装的各种商品。 沿着海岸线,景观转移到高耸的山峰,郁郁葱葱的绿色植物和巨大的岩石点缀着原始的白色小屋。 名为MacGillycuddy's Reeks的连锁山脉庄严地穿过基拉尼驱车前的树木,最高的山脉是3400脚。 在主干道的一侧,有一个泥炭沼泽农场,在我们开车的时候,我们身后的泥炭气味很丰富。 对于温和的步行者,有明显标记的步行路线,包括共和国最长的人行道Kerry Way。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  -  Kerry Cliffs  - 照片Melody Wren

Kerry Cliffs - 照片Melody Wren

沿着Iveragh北部海岸行驶,有壮观的山地阶段,俯瞰着丁格尔湾的广阔,一个水体,一个灿烂的绿松石,另一个深绿色的瓶子。 俯瞰丁格尔湾的景点有浅水,吸引了大量的鸟类和观鸟者。 在板岩板边缘的野餐区域和完全用石板建造的特色野餐桌上可以看到当地板岩矿的使用,这使得它们可以防盗。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  - 麦吉港 - 照片Melody Wren

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - 麦吉港 - 照片Melody Wren

Caversiveen是Iveragh半岛的首府,俯瞰Valentia岛和港口。 我们想在瓦伦西亚看到Geokaun山和Fogher悬崖。 这里有Caharsiveen的渡轮,但我们在Port Magee桥上,这是有史以来第一个获得国家旅游奖的人,部分原因在于它的房屋颜色鲜艳。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  -  Fogher Cliffs  - 照片Melody Wren

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Fogher Cliffs - 照片Melody Wren

在Valentia岛的最高点,我们站在Fogher悬崖的边缘,高耸于大西洋之上,是我曾经历过的最美丽的景色之一。 享有Valentia岛,Skellig岛,Blaskets和丁格尔的景致。 大海比我见过的更蓝,悬崖边缘像碎玻璃碎片一样锯齿状。 Seaspray充满了新鲜的空气,感觉海洋吞没了我。 各个海拔的观景台都可以看到令人叹为观止的景色。 每个了望台的信息面板都会详细介绍历史,神话,植物和野生动植物。

马吉港(Port Magee)是乘船游览斯凯利格斯(Skelligs)的主要出发点,斯凯利格斯(Skelligs)是离海岸8英里的开放大西洋上的两个小岛,也是联合国教科文组织世界遗产。 渡轮的阵容是我们看到游客集合的罕见地点之一,他们都希望在“星球大战:原力觉醒”中看到标志性最后一幕的位置。

来自大陆的Skelligs的视角笼罩着他们的薄雾和神秘。 Skellig Michael是一个较大的岛屿,其高耸的石板悬崖高出700高,是20,000对的世界上最伟大的gannetries之一。 坐落在大西洋上空是一座保存完好的修道院,建于公元六世纪。 探索废墟,欣赏令人难以置信的景色,沿着每天带走它们的僧侣的脚步攀登618台阶。 根据人群的情况,提前预订乘船游览是可取的。

Skellig迈克尔(伟大的Skellig),Skellig海岛,凯里郡,芒斯特省,爱尔兰,欧洲。 通往修道院的石台阶在海岛顶部。

Skellig迈克尔(伟大的Skellig),Skellig海岛,凯里郡,芒斯特省,爱尔兰,欧洲。 通往修道院的石台阶在海岛顶部。

前往色彩缤纷的沃特维尔,一个拥有美景,咖啡馆和商店的海滨小镇,带着我们沿着弯曲蜿蜒的道路前行,沿途景色似乎永无止境,因为我们驱车前往Sneem,住在乡村酒店过夜。 沿海地区感觉更加偏远,沿途还有一群徒步旅行者和骑自行车的人。 道路的每一条曲线和曲线都会带来完全不同的视角,只有很长一段时间的树木和Macgillicuddys才能重新看到。

我们的驱动亮点是穿越了Dunloe峡谷,它位于Macgillycuddy's Reeks的两座最高峰之间。 我们开车穿过Moll的Gap和Ladies View到Muckross House,然后沿着Killorglin路前往Kate Kearney的小屋,从那里你可以通过Gap进行小马旅行。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  -  Dunloe的差距 - 照片Melody Wren

Dunloe的差距 - 照片Melody Wren

在两个最高山脉的山峰之间的山谷中,道路狭窄而孤立:我们一小时内只看到四辆汽车。 但是有很多绵羊,岩石,河流,溪流和茅草屋顶的小屋。 道路的一部分是狭窄的,狭窄的,如此曲折,以至于我们完全忽略了它。 这不是一个快速的驱动器。 通过光线停靠,10英里的骑行需要将近两个小时,在一条陡峭的单一轨道上,每隔十英尺穿过非常崎岖的乡村,可以看到令人惊叹的景色,让您在宝马升级的平稳骑行中尽情享受。 黑色长羊和长角羊点缀在景观中。 为了得到一张羊的肖像照片,我拿出了我的派对技巧,一个羊叫,他们很快回应,除了直接看着我,经常跳过篱笆或其他羊来找我。

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland  - 当地的绵羊 - 照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

再往前走一点,肯梅尔(Kenmare)熙熙攘攘,有巴士,五星级酒店,别致的水疗中心,B&B,s,时尚的餐厅,艺术商店,时尚的咖啡馆和带现场传统音乐的温馨酒吧。 在肯梅尔以北,转弯到丁格尔,你失去了所有的居住地。 这只是你和植被和岩石。 尽管道路和山丘非常多风,但它仍然是严重骑行者穿着完整莱卡的避风港,其背后嵌有产量标志,以便清晰可见。 丁格尔镇是一个繁忙的海滨小镇,拥有巨大的海滩,冲浪者,划桨船和大量游客

选择户外探险可以激发您的胃口,带来非凡的美食,即使在最小的村庄也可以在各种餐馆中航行。 酒店主要供应新鲜的鱼类和海鲜,当地时令蔬菜,农家奶酪,当地特色美食,手工巧克力,果酱,精酿啤酒,威士忌和杜松子酒。

我期待美丽,但我没有想到与以前从未见过的海岸线的景色,野性和色彩的原始情感联系,除了在绘儿乐的盒子里。 这个旅程有一种神奇的感觉,即使我们每天要旅行六到八个小时,我也不想让这些日子结束,认为第二天也不会有任何好转,而且总是完全不同。 虽然我们做了它的西南角,相对较短的路线,你可能需要长达六周的时间来驾驶它。 就里程而言,它只是一小块,但就旅程而言,这是一次壮观的冒险。

野生大西洋方式爱尔兰 - 查看从瓦朗谢岛的Coominaspic  - 照片旋律W ..

查看从Valentia岛的Coominaspic - 照片旋律W ren

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

The Wild Atlantic Way

Clinging to the western fringes of Ireland is a long ribbon of road, the Wild Atlantic Way. You drive it to find adventure, and the adventure is the drive. Twenty-six hundred kilometres alongside windswept beaches, on the edge of the highest sea cliffs in Europe. Wild describes the Atlantic in a storm and the ride along its edge. From Malin Head in the North to Kinsale in the South, nature in all its forms is on display, interspersed with tiny islands, lighthouses and villages. End a day’s drive in a local village pub with rousing Irish music.

Wild Atlantic Way signage - Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

In a sporty car, my husband and I tackled the Southern section from Kinsale to Tralee, following the three western peninsulas: Dingle, Beara, Iveragh, including the famed Ring of Kerry drive, which encircles Beara.

The Irish are unusually warm, maybe because Ireland has had to receive more than its share of sea travellers, going back thousands of years. The regional dialect is Gaelic from its first inhabitants, and all signs are in Gaelic and English: Please slow down is “Tóg Bog E”—used in casual conversation to mean “take it easy”.

Spoiler alert; in some areas, the charming Irish accent mixed with quick talking can be entertaining but undecipherable. The names of the villages would be ideal in a hip hop beat or a children’s story; Incheydoney, Skibbereen, Bayylydehob, Sneem, Clonakilty, Parknasilla, Tahilla and Tralee. In Gaelic form, all of them are steeped in history.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Beehive hut - Photo Melody Wren

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland – Beehive hut – Photo Melody Wren

Get off the main roads, because the real Irish life is in the small villages. From the map, it is impossible to gauge the steepness of the hills, where the backroads twist and turn in precipitous coils around huge rocks or race down towards the sea. Villages are few and far between. Instead, the rocky, landscape is defined by a web of stone walls, isolated farmhouses, and the mantle of history. A ruined 1500’s monastery is ‘recent’ when compared to stone beehive huts built in 2000 BCE. Slea Head Drive on the Dingle Peninsula boasts excellent sea views on one side of the road and, on the other, Irish famine cottages, Dunbeg Fort and a cluster ancient beehive huts. Round and domed, no mortar was used to assemble the huts using local stones, each angled downward and outward to shed the frequent rains. The small site was inhabited from ancient times to 1200 AD.

Slea Head in Ireland

Slea Head

Inland, the town of Killarney is a perfect base for exploring the Ring of Kerry. Killarney itself makes it easy to enjoy nature, to be laid back or active. There are leisurely strolls, challenging hikes, cycling and boat rentals.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Macgillycuddy’s Reeks - Photo Melody Wren

MacGillycuddy’s Reeks – Photo Melody Wren

Setting out on the Ring of Kerry there are small towns edged with vibrantly coloured houses and market stalls selling everything from roasted coffee to clothing. Towards the coast, the landscape shifts to treed peaks, lush greenery, and enormous rocks dotted with pristine white cottages. The mountain chain called MacGillycuddy’s Reeks looms majestically through trees on the drive out of Killarney with the highest mountain measuring 3400 feet. At the side of the main road, there was a peat bog farm accounting for the rich scent of peat that trailed behind us as we drove. For the moderate walker, there are clearly marked walking routes, including the Kerry Way, the Republic’s longest walkway.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Kerry Cliffs - Photo Melody Wren

Kerry Cliffs – Photo Melody Wren

Driving along the north coast of Iveragh, there are spectacular mountain stages that overlook the expanse of Dingle Bay, one body of water a brilliant turquoise and the other a deep bottle green. The points overlooking Dingle Bay have shallow water attracting lots of birds and birdwatchers. Use of the local slate mine is evident in picnic areas edged by slate slabs and feature picnic tables built entirely out of slate, making them theft proof.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Port McGee - Photo Melody Wren

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland – Port McGee – Photo Melody Wren

Caharsiveen, the capital of the Iveragh Peninsula overlooks Valentia Island and harbour. We wanted to see Geokaun mountain and the Fogher cliffs on Valentia. There’s a ferry from Caharsiveen, but we took the bridge at Port Magee, the first ever winner of the National tourism award, partly because of its brightly painted houses.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Fogher Cliffs - Photo Melody Wren

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland – Fogher Cliffs – Photo Melody Wren

At the highest point of Valentia Island, we stood on the edge of the Fogher cliffs towering above the Atlantic Ocean with one of the most beautiful views I have ever experienced. There are views of all of Valentia island, the Skellig islands, the Blaskets and Dingle. The sea was bluer than I had ever seen and the cliff edges were jagged like shards of broken glass. Seaspray filled the air with bracing freshness, and it felt like the ocean was engulfing me. Lookouts at various elevations, all have take-your-breath-away views. Information panels at each lookout give a detailed overview of the history, mythology, plant life and wildlife.

Port Magee is the main departure point for boat trips to the Skelligs, two tiny islands in the open Atlantic eight miles off the coast, and a UNESCO World Heritage site. The line-up for the ferry was one of the rare spots where we saw collections of tourists, all wanting to see the location for the iconic last scene in “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”.

The view of the Skelligs from the mainland shrouds them in thin mist and mystery. Skellig Michael, the larger island, features soaring slate cliffs over 700 feet tall and is one of the great gannetries of the world with about 20,000 pairs. Perched high above the Atlantic is a well-preserved monastery from the sixth century. Explore the ruins, and for unbelievable views, climb the 618 steps following in the footsteps of the monks who took them each day. It’s advisable to book boat tours in advance judging by the crowds.

Skellig Michael (Great Skellig), Skellig islands, County Kerry, Munster province, Ireland, Europe. The stone stairs leading to the monastery on top of the island.

Skellig Michael (Great Skellig), Skellig Islands, County Kerry, Munster Province, Ireland, Europe. The stone stairs leading to the monastery on top of the island.

Getting to colourful Waterville, a seaside town with views, cafes and shops, took us along the curving, winding roads with coastal views that seem never-ending as we drove towards Sneem to stay in a country hotel for the night. The stretch of coast feels more remote and rural with groups of hikers and cyclists along the way. Every curve and twist of the road brings an entirely different view with long stretches of only trees and the Macgillicuddys to come back into view.

The driving highlight for us was traversing the Gap of Dunloe which is between the two highest peaks of the Macgillycuddy’s Reeks. We drove through Moll’s Gap and Ladies View to Muckross House and followed the Killorglin Road to Kate Kearney’s cottage, from which you can take pony trips through the Gap.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Gap of Dunloe - Photo Melody Wren

Gap of Dunloe – Photo Melody Wren

In the valley between the peaks of the two highest mountains of the reeks, the road is narrow and isolated: we only saw four cars in an hour. But there were plenty of sheep, rocks, rivers, streams, and thatched roof cottages. Part of the road is tight, narrow and so convoluted that we lost sight of it altogether. It’s not a fast drive. With photo-stops, a ten-mile ride took nearly two hours, on a steep winding single track with pull-offs with astounding views every ten feet through very rugged countryside, revelling in the smooth ride of our BMW upgrade. Blackface sheep with long coats and horns dot the landscape. To get a portrait photo of the sheep, I pulled out my party trick, a sheep call, which they quickly respond to and besides looking directly at me, often jump over fences or other sheep to get to me.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - Local sheep - Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Drive a little further, and Kenmare is buzzing with buses, five-star hotels, chic spas, B & B,s, stylish restaurants, art shops, trendy cafes and welcoming pubs with live traditional music. North of Kenmare, turn a corner onto the Dingle, and you lose all habitation. It’s just you and the vegetation and the rocks. Despite very windy roads and hills, it’s a haven for serious cyclists in full lycra with yield signs embedded in their backside for clear visibility. Dingle town is a busy seaside town with an enormous beach heaving with surfers, paddle-boarders and large crowds of tourists

Opting for outdoor adventures that stoke your appetite lead to extraordinary meals, navigating through diverse eateries in even the smallest of villages. There is a focus on fresh-off-the-boat fish and seafood, local, seasonal vegetables, farmhouse cheeses, locally baked goodies, handmade chocolates, jam, and craft beers, whiskeys, and gins.

I expected beauty, but I didn’t expect a primal emotional connection to the views, the wildness, the colours of the coastline I had never seen before except in a Crayola box. There was a magical feeling about the journey and even though we were travelling six to eight hours a day, I never wanted the days to end, thinking it couldn’t be any better the next day, and it was always completely different. Even though we did the Southwest corner of it, a relatively short piece of the route, you could take up to six weeks to drive it. In terms of miles, it was a small piece, but in terms of the journey, it was a magnificent adventure.

Wild Atlantic Way Ireland - View from Coominaspic of Valencie Island - Photo Melody Wren

View from Coominaspic of Valentia Island – Photo Melody Wren

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *