到蒙特利尔,带着爱

我的女儿和我一起骑马 La Grande Roue de Montreal在蒙特利尔老城的海滨观景轮上,我们欣赏到了我们周围一览无余的壮观景色。

车轮高60米,相当于20层建筑,是加拿大最大的建筑,因此我们可以鸟瞰私人气候控制的缆车内的壮丽景观。

我们可以看到旧蒙特利尔以及远处的商店和咖啡馆是皇家山上标志性的木制十字架。 在圣劳伦斯河的另一边,我们可以看到臭名昭着的Habitat公寓(建于1967 for Expo)和古怪的生物圈,一个大地测量的圆顶,是美国的世博会馆,后来被赠送到城市。 这是一个很好的方式,通过看到我们下面的城市所提供的一切,开始我们的三天冒险。


旧蒙特利尔提供了许多有趣的东西,我们在那里度过了我们的整个访问。 我喜欢蒙特利尔老城区的历史建筑,鹅卵石街道,精品店,画廊和餐馆。 许多建筑物保留了原始状态,最早的建筑物可以追溯到1600s。

住哪里

我们决定试用旧蒙特利尔的众多Air BNB之一,并对选择,高品质和优惠的价格感到惊喜。 我们每晚租用$ 100(加上$ 60清洁费),是一幢纽约阁楼风格的大型公寓,拥有时尚的裸砖墙。 它宽敞,舒适,位置优越。

蒙特利尔 - 太阳马戏团 - 丹尼斯戴维

在蒙特利尔海滨享受Cirque du Soleil秀。 摄影:Denise Davy

该怎么办

CIRQUE DU SOLEIL - 由于魁北克是Cirque du Soleil的诞生地,所以我们最近的节目Alegria似乎恰到好处。 从巨大的蓝色和白色条纹帐篷内的灯光变暗的那一刻起,我们就被视为一场眼睛和耳朵的盛宴。

很少有节目可以与太阳马戏团竞争其创意服装和布景设计以及在舞蹈和特技中的纯粹艺术性。 表演者令人难以置信的运动能力是任何奥运会运动员的标准。

Cirque du Soleil在1984开始与一群20表演者合作,现已发展成为4,000的几乎所有员工,其中包括1,300艺术家。 在一次演出中,表演者在空中飞行,进行了不可能数量的翻转然后降落在竹竿上。 在另一个行为中,一名女子在她的身体周围旋转超过20金属箍,而在另一名女演员身上,这名演员实际上是在走火,不顾解释。

在高飞行动之间,小丑走上舞台,走过观众,让我们用他们的滑稽动作缝合。 这是一个不容错过的节目。

蒙特利尔 -  AURA  - 照片Denise Davy

AURA展示在巴黎圣母院大教堂内。 摄影:Denise Davy

AURA - 在巴黎圣母院大教堂内举办的名为AURA的激光技术展将让您以前所未有的方式欣赏教堂的历史建筑。 教堂的历史可以追溯到1829,但独特的灯光和声音表演都是全新的。 结合美妙的管弦乐音乐,这是一个令人震惊的奇观。

LA GRAND ROUE - 观景轮在365上午10天开放,直到11下午,虽然我们在白天有愉快的骑行,但我想在夜晚的时候,这座城市的所有辉煌点亮都会令人着迷。 骑着方向盘后,我的女儿和我在高空滑索上旋转了一下,这只是几分钟的路程。 这是加拿大第一条城市滑索线路,它的水面高出85。 在塔上长途跋涉不是为了娘娘腔,但骑行是值得的。 在绑上安全带并装上头盔之后,导游让我飞过水面旅行,持续时间约为30秒,但感觉更长。 这很有趣,而且由于塑料手套可以安全地容纳我的手机,我记录了所有内容,所以我有视频来证明我做到了。

工大餐厅

旧蒙特利尔不乏咖啡馆和餐馆,但我决定去蒙特利尔旅游局的专家那里寻找一家出色的素食餐馆。 他们立即在麦吉尔和德拉蒙塔涅街上推荐了拥有两个蒙特利尔地点的LOV,在那里用餐后,我明白了原因。

蒙特利尔 -  LOV餐厅。  - 照片Denise Davy

LOV是一家受欢迎的蒙特利尔餐厅,以其素食而闻名。 摄影:Denise Davy

LOV - 从我们走进464 Rue de McGill的LOV那一刻起,我们就被它的氛围所吸引。 竹格灯罩,挂柳条椅和漆成白色的砖墙给人一种时尚和热情的感觉。

LOV是当地,有机和素食的首字母缩写,他们的菜单就像庆祝这三种菜肴一样。 我们点了炸玉米饼作为开胃菜,然后吃了一碗美味的玉米粉圆饼,上面放着烤玉米,牛油果,番茄酱等等。 食物是首屈一指的,我强烈推荐给素食主义者和其他任何想尝试的人。

威尼斯 - 我们在太阳马戏团(Cirque du Soleil)参观了这个令人愉快的餐厅,位于Rue St. Xavier-Fraser街。 它被证明是晚餐的最佳地点,我有一个我生命中最好的比萨饼之一。

TOMMY'S CAFE - 这是另一个令人惊讶的发现,我喜欢内部的古董corbels和高天花板。

Montrreal  -  Le Petit Dep Cafe  - 照片Denise Davy

Le Petit Dep是一个古色古香的迷人咖啡馆,位于旧蒙特利尔照片由Denise Davy拍摄

LE PETIT DEP - 幸运的是,我们的Air BNB就位于Saint-Paul Street West附近一家名为Le Petit Dep的迷人咖啡馆/纪念品商店旁边。 它的蓝绿色外观装饰着一个装满粉红色秋海棠的花盒,很容易就能看出为什么它因为成为世界上最受Instagram影响的咖啡馆而获奖。

在里面,从它古怪的枝形吊灯到整齐的果酱,蜂蜜,枫糖浆和巧克力,它让我在bonjour。 从一系列美味的烘焙食品中,我们选择了一个巧克力羊角面包和蔓越莓松饼与早餐的伯爵茶,然后坐在一张看着街道的餐桌上 - 迷人的四周!

我曾经去过蒙特利尔几次,每次都有惊喜,我的新网站,令人兴奋的事情和美妙的餐馆。 经过这么多次访问,我以为我已经看到了这座城市所提供的一切; 我错了。 我们没有时间参观科学中心或在IMAX观看演出,但是下次此次旅行将永远让蒙特利尔成为我们最喜​​欢的城市之一。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

To Montreal, With Love

As my daughters and I rode La Grande Roue de Montreal, the observation wheel in Old Montreal’s waterfront, we took in the sweeping and spectacular views around us.

The wheel is 60 metres high, the equivalent of a 20-storey building, and the largest in Canada, so we had a birds-eye view of the glorious landscape inside our private climate-controlled gondola.

We could see the shops and cafes in Old Montreal and beyond that in the far distance was the iconic wooden cross on Mount Royal. On the other side of the St. Lawrence River, we could see the infamous Habitat condos (built in 1967 for Expo) and the quirky Biosphere, a geodesic dome which was the USA’s Expo pavilion, later gifted to the city. It was a great way to start our three-day adventure by seeing everything the city had to offer laid out below us.


Old Montreal offers up so many fun things that we spent our entire visit there. I love Old Montréal for its historic buildings, cobblestone streets, boutiques, galleries and restaurants and. Many buildings have been preserved in their original states and the oldest date back to the 1600s.

Where to Stay

We decided to try one of the many Air BNB’s available in Old Montreal and were pleasantly surprised at the selection, high quality and excellent price. Ours rented for $100 a night (plus $60 cleaning fee) and was a large New York loft-style condo with trendy bare brick walls. It was spacious, comfortable and well located.

 

Montreal - Cirque du Soleil - Denise Davy

Enjoying Cirque du Soleil show on the Montreal waterfront.   Photo by Denise Davy

 

What to Do

CIRQUE DU SOLEIL – Since Quebec is the birthplace of Cirque du Soleil, it seemed only fitting that we take in their most recent show, Alegria. From the moment the lights dimmed inside of the giant blue and white striped tent, we were treated to a spectacle that was a feast to the eyes and ears.

Few shows can compete with Cirque du Soleil for its creative costumes and set design plus its sheer artistry in the choreography and stunts. The mind-boggling athleticism of the performers was at a standard above any Olympic athlete.

Cirque du Soleil began in 1984 with a group of around 20 performers and has grown to almost 4,000 employees, which includes 1,300 artists. In one act, the performers flew through the air, performed an impossible number of flips then landed on a bamboo pole. In another act, a woman spun more than 20 metal hoops around her body and in another, the actor literally walked on fire, defying explanation.

In between the high flying acts, clowns took to the stage and walked through the audience and had us in stitches with their antics. It was a show not to be missed.

 

Montreal - AURA - Photo Denise Davy

The AURA show inside of Notre Dame Basilica.  Photo by Denise Davy

AURA – The laser tech show called AURA inside the Notre Dame Basilica will make you appreciate the historic architecture of the church like never before. The church dates back to 1829, but the unique light and sound show is all new. Combined with beautiful orchestral music, it’s a jaw-dropping spectacle.

LA GRAND ROUE – The observation wheel is open 365 days of the year from 10 a.m. until 11 p.m., and while we had an enjoyable ride during the day, I imagine going at night would be just as mesmerising when the city is lit up in all its splendour. After riding the wheel, my daughters and I took a spin on the zipline, which is only a few minutes away. It’s Canada’s first urban zipline circuit, and it’s 85 feet above the water. The long walk up the tower isn’t for sissies, but the ride is worth it. After getting tied into the harness and fitted with a helmet, the guide sent me flying across the water for a trip which lasted about 30 seconds but felt longer. It was tons of fun, and because of the plastic glove which safely accommodated my phone, I recorded it all, so I have the video to prove I did it.

Where to Eat

There’s no shortage of cafés and restaurants in Old Montreal, but I decided to go to the experts at Montreal Tourism for advice on an excellent vegetarian eatery. They immediately recommended LOV, which has two Montreal locations, on McGill and de la Montagne street, and after dining there, I understand why.

 

Montreal - LOV restaurant. - Photo Denise Davy

LOV is a popular Montreal restaurant known for its vegetarian food.     Photo by Denise Davy

LOV – From the moment we walked into LOV on 464 Rue de McGill, we were taken in by its ambience. The bamboo lattice lampshades, hanging wicker chairs and brick walls painted white gave it a feel that was stylish and welcoming.

LOV is an acronym for local, organic and vegetarian, and their menu read like a celebration of all three. We ordered tacos as an appetiser and chowed down on a tasty bowlful of tortillas slathered with a topping of roasted corn, pureed avocado, tomato salsa and more. The food was second to none, and I would highly recommend it for anyone who is vegetarian and anyone else who wants to try it.

VENICE – We came across this delightful restaurant located on Rue St. Xavier-Fraser after taking in the show at Cirque du Soleil. It proved to be the perfect spot for dinner, and I had one of the best pizzas of my life.

TOMMY’S CAFE – This was another surprise find, and I loved the interior with its antique corbels and high ceiling.

Montrreal - Le Petit Dep Cafe - Photo Denise Davy

Le Petit Dep is a quaint and charming cafe in Old Montreal         Photo by Denise Davy

LE PETIT DEP – As luck would have it, our Air BNB was located immediately beside a charming cafe/souvenir shop called Le Petit Dep on Saint-Paul Street West. With its turquoise blue exterior decorated with a flower box filled with pink begonias, it was easy to see why it won the award for being the most Instagram-ed cafe in the world.

Inside, from it’s quirky chandeliers to its tidy rows of jams, honey, maple syrup and chocolate, it had me at bonjour. From the array of delicious baked goods, we chose a chocolate croissant, and cranberry muffin with Earl Grey tea for breakfast then sat at one of the tables that looked onto the street — charming all round!

I’ve been to Montreal several times and each time it surprises me with its new sites, exciting things to do and fabulous eateries. After so many visits, I thought I’d seen everything the city had to offer; I was wrong. We didn’t have time to visit the Science Centre or see a show at IMAX, but there will always be a next time since this trip securely put Montreal in the top spot of our favourite cities to visit.

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *