在Tofino的水晶湾度假村玩乐

托菲诺水晶湾度假村

在计划家庭度假时,很容易将全包式度假村和以儿童为主题的冒险乐园视为让所有家庭成员快乐的最简单解决方案。 对于最近的春假假期,我们决定走老派,并期待大自然母亲为孩子们的娱乐。 新鲜空气,来自海洋的食物,在岩石上挖掘几小时并在沙地上挖掘,意味着我们的两个小男孩狠狠地撞入双层床,每晚都及时打鼾。

我知道从不列颠哥伦比亚大陆到温哥华岛远端的旅行可能看起来令人生畏,但它确实可以与小孩们一起管理! 这次旅行被分解为3块。 第一大块:开往渡轮码头。 建议:做一个 与BC渡轮保留 所以你只需要在出发前几分钟到达30,从而缩短你的预渡轮等待时间。 第二大块:渡轮渡口(时间很容易通过新的活动或书籍提供给船上的小孩)。 第三块,驱车穿越岛屿。 最后一站是最长的(2.5小时),但玩一些 好音乐,在孩子们之间贴上一袋书/活动,带来一些 有趣的printables为孩子们 你参加比赛了! 别忘了风景很美。 停下来散步 大教堂树丛,伸展你的腿在 库姆斯糖果 在阿尔伯尼港(Port Alberni)购物,或者在驾车的众多湖泊中的一个旁边享受野餐。

托菲诺 - 水晶湾度假村我们拉进托菲诺,在接下来的几天里找到了我们的家 水晶湾度假村。 多么奇妙的以自然为基础的儿童友好型度假胜地! 首先,我离开了我对住宿做了一个快乐的舞蹈。 一个小木屋(这是很酷)与燃木壁炉(这些天稀有)和一个孩子的私人树屋连接(你应该听到的喜悦尖叫)。 我们的儿子兴奋地爆发,他们拥有自己的树屋 - 通过高架走道连接 - 每当灵感来袭时都会玩耍。 树屋非常受欢迎,我们的老大练习他的钢琴(是的,我们很讨厌,拖着一个迷你键盘让他在假期练习)。 但是,严肃地说,当你在自己的树屋里时,谁可以抱怨练习?

在托菲诺在水晶湾梳理海滩在此 水晶湾度假村 非常适合家庭。 度假村中间有一个巨大的游乐场。 攀爬结构,秋千,滑梯,摇摇晃晃等等让孩子们忙得不可开交。 有很多椅子可供妈妈和爸爸们使用。 当然,我们的孩子(以及我们的父母)的亮点是步行不到一分钟到海洋! 水晶湾度假村(Crystal Cove Resort)拥有自然地理位置,拥有自己的海滩(因此名为“海湾”)。 海滩很漂亮而且平坦,但海湾的两侧是由锯齿状的岩石组成,只是乞求攀爬。 我们的孩子们反复要求“争抢岩石”。 探索潮汐池,在最小的裂缝中找到海星,并发现伪装的鱼占据了我们假期的许多小时。 我们的探索在上午度过了早上后变得更加明智 Ucluelet水族馆.

Ucluelet水族馆无论您是否带孩子旅行,都可以 Ucluelet水族馆 应该放在你必须做的清单上。 水族馆是一个捕获和释放设施,他们是一个 该领域的领导者。 我无意间垄断了策展人Laura Griffith-Cochrane,时间接近2小时。 她从幼年起就一直在水族馆工作,她对海洋生物学的热情具有传染性。 虽然物理空间不大,但这些生物很迷人,工作人员充斥着信息。 彻底洗手后,鼓励游客(轻轻地!)与许多海洋生物互动。 从触摸海星到海葵,各种规模的游客都可以亲身体验西海岸水域的一些动物。 每隔几个月,水族馆会释放动物并带来新动物。 这不是一项简单的任务,因为水族馆致力于将每个生物都归还回原来的家。 几个月的思考和计划都涉及到每个展示的创建。 考虑到季节,动物的健康是最重要的,结果非常好。 您可以保证重复访问会让您接触到新生物; 展品充满活力!

我们非常愉快的参观水族馆是我们这次旅行的唯一预定活动。 我们大部分时间都是在海边的游乐场度过的 水晶湾度假村 或者从许多餐厅享用美味的食物。 我们在访问期间发现了一些必须去的餐馆。 享用早餐(或任何餐)在 共同的大面包烘烤商店。 爱他们的柴茶和他们的早餐披萨! 鱼炸玉米饼在 Wildside烧烤 好吃,牡蛎和薯条也很好吃。 如果您正在寻找令人难忘的食品卡车体验,请不要错过鱼缸炸玉米饼 Tacofino。 想想金枪鱼Ta-Taco让我流口水! 就在头顶上,托菲诺的互联网连接要么不存在,要么让人想起1995。 虽然它迫使你拔掉电源(这是一件好事!)但它确实让我意识到我们对导航技术的依赖程度。 感谢天文学家和OnStar中的仪表板导航系统 雪佛兰科鲁兹 我们开车。 如果没有这些功能,我们将需要去旧式和找到纸质地图!

在Tofino的螃蟹女士我在水晶湾真正感激的功能之一是我们的小木屋里的完整厨房! 虽然我喜欢一顿丰盛的晚餐,但现实中喂养四个人并不总是最便宜的体验(特别是现在,因为我们的孩子正处于成长冲刺阶段并正在外出吃饭和在家吃饭)。 我们在Tofino的Co-op杂货店停下来买了生存食品。 厨房还为我们提供了难忘的体验:烹饪活螃蟹。 在Tofino市中心进出的主要道路上寻找地址900。 如果蓝蟹标志挂起,一定要停止。 对于$ 12螃蟹(疯狂的好价格),我们享受最美味的餐点和众多的笑声。 我非常喜欢螃蟹,所以我愿意冒着被自己夹捏和烹饪的风险。 孩子们认为整个事情很搞笑,他们吞噬了螃蟹。 我会暗暗希望他们不会喜欢它,因为我可以吃螃蟹的体重!

孩子们喜欢水晶湾入住Crystal Cove时,请注意一位名叫Adley的非常有才华的员工。 一天下午,阿德利用他的气球创作让操场上的孩子们高兴。 我从来没有遇到过这么有天赋的人! 他的鹦鹉(栖息在肩膀上)和老虎给我留下了深刻的印象。 但是他真的让他的创造力与我们最小的直升机背包和我们最小的火箭背包一起创造。 疯狂才华横溢!

Crystal Cove Resort度假酒店提供两种类型的住宿: 小木屋 (4选项:海滨,海滩景观,热带雨林和树屋)和房车营地。 历史上帐篷露营是允许的,但现在只允许房车和露营者。 除了度假村令人难以置信的孩子友好,他们也是宠物友好的。 我喜欢他们的洗狗站在沙滩上 - 非常聪明!

正如你可以想象水晶湾度假村是一个受欢迎的目的地。 其 34小木屋 60 +野营地点 快速填满。 在过去的两年里,他们没有安静的时间......这个度假村可以理解地跳起来! 如果你想带你的家人去参观,而且你确实应该提前预定。 你将有一个难忘的家庭假期,你的孩子们将会在自然界和温哥华岛的美丽西海岸度过自己的疲惫。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Family Fun at Tofino’s Crystal Cove Resort

Tofino Crystal Cove Resort

When planning a family holiday it is easy to look to the all-inclusive resorts and the kid-themed adventure parks as the easiest solution to keeping all family-members happy. For a recent Spring Break vacation we decided to go old-school and look to Mother Nature for the kids’ entertainment. Fresh air, food from the sea, hours of scrambling over rocks and digging in the sand meant our two little boys crashed hard into their bunk beds, promptly snoring every night.

I know the trip from the mainland ob British Columbia to the far side of Vancouver Island may seem daunting but it is truly manageable with little ones! The trip is broken up into 3 chunks for you. First chunk: drive to the ferry terminal. Suggestion: make a reservation with BC Ferries so you only need to arrive a mere 30 minutes before your departure thereby cutting down your pre-ferry wait time. Second chunk: the ferry crossing (time easily passed by a new activity or book provided to the little ones once on board). And third chunk, the drive across the Island. The the final leg is the longest (2.5 hours) but play some good music, stick a bag of books/activities between the kids and bring a few fun printables for kids and you are off to the races!  Don’t forget the scenery is beautiful. Stop for a stroll through Cathedral Grove, stretch your legs at the Coombs Candy store in Port Alberni, or enjoy a picnic beside one of the many lakes on the drive.

Tofino - Crystal Cove ResortWe pulled into Tofino and found our home for the next few days at the Crystal Cove Resort. What a wonderfully nature-based kid-friendly resort! First off left me do a happy dance about the accommodation. A log cabin (which is just cool) with a wood-burning fireplace (a rarity these days) and a kid’s private treehouse attached (you should have heard the squeals of delight). Our sons were bursting with excitement that they had their own treehouse – attached by an elevated walkway – to play in whenever inspiration hit. The treehouse was so popular our eldest practiced his piano inside (yes we were nasty and dragged a mini keyboard to make him practice on holidays). But seriously, who can complain about practicing when you are in your very own treehouse?

Beach combing in Tofino at Crystal CoveThe Crystal Cove Resort is perfect for families. A massive playground dominates the middle of the resort. A climbing structure, swings, slides, teeter totter, and more keep the kids occupied. There are plenty of chairs for moms and dads to plunk down upon. Of course the highlight for our kids (and us parents too) was the less than one minute walk to the ocean! Crystal Cove Resort has been blessed by natural geography and has their own beach (hence the “cove” in their name). The beach is lovely and flat but the sides of the cove are made up of jagged rocks just begging to be climbed. Our boys repeatedly asked to “scramble over the rocks”. Exploring tidal pools, locating sea stars in the smallest of crevasses, and spotting camouflaged fish occupied many hours of our holiday. Our explorations became more informed after spending the morning at the Ucluelet Aquarium.

Ucluelet AquariumWhether you are traveling with kids or not, the Ucluelet Aquarium should be on your must-do list. The aquarium is a catch-and-release facility and they are a leader in the field. I, unintentionally, monopolized the curator’s, Laura Griffith-Cochrane, time for nearly 2 hours. She has been with the Aquarium since its infancy and her passion for marine biology is contagious. While the physical space is not large, the creatures are fascinating and the staff are overflowing with information. After a thorough hand-washing, visitors are encouraged to interact (gently!) with a number of the sea creatures. From touching sea stars to anemones, visitors of all sizes get a hands-on experience with some animals from the West Coast waters. Every few months the Aquarium releases the animals and brings in new ones. This is no simple task as the Aquarium is committed to returning every creature back to its original home. Months of thought and planning go into the creation of each display. The seasons are considered, the health of the animals is foremost, and the results are fantastic. You can be guaranteed that repeat visits will expose you to new creatures; the exhibits are dynamic!

Our highly enjoyable visit to the Aquarium was our only scheduled activity of the trip. Most of our time was spent at the ocean, on the playground at the Crystal Cove Resort or enjoying the delicious food from the many restaurants. We found a few must-visit restaurants during our visit. Enjoy breakfast (or any meal) at the Common Loaf Bake Shop. Loved their chai tea and their breakfast pizza! The fish tacos at Wildside Grill were delicious, as were the oysters and chips. And if you are looking for an unforgettable food-truck experience don’t miss the fish tacos at Tacofino. Just thinking about the Tuna Ta-Taco has me drooling! Just a heads up, the internet connection in Tofino is either non-existent or reminiscent of 1995. While it forces you to unplug (which is a good thing!) it did made me realize how much we rely on technology for navigation. Thank heavens for OnStar and the in-dash navigation system in the Chevrolet Cruze we were driving. Without those features we would have needed to go old-style and locate a paper map!

Crab Lady in TofinoOne of the features I really appreciated at Crystal Cove was the full kitchen in our log cabin! While I love a good meal out, the reality is feeding four people isn’t always the cheapest experience (especially right now as our kids are in a growth spurt and are eating us out of house and home). We stopped at the Co-Op grocery store in Tofino and bought survival food. The kitchen also provided us with an unforgettable experience: cooking live crab. When on the main road in and out of downtown Tofino look for address 900. If the blue crab sign is hanging up be sure to stop. For $12 a crab (crazy good price) we enjoyed the yummiest meal and oodles of laughs. I love crab so much I was willing to risk being pinched and cook it myself. The kids thought the whole thing was hilarious and they gobbled up the crab. I’ll admit to secretly hoping they wouldn’t like it as I could eat my weight in crab!

Kids love Crystal CoveWhen staying at Crystal Cove be on the look out for a highly talented staff member named Adley. One afternoon Adley delighted the kids at the playground with his balloon creations. I have never encountered someone so gifted with balloons! I was impressed by his parrot (which perches on a shoulder) and tiger. But then he really let his creativity shine with the creation of a helicopter backpack for our eldest and a rocket backpack for our youngest. Crazy talented!

The Crystal Cove Resort offers two types of accommodation: the log cabins (4 options: beach front, beach view, rainforest and treehouse) and RV campsites. Historically tent camping was permitted but now just RVs and campers are allowed. In addition to the resort being incredibly kid-friendly, they are also pet-friendly. I loved their dog-washing station right off the beach – very clever!

As you can imagine Crystal Cove Resort is a popular destination. Their 34 cabins and 60+ camping spots fill up quickly. Over the past two years they have experience no quiet time…the resort is, understandably, hopping! If you want to bring your family for a visit, and you really should, be sure to book early. You will have an unforgettable family holiday and your kids will have a blast exhausting themselves in nature and the gorgeous West Coast of Vancouver Island.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates