哪里玩和留在葡萄牙:里斯本

把里斯本想象成旧金山的老,冷酷的堂兄弟。 它有七座山脉,环绕着一座历史悠久的港口,彩绘的路面电车,在您离开后您将渴望的海鲜,以及延续了一千多年的历史。

留在葡萄牙里斯本去玩

我们

在里斯本拥挤的餐厅里,由于灰泥拱门上的灯光昏暗,餐具的喋喋不休和沉闷的声音停止,沉默下来。 一个男人从阴影中浮现出来,双手插在口袋里,一个fedora被拉下来,然后他开始唱歌。 现在听到一个纯粹的,没有放大声的人类声音是非常罕见的,我的心开始比赛,因为里卡多里贝罗把他的心脏注入房间。 我正在倾听法多的歌曲 - 爱与失落与欢乐的歌曲,这是里斯本出生的一种流派,其起源失去了时间。 我在里斯本的第一个晚上在那里度过了 O Faia,一家传统的葡萄牙餐厅和Casa deFado(法多屋)。 这个城市没有更好的介绍,它的心脏套在它的袖子上。

许多有轨电车线路可帮助游客和当地人驾驶里斯本的山丘 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

许多有轨电车线路可帮助游客和当地人驾驶里斯本的山丘 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

虽然里斯本几乎完全被1755的地震和海啸摧毁,但其历史和传统依然强劲。 一些最古老的建筑,如摩尔人 圣乔治城堡 (圣乔治城堡),仍然完好无损。 山丘与狭窄的街道,石阶和电车轨道交错。 高层建筑覆盖 上光,色彩缤纷的手绘瓷砖和装饰着锻铁阳台的独特石头镶嵌人行道 至Calçada。 不要让山坡阻止你; 里斯本市中心紧凑,步行便利,交通便利。

罗西奥广场充满了喷泉和花卉 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

罗西奥广场充满了喷泉和花卉 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

沿着Targus河北岸前往壮丽的Commercio广场,那里充满了18世纪的古典建筑和一座巨大的雕像满载的凯旋门。 街头艺人和音乐家在岸边娱乐,而粗纱酒车则在玻璃杯上啜饮。 刚过广场的东端,就进入了广场 Conservia de Lisboa这家小型的家庭式经营的商店在80年以前一直销售罐装海鲜(里斯本特产)。 以Rua dos Sapateiros为主要购物街之一,往Rua de Santa Justa方向行驶,然后向左看看灿烂的铁艺埃菲尔风格 Santa Justa电梯。 在1902上开业的七层电梯仍然是从下面的街道到上面的山坡上的卡尔莫广场的捷径。 顶部的观景台提供了城市的全景。 继续向北,您会发现里斯本的中心广场罗西奥,其喷泉,雕像和卖花人。 就在广场以北的国家大剧院左侧是Rua Romana的新艺术风格的里斯本火车站。

商业广场在里斯本Targa河畔的夕阳下闪耀 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

商业广场在里斯本Targa河畔的夕阳下闪耀 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

Do

一旦你看到了一些景点,我建议你和Joao Santana Domingos一起度过一天 遗产之旅 更深入地了解里斯本的艺术,文化和历史。 “他们说葡萄牙人就像蚊子,”若昂说,“你到处都可以找到它们。” 从15开始th 世纪,葡萄牙水手扩大了帝国,包括巴西,非洲部分地区和斯里兰卡。 他们是第一批冒险来到中国和日本,甚至到达新斯科舍省的人。

杰罗尼摩斯修道院的精致柱子 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

杰罗尼摩斯修道院的精致柱子 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

游览巨大 热罗尼姆斯修道院这座被联合国教科文组织列为世界遗产的世界遗产保护区,他将以独特的风格称为曼努埃尔,指出海星的图案,如海星,导航工具和水手节以及高哥特式建筑。 细长的石柱伸展到着名的探险家Vasco de Gama的坟墓上方,这个探险家发现了到印度的香料路线,而大象和老虎装饰着其他位置,这些都是葡萄牙船队所能接触到的标志。

从古堡Castelo de Sao Jorge的视角 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

从古堡Castelo de Sao Jorge的视角 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

访问 圣乔治城堡,一座11th世纪摩尔人城堡栖息在里斯本高处。 对于权力的游戏时刻,爬上它的十一座石塔的城墙。 有一个迷人的博物馆和从这个前皇家住宅的城市令人印象深刻的意见。 在Joao的路上,您可以通过里斯本第一个街区之一Alfama的扭曲街道向您展示15th 世纪 贝伦角楼 并推荐一些很棒的餐馆。

进餐

来自Conservia de Lisboa的罐装海鲜制作了一份可爱的纪念品,但是看着你的行李限制,他们很沉重 - 照片Debra Smith

来自Conservia de Lisboa的罐装海鲜制作了一份可爱的纪念品,但是看着你的行李限制,他们很沉重 - 照片Debra Smith

凭借与香料贸易的这种历史性和紧密联系,难怪里斯本的食物如此美味。 对于一个偶然的叮咬,下降到 超时市场,在Baxia-Chiado区,步行可至Commercio广场。 这间光线充足的翻新仓库内部摆放着40供应商,销售从新鲜制作的意大利面,奶酪和海鲜到比萨饼,牛排和沙拉。 品尝一些美味的葡萄牙绿葡萄酒和甜点,来自Manteigaria Fabrica de Pasteis de Nata的烤箱蛋羹温暖,可以说是城里最好的。

Time Out Market是休息和品尝葡萄牙特色菜的好地方 - 照片是Debra Smith

Time Out Market是休息和品尝葡萄牙特色菜的好地方 - 照片是Debra Smith

Jose Avillez是葡萄牙最具创新精神的厨师之一,将他的两项米其林星级技巧和El Bulli背景与传统的葡萄牙海鲜料理结合在Pateo Bairro do Avillez。 Barrio do Avillez不仅仅只有一家餐厅,它为每种口味和预算提供了一些东西:在Taberna(每天午夜到午夜),美味熟食店(带走或啃食)的美食熟食店,以及二楼的Cantina Peruana供应当代秘鲁美食以及皮斯科酒吧。

Bairro do Avillez的好吃的海鲜 - 照片Debra Smith

Bairro do Avillez的好吃的海鲜 - 照片Debra Smith

有时计划旅行中最难的部分是决定留在哪里。 如果您将Martinhal豪华家庭酒店作为您在葡萄牙的主基地,这不会成为问题。 他们注重每一个细节,从特殊的托儿设施与负责任的,训练有素的工作人员到奶瓶加热器和坐便器。 没有孩子的夫妻也会发现他们的价格合理,而且地点很有吸引力。

在Martinhal Chiado家庭套房的Bar M餐厅享用早餐(或桌上),照片为Debra Smith

在Martinhal Chiado家庭套房的Bar M餐厅享用早餐(或桌上),照片为Debra Smith

他们最新的精品物业, Martinhal Chiado家庭套房位于里斯本的中心地带,靠近城市的所有景点,无论是家庭出游的老式电车还是两晚的浪漫之夜。

三十七间宽敞的公寓式套房设有高大的双层玻璃窗,木制百叶窗俯瞰里斯本的赤土屋顶。 阳光照射在超现代的小厨房,木地板,白色墙壁和原色柔软的软垫家具上。 任何家具都没有硬角落供小孩子碰到,而年龄较大的孩子会喜欢折叠式双层床墙壁单元。 儿童俱乐部宽敞明亮,提供各种活动,游戏和玩具。 还有一面攀岩墙。 有监督的游戏从凌晨到下午10可用。之后,护理人员将陪伴孩子进入他们的公寓。 无需携带婴儿床,婴儿推车,奶瓶消毒器或更多必需品。 请提前联系家庭礼宾部,并安排他们等候您。

从多伦多到里斯本的直飞航班,搭乘美味的免费葡萄牙美食和葡萄酒开始您的旅程 葡萄牙航空公司。 可爱的里斯本正在张开双臂等待着你。

这位作家是他的客人 Martinhal Chiado家庭套房 参观新葡京 而在里斯本。 一如既往,她的意见是她自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Where to Play and Stay in Portugal: Lisbon

Think of Lisbon as San Francisco’s older, cooler cousin. It has seven hills ringing a historic harbour, painted streetcars, seafood you’ll long for after you leave and a history that stretches back more than a thousand years.

where to stay and play Lisbon Portugal

See

In a crowded restaurant in Lisbon, as the lights in the stuccoed arches dim, the chatter and clatter of utensils stops and silence falls. A man emerges from the shadows, hands in pockets, a fedora pulled down low, and he starts to sing. It’s so rare to hear a pure, unamplified human voice these days that my heart begins to race as Ricardo Ribeiro pours his heart into the room. I am listening to Fado, songs of love and loss and joy, a genre born in Lisbon, its origins lost in time. My first night in Lisbon was spent at O Faia, a traditional Portuguese restaurant and Casa deFado (Fado house). There’s no better introduction to this city that wears its heart on its sleeve.

Many streetcar lines help visitors and locals navigate the hills of Lisbon - photo Debra Smith

Many streetcar lines help visitors and locals navigate the hills of Lisbon – photo Debra Smith

 

Although Lisbon was almost entirely destroyed by an earthquake and tsunami in 1755, its history and traditions stayed strong. Some of the oldest buildings, like the Moorish Castelo de Sao Jorge (Castle of St. Jorge), are still intact. The hills are crisscrossed with narrow streets, stone staircases and streetcar tracks. Tall buildings covered in azulejos, colourful, hand-painted tiles and adorned with wrought iron balconies hug distinctive stone mosaic sidewalks called calcada. Don’t let the hills stop you; central Lisbon is compact and walkable with excellent public transportation.

Rossio Square is filled with fountains and flowers - photo Debra Smith

Rossio Square is filled with fountains and flowers – photo Debra Smith

Follow the north bank of the Targus River to splendid Commercio Square, filled with classical 18th-century buildings and a massive, statue laden triumphal arch. Buskers and musicians entertain on the shore while roving wine carts offer sips by the glass.  Just past the east end of the square, drop into the Conservia de Lisboa, a tiny, family-run shop that has been selling tinned seafood (a Lisbon speciality) for over 80 years. Take Rua dos Sapateiros, one of the main shopping streets, north to Rua de Santa Justa and look to the left to see the splendid wrought-iron Eiffel-inspired Santa Justa Lift. Opened in 1902, the seven-story elevator still serves as a shortcut from the street below to Carmo Square on the hillside above. An observation deck at the very top offers a panoramic view of the city. Continue north, and you’ll find Lisbon’s central square, Rossio, with its fountains, statues and flower sellers. Just to the left of the National Theatre at the north of the square is the art nouveau style Lisbon Train Station on Rua Romana.

Commercio Square glows in the sunset by the Targa River in Lisbon - photo Debra Smith

Commercio Square glows in the sunset by the Targa River in Lisbon – photo Debra Smith

Do

Once you’ve seen some of the sights, I’d recommend spending a day with Joao Santana Domingos of Heritage Tours for more profound insights into the art, culture and history of Lisbon. “They say the Portuguese are like mosquitos,” Joao says, “you can find them everywhere”. Beginning in the 15th century, Portuguese sailors expanded the empire to include Brazil, parts of the African coast and Sri Lanka. They were the first to venture to China and Japan and even reached Nova Scotia.

The delicate columns of the Jeronimos Monastery - photo Debra Smith

The delicate columns of the Jeronimos Monastery – photo Debra Smith

Tour the massive Jeronimos Monastery, a UNESCO World Heritage site with Joao, and he’ll point out sea motifs like starfish, navigational tools and sailors’ knots combined with high Gothic architecture in a unique style called Manueline. Slender stone columns stretch high above the tomb of Vasco de Gama, the famous explorer who discovered the spice route to India, while elephants and tigers adorn other niches, symbols of the reach of the Portuguese fleet.

The view from the ancient Castelo de Sao Jorge - photo Debra Smith

The view from the ancient Castelo de Sao Jorge – photo Debra Smith

Visit the Castelo de Sao Jorge, an 11th-century Moorish castle perched at high above Lisbon. For a Game of Thrones moment, climb the ramparts of its eleven stone towers. There’s a fascinating museum and impressive views of the city from this former royal residence. On the way down Joao can walk you through the twisting streets of the Alfama, one of the first neighbourhoods of Lisbon, show you the 15th century Belem watchtower and recommend some great restaurants.

Dine

Tinned seafood from the Conservia de Lisboa makes a lovely souvenir, but watch your bag limit, they're heavy - photo Debra Smith

Tinned seafood from the Conservia de Lisboa makes a lovely souvenir, but watch your bag limit, they’re heavy – photo Debra Smith

With such a historic and close connection to the spice trade, it’s no wonder the food in Lisbon is so good. For a casual bite, drop in to the Time Out Market, in the Baxia-Chiado district, walking distance from Commercio Square. This light-filled renovated warehouse is lined with over 40 vendors selling everything from freshly made pasta, cheeses and seafood to pizza, steak and salad. Sample some delicious Portuguese green wine and for dessert, warm-from-the-oven custard tarts from Manteigaria Fabrica de Pasteis de Nata, arguably the best in town.

The Time Out Market is a great place to take a break and sample some Portuguese specialties - photo Debra Smith

The Time Out Market is a great place to take a break and sample some Portuguese specialities – photo Debra Smith

One of Portugal’s most innovative chefs, Jose Avillez combines his two Michelin star skills and El Bulli background with traditional Portuguese seafood dishes at Pateo in Bairro do Avillez. More than just one restaurant, Barrio do Avillez has something for every taste and budget: A gourmet deli with tasty charcuterie (take away or munch in) at Taberna (noon to midnight daily), plus Cantina Peruana on the second floor serving contemporary Peruvian food along with a Pisco bar.

Sinfully good seafood at Bairro do Avillez - photo Debra Smith

Sinfully good seafood at Bairro do Avillez – photo Debra Smith

Stay

Sometimes the hardest part of planning a trip is deciding where to stay. That won’t be a problem if you make Martinhal luxury family hotels your home base in Portugal. They pay attention to every detail, from exceptional child care facilities with responsible, trained staff members to bottle warmers and potty seats. Couples without children will also find their rates affordable and the locations attractive.

Breakfast in the car (or at a table) at Bar M at Martinhal Chiado Family Suites is included - photo Debra Smith

Breakfast in the car (or at a table) at Bar M at Martinhal Chiado Family Suites is included – photo Debra Smith

Their newest boutique property, Martinhal Chiado Family Suites, is right in the heart of Lisbon, close to everything the city has to offer, whether it’s a family outing on a vintage streetcar or a romantic night for two on the town.

Thirty-seven expansive apartment-style suites have tall double-glazed windows with wooden shutters that overlook Lisbon’s terracotta rooftops. The sun shines in on ultramodern kitchenettes, wood floors, white walls and soft upholstered furniture in primary colours. There are no hard corners on any of the furnishings for little ones to run into, and older kids will love the fold down bunk bed wall units. The Kids’ Club is spacious and bright, with tons of activities, games, and toys. There’s also a climbing wall.  Supervised play is available from early morning until 10 p.m. After that, caregivers will stay with the children in their apartment. No need to bring cribs, strollers, bottle sterilisers or more necessities with you. Simply contact the family concierge in advance and arrange to have them waiting for you.

Start your trip with delicious complimentary Portuguese food and wine on direct flights from Toronto to Lisbon on TAP Air Portugal. Lovely Lisbon is waiting for you with open arms.

The writer was a guest of Martinhal Chiado Family Suites and Visit Lisboa while in Lisbon. As always, her opinions are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *