新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术

冬季魔术在新斯科舍省的白点海滩 - 主小屋

当我将婴儿车推向新斯科舍省南岸怀特波因特海滩度假村宏伟的主体小屋时,大西洋清晨闪烁着一万亿颗微小的钻石。 空气很冷,阳光明媚。 纯净,美丽的冬季魔法。

我的目光吸引到了看起来像一块大白色的岩石,坐在一些草丛中间。 然后我注意到耳朵抽搐。 兔子!

新斯科舍的白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 喂养兔子

在夏季,白点海滩度假村(White Point Beach Resort)是成千上万个白点的“小屋”:来自世界各地的夫妇和家庭,年复一年地回来。 到1960年代在怀特波恩度蜜月的情侣回到海滩玩耍,或在大洋对面的淡水湖上玩耍,那里有皮划艇,桨板和小船。 有些人会停留数周,以怀特波因特(White Point)为基地,探索南岸的海滩和国家公园。 也有几位知名名人在这里度假……但是,我当然不能说谁!

在这个寒冷的十一月周末,我的家人来到这里重新建立联系。 当天晚些时候,我在White Point Beach Spa预定了按摩服务。 我等不及了同时,我要带两个孩子(六岁和一岁)吃早餐,而老公则喜欢沿着周围树林中的小径奔跑。

新斯科舍的白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 在海滩上运行

我六岁的孩子正忙于与新的独立感保持联系,现在正奔波在我前面的海滩上,不久便消失在角落里,独自进入了主屋。 这是我们第一次放假“放她走”,感觉很棒。

渐渐地,我们放松。

当我赶上我的女儿时,她会与前台的工作人员热情地聊天(可能第六次向他们展示她的松动的牙齿),或者坐在我们的早餐桌前准备好,等我帮她用鸡蛋填满她的盘子,培根在美味的自助餐。

六岁及以下的孩子在白点(White Point)免费用餐。 对于父母来说,您是否知道海洋100米之内所消耗的任何物质都不含卡路里? 这是值得记住的,因为白点(White Point)的食物非常棒,特别是Elliot的午餐菜单(我推荐梨和火腿比萨)。 也推荐星期六晚上自助餐。 从泰国汤到烤牛肉再到太妃糖布丁,您很少见到如此多的菜式都很好。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 餐饮

我深深地呼出一口凉爽的十一月的空气,思考着我多么喜欢淡季家庭旅行的相对平静……以及我多么疯狂地爱上了白点镇。

我认为没有人会一次来过这里。 就像魔术一样,它吸引了您。

White Point的神奇之处之一就是感觉完全安全。 这里不需要一架直升机。 实际上,在怀特波恩特(White Point)育儿绝对是更多 滑翔 经验丰富,归功于娱乐人员的细心–友好的当地青少年,他们是客户服务方面的专家。 每周一整天都有儿童监督活动。 也可以安排保姆服务。 没有什么太大的麻烦。

怀特波因特(White Point)一直是家庭度假的特殊场所-度假村的声誉很高-但自两年前对这座拥有84年历史的老旅馆进行全面翻修以来,儿童设施十分出色。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 民间艺术

在旅馆的较低楼层,有一间游戏室,配有乒乓球,沙狐球,8球和桌上足球。 大窗户朝海望去,形成一种错视效果:有时当您在楼下时,您会感觉自己实际上已淹没在海中,或至少与海平面齐平。 白天,酒店餐厅某些窗户的效果相同。 感觉很棒:我没有想到的一种联系。

游戏室旁边是儿童区,装饰有当地民间艺术品,舒适的沙发和豆袋,装饰明亮。 娱乐办公室提供棋盘游戏和DVD,可带回您的小屋。 每天晚上,都会在海滩篝火旁放上棉花糖,然后是故事时间,家庭电影,然后在篝火旁放牛奶和饼干。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村 - 儿童区的冬季魔术

照片提供白点海滩度假村

在白点(White Point)的第一个晚上,是S'mores在大火旁。 一半的“孩子”都在40岁以上,他们快乐地坐在石壁炉前,像孩子一样舔着手指上的棉花糖。 的确是魔术!

同样在较低楼层,有一个大型室内游泳池,比我参观过的任何酒店游泳池都干净。 更衣室很宽敞,与某些连锁酒店不同,没有滑动按键可将您拒之门外。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 游泳池

照片提供白点海滩度假村

我们住的两居室小屋也很神奇:既质朴又完全豪华。 简陋的家具和陈旧的灯具与现代浴室设备,舒适的新床和新鲜的白色床单形成鲜明对比。 客厅配有燃木壁炉,并配有度假胜地提供的干木,点燃的报纸和干报纸。 其他一切都与四星级酒店所期望的完全一样:一个体面大小的酒吧冰箱,水壶,咖啡壶,精美的洗护用品,一部室内电话,以及一个小小的招牌,邀请您重新使用毛巾。 真的非常好。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术小屋

在我们的小屋里,另一个不错的接触是一个没有包装的旅行婴儿床,它为婴儿设置了一张特殊的床单。 我知道我要求这样做,但我住过的酒店里,一个没有包装的婴儿床已经毫无顾虑地被放在房间的角落里,准备好让我安装了。 在White Point这种事情不会发生在这里。 即使是家政服务也是一流的。

因为我们在那间小屋花的时间很少,所以很难多说些小屋。 即使在XNUMX月,我们的大部分时间都花在外面:在沙滩上,在小径上,在操场上……或为兔子喂食。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 儿童和兔子

兔子是怀特波因特的主要景点。 有数百个,散布在度假胜地周围。 鼓励客人喂养他们,为此目的,小屋正门有许多精美呈现的兔子食品可供任何人免费食用! 在礼品店里,主题是兔子。 在饼干时间有姜饼兔子。 甚至还有一个吉祥物,哈维(Harvey),比生活中的兔子还大,偶尔会出来向孩子们打招呼。 是的,白点滩(White Point Beach)完全对兔子感到疯狂。

兔子的历史很简单,但并不为人所知。 据说,大约20年前,一些当地的孩子把几个4H兔子当做家养宠物,留给照顾白点船屋的人照顾。 当住在船屋时,这些兔子逃脱并开始与当地的兔子种群交配。 多年来,兔子们-嗯-他们做了兔子最擅长的事情,现在有成百上千的兔子:耐寒,蓬松,驯服的人口不断增长。

新斯科舍白点海滩度假村的冬季魔术 - 喂兔子的儿童

甚至我们的小孩也被兔子所吸引,每次看到兔子都会尖叫。 奇迹般地,他设法抚摸了一只特别驯服的兔子的皮毛。 他高兴地尖叫着,兔子sc了。 对于14个月大的婴儿和他的大姐姐而言,这是一次了不起的经历,他的姐姐站在凉爽的新鲜空气中笑着。

当我们告别了我们的小屋,美妙的主要小屋,巨大的海洋,高超的专业工作人员,当然还有兔子,我觉得我正在向第二个家庭说再见。

现在我们也是白色指针,我们正在计算直到返回的日子。

新斯科舍的白点海滩度假村的兔子冬季魔术

白点海滩度假村详细信息:

地址: 白点海滩,皇后郡,新斯科舍省,B0T 1G0
电话: 北美免费电话:1.800.565.5068
网站: http://www.whitepoint.com
Facebook账号: https://www.facebook.com/whitepointbeachresort
Twitter: @WhitePointBeach
Instagram: whitepointbeachresort

海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)是一位基于哈利法克斯(Halifax)的旅行作家。 她和她的家人是白点海滩度假村的客人。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
3条评论
  1. 5年2014月XNUMX日
    • <span class="notranslate">2020年2月25日</span>
  2. 5年2014月XNUMX日

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia’s White Point Beach Resort

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach- Main Lodge

The early morning Atlantic Ocean shimmers like a trillion tiny diamonds as I push our stroller toward the magnificent main lodge at White Point Beach Resort on Nova Scotia’s South Shore. The air is cold, the sun is bright. Pure, beautiful winter magic.

My gaze is drawn to what looks like  a big white rock, sitting in the middle of some sea grass. Then I notice an ear twitch. A bunny!

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- feeding bunnies

During the summer, White Point Beach Resort is “the cottage” to thousands of White-Pointers: couples and families from all over the world who come back year after year. Lovers who honeymooned at White Point in the 1960’s return to play with their grandchildren on the beach, or have fun on the freshwater lake which sits opposite the ocean, furnished with kayaks, paddle boards and boats. Some stay for weeks, using White Point as a base from which to explore the beaches and National parks of the South Shore. There are several big-name celebrities who vacation here too…but of course, I can’t say who!

On this cold November weekend, my family has come here to reconnect. I have a massage booked later in the day at the White Point Beach Spa. I can’t wait. In the meantime,  I am taking both children (six and one years old) to breakfast, while hubby enjoys a run along the trails in the surrounding woods.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- running on beach

My six year-old, who is busy connecting with her new sense of independence, is now running across the beach ahead of me, soon to disappear around the corner into the main lodge all by herself. This is the first time we have “let her go” on vacation, and it feels great.

Gradually, we unwind.

When I catch up with my daughter she will either be chatting enthusiastically to the front desk staff (possibly showing them her loose tooth for the sixth time) or sitting ready at our breakfast table, waiting for me to help her fill her plate with eggs and bacon at the scrumptious buffet.

Kids six and under eat free at White Point. And for parents, did you know that anything consumed within 100 metres of the ocean is calorie-free? This is worth remembering, since the the food at White Point is superb, specially Elliot’s lunchtime menu (I recommend the pear and prosciutto pizza). The Saturday night buffet is also to be recommended. Rarely do you see such a variety of dishes- from Thai soup to roast beef to sticky toffee pudding- all good.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- dining

Deeply, I exhale into the cool November air and reflect on how much I love the relative peace of low season family travel… and how madly I have fallen in love with White Point.

I don’t think anyone ever comes here just once.  Like magic, it draws you back.

Part of the magic of White Point is that it feels completely safe. There is no need to be a helicopter here. In fact, parenting at White Point  is definitely more of a gliding experience, due to the ever-attentive recreation staff – friendly local teenagers who are experts in customer service. There are supervised children’s activities all day, every day of the week. Babysitting can be arranged too. Nothing is too much trouble.

White Point has always been a special place for families, – the resort’s reputation is strong- but since the complete rebuild of the 84-year old main lodge two years ago, the facilities for kids are outstanding.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- folk art

On the lower level of the lodge there is a  games room complete with table tennis, shuffleboard, 8-ball, and a fussball table.  Large windows look out to the sea, creating a kind of trompe de l’oeil: sometimes when you are downstairs you feel like you are actually submerged in the sea, or at least level with it.  There is the same effect from some of the  windows in the hotel dining room during the day. It feels amazing: one connection I didn’t expect.

Next to the games room is the kids zone, brightly decorated with local folk art, a  comfy sofa and beanbags. Board games and DVDs are available in the recreation office to take back to your cottage.  Every evening, there is a beach bonfire with marshmallows, followed by story time, a family movie and then milk and cookies by the fire.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- kids' zone

Photo courtesy of White Point Beach Resort

On our first night at White Point it was S’mores by the fire. Half the “kids” were over 40 years old, happily sitting in front of the stone fireplace, licking marshmallows off their fingers like children. Magic  indeed!

Also on the lower level, there is a large indoor swimming pool, cleaner than any hotel pool I have visited.  The changing rooms are ample, and unlike some chain hotels,  there are no swipe keys to lock you out.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- swimming pool

Photo courtesy of White Point Beach Resort

The two-bedroom cottage we are staying in is magical too: both rustic – and completely luxurious. Humble furniture and dated light fittings are contrasted by modern bath fixtures, comfortable new beds and fresh white linens. The living room has  a wood-burning fireplace complete with bone-dry wood, kindling and dry newspaper provided by the resort. Everything else is exactly as you would expect from a four-star hotel: a decent-sized bar fridge, kettle, coffee-maker, nice toiletries, an in-house phone and that little sign inviting you to re-use your towels. It’s all really very nice.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- cottages

The other nice touch in our cottage was a pack n’play travel crib, set up with a special sheet for the baby. I know I requested this, but I have stayed at hotels where an unpacked crib has been plonked unceremoniously in the corner of the room, ready for me to set up. That kind of thing would never happen here at White Point. Even the housekeeping service is nothing short of first class.

It’s hard to say much more about the cottage since we spend so little time there. Even in November, the majority of our time is spent outside: at the beach, on the trails,  in the playground…or feeding the bunnies.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- children and bunnies

The bunnies are a major attraction at White Point.  There are  hundreds of them, dotted around the grounds of the resort. Guests are encouraged to feed them, and to this end, there is  a stockpile of beautifully presented bunny food at the main entrance to the lodge free for anyone to take! In the gift shop, the theme is bunnies. At cookie-time there are gingerbread bunnies. There is even a mascot, Harvey, a larger than life bunny who comes out once in a while to greet the kids. Yup, White Point Beach is completely crazy about bunnies.

The history of the bunnies is very simple, but not well-known. As the story goes, some local children, about 20 years ago, kept a few 4H bunnies as domestic pets, and  left them in the care of the person who looked after the boathouse at White Point. While living at the boathouse, the bunnies escaped and began mating with the local rabbit population. Over the years, the bunnies, well, -ahem- they did what bunnies do best, and now there are hundreds and hundreds of them: winter-hardy, fluffy, tame -and constantly growing in population.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- children feeding bunnies

Even our little toddler is taken with the bunnies, shrieking each time he sees one.  Miraculously, he manages to touch the fur of one particularly tame rabbit. He screams in delight and the bunny scampers. What an amazing experience for a 14 month-old, and for his big sister who stands by laughing in the cool, fresh air.

As we say goodbye to our cottage, the wonderful main lodge, the thumping ocean, the superbly professional staff, and of course the bunnies, I feel like I am saying goodbye to a second home.

Now we too are White Pointers, and we are counting the days until we return.

Winter Magic at Nova Scotia's White Point Beach Resort- bunny

White Point Beach Resort Details:

Address: White Point Beach, Queens County, Nova Scotia, B0T 1G0
Phone: Toll-Free in North America: 1.800.565.5068
Website: http://www.whitepoint.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/whitepointbeachresort
Twitter: @WhitePointBeach
Instagram: whitepointbeachresort

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based travel writer. She and her family were guests of White Point Beach Resort.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
3 Comments
  1. December 5, 2014
    • February 10, 2015
  2. December 5, 2014

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.