值得周末:如何充分利用快速旅行

这个周末我们有什么好玩的吗?

这是我家的常见问题。 在运动和家庭作业之间,为运动筹款,举行生日聚会和游泳课之间(让我检查一下日历,我想我忘记了……),乐趣可以是一个相对的名词。 我们同意的一件事很有趣,那就是旅行。 尽管整整一周(或更长时间!)的假期是一件美事,但并非总是可行的。

那么,为什么不打包您的通宵包以便在接下来的周末里快速旅行,并使其成为对所有人真正有趣的两天呢? 我很幸运,最近能快速去波士顿和纽约市旅行,这就是我如何充分利用它的方法,以及如何做到的!

在冬天期间,在一个池塘的一座桥梁在中央公园

计划参观的最佳时间。 非高峰旅行有优势,但天气不是其中之一! 一月份中央公园有点冷。

制定一个计划: 规划是我度假的最喜欢的部分之一。 我喜欢研究我们要去的地方,要做的事情,以及阅读其他人的经验和建议。 当你的时间有限时,计划是不可或缺的:你只有很短的时间,所以没有时间去抖动! 一个帮助您决定“必看”的好地方是当地的旅游网站。 1月底我在纽约冬季郊游期间在纽约,其中包括2-for-1门票,可以选择百老汇演出和顶级景点,还有餐厅的特殊prix-fixe菜单,我不会我知道它是不是为了 NYCgo网站。 从气候角度来看,冬季到东海岸是一个有点冒险的时间,但计划快速访问非高峰期可能值得你花时间,财务方面。 相反,您可能会发现一些您最喜欢的景点已经关闭,或者想要在寒冷的气温下排队表演,孩子们太多了。 在这种情况下,最好在温暖的月份保存它。

纽约CityPASS C3选项可让您选择三个景点,例如自由女神像和埃利斯岛

为灵活性留出空间: 进行规划对于确保必不可少,但是您需要留出一些灵活性的空间。 如果您无法随心所欲地打滚,那么您可能会错过时钟或计划器的时间。 当我在波士顿时,正处于超级碗发烧的痛苦中。 我只是足球迷中最肤浅的一员,可能永远也不会安排任何与运动有关的事情。 尽管如此,对当地团队的热情还是充满感染力,我们花时间浏览Pats用具以参加娱乐活动成为了一种感觉,就像感觉自己要成为这座城市的一部分一样。 如果我太专注于《计划》,那本来是会错过的经验。

在超计划和不知所措之间取得平衡可能很难。 像这样的观光通行证 纽约市通行证 可以帮助。 如果您的短途旅行意味着您没有时间参观六个景点并充分利用常规CityPASS,他们提供一个 “C3”选项。 C3让您从纽约十个最受欢迎的景点中选择三个。 而且您不必提前决定您将看到哪三个景点 - 您可以随时随地选择!

The Gray Line Best of Boston手推车游览Beacon Hill并经过州议会大厦

得到土地: 如果您是第一次访问某个地方,尤其是快速旅行,我建议您游览。 实际上,我建议您参加所有旅行! 在专家的指导下,游览是一种集中观看重点景点的好方法。 例如,我在大都会艺术博物馆(Metropolitan Art Museum)接受了绘画速成课程,在小时游览中看到和学习​​的东西远远超过了我独自漫无目的游荡的过程。 我们又在埃利斯岛(Ellis Island)和自由女神像(Buss of Liberty)进行了一次巡回演出,并花了三个小时在波士顿进行了定向培训,并在那里进行了“波士顿最佳”巡回演出。 灰线波士顿。 一辆可爱的无轨电车带我们经过许多历史悠久的波士顿景点,在科普利广场,芬威公园和查尔斯顿海军造船厂的宪法号停靠。 叙述之旅给了我们一些有趣的波士顿见解,并帮助我们缩小了我们想要回去进行更深入访问的地点。

YOTEL小屋的紫色灯光有一种时髦的感觉; 大堂的YOBOT以Jetsons式的方式存放和取回行李

留在行动的核心: 如果您要去世界一流的城市旅行,那么要紧紧抓住行动的中心。 YOTEL纽约 是一个你想要看的地方; 位于市中心,步行即可到达时代广场,哈德逊河,并可轻松前往地铁站。 它不是一个家庭旅馆,但有可用的双层床,太空时代的照明设计,和 大堂里的一个机器人,这绝对是孩子们可以踢出的地方。 这里气氛友好,我喜欢在酒店时尚的社交空间中与其他客人聊天,这在每家酒店中都不可行或不可取! 我的机舱(我不确定他们是去飞船还是在游轮上拍摄影像,但是YOTEL的房间称为机舱)非常舒适(阅读:小),但非常合适。 我喜欢提高效率的方式,例如床可以折叠成休息室,以便在白天腾出更多空间。 在短途旅行中,房间的大小按重要性顺序排在后面,因为实际上,您不太会进入房间! 在波士顿,我们住在剑桥的河对岸,这很可爱,但是当我们想进城时,这意味着要花费更多的旅行时间。 这带给我下一个考虑。

纽约市的地铁是一种快速,廉价的出行方式,将我们带入了行动的核心

时间就是金钱: 我和下一个加仑一样喜欢讨价还价。 可能更多。 但是,在时间紧迫的情况下,您可能会面临不得不在“昂贵”和“耗时”之间进行选择的情况。航班-即直飞,昂贵或转机且便宜的航班通常属于此类。 这也是城市交通的考虑因素。 在纽约,地铁通常和叫出租车一样快。 从我在波士顿的地方坐公交车就足够了,但是在大多数情况下,UBER仍然被证明是一种更有效的出行方式。 另一个节省时间的策略是搜索免排队门票。 例如,CityPASS上的一些景点可让您绕过等待路线,然后直接进入。如果您在旅游高峰期旅行,可以节省很多时间。 同样,提前进行一些研究可以帮助您确定可以节省的地方,以及何时才需要多花钱。

最重要的是,要记住的关键是这只是一个周末,而您正处在绝佳的目的地! 即使没有任何结果,您的计划也会崩溃,您花费太多的钱,每个人都很痛苦……这只是一个快速的旅程。 您可以随时接办!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

fbpx

Worthwhile Weekends: How to make the most of a quick trip

Are we doing anything fun this weekend?

It’s a common question in my house. Between sports and homework, and fundraising for the sports, and birthday parties, and swimming lessons (let me check my calendar, I think I forget something…) fun can be a relative term. One thing we agree is fun, however, is a trip. And while full-on weeklong (or longer!) vacations are a beautiful thing, they aren’t always feasible.

So why not pack your overnight bag for a quick trip in the coming weekends and make it two days that are truly fun for all? I was lucky enough to take quick trips to Boston and New York City recently, and here’s how I made the most of it, and how you can too!

A bridge over a pond in Central Park during the winter

Plan for the best time to visit. Off-peak travel has advantages, but the weather is not one of them! Central Park was a little chilly in January.

Make a plan: Planning is one of my favourite parts of the vacation. I love researching where we are going, the things to do, and reading other people’s experiences and advice. When your time is limited planning is integral: you’ve only got a short time, so there is no time for dithering! A great place to help you decide your “must-sees” is the local tourism website. I was in New York at the end of January, during “NYC Winter Outing,” which features 2-for-1 tickets to select Broadway shows and top attractions, plus special prix-fixe menus at a whack of restaurants, which I wouldn’t have known if it wasn’t for the NYCgo website. Mid-winter is admittedly a bit of a dicey time to be visiting the Eastern Seaboard, weather-wise, but planning for a quick visit off-peak can be worth your while, finances-wise. Conversely, you might find some of your favourite attractions are closed, or the thought of lining up for a show in the frigid temperatures with kids too much to bear. In that case, better save it for the warmer months.

The New York CityPASS C3 option lets you choose three attractions to visit, the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island for example

Leave room for flexibility:  Planning is essential to be sure, but you need to leave some room for flexibility. If you can’t roll with the punches, you might miss out while your eyes are stuck on the clock or your planner. Boston was in the throes of Superbowl fever when I was there. I am only the most superficial of football fans and would probably never have scheduled any time for anything related to sports. Still, the enthusiasm [crazed fervour] for the local team was infectious, and the time we spent browsing Pats paraphernalia to join in the fun ending up being a great way to feel like we were getting to be a part of the city; an experience I would have missed out on if I had been too dedicated to The Plan.

It can be hard to strike a balance between hyper-planned and willy-nilly. A sight-seeing pass like the New York CityPASS can help. If your short trip means you wouldn’t have time to visit six attractions and make full use of the regular CityPASS, they offer a “C3” option. The C3 lets you choose three from ten of the most popular attractions in NYC. And you don’t have to decide ahead of time which three attractions you are going to see—you can choose on the go!

The Grey Line Best of Boston trolley tour takes visits through Beacon Hill and past the State House

Get the lay of the land: If you are visiting a place for the first time, especially if it’s a quick trip, I recommend taking a tour. In fact, I recommend taking all the tours! Tours are a great way to see the highlights in a focused way, guided by an expert.  For instance, I got a crash course in paintings at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, seeing and learning far more in the hour tour than I would have wandering aimlessly on my own. We took another tour at Ellis Island and to the Statue of Liberty and spent three hours well getting oriented in Boston, where we took the “Best of Boston” tour with Grey Line Boston. A cute trolley bus took us past lots of historic Boston spots, with stops at Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the USS Constitution at the Charleston Navy Yard. The narrated tour gave us some fun insights into Boston, plus helped us narrow down the spots we wanted to go back for a more in-depth visit.

The purple lighting in the cabin at YOTEL has a funky feel; the YOBOT in the lobby stores and retrieves luggage in a Jetsons-esque way

Stay in the heart of the action: If you are taking a trip to a world-class city, staying in the heart of the action is where it’s at.  YOTEL New York is a place you will want to check out; located in Midtown, walking distance from Times Square, the Hudson River, and easy access to the subway. It doesn’t bill itself as a family hotel, but with available bunk beds, space-age lighting design, and A ROBOT IN THE LOBBY, it’s definitely a place kids will get a kick out of. It had a friendly vibe, and I enjoyed chatting with other guests in the funky social spaces of the hotel—not feasible or advisable at every hotel! My cabin (I’m not sure if they are going for spaceship or cruise ship imagery, but rooms at the YOTEL are called cabins) was very cosy (read: small) but it suited just fine. I liked the efficiency touches—like the bed that folded itself up into a lounge to make more room during the day. On short trips, room size takes a backseat to the location in order of importance, because really, you’re not going to be in the room very much! In Boston, we stayed across the river in Cambridge, which was lovely but translated into more travel time when we wanted to go into the city. Which brings me to the next consideration.

The subway in NYC was a quick, cheap way to get around that delivered us into the heart of the action

Time is money: I like a bargain as much as the next gal. Possibly more. But when time is of the essence, you will likely be faced with the situation where you have to choose between “expensive” and “time-consuming.” Flights—i.e. direct and costly or connecting and cheaper often fall into this category.  This can be a consideration for transportation in the city as well. In New York, the subway was often just as quick as hailing a cab. From where I was in Boston, public transit was sufficient, but UBER still proved to be a more efficient way to travel in most cases. Another time-saving tactic is to search out skip-the-line tickets. For instance, some of the attractions on the CityPASS let you bypass the waiting and head right in. If you are travelling during the peak tourism season, this can save you a lot of time. Again, a little research ahead of time can help you determine where you can save, and when it just makes more sense to pay a little extra.

Above all, the critical thing to remember is it’s just a weekend, and you are in a fabulous destination! Even if nothing works out, your plan falls apart, you spend too much money, and everyone is miserable…it’s just a quick trip. You can always take a do-over!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.