fbpx

在爱丁堡害怕,非常害怕

爱丁堡是苏格兰的首府,适合闹鬼和历史之旅。

徒步旅行在爱丁堡结束时关闭 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

徒步旅行在爱丁堡结束时关闭 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

'守望者'潜伏在黑暗的石头走廊前方的阴影中吗?

我最小的女儿在苏格兰迷人的首都爱丁堡的街道下方的无空气,几乎是幽闭恐惧的洞穴里没有任何机会。

通常泡状,健美的tween握住我的手,挤得更近,因为我们在听着Stephanie的灯光昏暗的拱顶里挤在一起,我们的黑色披风 梅尔卡之旅 在城市的黑社会中编织了一个阴谋故事,那里曾经是最穷的穷人,爱丁堡的抢劫者和犯罪分子找到了避难所。

“我们现在站在最闹鬼的房间里,”斯蒂芬妮说,当我们停下来穿过南桥的18世纪拱门形成的怪异,不平坦的拱形房间时。 在这里,我们挤在一起,倾斜的天花板放牧着我们的头。 斯蒂芬妮在黑暗中握着摇曳的蜡烛。

我大一点儿的孩子,几乎精神饱满,完全投入,绝不会把眼睛从她身上移开。

爱丁堡梅尔卡旅游指南斯蒂芬妮 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

爱丁堡梅尔卡旅游指南斯蒂芬妮 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

“给闹鬼最多的房间的名字是白厅。 这位观察家喜欢这个房间,“她对一群不安分的人群说道,谈到引起恐惧的精神,他们看着,看着,有时推动,拉扯头发,而且应该是在这个房间里最强壮的人。 。

我们听不到上面的爱丁堡的事情,在一次性的贫民窟中关闭地下,被遗忘超过100年。

一个1985挖掘揭示了这个历史,地下穹窿原本是企业和小酒馆的家园,然后是贫穷和犯罪的条件恶化,只有绝望才能容忍。 斯蒂芬妮说,环境变得如此糟糕,人们不得不被强行拆除。

“人们在这里看到了一些东西,”她说,当她在远处听到的声音和脚步声,从房间到房间的温度变化,挥之不去的香水或雪茄烟的味道时,她说,穿裤子或出现在照片中。

我们没有来到爱丁堡 - 华丽,迷人,标志性的爱丁堡 - 参加闹鬼的旅行,但它已成为一个亮点。

Canongate的一座坟墓 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Canongate的一座坟墓 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

爱丁堡是一个皇家接待,叛乱和骚乱的城市,它充满了地上和地下的刺痛故事。 我们想要沉浸在这段历史中。

对游客来说幸运的是,有许多幽灵之旅,而且都很有趣,尤其是那些进入城市地下的游客。

我们听取了当地的建议,检查出梅尔卡特之旅,并计划了一晚 玛丽国王的关闭,另一个地下景点,将城市历史与大气鬼故事相结合。 据说这是该城闹鬼最多的地区之一。

Canongate入场 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Canongate入场 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

这只是我们访问的六月份,我们必须提前报名参加这两次巡回演出,他们很受欢迎。

诱惑?

食人族,身体抢夺者,巫术和与魔鬼的交易,当然,但爱丁堡老城区狭窄,古老,大气的街道本身肯定是一个平局,蜿蜒进入被称为关闭和小巷的小巷和小巷,进入几个世纪的墓地和到曾经朝向天空的保存地下街道上。

梅尔卡旅游有几个产品。 我们选择参加“闹鬼,死亡和埋葬”的巡回演唱会,带领参与者进入闹鬼的布莱尔街地下保护区,进入皇家一英里历史悠久的闭馆,以及查尔斯狄更斯可能为Ebenezer Scrooge找到灵感的Canongate Kirkyard。 因为在墓地里是“Ebenezer Scroggie餐人”的最后安息之处。当狄更斯访问爱丁堡时,也许在暗淡的光线下他误解为“卑鄙的人”,而斯克罗吉的角色出生在这个非常坟墓中。

这次巡演是我体验过的最好的之一。 我的青少年和青少年都喜欢这一切。

“我看到你眼中有些嗜血; “斯蒂芬妮指导说道,当我们在梅尔克罗斯见面时,我们就直接进入爱丁堡女巫的历史 - 仅仅是300的人们在爱丁堡城堡中活活焚烧 - 以及那些相信做魔鬼竞标的人的故事。

爱丁堡玛丽国王关闭标志 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

在Mary King's close照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

真正的历史事实可以成为所有人最有趣的故事,而在玛丽国王的关闭和梅卡旅游中,历史闪耀,同时娱乐和教育我的孩子。

在皇家玛丽国王的关闭中,这个时代的一位古装人物引领游客走过一扇门,非常成为另一个世界的入口,当我们走进皇家大道下方的保存完好的小巷时。 这些街道曾经向天空敞开,但现在已关闭。我们花了一个小时探索另一个时间,了解地下近处,“会见”了一些居民(包括了解现实生活中的玛丽金),并瞥见了一天每日17th 世纪爱丁堡生活。

当时间歇斯底里的人认为这种疾病是由邪灵传播的,而不是黑人老鼠如此流行的时候,我们了解到生活条件和瘟疫爆发。

就在这里,我们了解到这座城市历史悠久的历史上真正的瘟疫,谋杀和阴谋。

我的孩子们了解这种疾病和肮脏,这些疾病和肮脏曾经存在过,当时居民每天两次向街道开放厕所废物,动物被留在设防的城市中,并与肿胀的人口一起生活。 随着几个世纪的发展,拥挤问题一度成为一个重大问题,爱丁堡的人数也在增加,但城市的围墙却没有。

在Mercat晚上徒步旅行中,我们漫步到一个古老的关闭,沿着一条陡峭狭窄的鹅卵石街道,一直到Chessels Court,停下来听听黑暗的过去,最后在Canongate墓地结束,许多名人都埋葬在那里:Robert激动罗比伯恩斯的诗人弗格森; 苏格兰玛丽女王的情人David Rizzio; 和昆仑山的食人者詹姆斯道格拉斯,昆士伯的3rd侯爵。

斯蒂芬妮指出几座坟墓如何像监狱一样,他们的铁杆伸向顶部或横跨栅栏,意在阻止挖掘者寻找医学院的尸体。 在黑暗的掩护下,身体抢夺已成为爱丁堡的一个利润丰厚的企业。

在Canongate墓与铁杆,以防止身体抢夺 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

在Canongate墓与铁杆,以防止身体抢夺 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

但所有的故事都不错。 斯蒂芬妮说,一旦确实可能挽救了一个灵魂的生命,当桌子转身时,身体抢劫者因为一个被认为已经过去的“尸体”而吓跑了他们的生命;

照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron



Booking.com

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 20年2017月XNUMX日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid, in Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Scotland’s capital city, lends itself well to haunted and historical tours.

Walking tour stops at a close in Edinburgh - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Walking tour stops at a close in Edinburgh – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Is ‘the watcher’ lurking in the shadows of the dark stone corridor ahead?

My youngest daughter is taking no chances, here in the airless, almost claustrophobic cavern beneath the streets of Edinburgh, Scotland’s beguiling capital city.

The normally bubbly, chatty tween grips my hand and squeezes closer as we huddle together in a dimly lit vault listening to Stephanie, our black-cloaked Mercat Tours guide, weave a tale of intrigue in the city’s underworld, where once the poorest of the poor, Edinburgh’s body snatchers, and criminal element found refuge.

“We are now standing in the most haunted room,” says Stephanie as we halt our passage through eerie, uneven, vaulted rooms formed in the 18th-century arches of the South Bridge. Here we crowd in, the sloping ceiling grazing our heads. Stephanie holds a wavering candle in the darkness.

My older children, almost entranced, fully engaged, never take their eyes off her.

Edinburgh Mercat Tours guide Stephanie - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Edinburgh Mercat Tours guide Stephanie – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

 

“The name given to the most haunted room is the White Room. The watcher favours this room,” she says to a hushed crowd, speaking of the spirit said to cause feelings of dread, who watches, watches, and sometimes pushes, or pulls hair, and is supposed to be at his strongest here in this room.

We cannot hear a thing of Edinburgh above, closed underground in a one-time slum, forgotten for over 100 years.

A 1985 excavation revealed this history, of the underground vaults originally home to businesses and taverns and then the poor and criminal as conditions worsened, and became tolerable only to the desperate. The environment became so bad, Stephanie says, people had to be forcibly removed.

“People have seen things down here,” she says as she regales with tales of voices and footsteps heard in the distance, the smell of lingering perfume, or cigar smoke, of the change in temperature from room to room, and spirits known to tug at pants or appear in photos.

We did not come to Edinburgh—gorgeous, enchanting, iconic Edinburgh—to take in a haunted tour, but it has become a highlight.

A grave in Canongate - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

A grave in Canongate – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Edinburgh is a city of royal receptions, rebellions and riots, and it is filled with spine-tingling stories that lie above and below ground. We wanted to soak in this history.

Fortunately for visitors, a slew of ghost tours are available, and they’re all entertaining, especially the ones that run into underground areas of the city.

We heeded local recommendations to check out Mercat Tours for this and planned a night at Mary King’s Close, another underground attraction, which combines city history with atmospheric ghost stories. It’s said to be one of the city’s most haunted locales.

Canongate entry - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Canongate entry – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

It’s only June on our visit, and we must sign up in advance for both tours, they’re that popular.

The lure?

Cannibals, body snatchers, witchcraft, and deals with the devil, sure, but the narrow, ancient, atmospheric streets of Old Town Edinburgh itself are certainly a draw, winding into alleyways and lanes known as closes and wynds, into centuries-old graveyards and onto preserved underground streets that once looked toward the skies.

Mercat Tours has several offerings. We opt for the ‘Doomed, Dead and Buried’ tour that takes participants into the haunted Blair Street Underground Vaults, into historic closes on the Royal Mile, and into Canongate Kirkyard, where Charles Dickens may have found inspiration for Ebenezer Scrooge. For there in the graveyard is the final resting place of “Ebenezer Scroggie—meal man.” When Dickens visited Edinburgh, perhaps in low light he misread it for ‘mean man,’ and the character for Scrooge was born in this very graveyard.

The tour is one of the best I’ve experienced. My teen and tweens love it all.

“I see some bloodlust in your eyes; I can work with that,” guide Stephanie says as we meet at Mercat Cross and dive right into the history of Edinburgh witches – 300 people alone burned alive at Edinburgh Castle – and tales of those believed to do the devil’s bidding.

Edinburgh Mary King close sign - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Sign at Mary King’s close Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

 

Genuine historical fact can be the most intriguing story of all, and at Real Mary King’s Close and on Mercat Tours, history shines through, entertaining and educating my kids at the same time.

At Real Mary King’s Close, a costumed character from the era leads visitors through a door, very much a portal into another world, as we descend into preserved alleys that run beneath the Royal Mile. These streets once opened to the sky, but are now closed in. We spend an hour exploring another time, learning of the underground close, ‘meeting’ some of its residents (including learning of the real-life Mary King) and glimpsing into day-to-day 17th century Edinburgh life.

We learn of living conditions and plague outbreaks when hysteria of the time believed the disease spread by evil spirits, and not the black rats so prevalent.

It’s here we learn of the all-too-real plagues, murder and intrigue over the city’s long history.

My kids learn about the disease and squalor that once existed during a time when residents fired their toilet waste into the streets twice a day, and animals were kept within the fortified city living alongside a swelling population. Overcrowding was once a significant problem as the centuries progressed, the number of people in Edinburgh grew, but the city’s walls did not.

On the Mercat evening walking tour, we wander into an ancient close, down a steep, narrow cobblestone street, and over to Chessels Court, for stops to hear of the dark past, and end in Canongate cemetery where many famous people are buried: Robert Fergusson the poet who inspired Robbie Burns; David Rizzio, lover of Mary Queen of Scots; and the cannibal of Canongate himself, James Douglas, 3rd Marquess of Queensberry.

Stephanie points out how several graves resemble prisons, with their iron bars stretched atop or across—bars meant to keep out the gravediggers looking for corpses for the medical schools. Body snatching had become a lucrative enterprise in Edinburgh under cover of darkness.

Grave in Canongate with iron bars to prevent against body snatching - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Grave in Canongate with iron bars to prevent against body snatching – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

But all tales are not bad. Once indeed it may have saved a soul’s life, says Stephanie, when the tables turned and the body snatchers got the scare of their lives when a ‘corpse,’ thought to have passed on, awakened with their prying!

Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron



Booking.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. October 20, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *