fbpx

早在手机在国王着陆历史解决之前

有时我希望手机从未被发明过。 我们中的很多人,包括我们的孩子,都没有多少时间对他们产生沉溺。 在很久以前的较简单的时间里,会是什么样子? 通过门户网站浏览过去 国王着陆历史解决 并亲自体验它。

国王登陆历史解决,村庄。 照片Jan Napier

国王登陆历史聚落的村庄。 照片Jan Napier

村庄和展览体验

历史在位于圣约翰河畔美丽的弗雷德里克顿附近的国王登陆历史定居点重现。 这是1800的真实一瞥。 进入村庄,每个建筑代表一个独特的时间段,反映在服装,技术和装饰的差异。 有许多穿着打扮的口译员,尽你所能,你可能无法说服他们这是2017。 漫步过桥,你会发现构成展览体验的建筑物。 有博物馆的房子,重点是文物,教学园,黑人历史,剧院等。 在Kings Landing,您还可以享受:Kings Head Inn,一般商店,工作农场,小马和骑马,儿童游乐园,苹果园,带工作水轮的锯木厂/磨坊等等。更多。 过去的人物等待您的访问跳出历史书籍。

kingslanding_wagon游乐设施。 照片Jan Napier

照片Jan Napier

过去重新创建。 照片Jan Napier

过去重新创建。 照片Jan Napier

实践遗产

每天都有免费的实践研讨会,无需注册。 从40不同的活动中选择,如木工,地毯挂钩,纸制工艺品,蜡烛制作; 为每个人的东西! 但你可以随时出现,并在现场体验沉浸式体验。 当我在那里检查设施时,我曾经尝试了几件大事。

进入19的摇摆th 世纪通过尝试从时代的一些时尚为您完美的纪念照片操作。 生产和照顾服装的责任发生在一个大型服装部门的幕后,对细节的关注非常引人注目。

在幕后。 照片Jan Napier

在幕后。 照片Jan Napier

我遇到了林特夫人,她是许多行业的杰克。 她代表一位乡村助产士,也是草药的提供者。 她向我们展示了如何收集各种树木来煮一些止咳糖浆。 当它煮熟时,她分享了当天的医疗问题和补救措施,使用她花园和野外的植物。 之后,我们看着她在开放式壁炉上烹饪盛宴。 丰盛的菜单包括鸡肉和蔬菜的砂锅,然后是美味的甜点。 和大多数女士一样,她用便士毯子等剩下的碎布制作出有用的东西非常方便。 她说,“一切都是回收的”。 她也是纺车的专家,他说:“除了破碎的心脏和黎明的裂缝之外,我可以旋转任何东西。”你知道“纺纱厂”这个词来自一个时代,如果一个女人能够旋转得很好,她没有不需要丈夫!

在Perley House,我从Perley夫人那里学到了茶,柠檬水和自制饼干的一些重要礼仪。 她劝阻任何八卦或幻想,并指示评论另一个人的财物是非常不礼貌的。 我们学会了如何在她的食品室里制作黄油,甚至还分享了她的一些红丝带食谱。

佩利夫人获奖的饼干。 照片Jan Napier

佩利夫人的获奖饼干。 照片Jan Napier

学习如何制作黄油。 照片Jan Napier

学习如何制作黄油。 照片Jan Napier

我很高兴尝试挤奶牛。 当我摸索着她的乳房时,她是耐心的本质; 我肯定需要一些练习。 乘坐马车是放松,直到我们不得不下车并帮助修复破损的围栏,这是另一个教训(实际上很有趣)。 晚上,当地人才表现出色,人群在唱歌,跳舞,在鼓上敲打音乐。

在工作的农场里,你也是一样。 照片Jan Napier

在工作的农场里也可以找到你。 照片Jan Napier

夏日乐趣为孩子们

拜访表兄弟家庭健 节目,9到16岁儿童的夏季住宅营,非常受年复一年的孩子欢迎。 你会看到在村庄周围工作的孩子穿着历史的服装,并拿走了他们的手机。 他们正在生活的历史,工作和学习要尊重和负责任。 一些年龄较大的孩子在他们那里的时间里将学习一种选择的交易或技能。 对于某些人来说,只有穿过田野的经验才是新奇的!

完成任务。 照片经Kings Landing许可

完成任务。 照片经Kings Landing许可

我希望那是诱饵而不是捕获。 照片经Kings Landing许可

我希望那是诱饵而不是捕获。 照片经Kings Landing许可

孩子们在这个小小的校舍里学习一些课程。 我也得体验到女校长的钢铁般的凝视,因为我的石板上的书法很差。 一切都很有趣,并随着微笑,她说访问孩子说他们喜欢在这个更严格的环境中学习。 她自己曾经是一个 拜访表妹 许多协调人也是如此。

这个小小的校舍。 照片Jan Napier

小小的校舍。 照片Jan Napier

上学时间。 照片经Kings Landing许可

上学时间。 照片经Kings Landing许可

一些2017亮点

新的今年,有一个户外表演场地,有灯光,声音和住所; 和朗姆酒在Covenhoven Distilleries画廊品尝。

在秋季,在每年的丰收节上感受一下感恩节的精神。 会有很多有趣的活动,儿童游戏,拍卖会,主题晚宴等等。

当大家都说“g'day”

Kings Landing反映了一个更简单的时间,当人们分享如此巨大的社区意识和个人拥有的生存技能来生活在这片土地上。 前公共关系官员Krista Rae对我说:“时间比较慢; 还有更多的时间值得感恩。“当被问及是否是一个更美好的时光时,她说,”在某些方面,是的,但不是,我希望每个人都能体验到这一点并欣赏今天的便利。 “

kingslanding_Where历史真棒。 照片Jan Napier

Kingslanding - 历史真棒! 照片Jan Napier

我当然觉得我在那里结识了我的历史,不能等待回去。 Kings Landing,你确实创造了令人敬畏的历史。

Kings Landing Historical Settlement是一家皇冠公司,还提供特殊的季节性活动,会议设施,团体旅游等。 欲了解更多信息,请访问他们的网站: www.kingslanding.nb.ca

Jan Napier是哈利法克斯的摄影师/旅行作家。 旅游新不伦瑞克省,弗雷德里克顿旅游局和国王登陆历史定居点协助她旅行。 所有的意见都是她自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Long Before Cell Phones at Kings Landing Historical Settlement

Sometimes I wish that cell phones had never been invented. So many of us, including our kids, are non-productively slumped over them for way too much time. What would it have been like in a simpler time, long ago? Step through a portal to the past at Kings Landing Historical Settlement and experience it for yourself.

Kings Landing Historical Settlement,the village. Photo Jan Napier

The Village at Kings Landing Historical Settlement. Photo Jan Napier

The Village and the Exhibit Experience

History is recreated at Kings Landing Historical Settlement near Fredericton, N.B. in a lovely setting on the Saint John River. It’s an authentic glimpse into the 1800’s. Venture into the village where each building represents a distinct time period reflected in the differences in clothing, technology and decor. There are lots of costumed interpreters and try as you might, you probably won’t be able to convince them that it’s 2017. Stroll across the bridge, and you’ll find the buildings that make up the exhibit experience. There are museum homes where the focus is on artifacts, teaching gardens, black history, theatre and more. At Kings Landing, you can also enjoy: dining at Kings Head Inn, a general store, a working farm, pony and horse rides, a children’s play park, an apple orchard, a sawmill/gristmill with a working water wheel, and so much more. Characters from the past await your visit to jump out of the history books.

kingslanding_wagon rides. Photo Jan Napier

Photo Jan Napier

 

the past recreated. Photo Jan Napier

The past recreated. Photo Jan Napier

 

Hands-on Heritage

Every day there are free hands-on workshops available and no registration is required. Choose from about 40 different activities like woodworking, rug hooking, paper crafts, candle making; something for everyone! But you can pretty much show up anytime and have an immersive experience on site. I had a grand time trying out a few things while I was there checking out the facility.

Get into the swing of the 19th Century by trying on some fashion from the times for your perfect souvenir photo op. The responsibility of producing and caring for costumes happens behind the scenes in a massive costuming department, with such admirable attention to detail.

Behind the scenes. Photo Jan Napier

Behind the scenes. Photo Jan Napier

I met Mrs Lint who is a jack of many trades. She represents a village midwife, and also the provider of herbal medicine. She showed us how to gather up various bits of trees to boil up some cough syrup. While it cooked she shared the medical concerns and remedies of the day, using plants from her garden and the wild. After that we watched her cook a feast over an open hearth. The hearty menu included a casserole of chicken pieces and vegetables, followed by a yummy dessert. Like most of the ladies, she’s very handy with making useful things out of leftover rags like penny rugs. “ Everything is recycled”, she said. She’s also an expert on the spinning wheel and says, “I can spin anything but a broken heart and the crack of dawn.” Did you know that the term “spinsters” comes from a time when if a woman could spin well, she didn’t need a husband!

­In the Perley House, I learned some important etiquette from Mrs Perley over tea, lemonade and homemade cookies.   She discouraged any gossip or fancy airs and instructed that it would be very bad manners to comment on another’s belongings. We learned how to make butter in her pantry and she even shared some of her red ribbon recipes.

Mrs. Perley's prize-winning biscuits. Photo Jan Napier

Mrs Perley’s prize-winning biscuits. Photo Jan Napier

 

learning how to make butter. Photo Jan Napier

Learning how to make butter. Photo Jan Napier

I was thrilled to try my hand at milking a cow. She was the essence of patience as I fumbled with her udders; I definitely need some practice on that one.  The wagon ride was relaxing until we had to get off and help fix a broken fence, another lesson (fun actually). In the evening, there was a great performance by local talent that had the crowd singing, dancing, and making music beating on drums.

moo to you too on the working farm. Photo Jan Napier

Moo to you too on the working farm. Photo Jan Napier

Summer Fun for Kids

 

Visiting Cousins and Family Kin programs, summer residential camps for 9 to 16-year-olds, are extremely popular with kids going back year after year. You’ll see the children working around the village, in historical clothing and divested of their cell phones. They are living their history, working and learning to be respectful and responsible. Some of the older kids will be learning a chosen trade or skill during their time there. For some, just the experience of running through a field is novel!

Getting the chores done. Photo with permission from Kings Landing

Getting the chores done. Photo with permission from Kings Landing

 

I hope that's the bait and not the catch. Photo with permission from Kings Landing

I hope that’s the bait and not the catch. Photo with permission from Kings Landing

 

Kids learn some lessons in the teeny tiny schoolhouse. I too got to experience the steely stare of the schoolmistress over poor penmanship on my slate. All in good fun and followed up with smiles, she says that visiting kids say they like to learn in this stricter environment. She herself was once a Visiting Cousin as are many of the facilitators.

the teeny tiny schoolhouse. Photo Jan Napier

The teeny tiny schoolhouse. Photo Jan Napier

 

school time. Photo with permission from Kings Landing

School time. Photo with permission from Kings Landing

A few 2017 highlights

New this year, there is an outdoor performance venue with lights, sound, and shelter; and rum tasting in the Covenhoven Distilleries Gallery.

And in the fall, get into the spirit of Thanksgiving at the annual Harvest Festival. There’ll be lots of fun activities, kids’ games, an auction, themed dinners and more.

When everyone said “g’day”

Kings Landing reflects a simpler time when people shared such a tremendous sense of community and individually possessed survival skills to live off of the land.   Krista Rae, a former Public Relations Officer, said to me, “It was a slower time; there was more time to be thankful.” When asked if it was a better time, she said, “In some ways, yes, but no, I wish everyone got to experience this and appreciate today’s conveniences. “

kingslanding_Where history is awesome. Photo Jan Napier

Kingslanding – Where history is awesome! Photo Jan Napier

I certainly felt like I made friends with my history there and can’t wait to go back. Kings Landing, you do make history awesome.

Kings Landing Historical Settlement is a Crown Corporation and also offers special seasonal events, meeting facilities, group tours, and more.  For more information please visit their website at: www.kingslanding.nb.ca

 

Jan Napier is a Halifax-based photographer/travel writer. Tourism New Brunswick, Fredericton Tourism and Kings Landing Historical Settlement assisted her travel. All opinions are her own.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *