fbpx

在亚伯达省Nordegg打造完美平衡

在Nordegg Alberta实现完美平衡

陷入了柔术家的位置,将一张床单摔在第三张床上,我安慰自己,认为“比建立营地还要容易!”

我们正在舒适的环境中建立我们的基地 HI Nordegg-Shunda Creek旅舍,如果你问我,如果你的家人中有爱露营和户外活动的人,以及你家里有人是合理的人(不是任何名字的命名),那么这是一个完美的妥协方案。你要来的方向是什么,但有点偏离正轨,如果你不想与成千上万的游客竞争,但不想完全脱离电网,那么这是一个很棒的地方。

在亚伯达省Nordegg打造完美平衡

HI Nordegg-Shunda Creek Hostel旅馆的前方草甸由远足小道纵横交错。

大卫汤普森乡村(Nordegg所在地)位于落基山脉的山脚下,以远足和户外活动而闻名。 班夫国家公园的边界距离诺德格不到100公里,但该​​地区远不如附近的山地公园那么受欢迎,感觉有点“未被发现”。我无可救药地致力于落基山脉,而且任何一年我都没有参观是一个悲伤的一年,但是在国家公园免费入场,并且由此产生的群众在2017中争夺他们的一部分,公园外的一个安静的地方是一个值得欢迎的变化。 诺德格凭借自然美景和户外活动的机会,如在更受欢迎的旅游区,打出了甜蜜点,但有一种特殊的感觉,你发现了一个隐藏的宝石。

在亚伯达省Nordegg打造完美平衡

男孩们推测一只巨大的蜘蛛离开了这个网站,爬到了旅舍的地上。 在树林里徒步旅行是由回到国家的草地和美丽的景色奖励。

从旅舍徒步旅行是一种在树林里度过尽可能多时间的方式。 2013大规模森林火灾的影响在烧焦的原木仍然处于坠落地点,以及从那时起已经生根的软绿色新增长中显而易见。 顽固的徒步旅行者可以在充满挑战的地形上放置整天(可以从旅馆的前台借用熊喷雾!)或选择更悠闲的路线一两个小时。 这家旅馆还设有一个婴儿提篮,可供客人携带最小的徒步旅行者。 有关路线的想法,请查看 与巴里远足Alltrails。

在亚伯达省Nordegg打造完美平衡

我们是鱼湖省游憩区的少数游客之一。

如果你宁愿在水上或在水中,那么从旅舍开车很容易就可以到达几个湖泊。 我们在周围漫步了一个下午 鱼湖省级游乐区。 我们没有找到一个沙滩区来摆放我们从车里拖出来的沙滩椅,但是男孩们仍然只是为了一点点游泳。 如果你比我勇敢,可以通过四周岩石路径上的树木通过小小的空地进入水域,并且一个码头可以跳进清脆的清澈的水中。 尽管20度和部分多云的天气,加上真正的加拿大童年时尚,孩子们冒着寒冷的水,小鱼在阳光下闪烁,并绕着他们的腿踢脚。 如果你问我,那不完全是沙滩天气,但是适合在小径上散步。

在亚伯达省Nordegg打造完美平衡

来自旧矿场的场景让人想起该镇过去的繁荣景象。

关于您在这里找不到的唯一假日余额是城镇和乡村。 不要来寻找城市度假! 晚上两个晚上到达宿舍,寻找食品杂货运到另一组晚餐的披萨剩菜,因为我们的主人羞涩地微笑着解释他们找到任何东西的机会是“不多”。

但是从真正的鬼城地位回来的是Nordegg的小村庄(现在有两个加油站!)在它的高度,Nordegg镇是一个繁华的煤矿开采小镇,在全盛时期爆发了2,500人,所有以某种方式连接到Brazeau Collieries煤矿和后来的煤球厂。 铁路公司是煤炭的主要购买者,尽管如此,每个人都生活在相对繁荣的黑肺中。 然而,通过1950s,轨道上的煤动力机车的90%已经转为柴油,对煤炭的需求急剧下降。 矿井和随后的城镇都被遗弃了。 现在,在石油和天然气行业以及蓬勃发展的旅游业的推动下,情况开始有所好转。 我提到了第二个加油站? 我只是有点滑稽。 壳牌正在开店的事实很好地表明了预期的资金! 在Nordegg遗产中心外建有最后阶段的游乐场和山地自行车地形公园。

在亚伯达省Nordegg打造完美平衡

遗产中心有一个小型博物馆,有这种煤球袋和矿工头盔充电站。 矿工咖啡厅是您品尝自制馅饼的好地方。

Nordegg遗产中心 值得一看,原因如下:一个小型博物馆,总结该地区的历史,一家迷人的礼品店以及矿工咖啡厅(以其自制馅饼而闻名)。在我们参观的那天,我们尝试了黑莓苹果的明亮口味,草莓大黄。 作为一名出生并孕育出来的草原女孩,无论何时出现,我都有基因需要选择大黄,但将椰子奶油和枫蜜放入样品中是一件困难的事情。

继矿车运送矿车的步骤之后,每辆满载货车的重量都是1吨(正负65磅)太轻意味着不够充足,太重意味着比煤更多的岩石,或者意味着矿工们不会意识到,不用付那辆车。

该中心也是Brazeau煤矿导游陪同出发的地方。 在夏季,两小时的旅行(煤矿的其中一个辅助建筑,另一个煤球工厂)在早上和下午交替。 我们的导游非常有魅力,耐心地回答了无数问题,我发现这次巡演比我猜想的要有趣得多。 我八岁的时候对我们的议程感到失望(我们五岁的耐心也不会让我们在下午进行第二次巡回演出)。 我们只有在庄严的承诺下才会离开,特别是在明年春天回来参观煤球工厂。 即使你不喜欢自己的历史爱好者,这次巡演也值得你度过。 生锈的机器和建筑物被森林和远处的山脉缓慢地自然回收,令人叹为观止。

在Nordegg Alberta实现完美平衡

这家旅馆有一个迷人的小木屋/滑雪小屋氛围。 餐厅; 一个带玩具和游戏的安静角落; 木材燃烧炉的UNO高风险游戏; 嗨欢迎世界。

我们完成了不太远的山,不安静的后县,不是一个野营旅行与彻底和平的晚上回到宿舍。 夏天的结束是肩膀季节的开始,所以我们错过了令人窒息的炎热日子,但在雪蝇飞行前享受我们的时间。 虽然Nordegg的一些商店是季节性的,包括矿场的旅游,但HI Nordegg全年开放,我想这将是一个迷人的地方,度过一个舒适的冬季度假。 Fish Lake的冬天有冰钓和越野滑雪,雪鞋也很棒。 我几乎可以说服自己打破完美的山地冬季度假平衡的乐趣! 几乎。

非常感谢Hostelling International和Brazeau Collieries主办我的家人。 我的意见一如既往。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2条评论
  1. 7年2017月XNUMX日
    • 7年2017月XNUMX日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg, Alberta

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg Alberta

Hunched into a contortionist’s position, wrestling a fitted sheet on to the third top bunk, I comfort myself by thinking “Still easier than setting up a campsite!”

We are setting up our base in the cozy HI Nordegg-Shunda Creek hostel, which, if you ask me, is a perfect compromise if you have people in your family who love camping and the outdoors, and someone in your family who is reasonable (not naming any names!) It is a straight-forward trip from which ever direction you are coming, but a bit off the beaten path, making a great spot if you don’t want to compete with thousands of tourists, but don’t want to do off-grid entirely.

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg, Alberta

The front meadow at the HI Nordegg-Shunda Creek Hostel is criss-crossed by hiking trails.

David Thompson Country (where Nordegg is located) in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains is known for hiking and outdoor pursuits. The boundary for Banff National Park is less than 100 km from Nordegg, but the area is far less popular than the nearby Mountain Parks, and feels a bit “undiscovered.”  I am hopelessly devoted to the Rockies, and any year I haven’t visited is a sad year indeed, but with free admission at National Parks and the resultant masses clamouring for a piece of them in 2017, a quieter spot outside of the Parks was a welcome change. Nordegg hits that sweet spot with the natural beauty and opportunities for outdoor activities like in the more popular tourist areas, but with a special feeling that you have uncovered a hidden gem.

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg, Alberta

The boys speculate a giant spider left this web to climb on the grounds of the hostel. A nice hike through the woods is rewarded by back country meadows and pretty views.

Taking a hike from the hostel is a way to spend as much time in the woods as you like. The effects of a massive forest fire in 2013 are evident in spots where charred logs still lie where they fell, and in the soft green new growth that has taken root since then. Hardcore hikers can set out for the whole day on challenging terrain (you can borrow bear spray from the front office at the hostel—yikes!) or choose a more leisurely route for an hour or two. The hostel also has a baby carrier guests can use to bring the littlest hikers along. For an idea of routes, check out Hiking with Barry  and Alltrails.

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg, Alberta

We were among only a handful of visitors at the Fish Lake Provincial Recreation Area.

If you’d rather be by—or in—the water, there are several lakes in easy driving distance from the hostel. We spent an afternoon rambling around the Fish Lake Provincial Recreation Area. We didn’t find a sandy beach area to set out the beach chairs we lugged from the car, but the boys did still make it for a little swim. There is access to the water through little clearings through the trees from the rocky pathway all around, and a dock you could jump off into the crisp clear water if you were braver than I am. Despite the 20 degree and partially cloudy weather, and in true tough Canadian child fashion the kids braved the chilly water, teeny fish flashing in the sun and skirting around their legs. It wasn’t exactly beach weather if you ask me, but perfect for walking around the trails.

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg, Alberta

Scenes from the old mine site give a glimpse of the town’s past prosperity.

About the only holiday balance you won’t find here is town and country. Don’t come looking for an urban getaway! Two late evening arrivals at the hostel looking for groceries lucked into the pizza leftovers of another group for supper, as our host explained with a shy smile their chances of finding anything open were “Not much.”

But making its way back from bona fide ghost town status is the hamlet of Nordegg (now with TWO gas stations!) At its height, the town of Nordegg was a bustling coal mining town, bursting with up to 2,500 people in its heyday, all connected to the Brazeau Collieries Coal Mine and later briquette factory in some way. The railroad companies were the main purchaser of the coal, and everyone lived in relative prosperity, black lung notwithstanding. However, by the 1950s up to 90% of the coal powered locomotives on the rails had switched to diesel and the demand for coal plummeted.  The mine, and subsequently the town, was deserted. Now, spurred on by the oil and gas industry and by the burgeoning tourism scene, things are starting to pick up a bit. I mentioned the second gas station? I’m only being a bit facetious. The fact that Shell is setting up shop is a good indication of anticipated money to be made! There is also a playground in the last stages of being built and mountain biking terrain park outside the Nordegg Heritage Centre.

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg, Alberta

The Heritage Centre has a small museum with artifacts like this bag of briquettes and the charging station for miners’ helmets. The Miner’s Cafe is a great stop for homemade pie.

The Nordegg Heritage Centre is worth a visit for several reasons: a small museum summarizing the history of the area, a charming gift shop, and the Miner’s Café (renowned for its homemade pie.) On the day we visited we tried the bright flavours of the blackberry apple and strawberry rhubarb. As a born and bred Prairie girl, I am genetically required to opt for rhubarb whenever it is presented, but it was a tough thing to leave the coconut cream and the maple pecan unsampled.

Following in the steps of the pit ponies that hauled the mine carts, Each fully laden cart weighed 1 ton (plus or minus 65 lbs) Too light meant not full enough, too heavy meant more rock than coal, and either meant the miners wouldn’t be paid for that cart.

The centre is also the spot from where the guided tours of the Brazeau Collieries depart. The two hour tours (one of the auxiliary buildings of the mine, the other of the briquette factory) alternate mornings and afternoons during the summer season. Our guide was very engaging, patiently answering myriad questions, and I found the tour far more interesting than I had guessed it would be. My eight year old was bitterly disappointed our agenda (nor the patience of our five year old) would allow us to take the second tour in the afternoon. We left only under solemn promises to return next spring specifically to tour the briquette factory. Even if you don’t fancy yourself much of a history buff, the tour is worth your time. The juxtaposition of rusting out machinery and buildings slowly being reclaimed by nature with the forest and the distant mountains is stunning.

Striking the Perfect Balance in Nordegg Alberta

The hostel has a charming log cabin/ski lodge vibe. The dining room; a quiet corner with toys and games; a high stakes game of UNO by the wood burning stove; HI welcomes the world.

We finished off our not quite mountain, not quiet back-county, not quite camping trip with a thoroughly peaceful evening back at the hostel. The end of summer is the start of shoulder season, so we missed the stifling hot days, but enjoyed our time well before the snow flies.  Although some of the businesses in Nordegg are seasonal, including the tours at the mine, the HI Nordegg is open year round, and I imagine it would be a charming spot to spend a cozy winter retreat. There is ice-fishing and cross country skiing in the winter at Fish Lake, and the snow shoeing would be excellent. I might almost convince myself about the joys of striking the perfect off mountain winter getaway balance! Almost.

Many thanks to Hostelling International and the Brazeau Collieries for hosting my family. Opinions are, as ever, my own. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. September 7, 2017
    • September 7, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *