Splash and Dash:西部加勒比海岸的短途旅行

飞溅和短跑
在过去的时代,我认为自己就是这个逍遥时光的女王......在我们在任何一个城市里的时间里,为了下一段旅程而飞来之前,把旋风式的冒险追赶到我们的时间。 这很刺激和有趣。 一点 开胃菜 让我渴望回来并花一些时间。 或者决定4的时间够了。 (对不起,盐湖城)虽然这样想着和一个幼稚的幼儿园做这件事,但我觉得有点恶心。 没有时间让我的孩子们蹒跚而行,而对于一个有小孩的家庭来说,错过飞行的后果太严酷了。 我认为在我的旅行生涯中,奔跑的快乐结束了,直到我们开始考虑巡航和岸上游览。

“但是,每个地方的一天真的会给你足够的时间吗?”我的一位朋友质疑,因为我给她简要介绍了我们即将从加尔维斯敦前往蒙特哥贝,大开曼岛和科苏梅尔的邮轮行程。

“没关系,”我反驳道。 “它会给我们每个地方的味道,所以我们知道去哪里回去。” 就像停车一样! 没错!

有效上台的关键不是尽量在几个小时内看到一切,而是选择一件事情,尽可能彻底地做到这一点。 事先需要研究,并愿意冒一点风险。 如果你选择做的那件事很糟糕,那么你已经吹了它。 没有时间找到别的东西并到达那里,你也可以回到机场找到酒吧。

采取我的“不可能失败”的公式,并将其应用于岸上游览是一件没有道理的事情:这些短途旅行是为邮轮乘客设计的,以充分利用他们在岸上的有限时间。 真正的问题是我们想看到的!

加尔维斯顿

图片由Galveston Island Convention&Visitors Bureau提供

从德克萨斯州加尔维斯顿港出发的邮轮。 我所知道的关于加尔维斯敦的一切都来自2000早期的一些“派对聚会”电视节目。 这个节目基本上是派对的传奇。 我很抱歉承认我低调的口味; 唐顿庄园还没有发明,当我是20的时候,我什么也看不到。

我从电视中学到的是加尔维斯顿的狂欢节是一笔相当大的交易。 我们在大日子的三天后的星期五下午抵达,这让我想起舞会后第二天的舞会皇后。 党的遗迹仍然存在,但有点悲伤,被遗弃的感觉。 必须被狂欢者扔掉的项链上的珠子散落在水沟中。 门廊上悬挂着绿色,紫色和金色彩旗,下着大雨,看起来破烂不堪。 即使有“昨天的聚会”的感觉,加尔维斯顿的魅力也很难摆脱。 它有一个传奇的过去,完整的海盗和阴谋,再加上愉快的热带天气!

我们有一个下午和晚上去发现加尔维斯敦,所以我们漫步 链子历史的区 一点点,浏览时髦的小商店,然后在海滩附近抓一些汉堡。 为了封闭晚上,我们决定在过去拥抱过去 海盗! 墨西哥湾沿岸的传说.

吸引力(我不想称它为博物馆,因为它比这更酷)引导你通过寻找有趣的海盗传说和事实的寻宝游戏。 它位于旁边 闹鬼的梅菲尔德庄园,这也是基于加尔维斯敦的邪恶的过去,但不建议12下的孩子或他们的猫妈妈。

当我们第二天离开加尔维斯敦迷雾般的港口时,一个戴着吉他的人唱了一首以格伦·坎贝尔的名字命名的歌曲,关于海浪冲击和大炮闪烁的歌词让我感到怀念那里我几乎不用24时间的地方 - 但花了他们很好!

Chukka休闲,牙买加
在墨西哥湾和加勒比海,我们驶向了我们的第一个停靠港:牙买加的蒙特哥湾。 在牙买加旅游局的帮助下,我们决定投入我们的时间 CHUKKA,在他们的 好希望庄园。 Chukka是加勒比地区主要的旅游和冒​​险公司之一,他们提供各种各样的活动。 对于预算紧张的家庭来说,好希望村是一个不错的选择,因为你可以在一个地方做很多事情。

有一个成人绳索课程和一个微型版本的孩子。 一个游乐场,一个令人印象深刻的鸟舍,一个钓鱼池(让厨师准备好午餐时间!)以及一个可爱的游泳池,让您度过一个美好的一天。 甚至父母也可以选择让Chukka的工作人员帮助他们观看孩子,而父母自己离开。 阳光明媚的庄园曾经是一个甘蔗种植园,参观的吸引力之一就是学习一些牙买加历史的机会。

在我们的快速时光中,我们有历史,冒险,乘坐马车骑小夜曲,甚至有时间在树荫下放松,并了解到牙买加是我们需要返回的地方!
回到船上和开曼群岛!

飞溅和短跑
对于第三站,我们将注意力集中在大开曼岛的海洋生物上。 当然,我的手上有一只乌龟(这是我孩子们在这个星球上结合了七年的最有趣的事情,显然),但它仍然是旅行的亮点之一! 该 开曼龟养殖场:岛屿野生动物相遇 是一个惊人的财产,与龟触摸坦克,一个“掠夺者岭”(鲨鱼和梭鱼!)一个鸟舍水下可视区域和乌龟泻湖,提供了与海上生活浮潜的机会。

快速访问判决? 我花了我的船上互联网分钟查找开曼的房地产。 仅供参考:3000卧室公寓每月$ 2(美元)。

在墨西哥的科苏梅尔岛上!

飞溅和短跑

我重视学习以上的许多事情,但有时在度假时,你只需要关掉你的大脑。 我们做了很好的混合讲授与休闲时刻,但为了确保平衡保持,我们花了我们几个小时在科苏梅尔在 普拉亚米亚大海滩和水上公园。 我们在学年期间旅行,所以当度假村的成人区域愉快地居住着人们利用开放式酒吧的时候,孩子们的地方留给了我们和另一个家庭。

在Playa Mia的海盗主题水上公园区度过时,我的孩子将永远被毁在我们当地的喷雾公园。 结合原始海滩,巨大的海洋充气和丰富的食物,我们将热带度假体验融入了数小时的空间。

获得的经验:海滩度假呼吁科苏梅尔!

行程结束时,我们的儿子选择了看我们的照片来代替睡前故事。 他们回忆起我们所看到和学习​​过的地方和事物,我感到非常满意,尽管我们在每个地方都有很短的时间,但他们已经获得了有意义的经验,并将一些美好时光作为一个家庭记忆。 也许,也许,我会把我的快速旅行皇冠给他们......最后。

非常感谢传奇:海湾海盗,Chukka和普拉亚米亚大海滩和水上公园,以及加尔维斯顿岛会议和游览局。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 30 年 2015 月 XNUMX 日

Splash and Dash: Shore Excursions in the Western Caribbean

Splash and Dash
In times past, I considered myself the queen of the layover…cramming whirlwind adventures into the hours we had in any given city before flying off for the next leg of the journey. It was exciting and fun; a little amuse bouche to give me the hunger to come back and spend some real time. Or decide that 4 hours was enough. (Sorry, Salt Lake City) The thought of doing that with a toddler and willful kindergartner though, makes me feel a bit nauseated. There isn’t time for the meandering my children seem to thrive on, and the repercussions of a missed flight are too harsh for a family with young kids. I thought the joy of the dash and go had ended in my travelling career, until we started to think about a cruise and shore excursions.

“But does a day in each place really give you enough time?” one of my friends questioned as I gave her the rundown of the itinerary of our upcoming cruise from Galveston, heading to Montego Bay, Grand Cayman Island and Cozumel.

“It will be ok” I countered. “It’ll give us a taste of each place so we know where to go back.” Like a layover! Yes!

The key to an effective layover is not to try to see everything in your few hours, but to choose one thing and do it as thoroughly as possible. It takes research beforehand, and a willingness to take a bit of a risk. If that one thing you have chosen to do sucks, you’ve blown it. There’s no time to find something else and get there, you may as well head back to the airport and find the bar.

Taking my “can’t fail” formula and applying it to the shore excursions was a bit of a no brainer: these excursions are designed for cruise passengers to get the most out of their limited time ashore. The real question was what we wanted to see!

Galveston

images courtesy of Galveston Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

The cruise left from the Texas port of Galveston. Everything I knew about Galveston was from some “Places to Party” TV show from the early 2000s. The show was basically a travelogue of parties. I’m sorry to admit my low-brow tastes; Downton Abbey wasn’t invented yet, I had nothing else to watch when I was 20.

What I learned from TV was that Mardi Gras on Galveston is a pretty big deal. We arrived on a Friday afternoon, three days after the big day, and it kind of reminded me of a prom queen the day after prom. The vestiges of the party remained, but with a bit of a mournful, abandoned feel. Beads from the necklaces that must have been tossed by revellers littered the gutters. Green, purple and gold bunting hung from porches, heavy with rain, looking battered and tattered. Even with the “yesterday’s party” feel, it is hard to escape Galveston’s charm. It has a storied past, complete with pirates and intrigue, plus pleasant tropical weather!

We had an afternoon and evening to discover Galveston so we strolled The Strand Historic District a bit, browsing through funky little shops before grabbing some burgers near the beach. To cap off the evening we decided to embrace the past at Pirates! Legends of the Gulf Coast.

The attraction (I don’t want to call it a museum, because it is way cooler than that) leads you through a scavenger hunt teaching interesting pirate lore and facts. It is housed next to The Haunted Mayfield Manor, which is also based on Galveston’s nefarious past, but that is not recommended for children under 12 or their scaredy cat mothers.

As we departed the foggy port of Galveston the next day, a man with a guitar sang Glen Campbell’s song named after the island, lyrics about sea waves crashing and cannons flashing made me feel nostalgic for the place where I had spent barely 24 hours—but spent them well!

Chukka-Jamaica
Across the Gulf of Mexico and into the Caribbean Sea we sailed to our first port of call: Montego Bay, Jamaica. With the help of the Jamaica Tourist Board, we decided to invest our time with Chukka, at their Good Hope Estate. Chukka is one of the major tour and adventure companies in the Caribbean, and they offer a wide array of activities. The Good Hope Estate is a good choice for families with a tight time budget because you could do a lot in one place.

There is a ropes course for adults and a miniature version for kids. A playground, an impressive aviary, a fishing pond (have the chef prepare your catch for your lunch!) and a lovely pool to cool off in are a wonderful way to spend the day. There is even the option for parents to enlist the help of the Chukka staff to watch the kids while the parents go off on their own. The sunny estate was once a sugar cane plantation and part of the appeal of visiting is the chance to learn some Jamaican history.

In our quick hours we had history, adventure, were serenaded on a carriage ride, even a little bit of time to relax in the shade, and learned that Jamaica is a place that we need to return!
Back to the ship and on to the Cayman Islands!

Splash and Dash
For stop number three, we focused our laser of attention on the marine life of Grand Cayman. Sure, a turtle pooped on my hand (the funniest thing my kids have seen in their combined seven years on the planet, apparently) but it was still one of the highlights of the trip! The Cayman Turtle Farm: Island Wildlife Encounter is a stunning piece of property, complete with turtle touch tanks, an underwater viewing area of “predator ridge” (sharks and barracudas!) an aviary, and Turtle Lagoon which offers the chance to snorkel with the sea life.

Quick visit verdict? I spent my shipboard internet minutes looking up Caymanian real estate. FYI: $3000 (USD) a month for 2 bedroom apartments.

Onto the Mexican island of Cozumel!

Splash and Dash

I value learning above many things, but sometimes on vacation, you just need to turn your brain off. We had done a good job of mixing teachable moments with leisure, but to ensure the balance was maintained, we spent our few hours on Cozumel at the Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park. We were travelling during the school year, so while the adult areas of the resort were pleasantly populated with people taking advantage of the open bar, the children’s areas were left to us and one other family.

My kids will forever be ruined for our local spray parks after spending time at the pirate themed water park area at Playa Mia. Combined with the pristine beach, giant inflatable in the ocean and plentiful food, we got the tropical resort experience packed into the space of hours.

Lesson learned: a beach vacation calls for Cozumel!

At the end of the trip, tucked snug in their berth, our sons elected to look at our photos in lieu of a bedtime story. They recalled the places and things we had seen and learned, and I felt very satisfied that despite the short time we had had in each place, they had derived meaningful experiences and made memories of some good times as a family. Maybe, just maybe, I will bequeath my quick trip crown to them….eventually.

Many thanks to Legends: Pirates of the Gulf, Chukka and Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park for hosting us, and to the Galveston Island Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. March 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *