fbpx

关于加拿大荒地的10个古怪事实

尽管许多人都知道艾伯塔省的加拿大荒地以恐龙化石和其他史前人工制品而闻名,但这个多样化且风景秀丽的地区还有很多其他东西。
从令人印象深刻的规模到广泛的景点和目的地,这是了解加拿大荒地的绝佳时机。 以下是有关加拿大荒地的十个古怪事实,可能会让您感到惊讶:

1.加拿大荒地面积为90,000平方公里,比葡萄牙大。

该地区从德拉姆赫勒(Drumheller)东至萨斯喀彻温(Saskatchewan)边界,南至美国边界,北至雷德迪尔(Red Deer),包括许多著名的城镇,例如梅迪辛哈特(Medicine Hat),麦克劳德堡(Fort Macleod),史泰勒(Stettler)和莱斯布里奇(Lethbridge)。

Donalda-Stettler徒步旅行AV Wakefield提供

2.加拿大荒地是艾伯塔省唯一拥有西部小脚蝙蝠的地区。

该蝙蝠被该省列为特别关注物种。 西方小脚蝙蝠通常栖息在岩石缝隙中,使荒地和黏土减少成为理想的栖息地。 该地区还是草原响尾蛇,短角蜥蜴和各种仙人掌的所在地。

3.加拿大荒地是在Laurentide冰盖上融化的冰川融水后于13,000年前形成的,但其众多咆哮的居民可追溯到75万年前的白垩纪晚期。

七千五百万年前,当恐龙在地球上漫游时,亚伯达省是一个亚热带天堂,沿岸平原遍布着梧桐和木兰茂盛的森林,使其成为保存恐龙骨骼化石的理想气候。 直到“最新的”历史(大约75年前),今天我们看到的加拿大荒地都是通过对其沉积岩石的剧烈侵蚀而形成的。

4.您可以在真实的火车轨道上停留在实际的位置。

莫斯利(Mossleigh)的阿斯彭(Aspen)Crossing Caboose客舱可为您提供所有现代化设施,让您回到更简单的时光。 在加拿大荒地露营时,获得真实的火车车经验。

阿斯彭穿越大草原火车。 照片由加拿大荒地旅游局提供

5.在加拿大荒地中发现的最不寻常的化石之一实际上并不是恐龙。

恐龙的近亲是在225亿年前在地球上行走的,在恐龙省立公园中发现了翼龙的腿骨。 更令人印象深刻的是,一只小的掠食性恐龙的牙齿嵌入了它的骨骼中!

6.该地区的远足和远足径与艾伯塔省落基山脉的远足径相当。

马蹄峡谷只是该地区一个令人难以置信的目的地,风景优美,地势险峻,适合远足和骑山地自行车。 对于海滩爱好者来说,很难超越Park Lake Provincial Park所包含的步道,使用户可以轻松取水。 无论您喜欢哪种远足方式,都可以在加拿大荒地找到它。

7.加拿大荒地是35个省级公园和自然地区的所在地。

并非所有的粘土和沉积物,荒地都是众多休闲区的所在地,其中包括亚历山大荒野公园,醋栗湖省立公园和罗雄沙省立公园。

恐龙省立公园照片由Mike Seehagel提供

8.早期的法国探险家给加拿大荒地地区起了现名。

尽管这个名称似乎不言自明,但该地区陡峭的山峰,平坦的高山和险恶的沟壑被称为“穿越的荒地”。

9.加拿大荒地是世界上最黑暗的天空的故乡。

在赛普拉斯山天文台便利地位于赛普拉斯山黑暗天空保护区中的塞普拉斯山天文台,欣赏夜空的真正美,该场所致力于防止人造光限制视线。 这个黑暗的天空保护区是最黑暗,最容易到达的保护区之一,也是最大的保护区之一,保护着39,600公顷土地-相当于97,850足球场的大小!

柏树山黑暗的天空保护区,照片由杰夫·巴特利特(Jeff Bartlett)提供

10.艺术,文化和历史在该地区相撞,改造后的工厂成为博物馆。

梅迪辛哈特奖章 既是工业博物馆,又是当代艺术中心,利用了过去的建筑,并邀请了可以帮助与会人员制作自己的黏土作品的艺术家。

Medalta Clay摄影:加拿大荒地旅游

加拿大荒地是数百个文化,历史和风景名胜的目的地。 另外,如果您真的喜欢恐龙,您会发现世界上最大的德拉姆黑勒(Drumheller),高25米(是实际霸王龙的4.5倍)。 将106个台阶缩放到顶部,可欣赏壮观的视野。

作者: 加拿大荒地旅游

加拿大荒地旅游局(CBT)是加拿大荒地的非营利性区域旅行社,在艾伯塔省的面积为90,000平方公里。 CBT致力于发展和促进该地区成为艾伯塔省的下一个标志性旅游胜地。 从市中心到风景秀丽的大道,该地区提供各种住宿,景点和活动。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

10 Quirky Facts about the Canadian Badlands

While many know that Alberta’s Canadian Badlands are famous for dinosaur fossils and other prehistoric artifacts, but there’s much more to this diverse and scenic region.
From its impressive size to its broad range of attractions and destinations, it’s a perfect time to get to know the Canadian Badlands. Here are ten quirky facts about the Canadian Badlands that may surprise you:

1. At 90,000 square kilometres, the Canadian Badlands is bigger than Portugal.

Spanning east from Drumheller to the Saskatchewan border and south towards the United States border and north to Red Deer, this region encompasses many well-known towns and cities such as Medicine Hat, Fort Macleod, Stettler and Lethbridge.

Hiking in Donalda-Stettler Photo Courtesy AV Wakefield

2. The Canadian Badlands is the only region in Alberta home to the western small-footed bat.

This species of bat is classified as a Species of Special Concern by the province. Western small-footed bats typically roost in rock crevices, making the badlands and clay cutbacks an ideal habitat. The region is also home to the prairie rattlesnake, the short-horned lizard and various species of cacti.

3. The Canadian Badlands were formed more than 13,000 years ago as a result of glacial meltwater from the Laurentide ice sheet, but many of its roaring residents date back 75 million years to the Late Cretaceous period.

When dinosaurs roamed the Earth 75 million years ago, Alberta was a sub-tropical paradise with lush forests of sycamore and magnolia lining the coastal plains, making it the ideal climate for the preservation of dinosaur bones as fossils. It wasn’t until “recent” history (approximately 13,000 years ago) that the Canadian Badlands as we see them today were formed through a process of vigorous erosion of its sedimentary rocks.

4. You can stay in an actual caboose on a real train track.

Aspen Crossing Caboose Cabins in Mossleigh can take you back to a simpler time, with all the modern amenities. Get the authentic train car experience when you camp out in the Canadian Badlands.

Aspen Crossing Prairie Train Ride. Photo Courtesy Canadian Badlands Tourism

5. One of the most unusual fossils discovered in the Canadian Badlands isn’t actually a dinosaur.

A close relative of the dinosaur that walked the planet 225 million years ago, the leg bone of a pterosaur was discovered in Dinosaur Provincial Park. Even more impressive, the tooth of a small predatory dinosaur was embedded in its bone!

6. The hikes and trails in this region rival those found in Alberta’s Rocky Mountains.

Horseshoe Canyon is just one incredible destination in this region, offering scenic views and challenging terrain suitable for hiking and mountain biking. For beach lovers, it is hard to beat the trails contained in Park Lake Provincial Park, providing users with easy access to the water. No matter your hiking preference, you’ll find it in the Canadian Badlands.

7. The Canadian Badlands are home to 35 provincial parks and natural areas.

Not all clay and sediment, the Badlands are home to numerous recreational areas including Alexander Wilderness Park, Gooseberry Lake Provincial Park, and Rochon Sands Provincial Park.

Dinosaur Provincial Park Photo Courtesy Mike Seehagel

8. Early French explorers gave the Canadian Badlands region its current name.

Though the name may seem self-explanatory, this region’s steep-sloped, flat-top mountains and deep, winding gullies were noted as “bad lands to cross.”

9. The Canadian Badlands is home to some of the darkest skies in the world.

Take in the true beauty of the night sky at the Cypress Hills Observatory, conveniently located in the Cypress Hills Dark-Sky Preserve which is dedicated to keeping out artificial light that restricts the view. This dark-sky preserve is one of the darkest, most easily accessible, and one of the largest with 39,600 hectares protected – that’s the size of 97,850 football fields!

Cypress Hills Dark Sky Preserve Photo Courtesy Jeff Bartlett

10. Art, culture and history collide in this region, with retrofitted factories serving as museums.

Medalta in Medicine Hat is both an industrial museum and contemporary arts centre, utilizing past architecture and featuring artists who can help attendees craft their very own clay creations.

 

Medalta Clay Photo Courtesy Canadian Badlands Tourism

The Canadian Badlands is home to hundreds of cultural, historic and scenic destinations. Plus, if you really love dinosaurs, you’ll find the world’s largest in Drumheller, standing at 25 metres tall (that’s 4.5 times the size of an actual T-Rex). Scale the 106 steps to the top for a roaring good view.

 

Author: Canadian Badlands Tourism

Canadian Badlands Tourism (CBT) is a non-profit regional tourism agency for the Canadian Badlands, spanning 90,000 square km in Alberta. CBT is engaged in developing and promoting the region as Alberta’s next iconic-tourism destination. From urban centres to scenic drives, this region offers a diverse range of accommodations, attractions and events.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.