fbpx

逃到這些令人驚嘆的安大略群島!

勞倫斯·杜雷爾(Lawrence Durrell)在1953年寫道:“以色列是一種罕見的精神苦難。有些人發現島嶼某種程度上是無法抗拒的,並充滿了難以形容的陶醉。”

雖然我不會稱自己為伊斯蘭主義者,但島嶼還是有一些特別之處。 他們的分離和分離吸引我們進入,並邀請我們放鬆,享受他們的海灘,聆聽海浪的聲音並以緩慢的節奏聆聽生活,即使只有幾天。

像喬治敦灣的30,000個島嶼和東部的1000個島嶼,以及世界上最大的淡水島嶼這樣的群島,如果您碰巧與杜雷爾(Durrell)共享苦難,安大略省將不乏目的地。 以下是今年秋天可以逃脫的一些事情:

1000群島

為什麼去 該群島位於安大略省東南部,安大略湖與強大的聖勞倫斯河交匯處,該群島擁有1864個橫跨加拿大/美國邊界的島嶼。 究竟是什麼島嶼構成了一個爭論的問題,美國人認為一塊佔地一平方英尺的島上只有一棵樹,而加拿大人則認為一平方米和兩棵樹才是合格的。 但是,當它們都具有令人難以置信的風景時,語義又有什麼不同呢? 這是聯合國教科文組織認可的冰川雕刻景觀,融合了硬木和松樹林,岩石露頭和懸崖,周圍都是閃閃發光的水道。

1000群島照片提供者Jennifer Merrick

該怎麼辦? 乘1000島皮划艇遊覽水上運動,讓您在這些小島上划船,發現野生動植物並發現歷史景點。 麥當勞島(McDonald Island)是加拿大公園(Parks Canada)運營的20個景點之一,擁有碼頭和露營地,包括oTENTiks,帶燒烤架的屋頂住宿,野餐桌和暖氣。 遠足其周邊或將其用作探索周圍島嶼的大本營。

[COVID注意:露營地和步道是開放的,但是島上沒有可用的oTENTik,儘管截至2020年XNUMX月在大陸的馬洛里著陸點已經開放]

喬治亞灣群島

為什麼去 如果您認為1864個島嶼很多,請在世界上最大的群島上嘗試30,000多個島嶼。 加拿大公園管理員僅佔其中的一小部分,確切地說是63人,位於加拿大最小的國家公園,面積為14平方公里的喬治亞灣群島國家公園。 它缺乏尺寸,卻彌補了加拿大盾牌的花崗岩,深藍色的海水和被風吹散的松樹的壯麗氣息,這些靈感啟發了繪畫其風景的七國集團藝術家。

仙女湖。 照片來源Jennifer Merrick

該怎麼辦? 博索萊爾島上的雪松溫泉遊客中心提供自行車出租服務,因此您可以沿小島繞行,展現其非凡的多樣性。 徒步旅行的範圍很廣,從1.5公里長的觀景台可欣賞到海拔210米的海灣,再到一條神秘的童話小徑,它穿過地精和仙女湖(這個故事激發了您必鬚髮現自己的名字的靈感)。 在120個露營地之一(包括帶頂棚的住所)中度過一天或過夜。 需要提前預訂加拿大公園Daytripper船上的交通工具。

[注意:營地和遊客中心是開放的; 但是,這裡沒有交通工具,所以遊客需要用水上出租車或自己的船私人安排。 oTENTik也將在2020季節期間不可用。]

馬尼圖林島

為什麼去 在安大略省北部長大,我們一直將馬尼圖林簡稱為“島嶼”。 它位於休倫湖上,是世界上最大的淡水島,其中有100多個湖泊。 這些湖泊中有一些有自己的島嶼,因此從理論上講,您甚至可以留在島上的一個島上。 馬尼圖林(Manitoulin)的名字在阿尼什奈格(Anishnaabeg)語言中意為“精神之島”,它以雕刻的石灰岩懸崖和瀑布,野花和豐富的文化底蘊的陡峭景觀真正地吸引著那些來訪者。

馬尼圖林島。 照片來源Jennifer Merrick

該怎麼辦? 遠足杯碟徑,那裡有壯觀的70米高的懸崖和令人jaw目結舌的遠景,並參觀新娘面紗瀑布和高瀑布之類的瀑布。 苦難灣省立公園不負盛名,其步道將帶您穿越森林和古老冰川海灘的交融處。 戈登公園露營地是第一個商業私有的暗天空保護區,這意味著美麗的夜空,有機會看到銀河系的所有榮耀,甚至還有北極光。

培利島

為什麼去 位於與羅馬和巴塞羅那相同緯度的第42平行線上,您無法比這個美麗的島嶼更遠地到達加拿大南部。 它的南部氣候不僅意味著該省最長的無霜季節,而且還意味著獨特的動植物,如刺梨仙人掌,本地咖啡樹和稀有的藍色賽車蛇。 春季,觀鳥者蜂擁而至,發現了超過350個標本,這些標本在他們向南遷移的途中就停在那裡。 夏季,遊客匯聚一堂,享受海灘,酒莊和生活節奏。

[COVID注意:酒廠目前關閉]

Pelee Island圖片來源Jennifer Merrick

該怎麼辦? 沿著平坦的路線,您可以沿著風景優美的伊利湖畔以及卡羅林山脈穿越,因此在島上騎自行車是一種受歡迎的活動(可從靠近渡輪碼頭的Comfortech租用自行車)。 魚點自然保護區的徒步旅行展示了一些島嶼的植物財富,並直達其最南端。 如果您的手機認為您在美國,請不要感到驚訝! 島的另一端是燈塔角(Lighthouse Point),經過修復的1833年watch望塔立於自然的海灘上,上面鋪滿了白色,陽光漂白的浮木和石頭,非常適合跳繩。 宣教堂項目是一個庇護所,是對Pelee的“療養懷抱”的見證,它提醒我們“自然界中的神性存在”。 我個人認為這是一個信息,在一個島上更真實。

也許我畢竟是一個伊斯蘭主義者?

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Escape to These Stunning Ontario Islands!

“Islomania is a rare affliction of spirit,” wrote author Lawrence Durrell in 1953. “There are people who find islands somehow irresistible…and fills them with an indescribable intoxication.”

While I wouldn’t call myself an islomaniac, there is something special about islands. Their separation and disconnection draw us in and invite us to relax, enjoy their beaches, listen to the sound of the waves and live life at a slower rhythm if only for a few days.

With archipelagos like the 30,000 islands in Georgian Bay and the 1000 Islands in the east, as well as the largest freshwater island in the world, Ontario has no shortage of destinations if you happen to share Durrell’s affliction. Here are just a few to escape to this fall:

1000 Islands

Why go? Located in southeastern Ontario, where Lake Ontario meets the mighty Saint Lawrence River, this archipelago has 1864 islands that straddle the Canadian/US border. What actually constitutes an island though is a matter of debate with Americans considering a one-square-foot piece of land with one tree an island and Canadians maintaining that a one-square metre and two trees were necessary to qualify. But what difference do semantics make when it’s all just incredibly scenic? This UNESCO-recognized, glacially-sculpted landscape combines hardwood and pine forests, rocky outcrops and cliffs all surrounded by glittering waterways.

1000 Islands Photo Credit Jennifer Merrick

What to do? Get out on the water with an excursion by 1000 Island Kayaking that will have you paddling among these isles, spotting wildlife and discovering historical attractions. McDonald Island, one of 20 run by Parks Canada, has docks and camping sites, including oTENTiks, roofed accommodation with BBQs, picnic tables and heaters. Hike its perimeter or use it as a base camp to explore surrounding islands.

[COVID note: campsites and trails are open, but the oTENTiks are not available on the islands, though the ones at Mallory’s Landing on the mainland are, as at Sept 2020]

Georgian Bay Islands

Why go? If you think 1864 islands were are a lot, try over 30,000 here on the world’s largest archipelago. Parks Canada stewards just a fraction of them, 63 to be exact, at Canada’s smallest national park, the 14-square kilometre Georgian Bay Islands National Park. What it lacks in size, it makes up for in grandeur with the granite rocks of the Canadian shield, deep blue waters and windswept pines that inspired the Group of Seven artists who painted its landscape.

Fairy Lake. Photo Credit Jennifer Merrick

What to do? The Cedar Spring Visitor Centre on Beausoleil Island offers bike rentals, so you can circle the island on its paths that showcase its remarkable diversity. Hikes range from the short 1.5km Lookout Trail with views of the bay 210 metres above sea level to a mysterious Fairy Trail that passes Goblin and Fairy Lakes (the story that inspired the names you’ll have to discover yourself). Go for the day or camp overnight at one of the 120 campsites, including roofed accommodations. Transportation on the Park Canada Daytripper boat needs to be booked in advance.

[COVID note: The campsites and visitor centre are open; however, there is no transportation, so visitors need to make private arrangements with water taxis or their own boats. The oTENTiks are also not available for the duration of the 2020 season.]

Manitoulin Island

Why go? Growing up in Northern Ontario, we always referred to Manitoulin simply as ‘The Island’. Located on Lake Huron, it’s the largest freshwater island in the world with more than 100 lakes within it. Some of those lakes have their own islands, so theoretically you can even stay on an island on an island. Manitoulin’s name means ‘Spirit island’ in the Anishnaabeg language, and it truly casts a spell on those who visit with its escarpment landscape of sculpted limestone cliffs and waterfalls, wildflowers and a rich cultural heritage.

Manitoulin Island. Photo Credit Jennifer Merrick

What to do? Hike the Cup and Saucer Trail, which features dramatic 70-metre cliffs and jaw-dropping vistas, and visit waterfalls like Bridal Veil Falls and High Falls. Misery Bay Provincial Park does not live up to its name with trails that take you through stands of mixed forest and old glacial beaches. Gordon’s Park Campground was the first commercial privately-owned dark-sky preserve, which means beautiful night skies with opportunities to see the Milky Way in all its glory and maybe even the Aurora Borealis.

Pelee Island

Why go? Located on the 42nd parallel, the same latitude as Rome and Barcelona, you simply can’t go any farther south in Canada than this beautiful island. Its southern clime not only means the longest frost-free season in the province but also unique flora and fauna like the prickly pear cactus, native coffee trees and the rare blue racer snake. Bird watchers flock here in spring to spot the more than 350 specimens that stop here on their migration south. Tourists converge in the summer months to enjoy the beaches, winery and the pace of life.

[COVID note: the winery is currently closed]

Pelee Island Photo Credit Jennifer Merrick

What to do? With mostly flat routes that take you along the scenic shoreline of Lake Erie as well as through the Carolinian forest, biking is a popular activity on the island (rentals are available from Comfortech located close to the ferry docks). A hike at the Fish Point Nature Reserve showcases some of the islands botanical riches and leads down to its southernmost point. Don’t be surprised if your cell phone thinks you’re in the US! At the opposite end of the island is Lighthouse Point, where the restored 1833 watchtower stands stoically on the natural beach strewn with white, sun-bleached driftwood and stones perfect for skipping. The Mission Hall Project is a sanctuary built as a testament to Pelee’s ‘healing embrace’ and reminds us that ‘divinity in nature is there for the taking’. It’s a message that personally I think rings even truer on an island.

Perhaps I am somewhat of an islomaniac after all?

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.