fbpx

您的家人在纽约西部不愿错过的3个世界一流博物馆

想参加很棒的三城市博物馆之旅吗? 尼亚加拉大瀑布,布法罗和詹姆斯敦的三个新博物馆值得一游,前往纽约西部。 首先,了解地下铁路的迷人历史,该历史帮助奴隶在尼亚加拉大瀑布的尼亚加拉河上逃脱了自由。 然后,半小时前往布法罗,在这家耗资29千90百万美元建造的四层楼高的儿童博物馆中,“这是新的一天”。 再过XNUMX分钟的车程,您将到达喜剧女王露西尔·鲍尔(Lucille Ball)的故乡詹姆斯敦(Jamestown),这个小镇启发了世界上第一个专门研究喜剧的博物馆的建立。

纽约西部的博物馆照片#1-照片由尼亚加拉大瀑布地下铁路遗产中心提供

尼亚加拉大瀑布豪华酒店的服务员帮助奴隶越过河逃到加拿大。 照片由尼亚加拉大瀑布地下铁路遗产中心提供。

尼亚加拉大瀑布地下铁路遗产中心

这座体验博物馆被《今日美国》(USA Today)评选为10年美国十大新景点之一,位于加拿大-美国边界,记录了尼亚加拉河作为奴隶过境点的重要性。 它讲述了鲜为人知,大多为匿名的“指挥”的故事,他们在帮助寻求自由者逃离加拿大方面发挥了关键作用。 这些英雄包括非洲裔美国人的服务员,这些人是成为自由人的前奴隶,他们在城市的豪华酒店工作,并在2018年代初至中期形成了地下铁路运动的核心。 他们帮助将南部旅馆游客的奴隶引导到美国瀑布基地,并乘小型划艇前往加拿大,但途经短暂而危险的旅程-这是危险的旅程,因为赏金猎人和联邦特工经常在该地区巡逻。 直到1800年悬索桥(现在的惠而浦桥)建成,船只才是穿越河道的唯一途径(尽管一些绝望的奴隶试图游泳)。哈里特·塔布曼(Harriet Tubman)被称为“她的人民的摩西”,帮助逃犯穿过这座木制吊桥前往加拿大,通常是将它们藏在水果货车和有轨电车中。



博物馆鼓励游客考虑源自奴隶制的现代不公正现象,并展出了巴基斯坦激进主义者马拉拉·尤萨夫扎伊,反种族隔离革命者纳尔逊·曼德拉,妇女权利激进主义者苏珊·B·安东尼和最高法院大法官瑟古德·马歇尔等领导人的照片。为争取更公平的世界而战 感动人心的“自由画廊”。

纽约西部的博物馆照片#2探索和更多孩子在玩Drew Brown摄影

博物馆的七个教育游乐区包括一个专门展示城市水道功能的区域。 照片提供:访问Buffalo Niagara。

布法罗的探索与更多儿童博物馆

这是一个需要认真对待的博物馆。 有四个楼层供您探索,还有七个教育性游乐区,配有动手展品,其中许多详细介绍了布法罗的独特之处。 在“动水区”,孩子们被介绍给城市水道的历史,首先是一个两层楼的瀑布,瀑布层叠成一个地下水位,在那里他们可以了解伊利运河,锁如何工作以及如何发电。 在“从农场到叉子”地区,向孩子们展示了如何种植和收割,并可以装载小型卡车将农产品推向市场。 甚至还有真人大小的带有橡胶乳房的奶牛模型,可以射出水,让孩子们尝试挤奶。 孩子们可以在医院的病房里护理泰迪熊的病人,使他们恢复健康,并在艺术工作室,烹饪画廊和“修补罐”(Tinkering Tank)中度过时光。

博物馆庆祝将布法罗(Buffalo)放在地图上的人们,其中包括1884年第一位竞选总统的贝尔瓦·洛克伍德(Belva Lockwood)。

从2020年XNUMX月开始,博物馆将安装面向所有儿童的室内树屋式游乐区,无论其身体或发育方面的挑战如何。 轮椅升降机将允许有无障碍需求的孩子进入树屋内部。

纽约西部的博物馆图片#3国家喜剧中心归功于肖托夸县游客局

国家喜剧中心获得了美国最著名的新景点的赞誉。 照片由肖托夸县旅游局提供。

詹姆斯敦国家喜剧中心

纽约詹姆斯敦(Jamestown)人口30,000万,对于一个耗资50万美元的喜剧博物馆来说似乎不太可能出现,该博物馆被誉为世界上首个记录表演者的电影-从查理·卓别林到《三只臭皮匠》再到艾伦·德杰尼勒斯,这让我们大笑在过去的100年中 但这是露西尔·鲍尔(Lucille Ball)的出生地,她一直梦想着使自己的家乡成为喜剧艺术的著名中心。 (一家规模较小的博物馆致力于鲍尔的生活和工作,已经在这座城市运营了近25年,距离新博物馆仅三个街区。)

国家喜剧中心提供了令人难以置信的个性化互动体验,使访客可以识别自己喜欢的喜剧演员和表演,然后将这些信息存储在整个访问过程中佩戴的腕带中的计算机芯片中,以确保根据个人喜好量身定制体验。

一些娱乐活动适合大人使用-藏品包括杰里·塞恩菲尔德(Jerry Seinfeld)着名的“蓬松衬衫”,还有一个“蓝色房间”,成人幽默对孩子们是禁止的,但是有很多东西可以让学龄儿童逗乐,包括有机会制作动画片,在电影中添加声音效果,制作模因,将自己插入经典的巧克力工厂“ I Love Lucy”场景中,尝试在舞台上阅读站立剧本,并使用诸如teeth不休的牙齿和百变的靠垫,为影片剪辑增添声音效果,并在最后笑的人获胜的地方玩Laugh Battle。

《时代》杂志将该中心称为“世界上最伟大的地方之一”,《康泰纳仕旅行家》称它是“该国最好的博物馆之一”。您需要花费至少四个小时来探索37,000平方英尺的展览空间。 就像最好的喜剧演员一样,这个博物馆会让您一路回味。

作者前往纽约西部,并应邀访问了布法罗尼亚加拉游乐园和肖托夸县游客局。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

3 World-Class Museums Your Family Won’t Want to Miss in Western New York

Up for a terrific tri-city museum tour? Three new museums in Niagara Falls, Buffalo and Jamestown, are worth the trek to western New York. First, learn the fascinating history of the Underground Railroad, which helped slaves escape to freedom across the Niagara River in Niagara Falls. Then travel half an hour to Buffalo where “it’s a new day for play” at the massive four-storey $29-million children’s museum. After another 90-minute drive, you’ll land in the small town of Jamestown, home of comedy queen Lucille Ball, who inspired the creation of the world’s first museum devoted to comedy.

 

Museums in Western New York Photo #1 - Photo courtesy Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Center

Waiters at luxury hotels in Niagara Falls helped slaves escape across the river to Canada. Photo courtesy Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Center.

Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Center

Voted one of the Top 10 new attractions in America in 2018 by USA Today, this experiential museum is situated on the Canada-U.S. border and documents the importance of the Niagara River as a crossing point for slaves. It tells the story of the lesser-known, mostly anonymous, “conductors,” who played a pivotal role in helping freedom seekers escape to Canada. These heroes included African-American waiters—former slaves who became free men—who worked at luxury hotels in the city and formed the core of Underground Railroad activism during the early to mid-1800s. They helped guide the slaves of southern hotel visitors to the base of the American Falls and into small rowboats for the short but perilous journey to Canada—it was a dangerous ride since bounty hunters and federal agents regularly patrolled the area. Boats were the only way to get across the river (although some desperate slaves attempted to swim) until the Suspension Bridge (now the Whirlpool Bridge) was built in 1848. Harriet Tubman, known as the “Moses of her people,” helped steer fugitives to Canada across this wooden suspension bridge, often by hiding them in fruit wagons and railroad cattle cars.



The museum inspires visitors to consider the modern-day injustices that stemmed from slavery and features photos of leaders such as Pakistani activist Malala Yousafzai, anti-apartheid revolutionary Nelson Mandela, women’s rights activist Susan B. Anthony and Supreme Court justice Thurgood Marshall, who have fought for a more equitable world in its emotionally moving “Freedom Gallery.”

Museums in Western New York Photo #2 Explore And More kids playing Photo by Drew Brown

The museum’s seven educational play zones include one dedicated to demonstrating how the city’s waterways function. Photo courtesy Visit Buffalo Niagara.

 

Buffalo’s Explore & More Children’s Museum

This is one museum that takes play seriously. There are four floors to explore and seven educational play zones with hands-on exhibits, many of which detail the unique aspects of Buffalo. In the Moving Water zone, kids are introduced to the history of the city’s waterways, starting with a two-storey waterfall that cascades into a water table where they can learn about the Erie Canal, how locks work and how electricity is produced. In the Farm to Fork zone, children are shown how to plant and harvest and can load a small-scale truck to take produce to the market. There’s even a life-size model of a cow with rubber udders that shoot out water and lets kids try their hand at milking. Children can nurse teddy bear patients back to good health in the hospital station and spend time in an art studio, cooking gallery and “Tinkering Tank,” a giant workshop complete with pint-sized tools.

The museum celebrates the people that have helped put Buffalo on the map, including one Belva Lockwood, the first woman to campaign for president— in 1884.

Starting in January 2020 the museum will install an indoor treehouse-style play area designed for all children—regardless of physical or developmental challenges. A wheelchair lift will allow kids with accessibility needs into the interior of the treehouse.

Museums in Western New York Photo # 3 National Comedy Centre credit Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau

The National Comedy Center in winning accolades as a top new U.S. attraction. Photo courtesy Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau.

National Comedy Centre in Jamestown

Jamestown, New York, population 30,000, seems an unlikely spot for a $50 million museum of comedy, billed as the first of its kind in the world documenting the performers—from Charlie Chaplin to The Three Stooges to Ellen DeGeneres—who have made us laugh over the past 100 years. But it’s the birthplace of Lucille Ball who always dreamed of making her hometown a celebrated centre for the art of comedy. (A much smaller museum dedicated to Ball’s life and work has been operating in the city for almost 25 years and is located just three blocks from the new museum.)

The National Comedy Center offers an incredibly personalised interactive experience, allowing visitors to identify which comedians and shows they love and then storing this information on a computer chip in a wristband that’s worn throughout your visit, ensuring the experience is tailored to individual preferences.

Some of the entertainment is suited to grownups—the collection of artifacts includes Jerry Seinfeld’s famous “puffy shirt” and there’s a “Blue Room” with adult humour that’s off-limits to kids—but there’s plenty to keep school-age children amused, including the opportunity to create a cartoon, add sound effects to movies, make a meme, insert themselves into the classic chocolate-factory “I Love Lucy” scene, try their hand at reading a stand-up script on stage, play with props such as chattering teeth and whoopee cushions, add sound effects to film clips and play Laugh Battle where the person who laughs last wins.

TIME magazine named the centre “one of the world’s greatest places” and Condé Nast Traveler says it’s “one of the best museums in the country.” You’ll want to give yourself at least four hours to explore the 37,000 sq ft of exhibition space. And just like the best of comedians, this museum will leave you laughing all the way home.

 

The author travelled to western New York and was a guest of Visit Buffalo Niagara and  Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.