fbpx

亚利桑那州盐河文化聚焦

鼓声几乎淹没了我的主持人,主持人倾身并提高了嗓音,以至于弥漫着普遍的节奏。 她为我填写了更多信息,因为通过扬声器宣布了正在处理的人员的姓名和国家。 选美比赛在我们面前展开,作为第一民族的皇室成员和Powwow巡回赛中的顶级舞者,游行并跳舞进入竞技场,参加第33届年度Red Mountain Eagle PowWow的盛大入口。 这是一次旅行的多彩,激动人心的高潮,我发现自己沉浸在亚利桑那州盐河皮马-马里科帕印第安社区的文化中。

盐河文化:本土艺术市场上的舞者

两位年轻堂兄准备在盐河的Talking Stick的本地艺术市场上与母亲和阿姨表演叮当的服饰舞蹈时,保持了盐河文化的活力。 图片J. Mallia

盐河皮马-马里科帕印第安社区 (SRPMIC还是盐湖区更方便),毗邻斯科茨代尔和 台面 是在保留制度下为皮马和马里科帕国家分配土地而生的。 从历史上看,皮马人和马里科帕人在盐河沿岸彼此靠近,但是每种人都有独特的语言,手工风格和传统。 在社区中,两者融合在一起,这意味着游客可以体验其中的各个方面。

盐河博物馆文化

盐河皮马-马里科帕印第安社区的HuHugam Ki博物馆介绍了建筑技术。 图片J. Mallia

历史

为了帮助了解盐河的当代文化,它有助于了解一些历史。 的 胡Hu庚基博物馆 是一个很好的开始的地方。

这个小博物馆被称为“我们祖先的住所”,是盐河原住民的古代和最近历史的档案,里面装满了许多文物,篮子和陶器,乐器(还有一个小的礼品店)。使用传统方法建造的遗产建筑。 保护文物的建筑物稳定的温度和湿度证明了盐河早期居民的设计技能。



我在早餐时与母女陶艺家聊天,得知陶艺是世世代代传承的技能。 她解释说,当这位老妇人练习双手将黏土拍打在带有木瓢的表格上时,她解释说,家庭群体经常会有自己独特的设计,并涂有豆科灌木树上的黑色染料。 粘土的颜色表示一个家庭在盐河沿岸居住的地方:白色来自加利福尼亚附近的东部,红色来自亚利桑那州的红山。

盐河豆科灌木荚的文化

豆科灌木豆荚等待在屏幕框架上进行分类。 图片J. Mallia

外面是传统建筑的娱乐场所,可用于睡觉,做饭和在烈日般的沙漠阳光下休息。 露天烹饪结构(我拜访时用燃气烤炉进行了更新)采用数百年来用仙人掌制成的“骨头”与坚韧的沙漠植物叶片编织而成,这种结构是按照数百年来的方式建造的。 入口可以向任何方向移动以保持风向。 在内部,敬业的社区成员熟练地将玉米饼平放在双手之间。 “请确保您今晚在Powwow参加聚光灯舞! 厨师告诉我,将面团来回扔直到恰好变薄到可以在烤架上均匀烹饪的量。 用灵巧的手指拉开热量,递给我们仍然温暖,我可能已经吃了六个。

博物馆的后面是加工豆科灌木的场所。 如果您像我一样认为豆科灌木只是一种烧烤风味,请允许我启发您。 当肉在豆蔻木上熏制时,您会得到美味的德州烧烤风味。 但是豆科灌木树也种豆科植物,可以磨成面粉。 如果时间安排正确,您可以在Huhugam Ki博物馆观看该过程,因为社区中的人们都将豆科灌木豆荚碾碎。 首先,将种子荚在筛网上分选,然后将其裂开,以便将其中的豆磨成面粉。 一旦我明白他们没有提供烧烤的煎饼,菜单上的豆科灌木煎饼最终对我来说就有意义了,尽管,老实说,我也会吃那些。

盐河文化

“创造艺术的人”杰弗里·富勒瓦(Jeffery Fulwider)讲述了他雕塑背后的故事 一匹叫做创造的马,真人大小的野马,让人想起一匹马,把他当成男孩。 图片J. Mallia

「艺术」

在参观了博物馆的历史艺术之后,该是看一下盐河现代文化和如今由当地艺术家创作的艺术的时候了。

Jeffrey Fulwider更喜欢“创造艺术的家伙”而不是“艺术家”。即使谦虚的人本人更喜欢低调的形象,他的作品在社区中也是众所周知的。 Fulwider的艺术作品有十个用钢制成的大型雕塑散落在整个城镇,将过去的故事和传统与现在联系在一起。 葫芦人 是对一群男人的程式化描绘,他们在使用Fulwider还是男孩的时候就用葫芦演奏音乐,而他们的一个妻子则在社区教舞蹈。 女士们(篮球舞者) 庆祝一年一度的传统,年轻妇女将编织篮筐,从而体现妻子的价值,以供潜在的婆婆评估和挑选儿子的妻子。 你可以看到他的作品 自助游,或与 游客中心 查询团体旅游,预计将于2020年再次开始。

本地艺术市场中的盐河锅文化

在盐河的本地艺术市场上出售的手工壶。 图片J. Mallia

如果您希望将真正的当地艺术品带回家, 本土艺术市场 是一个很棒的地方。 廉价的,大量生产的仿冒品是适当的本土手工艺品是一个现实问题,但并不总是那么容易发现。 在本地艺术市场上购物可确保您​​购买的是真正的商品,并且这些钱将流向艺术家。 市场在XNUMX月至XNUMX月的周六和周日营业。 这就像一个农贸市场,艺术步道变成一个市场,许多艺术家本人都参加了在Talking Stick购物中心的展位。 当我在众多摊位之一中对复杂的串珠设计进行讨价还价时,我提到了稍后参加Powwow的计划。 “哦,你会喜欢的!”这位年轻的艺术家向我保证。 她热情地说道:“我都很喜欢,但聚光灯是我的最爱!”

观众在特别的聚光灯下看着舞者旋转。 图片J. Mallia

祈祷仪式

我一直对听到的聚光灯舞充满兴趣,并对此感到非常激动。那天晚上我很高兴能来到Powwow。 该活动每年有来自美国和加拿大各地的400多名舞蹈演员参加,是亚利桑那州同类活动中规模最大的一次。 棒球场上有狂欢节的气氛,摊贩摊上出售从炸面包到皮夹克的各种东西。 一切的中心都是跳舞的舞台。

那天晚上晚些时候,在红山雄鹰战机上明亮的舞台灯光熄灭时,我感到有些激动。 当特别邀请的舞者受邀在聚光灯下展现其竞技舞蹈才能时,聚光灯特别表演在天黑后发生。 我一个接一个地看着男人和女人旋转和跳跃,服装在他们周围旋转,然后随着音乐结束而突然停止。

詹·马里亚(Jen Mallia)是“发现盐河”(Discover Salt River)和“拜访梅萨(Vissa Mesa)”的嘉宾,但他们都没有机会在发表之前进行审查。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Spotlight on Culture in Salt River Arizona

The sound of the drumbeat almost drowns out my host, who leans in and raises her voice to be heard above the pervasive rhythm. She fills in more information for me as the names and nations of people processing in are announced over the loudspeaker. The pageant unfolds in front of us, as a who’s who of First Nations royalty and top dancers in the Powwow circuit parade and dance into the arena for the Grand Entrance of the 33rd annual Red Mountain Eagle PowWow. It’s the colourful, exciting culmination of a trip where I’ve found myself immersed in the culture of the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community of Arizona.

Culture in Salt River: Dancers at the Native Art Market

Two young cousins keep the culture of Salt River alive as they prepare to perform a jingle dress dance with their mother and auntie at the Native Art Market at Talking Stick in Salt River. image J. Mallia

The Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community (SRPMIC or easier still, Salt River) which borders Scottsdale and Mesa was born of the allocation of land for the Pima and Maricopa nations under the reservation system. The Pima and the Maricopa people historically lived close to each other along the Salt River, but each has a distinct language, artisanal styles, and traditions. In the community, there is a blending of the two, which means visitors get to experience aspects of each.

Culture-of-Salt-River-museum

A window into building techniques at the HuHugam Ki Museum in the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community. image J. Mallia

History

To help give context to the contemporary culture of Salt River, it helps to know some of the history. The HuHugam Ki Museum is a great place to start.

Named “the place of our ancestors,” the small museum is an archive of the ancient and recent history of the Indigenous people of Salt River with lots of artifacts, baskets and pottery, musical instruments (and a great little gift shop) housed in a heritage building built using traditional methods. The stable temperature and humidity of the building that protects the artifacts is a testament to the design skills of early Salt River inhabitants.



Chatting with mother-daughter potters at breakfast, I learned that crafting pottery is a skill passed down by generations. As the elder woman’s practised hands patted clay onto a form with a wooden ladle, she explained that family groups will often have designs that are unique to them, painted with black dye derived from the mesquite tree. The colour of the clay indicates where along the Salt River a family lived: white comes from the east, near California, while red is from the Red Mountain in Arizona.

Culture-of-Salt-River-mesquite-pods

Mesquite pods wait to be sorted on a screen frame. image J. Mallia

Outside are recreations of traditional structures used for sleeping, cooking, and respite from the blistering desert sun. The open-air cooking structure–updated with a gas griddle when I visited–is constructed the way they have been made for hundreds of years, using the “bones” of saguaro cacti woven with fronds of tough desert plants. The entrance opening can be moved in any direction to keep the wind out. Inside, dedicated members of the community expertly pat tortillas flat between their hands. “Make sure you stay for the spotlight dance at the Powwow tonight! You don’t want to miss it.” the cook tells me, throwing the dough back and forth until it thins precisely the right amount to cook evenly on the grill. Pulled off the heat by deft fingers and handed to us still warm, I may have eaten six.

At the back of the museum is a spot for processing mesquite. If you, like me, thought mesquite is only a barbeque flavour, allow me to enlighten you. When the meat is smoked over mesquite wood, you get that yummy Texas BBQ flavour. But the mesquite tree also grows legumes which can be ground into flour. If you time it right, you can watch the process at the Huhugam Ki Museum as people from the community bring their mesquite pods in to be milled. First, the seed pods are sorted over a mesh screen before being cracked open so the beans inside can be ground into flour. The mesquite pancakes on the menu finally made sense to me once I understood they weren’t offering barbequed pancakes, although, let’s be honest here, I would have eaten those too.

Culture-of-Salt-River-Fulwider

“Guy who makes art” Jeffery Fulwider describes the story behind his sculpture A Horse Called Creation, a life-sized mustang reminiscent of a horse that threw him as a boy. image J. Mallia

Art

After seeing the historic art in the museum, it’s time to get a look at modern culture in Salt River and art being created by local artists these days.

Jeffrey Fulwider prefers the title “guy who makes art” over “artist.” His work is well known around the community, even if the humble man himself prefers a lower profile. With ten large scale sculptures rendered in steel scattered throughout town, Fulwider’s art links the stories and traditions of the past with the present. The Gourd Men is a stylised depiction of a group of men who played music using gourds while one of their wives taught dances in the community when Fulwider was a boy. The Ladies (Basket Dancers) celebrates the annual tradition where young women would put their basket weaving–and thus wife-worthiness–on display for potential mothers-in-law to evaluate and select wives for their sons. You can see his work on a self-guided tour, or contact the visitors centre to inquire about group tours, anticipated to begin again in 2020.

Culture-in-Salt-River-pot-at-Native-Art-Market

Handcrafted pots for sale at the Native Art Market in Salt River. image J. Mallia

If you are hoping to bring genuine local art home, The Native Art Market is a great place to go. Cheap, mass-produced knock offs that appropriate indigenous art and crafts are a real problem, but aren’t always easy to spot. Shopping at the Native Art Market ensures you are buying genuine articles, and that the money will go towards the artists. The market runs from October to March on Saturdays and Sundays. It’s like a farmers’ market and art walk rolled into one, with many of the artists themselves attending the booths set up at the Pavillion of Talking Stick Shopping Center. As I oohed and aahed over the intricate beaded designs at one of the many stalls, I mentioned my plan to attend the Powwow later. “Oh, you’ll love it!” the young artist assured me. “I love all of it, but the spotlight dance is my favourite!” she enthused.

The audience watches the dancer whirl in the light of the spotlight special. image J. Mallia

Powwow

My interest well and truly piqued about the spotlight dance I kept hearing about, I was excited to get to the Powwow later that night. With over 400 dancers each year travelling from across the US and Canada to participate, the event is the largest of its kind in Arizona. The grounds of the baseball field had a carnival atmosphere, with booths of vendors selling everything from frybread to leather jackets. At the centre of it all was the arena for the dancing.

I felt a little thrill when the bright arena lights clunked off during the Red Mountain Eagle PowWow later that night. The Spotlight Special happens after dark when specially selected dancers are invited to showcase their athletic dancing prowess under a spotlight. One by one, I watched the men and women twirl and jump, costumes whirling around them, then coming to an abrupt halt as the music ends.

Jen Mallia was a guest of Discover Salt River and Visit Mesa, neither of whom were given an opportunity to review before publishing. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *