fbpx

40在棕榈泉非常棒!

40在棕榈泉非常棒

随着我的30逐渐消失,我发现与我这个年龄的其他女性的对话往往是这样的:

嗯,嗯,我也是。 嗯,嗯,我也是。
呃呃,这是不正常的,请检查出来。
嗯,嗯,我也是。

因此,我有些惶恐地走近了一个女人生命中的重要里程碑--40th生日。 我选择接受40作为一次冒险,而不是一个时代的结束,正是凭借这种态度,我发现自己在棕榈泉庆祝40,这是一个炎热,世纪中叶和美妙的沙漠之家! 一个充满活力的沙漠城市没有拉斯维加斯的超级派对氛围正是我所需要的!

棕榈泉,位于科切拉山谷洛杉矶以东的172公里,长期以来一直是度假者的避风港,因为炎热的气候(被认为对健康有益),户外休闲活动,如打高尔夫球,游泳或打网球,还有购物,本世纪中叶的现代建筑,以及40,50和60等许多明星的风格来到逃离好莱坞的地方。 鲍勃霍普,弗兰克西纳特拉和他的老鼠包,露西和德西,加里格兰特和宾克罗斯比都在棕榈泉的房子。 事实上, 鲍勃霍普的遗产 可以是你的一个很酷的$ 25万!

政治家在这里度假,有更多的高尔夫球场比你可以摇推杆,是的,它也很热(但它是一个干热!),但棕榈泉不是你去哪里轻轻地淡入沙子。 哦,不,时髦的人没有来到棕榈泉,因为它很昏昏欲睡,他们来了,因为它是(而且)是时髦的! groovy是庆祝任何年龄的合适方式!

留在一个神话般的酒店

里维埃拉棕榈泉游泳池,房间和大堂

拉起来 里维埃拉棕榈泉酒店沿着一条点缀着棕榈树的道路,我觉得我已经踏入了一个华丽的,风格化的1950版本。 里维埃拉棕榈泉是Frank Sinatra经常出演的地方,他们正在庆祝100十二月的2015岁生日。 它有前卫,顶级装饰,别致的大堂酒吧,摇摆泳池,套房宽敞,超豪华。 过度充气的家具,巨大的镜子和浮华玻璃都给了里维埃拉的氛围,当我坐在游泳池边的躺椅上时,我屈服于压倒我的Martini Swing播放列表的压力。 随着小屋的冷静和超级细心的工作人员,你永远不会缺乏观看,也不会找到需要提神的饮料。

寻找神话般的明星

徒步旅行 棕榈泉历史协会 是必要的! 在主题为“好莱坞的黄金时代”和“鼠组合游乐场”的游览之旅中,您将漫步在像许多明星拥有房屋的电影殖民地等地区。

普雷斯利蜜月之家

猫王和普丽西拉·普雷斯利在棕榈泉度蜜月的一部分

导游充满了有趣的事实,历史信息,甚至还有一些八卦:弗兰克辛纳屈在他的旗杆上挂着杰克丹尼尔斯的旗帜,当时他在居住时表示鸡尾酒会时间,并且有传言说Lisa Marie Presley是在棕榈泉家,猫王和普丽西拉度蜜月! 我们去了黛娜海岸(Dinah Shore)的故居,现在由一个名叫“Neo Li Baprio”的家伙拥有,但遗憾的是他当时并没有在外面修剪草坪。

莱昂纳多迪卡普里奥之家

可悲的是,利奥不在家,照看他的草坪。 但我的心会继续!

购物(为了美妙的东西),直到你放弃!

名牌直销商场 在附近的Cabazon,事实上你可以找到一些很棒的交易,但是 棕榈峡谷驱动器 是你想要更多时髦和原创的东西。 每周四晚,Baristo和Amado之间的Palm Canyon Drive将关闭 乡村音乐节,这是一个每周的市场,超过200当地摊贩,工匠,食品车和艺人展示他们的商品。 上城设计区拥有数十家商店和精品店,是本世纪中期艺术,家具和配饰的盛宴。 计划在回家的路上检查你的行李,因为你不会有空间随身携带所有你会找到的宝物!

棕榈泉村巨星

吃喝玩乐,太棒了!

丰富的餐厅意味着您永远不会缺少PS的选择! 击中 诺玛的帕克棕榈泉酒店 午餐时,您可以在全日照下看到乔纳森•阿德勒酒店和场地的装饰,因为您不会相信自己的眼睛。 运输到1960的电视机内部装置上,我预计会有一半的布拉迪夫人来到角落并提供Kool-Aid! 这是史诗般的,但超现实。 Norma's提供高档的舒适食品,独特的介绍和口齿幽默的舌头。 想要点亮一些东西,我在厚厚的标题下点了一只龙虾和芒果沙拉 兔子食品.

诺克斯在帕克棕榈泉

Norma酒店的餐桌装饰和庭院色彩缤纷,时髦,但Parker Palm Springs的大堂和庭院都是令人愉悦的复古魅力!

在购物或游泳池休息一下后,您需要Appies and Drinks。 走向 车间厨房和酒吧 - 无论你吃什么或喝什么,你都会被室内设计所震撼。 现代,工业和具体的丰富,他们已经把历史悠久的1926 El Paseo建筑的内部变成了美食家的天堂。 鸭子薯条,伙计们! 鸭。 脂肪。 薯条。 可喜的。 除了令人垂涎的小扁豆(是的,小扁豆!)和一杯清爽的Pisco Punch,我在Workshop上品尝了一堂课!

车间厨房和酒吧

车间厨房和酒吧照片由棕榈泉旅游局提供

在晚餐时节省更多的小房间 菜创意美食! 在上城区的设计区,Dish的行政总厨Joane Garcia Colson是一位前律师,非常重视对待美食 - 就像她过去学习的法律一样严肃! 这是我在棕榈泉度过的最有活力的一餐; 每道菜都经过精心挑选,挑逗,嘲讽,彻底改变你的感官。 逗布谢 是当晚的主题,并提供压缩西瓜沙拉,水煮,烟熏三文鱼,美味鼠尾草甜甜圈和甜美的猪里脊等其他令人难以置信的盘子,我的bouche非常有趣! 一口令人难忘的马卡龙,鸡肝和酸樱桃中心撒上松露盐,我坐在椅子上,等待我的大脑赶上并理解我口中的味道骚动。

晚餐在Palm,Palm Springs

美味的马卡龙,压缩的西瓜沙拉和咸味的甜甜圈只是Dish的一些烹饪亮点。

喝酒,吃饭,购物和汇集,我收拾好行李,然后回到现实。 我刚刚在沙漠绿洲中庆祝了一个里程碑,而不是在醉酒的21岁的人群或者30 - 那些重温单身派对的人群中奋战。 40 IS 神话般的,棕榈泉也是如此!

作者 -  40在棕榈泉感觉很棒

在棕榈泉欢呼40!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2条评论
  1. 8年2015月XNUMX日
  2. 4年2015月XNUMX日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

40 is Fabulous in Palm Springs!

40 is fabulous in Palm Springs

As my 30’s wind down, I find conversations with other woman my age tend to go something like this:

Mm-hmm, yup, me too. Mm-hmm, yup, me too.
Uh Uh, that is not normal, get that checked out.
Mm-hmm, yup me too.

So it was with some trepidation that I approached a significant milestone in a woman’s life – the 40th birthday. I’m choosing to embrace 40 as an adventure, not the end of an era and it is this with attitude that I found myself celebrating 40 in Palm Springs, the desert home of all that is hot, mid-century and fabulous! A vibrant desert city without the supercharged party atmosphere of Las Vegas was exactly what I needed!

Palm Springs, 172 km east of Los Angeles in the Coachella Valley, has long been a haven for vacationers because of the hot climate (thought to be good for health), outdoor recreation such as golfing, swimming, or tennis, and also for its shopping, mid-century modern architecture and as a place where many stars of the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s came to escape Hollywood in style. Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra and his rat pack, Lucy & Desi, Cary Grant and Bing Crosby all had houses in Palm Springs. In fact, Bob Hope’s estate can be yours for a cool $25 million!

Politicians vacation here, there are more golf courses than you can shake a putter at and yes it is also hot as heck (but it’s a dry heat!) yet Palm Springs is not where you go to fade softly into the sand. Oh no, the hipsters of the day didn’t come to Palm Springs because it was sleepy, they came because it was (and is) groovy! And groovy is a fitting way to celebrate any age!

Stay at a Fabulous Hotel

Riviera Palm Springs Pool, rooms and Lobby

Pulling up to the Riviera Palm Springs Hotel, along a road dotted with palm trees I felt like I’d stepped into a glam, stylized version of 1950. The Riviera Palm Springs is where Frank Sinatra played frequently and where they are celebrating what would be his 100th birthday in December 2015. It’s got edgy, over the top décor, a chic lobby bar, a rocking pool and the suites are spacious and super luxurious. Overstuffed furniture, giant mirrors and glitz galore all give the Riviera its vibe, and I gave in to the overwhelming urge to click on my Martini Swing playlist as I perched on lounge chairs by the pool. With cabanas for chilling out and uber attentive staff, you will never lack for people watching nor find your drink in need of refreshing.

Find Fabulous Stars

A walking tour of Palm Springs Historical Society is necessary! During themed tours with such names as “Golden Era of Hollywood” and “The Rat Pack Playground”, you’ll stroll through areas like the Movie colony where many stars owned homes.

Presley Honeymoon house Palm Springs

The home where Elvis and Priscilla Presley spent part of their honeymoon in Palm Springs

The guides are full of fun facts, historical information and even a few tidbits of gossip: Frank Sinatra famously flew a Jack Daniels flag on his flagpole when he was in residence to signify cocktail hour, and rumour has it Lisa Marie Presley was conceived in the Palm Springs home where Elvis & Priscilla honeymooned! We went by the former home of Dinah Shore, now owned by a fella whose name rhymes with “Neo Li Baprio” but sadly he wasn’t outside mowing the lawn at the time.

Leonardo Di Caprio House Palm Springs

Sadly Leo wasn’t home tending to his lawn. But my heart will go on!

Shop (for something Fabulous) until you drop!

The Premium Outlet Mall is in nearby Cabazon, and indeed you can find some great deals, but Palm Canyon Drive is where you want to be for something a little more funky and original. Each Thursday night Palm Canyon Drive between Baristo and Amado is closed for Village Fest, a weekly market where over 200 local vendors, artisans, food carts and entertainers show their wares. With dozens of shops and boutiques, the Uptown Design District is a feast of mid-century art, furniture and accessories. Plan to check your luggage on the way home because you won’t have room in your carry-on for all the treasures you’ll find!

Palm Springs Village Fest

Eat & Drink, Fabulously!

An abundance of restaurants means you’ll never lack for choice in PS!  Hit Norma’s at the Parker Palm Springs Hotel for lunch so you can see the Jonathan Adler décor of the hotel and grounds in full daylight because you won’t believe your eyes. Transported into the interior set of a 1960’s TV sit-com I half expected Mrs Brady to come around the corner and offer Kool-Aid! It was epic, yet surreal. Norma’s serves upscale comfort food with unique presentation and tongue in cheek humour. Craving something light, I ordered a Rock Lobster and Mango Salad under the cheeky heading Rabbit Food.

Normas at the Parker Palm Springs

The table decor and patio at Norma’s was colourful and funky, but they lobby, and grounds at the Parker Palm Springs are delightfully retro glam!

Following an afternoon of shopping or pool lounging, you’ll need Appies and Drinks. Head for Workshop Kitchen & Bar – whatever you eat or drink, you’ll be awed by the interior design. Modern, industrial and concrete galore, they have transformed the interior of the historic 1926 El Paseo building into foodie heaven. Duck fat fries, folks! Duck. Fat. Fries. Delectable. Along with mouthwatering lentils (yes, lentils!) and a refreshing glass of Pisco Punch, I got a lesson in taste at Workshop!

Workshop Kitchen and Bar

Workshop Kitchen and Bar photos courtesy Palm Springs Bureau of Tourism

Save more than a little room for dinner at Dish Creative Cuisine! In the Uptown design district, Dish’s executive chef Joane Garcia Colson is a former lawyer who takes good food very seriously – like as seriously as the law she used to study! This was the most dynamic meal I had in Palm Springs; each dish was carefully crafted to tease, taunt and entirely transform your senses. Amuse Bouche was the theme of the night and with offerings like compressed watermelon salad, poached smoked salmon, savoury sage doughnuts, and luscious pork tenderloin among other incredible plates, my bouche was very amused! One bite of an unforgettable macaron with a chicken liver and sour cherry centre sprinkled with truffle salt, and I sat back in the chair, waiting for my brain to catch up and make sense of the riot of flavours in my mouth.

Dinner at Dish, Palm Springs

The delectable macaron, compressed watermelon salad, and savoury sage doughnuts were just a few culinary highlights at Dish.

Wined, dined, shopped and pooled out, I packed my bags and headed back to reality. I had just celebrated a milestone in a desert oasis without fighting my way through throngs of inebriated 21-year-olds or 30-something guys reliving the Bachelor Party. 40 IS fabulous, and so is Palm Springs!

The author - 40 feels Fabulous in Palm Springs

Cheers to 40 in Palm Springs!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. December 8, 2015
  2. December 4, 2015