fbpx

斜道湖山林小屋的社交之旅

歐肯娜根南部的Chute Lake Lodge擁有充足的開放空間和戶外探險的機會,是安全隱蔽的度假勝地

沿著水壺谷鐵路步道(Kettle Valley Rail Trail)騎行時,我將電動自行車的設置撞到了“渦輪增壓器”(Turbo),然後像噴氣式飛機一樣在跑道上起飛。 當我們在穿過雲杉和松樹林,多岩石的懸崖和高山湖泊的小徑上向北行駛時,我十幾歲的女兒輕鬆地保持步伐。 經過幾公里後,我們轉過一個彎,很驚訝地看到廣闊的歐肯娜根湖(Okanagan Lake)和我們的故鄉基洛納(Kelowna)遠處的藍色。

水壺谷鐵路步道(Kettle Valley Rail Trail)等待著Okanagan湖的壯麗景色_Lisa Kadane照片

水壺谷鐵路步道(Kettle Valley Rail Trail)等待著Okanagan湖的壯麗景色_Lisa Kadane照片

“我不敢相信我們離家這麼近!” 她說,驚訝的是,隨著烏鴉的飛翔,這條路的這一段距離我們家僅12公里左右,但從彭蒂克頓出發,經過納拉瑪塔需要兩個小時,100公里才能到達我們的目的地。

我們已經從“就地度假”基地Chute Lake Lodge租用了電動自行車幾天,以探索著名的鐵路路線的新用途部分。 這些電動山地自行車有助於我們的抽水運動,使騎行幾乎毫不費力。

水壺谷鐵路(KVR)於1980年代退役,邁拉峽谷火車棧橋和彭蒂克頓之間的部分已成為奧肯那根的主要自行車道。 滑道湖旅館(Chute Lake Lodge)坐落在KVR旁邊,位於基洛納(Kelowna)和Naramata之間。 它為騎自行車的人在兩者之間踩踏提供了方便,也為像我這樣的家庭尋求社交距離的度假提供了方便。



斜道湖旅館建於一個世紀以前,可容納相鄰斜道湖岸上新鋸木廠的工人。 當KVR在1915年開放時,它用作蒸汽機的停水點。 主旅館於1980年代開始接待賓客時進行了擴建。

斜道湖旅館有XNUMX個私人小木屋,還有蒙古包和豪華帳篷,適合成群結隊旅行的家庭_麗莎·卡丹(Lisa Kadane)照片

斜道湖旅館有XNUMX個私人小木屋,還有蒙古包和豪華帳篷,適合成群結隊旅行的家庭。 麗莎·卡丹妮照片

旅館在幾年前轉手,新的業主開始提供電動自行車,SUP和皮划艇的租賃服務,這很好,因為許多家庭(包括我的)都沒有配備所有玩具。 還提供豪華的新裝,例如舒適的特大號床和豪華的羽絨被,為這家鄉村風格的度假勝地增添了些許奢華感。 他們還增加了蒙古包和可愛的豪華帳篷帳篷,以代替主客房和現有的八間小屋。

具有諷刺意味的是,這種流行病對商業有利,本季節每個週末都沒有空缺,並且周中的可用性有限。

“這是Covid回應的一部分,人們希望回到外面,”現場經理之一Pat Field說。

當我想到這一點時,這並不令人驚訝-保持安全和健康在這裡很容易。 首先,我們住在自己的小屋裡,而小屋的大部分公共區域都在外面,例如碼頭,主小屋旁邊的戶外座位以及帶鞦韆和高空滑索的兒童遊樂區。 此外,我們所有的活動都在戶外進行。

在滑道湖上劃皮艇_Lisa Kadane照片

在滑道湖上劃皮艇。 麗莎·卡丹妮照片

我們乘獨木舟上的水,第一個下午劃獨木舟,穿過湖岸的睡蓮湖尋找野生動物。 我們看到鴨子和鵝,再加上一隻死在松樹上的藍鷺。 我們也聽到隆隆聲在水面上的困擾。 晚餐後,我們在機艙外面的篝火旁享受s'mores(小屋出售s'mores套件,以防您忘了帶備用品)。

第二天,當我和我的女兒騎著鐵軌時,我的丈夫帶著我們的兒子和狗爬上了斜道湖的景色。 那天晚上,我們父母偷偷溜到了Naramata,在新的Naramata Inn舉行約會之夜晚餐。 如果說斜道湖感覺像是一個狂野的西部哨所,那拉馬塔就引導另一個時代的夏威夷或墨西哥小鎮,客棧像一條經過改造的使命一樣在主要街道盡頭升起。 我們在鴨蛋和精緻的lingcod上用餐,然後回到我們的機艙睡個不停。

騎電動自行車騎行著名的水壺谷鐵路步道是必經之路_Lisa Kadane照片

騎電動自行車騎行著名的水壺谷鐵路步道是必經之路_Lisa Kadane照片

儘管我們大多停留在家庭泡沫內,但當我們與其他人互動時(在碼頭或旅館或其他餐廳內),隨時隨地都有大量的物理疏散和洗手液。 實際上,您可以將整個家中的食物和廚具帶回家中(您可以將小屋的盤子,杯子和器皿從家裡移走,以防萬一,以防萬一),您可以完全呆在家庭中,並在機艙內用餐。

隨著時間的推移,我們在彭蒂克頓(Penticton)結束我們南部的Okanagan度假勝地。 Hoodoo Adventures的一位導遊帶領我們在Skaha Bluffs省立公園遠足,我們在這裡觀看攀岩運動員攀爬公園風景秀麗的片麻岩露頭,並尋找在山坡上曬黑的響尾蛇。

Skaha Bluffs以攀岩而聞名_Lisa Kadane照片

Skaha Bluffs以攀岩而聞名_Lisa Kadane照片

“我們今年夏天一直關注的事情一直是您的泡沫小組的冒險活動,因此我們像這樣進行了很多私人遠足,”該公司的所有者Lyndie Hill說。

我們在高溫中跋涉上山,我們的努力得到了葡萄園連綿起伏的景色以及下面的Skaha湖的壯麗景色的回報。 歐肯娜根山谷(Okanagan Valley)擁有眾多開放空間和戶外探險機會,即使在大流行期間,也使家庭旅行感到安全和可能。

受到啟發去嘗試遠離社交的假期嗎? 如果你走的話:

斜道湖旅館

留下來: 這家歷史悠久的旅館每天開放至XNUMX月底,僅在周末開放。 工作人員可以為您指示KVR上最好的遠足路線,或者讓您設置電動自行車或船隻租賃。 此旅館還提供晚餐或外帶早餐,午餐和晚餐。

斜道湖山林小屋是遠離喧囂的絕佳社交場所_Lisa Kadane照片

斜道湖山林小屋是遠離喧囂的絕佳社交場所_Lisa Kadane照片

成正

住宿和飲食: 精品店 納拉瑪塔旅館 春季開放,共有12間任務式客房。 該餐廳由著名廚師內德·貝爾(Ned Bell)領導,以當地時令食材,Oceanwise海鮮和來自卑詩省可靠農場的肉類為特色。

彭蒂克頓

這樣做: 徒步,騎自行車,皮划艇或爬山 不祥之物冒險。 這家戶外公司負責“泡沫小組中的冒險活動”,並可以根據您的家庭的年齡和能力來定制活動。 他們還租用了所有裝備以進行DIY遊覽。

吃: 彭蒂克頓(Penticton)新興的文化區靠近市中心以西的湖岸博士(Lakeshore Dr.),有很多有趣的家庭用餐選擇(包括進餐和外賣)。 嘗試 Tratto比薩店 對於經典的拿破崙餡餅, 韋恩和弗雷達 早餐三明治和冰沙,以及 天井漢堡 用於遠足後的餡餅,薯條和奶昔。

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

A Socially Distant Family Holiday at Chute Lake Lodge

With plenty of wide-open spaces and opportunities for outdoor adventure, Chute Lake Lodge in the south Okanagan makes for a safe and secluded getaway

Cycling along the Kettle Valley Rail Trail, I bump my e-bike setting to “Turbo” and take off like a jet down a runway. My teenage daughter easily keeps pace as we pedal north on the path that cuts through forests of spruce and pine, alongside rocky escarpments and alpine lakes. After several kilometres, we round a corner and are surprised to see the expansive blue of Okanagan Lake and our home city of Kelowna far below.

Great views of Okanagan Lake await on the Kettle Valley Rail Trail_Lisa Kadane photo

Great views of Okanagan Lake await on the Kettle Valley Rail Trail_Lisa Kadane photo

“I can’t believe we’re so close to home!” she says, amazed that, as the crow flies, this section of the trail is a mere 12 km or so from our house, yet it took a two-hour, 100-km drive down to Penticton, and up past Naramata, to reach our destination.

We’ve taken out the e-bikes from Chute Lake Lodge, our “vacationing in place” base for a couple of days, to explore a new-to-us section of the famous rail trail. These electric mountain bikes assist our pumping and make cycling nearly effortless.

The Kettle Valley Railway (KVR) was decommissioned in the 1980s and the portion between the Myra Canyon train trestles and Penticton has become the Okanagan’s premier cycling pathway. Chute Lake Lodge is nestled next to the KVR about halfway between Kelowna and Naramata. It makes a convenient stop for cyclists pedaling between the two, or for families like mine looking for a social distancing getaway.



Chute Lake Lodge was built over a century ago to accommodate workers from a new sawmill on the shore of adjacent Chute Lake. When the KVR opened in 1915, it served as water stop for steam engines. The main lodge was expanded in the 1980s when it began welcoming guests.

Chute Lake Lodge has eight private cabins, plus yurts and glamping tents for families travelling in a bubble group_Lisa Kadane photo

Chute Lake Lodge has eight private cabins, plus yurts and glamping tents for families travelling in a bubble group. Lisa Kadane photo

The lodge changed hands a couple years ago and the new owners began offering e-bike, SUP and kayak rentals, which is great since many families (mine included) aren’t kitted out with all the toys. There are also luxurious new touches such as comfy king beds and sumptuous duvets that give the rustic retreat a glamping feel. They also added yurts and adorable glamping tents as alternatives to the main lodge rooms and existing eight cabins.

The pandemic, ironically, has been good for business, with no vacancy every weekend this season, and limited availability mid-week.

“It’s part of the Covid response and people wanting to get back outside,” says Pat Field, one of the on-site managers.

It’s not that surprising when I think about it—keeping safe and healthy is easy here. For starters, we’re staying in our own cabin, and most of the lodge’s common areas—the dock, outdoor seating next to the main lodge, and kids’ play area with swings and a zipline—are outside. What’s more, all of our activities take place in the great outdoors.

Kayaking on Chute Lake_Lisa Kadane photo

Kayaking on Chute Lake. Lisa Kadane photo

We take to the water in a canoe and kayak our first afternoon to paddle through lily pads along the lakeshore looking for wildlife. We see ducks and geese, plus a great blue heron perched in a dead pine tree. We also hear the haunting call of a loon across the water. After dinner, we enjoy s’mores around a private campfire just outside our cabin (the lodge sells s’mores kits in case your forget to bring supplies).

The next day, while my daughter and I cycle the rail trail, my husband takes our son and dog on a hike up to a viewpoint over Chute Lake. That evening, we parents sneak down to Naramata for a date-night dinner at the new Naramata Inn. If Chute Lake feels like a wild west outpost, Naramata channels a Hawaiian or Mexican town from another era, the inn rising like a transformed Mission at the end of the main street. We dine on duck confit and delicate lingcod, then return to our cabin for a dreamless sleep.

Cycling the famous Kettle Valley Rail Trail on e-bikes is the way to go_Lisa Kadane photo

Cycling the famous Kettle Valley Rail Trail on e-bikes is the way to go_Lisa Kadane photo

 

Though we mostly stay inside our family bubble, when we do interact with other people—at the dock or inside the lodge or other restaurants—it’s always with a good amount of physical distancing and hand sanitizers at the ready everywhere. In fact, you could stay entirely in your family group and eat all your meals inside your cabin by bringing food and kitchenware from home (the lodge has removed the cabins’ plates, cups and utensils as a Covid precaution).

 

We round out our south Okanagan getaway with time in Penticton. A guide from Hoodoo Adventures leads us on a hike in Skaha Bluffs Provincial Park, where we watch rock climbers scale the park’s scenic gneiss outcrops, and look for rattlesnakes sunning themselves on the hillsides.

Skaha Bluffs is famous for rock climbing_Lisa Kadane photo

Skaha Bluffs is famous for rock climbing_Lisa Kadane photo

“Something we’ve focused on this summer has been adventure in your bubble group, so we do a lot of private hikes like this,” says Lyndie Hill, the company’s owner.

We trek uphill in the heat, our effort rewarded with views of rolling vineyards and the rectangle of Skaha Lake below. With so many wide-open spaces and opportunities for outdoor adventure in the Okanagan Valley, it makes family travel feel safe and possible—even in the middle of a pandemic.

Feel inspired to try a social distancing holiday? If you go:

Chute Lake Lodge

Stay and Do: The historic lodge is open daily until the end of October when it moves to weekends only. Staff can point you toward the best hikes along the KVR, or get you set up with e-bike or watercraft rentals. The lodge also serves dine-in or take-out breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Chute Lake Lodge makes a great social distancing wilderness retreat_Lisa Kadane photo

Chute Lake Lodge makes a great social distancing wilderness retreat_Lisa Kadane photo

Naramata

Stay and Eat: The boutique Naramata Inn opened in the spring with 12 Mission-style rooms. The restaurant is headed by acclaimed chef, Ned Bell, and features local, seasonal produce, Oceanwise seafood and meat from trusted BC farms.

Penticton

Do: Hike, bike, kayak or mountain climb with Hoodoo Adventures. The outdoor company leads “adventures in your bubble group” and can tailor activities to your family’s ages and abilities. They also rent out all the gear for DIY excursions.

Eat: There are so many fun and new family dining options (with both dine-in and take-out) in Penticton’s up-and-coming cultural district located close to Lakeshore Dr. west of downtown. Try Tratto Pizzeria for classic Napoletana pies, Wayne and Freda for breakfast sandwiches and smoothies, and Patio Burger for post-hike patties, fries and milkshakes.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.