fbpx

超越博物馆:Drumheller周末逍遥游

超越博物馆Drumheller特色图片

这里有一个随机的问题:在一个五岁的孩子眼里,哪一个艾伯塔省的市中心与拉斯维加斯相似? 如果你猜到了Drumheller,请来收集你的奖品。

等等,没有人猜到Drumheller? 真的,没有人? 好吧,我想我会继续保留这件剑龙T恤,继续......

德拉姆黑勒可能与拉斯维加斯有什么共同之处,你可能会问。 这一切都与上述五岁的孩子有关。 最近我的丈夫和他的男孩一起参加了他的一年一度的拉斯维加斯之旅 你知道他们的表现就像他们是高举者,并假装他们再次在他们的20上度过一个周末? 那么,随着拉斯维加斯的老大,我和我的两个女儿在家里,为了一个史诗般的周末寻找捉迷藏,并且在一个爬行的,破坏性的10月龄之后,我的五岁女儿提出了这个问题,“为什么爸爸会离开,留在一个带游泳池的酒店,而我们不能? 这不公平!”

好问题。

很好的问题,事实上,没有可接受的答案。 “是的,”我想,“她是对的。 这不公平。“通过这种认识,我问她想去哪里。

“好吧,既然爸爸在拉斯维加斯的某个地方酷,我们也应该去一个超级酷的地方。”
“像在哪里?”
“德兰赫勒。”

嗯......这让我一个循环。 我们一直计划长期参观博物馆,但由于某种原因不断推迟旅行。 我知道我的女儿喜欢恐龙,但我不认为她会想出那个作为她的第一选择。

“好的。 德兰赫勒。 我想艾伯塔省的拉斯维加斯的版本。“

那么,如果我们能够在第二天早晨离开,那就是一大堆电话,打包和安排。 一次快速搜索“带游泳池的德兰赫勒酒店”让我见识了 Ramada Drumheller Hotel and Suites酒店,看到他们滑水的照片后,我们被卖了! 我们很幸运地与经理Theresa Vyvey说话,并确保了这家非常受欢迎的酒店的最后一间客房,第二天早上,我们走了......只有我们三个女孩。

第一站? 马蹄峡谷。 位于9高速公路旁边,这个小标志看起来很不起眼,如果我从小就没有去过那里,我甚至可能不会停下来去探索这个本来不幸的地区。 虽然我五岁的时候对我们没有参观马蹄炮感到失望,就像她认为的那样,但她敬畏地认为,在农民的田地和牛群所包围的地区,可以出现如此宏伟的东西。 该网站令人着迷,当你超越峡谷时,你确实感觉自己身处另一个世界。 由于天气寒冷,我们并没有按照自己喜欢的方式去探索这个地区,因此我不得不答应我女儿至少100次,我们将在春季返回那里,并且做一整天的徒步旅行。野餐午餐。

德兰赫勒点登录

在峡谷进行了一些小小的徒步旅行之后,我们开车10分钟到达Drumheller,去看看它最明显的旅游景点:世界上最高的恐龙! 随着五岁以下儿童的免费入场,我的家人只需支付我的$ 3成人入场费即可登上世界上最大的恐龙。 尽管我把我最小的女儿抬到了86的脚上,但这并不是一个艰难的攀登,而且对于可能需要休息的客人来说,长凳甚至会放在中途停留。 站在世界上最高的T-Rex的巨大的露齿笑容中,每个人都会带出这个孩子,这是肯定的。 当我们打开顶部的门时,有一群德国老人游客模仿T-Rex为摄影机拍摄。 我的两个女儿都很喜欢这个地方,而且工作人员非常友好和乐于助人,因为吸引人的人数翻了一番 游客信息中心.

德拉姆黑勒大迪诺

在我们忙碌的早晨之后,我们去了华美达酒店办理入住手续,我们惊喜万分。 与孩子一起旅行绝非易事,但这家酒店竭尽全力满足有孩子的家庭。 我们的房间是一间超大套房,大客厅与巨大卧室的法式门隔开。 免费的婴儿围栏被安置并且等着我们,用可爱的床单和柔软的毛毯。 房间一尘不染,我没有任何保留让我最小的爬行周围。 晚上,我和大女儿可以在起居室看电影,而不会打扰在卧室里睡着的最小的孩子......这是一种双赢的局面,这是我带孩子旅行以来最好的酒店之一。

据我最古老的说,整个周末的亮点是酒店游泳池。 在酒店的第一个下午,我们是游泳池里唯一的人,并且拥有游泳池,热水浴缸​​和滑水道。 这真是太好了,我们回去吃饭后又回去了! 晚上很忙,我们遇到了一些在参观博物馆时住在酒店的漂亮家庭。 我所说的每个家庭都非常喜欢设施和房间。 在博物馆呆了一天后,孩子们可能会嘈杂,燃烧能量,并在游泳池中疯狂。 游泳池的面积很大,但这只是表明每个人都有多乐趣。

超越博物馆Drumheller酒店游泳池

酒店还提供免费早餐,太棒了。 他们为所有的小孩准备了很多高脚椅,他们的食物选择迎合了有孩子的家庭。 我的女儿喜欢能够接触到自己的食物,倒出自己的饮料,并制作自己的华夫饼,所以即使这些美食也令她兴奋! 当我们春天返回加息时,我不会留在其他地方。

在花了一天之后 皇家泰瑞尔博物馆,这绝对是惊人的,值得它的世界级排名(并且自己填写博客文章!),我们决定绕道回家并参观不祥之物。 在Drumheller外面开车只需十五分钟,不祥之兆对大大小小的人来说都是一个奇迹。 家长们会喜欢这些招牌的教育程度,孩子们会喜欢跑步和攀登周围的山丘。 再次,由于天气原因,我们没有停留在我们期望的时间,但将在春季返回,花费几个小时远足绕过不祥之处。

由于两个女孩都将整个车道都安排回卡尔加里,所以我有机会反思我们有多少乐趣以及我们在一个短暂的自发周末中做了多少事情。 Drumheller在每个角落都有恐龙,并以其世界级的博物馆而闻名,但有许多其他理由可以参观这个友好的小镇。 德拉姆黑勒可能不是拉斯维加斯,但对我年轻的家庭来说,这是件好事。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
5条评论
  1. 27年2016月XNUMX日
  2. 27年2015月XNUMX日
    • 2020年2月25日
  3. 13年2015月XNUMX日
    • 2020年2月25日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Beyond the Museum: A Drumheller Weekend Getaway

Beyond the Museum Drumheller Featured Image

Here’s a random question for you: which Albertan urban centre is comparable to Las Vegas, in the eyes of a five year old? If you guessed Drumheller, please come and collect your prize.

Wait, no one guessed Drumheller? Really, no one? Well, I guess I’ll keep this Stegosaurus T-shirt to myself and carry on…

What does Drumheller possibly have in common with Vegas, you might ask. It all has to do with the aforementioned five year old. Recently my husband was on his annual Vegas trip with the boys; you know the one where they all act like they are high rollers and pretend that they in their 20s again for a weekend? Well, with the hubby in Vegas, I was at home with my two daughters, bunkering down for an epic weekend of hide and seek and picking up after a crawling, destructive 10 month old, when my five –year-old daughter posed the question, “Why does Dad get to go away and stay at a hotel with a pool and we can’t? It’s not fair!”

Good question.

Great question, in fact, with no acceptable answer. “Yah,” I thought, “she’s right. It’s NOT fair.” With that realization, I asked her where she would like to go.

“Well, since Dad is in some place cool like Vegas, we should go somewhere super cool, too.”
“Like where?”
“Drumheller.”

Hmmm…that threw me for a loop. We had been planning to visit the museum for a long time, but kept putting off the trip for one reason or another. I know my daughter loves dinosaurs, but I didn’t think she would come up with that one as her first option.

“Okay. Drumheller. Alberta’s version of Vegas, I guess.”

With that, it was a flurry of phone calls, packing and arrangements to make if we were going to be able to leave the next morning. One quick search of “Drumheller hotels with pools” led me to the Ramada Drumheller Hotel and Suites, and after seeing the pictures of their waterslide, we were sold! We were lucky to speak to the manager Theresa Vyvey and secure one of the last rooms in this very popular hotel, and the next morning, we were off…just the three of us girls.

The first stop? Horseshoe Canyon. Located just off of Highway 9, the small sign looks very unassuming, and if I hadn’t been there before as a child, I might not even have stopped to explore the area, which would have been unfortunate. Although my five year old was disappointed that we weren’t visiting a Horseshoe cannon, like she thought, she was in awe that something so magnificent could appear in an area surrounded by farmer’s fields and cattle. The site is mesmerizing and you really do feel like you are in another world when you transcend into the canyon. Due to the cold weather, we didn’t explore the area nearly as long as we would have liked, and I have since had to promise my daughter at least 100 times that we will return there in the spring and do a full day hike with a picnic lunch.

Drumheller-Sign

After some small hikes at the Canyon, we drove the ten minutes into Drumheller and went to see its most obvious tourist attraction: the tallest dinosaur in the world! With children five and under free, it only cost my family my $3 adult admission to climb the World’s Largest Dinosaur. Even though I carried my youngest daughter up the 86 feet, it was not a difficult climb by any means, and benches are even placed at the halfway mark for guests who might need a rest. Standing in the gaping, toothy grin of the world’s tallest T-Rex brings out the kid in everyone, that’s for sure. There was a group of geriatric German tourists mimicking T-Rex snarls for the camera when we opened the door at the top. Both of my daughters loved this site, and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, as the attraction doubles as the Visitor Information Centre.

Drumheller big-dino

After our busy morning, we went to the Ramada to check in, and we were pleasantly surprised. Travelling with kids is never easy, but this hotel goes out of its way to cater to families with children. Our room was an oversized suite, with a large living room area separated with French doors from the huge bedroom. The complimentary playpen was set up and waiting for us, with adorable sheets and soft blankets. The room was spotless, and I didn’t have any reservations letting my youngest crawl around. At night, my oldest daughter and I could watch a movie in the living room without disturbing the youngest who was asleep in the bedroom…a win/win situation that resulted in one of the best hotel sleeps I’ve had since travelling with children.

The highlight of the whole weekend, according to my oldest, was the hotel pool. The first afternoon at the hotel, we were the only people in the pool and had the pool, hot tub, and waterslide all to ourselves; it was so great that we went back after dinner for another round! It was busier in the evening, and we met some nice families who were staying at the hotel while visiting the museum. Every family I spoke to absolutely loved the facilities and their rooms. The kids could be noisy, burn energy, and be crazy in the pool after a day being somewhat reserved and very respectful at the museum. The pool area was loud, but that just shows how much fun was being had by everyone.

Beyond the Museum Drumheller Hotel Pool

The hotel also offers a complimentary breakfast, and it is fantastic. They had so many highchairs for all the little ones, and their food choices are catered to families with children. My daughter loved being able to reach her own food, pour her own drinks, and make her own waffle, so even the meals were exciting for her! I will not stay anywhere else when we return in the spring to hike.

After a day spent at the Royal Tyrrell Museum, which is absolutely amazing and deserves its world-class ranking (and fills a blog post all on its own!) we decided to take a detour home and visit the hoodoos. Just a fifteen minute drive outside of Drumheller, the hoodoos are a wonder for the big and small. Parents will love how educational the signs are, and kids will love running and climbing up the surrounding hills. Again, due to the weather, we didn’t stay as long as we would have liked, but will return in the spring to spend a few hours hiking the trails around the hoodoos.

With both girls sleeping the whole drive back to Calgary, I had a chance to reflect on how much fun we had and how much we managed to do and see in just one short, spontaneous weekend. Drumheller has dinosaurs on every corner and is renowned for its world-class museum, but there are so many other reasons to visit this friendly town. Drumheller might not be Vegas, but for my young family, that is a good thing.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
5 Comments
  1. August 27, 2016
  2. January 27, 2015
    • February 10, 2015
  3. January 13, 2015
    • February 10, 2015

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.