fbpx

超越遊樂場 - 卡爾加里公園的快照

超越遊樂場卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

當我是一個小小的媽媽時,遊樂場可能是唯一能救我的東西。 我當然沒有睡覺,理智只是一種難以捉摸的痴迷。 有幾天我會在公園里三次:早上,下午和晚上。 冬天來了,我們必須要有創意,生活變得更加困難。 但是,當天氣已經變暖到足以讓小手再次爬上梯子時,將會出現歡樂!

既然我的孩子不是那麼小(幸福的是,我現在睡覺了),我們仍需要在某些日子逃到公園。 遊樂場往往是一個吸引人的地方,但現在公園比我們擁有的要多得多。 卡爾加里公園提供從遊樂場到探索大自然的各種活動,以及您可以想像的任何激動人心的遊戲。 (圓盤高爾夫,有人嗎?)

超越遊樂場:卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

拉爾夫克萊因公園(Ralph Klein Park)的新天然遊樂場 - 圖片來源:Charity Quick

最佳遊樂場

卡爾加里有幾個 必須參觀夏季遊樂場,我們不可能劃傷孩子們愛的遊樂場表面。 查看Currie Barracks機場遊樂場或直升機遊樂場,享受有趣的主題遊樂場。 Applewood遊樂場是一個消耗能量的巨大地方,一些遊樂場,如Variety Park,也有飛濺公園。

如果你正在尋找超越經典遊戲結構的東西,可以考慮一下卡爾加里周圍出現的更自然的遊樂場。 這些遊樂場往往採用更天然的材料製成,遠離彩色塑料,為孩子提供了大量探索和思考的機會。 看看Haysboro自然遊樂場,英格爾伍德的米爾斯公園自然遊樂場,或者 聯邦公園的遊樂場。 Confederation Park公園的遊樂場設有沙坑和水龍頭,因為對於一些孩子來說,沒有幾個泥餡餅就沒有公園之旅!

超越遊樂場:卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

雪佛龍學習銜接課程 - 圖片來源:Parks Foundation

回到大自然

我們住在加拿大最大的城市之一,但由於其龐大的自然環境,卡爾加里擁有令人驚嘆的自然空間。 你可以花幾個小時回到大自然,而不必離開這個城市。 魚溪省立公園 是加拿大第二大城市公園(僅次於大多倫多地區的Rouge國家城市公園)。 步行,騎自行車,探索80公里的小徑,其中鋪設了30公里。 該公園也是各種動物生活的家園。

或者查看屢獲殊榮的 雪佛龍學習銜接課程 在王子島的東端。 這條環境教育路徑圍繞著一個城市濕地,設計用於在返回弓河之前處理雨水。 有趣的解釋性標牌解釋了濕地如何運作以及為什麼它對我們至關重要。 了解野生動植物,棲息地和水質。

In Edworthy公園,您可以走過道格拉斯冷杉林,這是卡爾加里自然空間的另一個典範。 道格拉斯冷杉不是真正的冷杉樹 - 它們是他們自己的屬。 結合附近的人 鮑內斯公園這是加拿大這個物種中最東部的一個,因為道格拉斯冷杉通常出現在落基山脈和海岸。

其他在卡爾加里市區範圍內退房的地方包括 聖帕特里克島,遠足和自行車道和恢復的河道,和 格里菲斯森林這是一個坐落在Elbow河畔的自然公園,在這裡您可以享受城市公園系統中僅有的兩個大型白雲杉林。

超越遊樂場:卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

格里菲斯伍茲 - 圖片來源:Parks Foundation

教育園區

從自然環境來看,這是教育的邏輯跳躍! 在 拉爾夫克萊因公園在城市的東南部,您可以看到一個人造濕地,用於在進入弓河系統之前改善雨水質量,以及一個擁有梨樹和蘋果樹的社區果園。 當您訪問環境教育中心時,了解更多信息,該中心設有室內教室,資源庫,藝術工作室和解釋性標牌。 它在夏季每天開放,冬季則在周二至週六開放(法定假日休息)。 還有一個全新的(在2018開放)天然遊樂場。

您還可以參觀Pearce Estate,這是一個15公頃的重建濕地,是Sam Livingston Fish Hatchery和 Bow Habitat遊客中心,或 英格伍德鳥類保護區和自然中心。 自然中心向遊客開放,提供有關當地野生動植物和公園的解說性展品和信息。 自1929以來,Sanctuary一直為候鳥提供休息的地方。

超越遊樂場:卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

電氣石戶外健身公園 - 圖片來源:Parks Foundation

獲得體力的最佳公園

當然,任何公園都是獲得體力的好地方,但也有一些比其他公園更容易。 電氣石戶外健身公園沿著卡爾加里西北的埃德沃西公園對面的弓河,是其中之一 卡爾加里的幾個公園 提供戶外健身器材。 肖千年公園 卡爾加里市中心附近擁有加拿大最大的免費戶外滑板公園,75 000平方英尺的滑板表面。 或者嘗試打高爾夫球 大衛理查森紀念盤高爾夫公園。 大衛理查森紀念公園在2018的春天開放,是卡爾加里最長的球場。 它佔地超過27,為專家(專業比賽場地設計),家庭和兒童提供圓盤高爾夫。

超越遊樂場:卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

大衛理查森紀念圓盤高爾夫公園 - 圖片來源:公園基金會

卡爾加里也因其神話般的通路系統而聞名。 該 Rotary / Mattamy Greenway 路徑系統,與 卡爾加里市的小道系統,是世界上最長的城市公園和通道系統。 連接卡爾加里的所有四個像限,它將城市環繞,並將卡爾加里市的步道系統帶到1000公里的小徑。

為你的寵物

那個4腿的家人怎麼樣? 該 吉姆戴維森狗公園在東南部,是10英畝的全圍欄,帶外帶的樂趣。 這個獨特的區域融合了挖掘坑,木板路和公園設計中的解釋標誌等增強功能。 或者,把你的小狗帶到 蘇希金斯公園,這是卡爾加里最大的帶圍欄的皮帶公園。 它位於弓河東南部。

超越遊樂場:卡爾加里公園(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

Poppy Memorial - 圖片來源:Parks Foundation

從孩子到狗,再到仍然需要玩耍的成年人,我們很幸運地生活在擁有如此豐富公園區的城市。 外出對每個人都有好處,卡爾加里讓事情變得簡單。 最難的部分是找到時間參觀我們所有令人驚嘆的戶外空間。

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

Beyond the Playground – A Snapshot of Calgary’s Parks

Beyond the Playground Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

When I was a mom of littles, playgrounds may have been the only thing that saved me. I certainly wasn’t getting any sleep and sanity was simply an elusive obsession. There were days I would be at the park three times: morning, afternoon, and evening. When winter came, we had to get creative, and life just got a little more difficult. But then, the joy that would come when the weather had warmed up enough for the little hands to climb ladders again!

Now that my kids aren’t so little (happily, I now get to sleep), we still need to escape to a park some days. Playgrounds are often an attraction, but parks hold so much more than that for us now. Calgary parks offer everything from playgrounds to exploring nature to playing a rousing game of whatever you can imagine. (Disc golf, anyone?)

Beyond the Playground: Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

The new natural playground at Ralph Klein Park – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Best Playgrounds

Calgary has several must-visit summer playgrounds, and we couldn’t possibly scratch the surface of playgrounds kids love. Check out the Currie Barracks Airport Playground or the Helicopter Playground for fabulous structured playgrounds with fun themes. Applewood Playground is an enormous place to burn some energy, and some playgrounds, like Variety Park, have a splash park, too.

If you’re looking for something beyond a classic play structure, consider one of the more natural playgrounds that have been popping up around Calgary. These playgrounds tend to be made of more natural materials, moving away from the colourful plastic and offering loads of opportunities for kids to explore and think outside the box. Check out the Haysboro Natural Playground, Mills Park Natural Playground in Inglewood, or the playground at Confederation Park. The playground at Confederation Park has a sandpit and water tap because, for some kids, no trip to the park is complete without a few mud pies!

Beyond the Playground: Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

Chevron Learning Pathway – Photo Credit: Parks Foundation

Back to Nature

We live in one of the largest cities in Canada, but due to its sprawling nature, Calgary has amazing natural spaces. You can take a couple hours and get back to nature, without ever leaving the city. Fish Creek Provincial Park is the second largest urban park in Canada (second only to Rouge National Urban Park in the Greater Toronto Area). Walk, bike, and explore 80 kilometres of trails, of which 30 kilometres are paved. The park is also home to a wide variety of animal life.

Or check out the award-winning Chevron Learning Pathway on the east end of Prince’s Island. This environmental educational pathway winds around an urban wetland designed to treat stormwater before entering back into the Bow River. Interesting interpretive signage explains how a wetland works and why it’s vital for us. Learn about wildlife, habitat and water quality.

In Edworthy Park, you can walk through a Douglas Fir forest, another great example of Calgary’s natural spaces. Douglas Firs are not really fir trees–they are their own genus. Combined with those in nearby Bowness Park, this is one of the most easterly stands of this species in Canada, for Douglas Firs are usually found in the Rocky Mountains and on the coast.

Other places to check out within the Calgary city limits include St. Patrick’s Island, with hiking and biking trails and restored river channels, and Griffith Woods, which is a natural park nestled along the banks of the Elbow River, where you can enjoy one of only two large stands of White Spruce in the city’s park system.

Beyond the Playground: Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

Griffith Woods – Photo Credit: Parks Foundation

Educational Parks

From the natural environment, it’s a logical jump to the educational! At Ralph Klein Park, in the city’s southeast, you can see a man-made wetland, constructed to improve stormwater quality before it enters the Bow River system and a community orchard with pear and apple trees. Learn more when you visit the Environmental Education Centre which features an indoor classroom, resource library, art studio, and interpretive signage. It’s open daily during the summer and Tuesday to Saturday during the winter (closed statutory holidays). There’s also a brand-new (opened in 2018) natural playground.

You could also pay a visit to the Pearce Estate, a 15-hectare reconstructed wetland that’s home to the Sam Livingston Fish Hatchery and the Bow Habitat Visitor Centre, or the Inglewood Bird Sanctuary and Nature Centre. The Nature Centre is open to visitors and has interpretive exhibits and information about local wildlife and parks. The Sanctuary has been providing migratory birds with a place to rest their wings since 1929.

Beyond the Playground: Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

Tourmaline Outdoor Fitness Park – Photo Credit: Parks Foundation

Best Parks to Get Physical

Of course, any park is a great place to get physical, but there are some that make it easier than others. Tourmaline Outdoor Fitness Park, along the Bow River across from Edworthy Park in northwest Calgary, is one of several parks in Calgary with outdoor fitness equipment available. Shaw Millenium Park near downtown Calgary boasts Canada’s largest free outdoor skatepark, with 75 000 square feet of skateable surfaces. Or try disc golf at the David Richardson Memorial Disc Golf Park. The David Richardson Memorial Park opened in the spring of 2018 and is the longest course in Calgary. Spread over 27 acres, it offers disc golf for everyone from the expert (designed with the intent of being a professional tournament venue) to families and kids.

Beyond the Playground: Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

David Richardson Memorial Disc Golf Park – Photo Credit: Parks Foundation

Calgary is also known for its fabulous pathway system. The Rotary/Mattamy Greenway path system, together with the City of Calgary trail system, is the longest urban park and pathway system in the world. Connecting all four quadrants of Calgary, it loops the city and brings the City of Calgary trail system to 1000 kilometres of trails.

For Your Pet

What about the 4-legged members of your family? The Jim Davidson Dog Park, in the southeast, is 10 acres of fully-fenced, off-leash fun. This unique area incorporates enhanced features like a digging pit, boardwalk, and interpretive signs into the design of the park. Or, take your pooch to the Sue Higgins Park, which is the largest fenced off-leash park in Calgary. It lies in the southeast along the Bow River.

Beyond the Playground: Calgary Parks (Family Fun Calgary)

Poppy Memorial – Photo Credit: Parks Foundation

From kids to dogs to adults who still need to play, we are fortunate to live in a city that has such an abundance of park areas. Getting outside is good for everyone and Calgary makes it easy. The hardest part will be finding the time to visit all our amazing outdoor spaces.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *