加州公路旅行! 在1高速公路上巡航加利福尼亚海岸

把ragtop放下来,打开收音机,沿着国道1公路前往加利福尼亚州的典型公路旅行

就公路旅行而言,加利福尼亚州的经典高速公路1拥有一切。 对于司机来说,这是一条很好的路线,在路上有曲折,弯道和弯道。 它提供了美丽的风吹过太平洋的景色,沿着连接圣地亚哥,洛杉矶和旧金山等大城市的崎岖海岸线蛇,以及地图上的小点,如Harmony,Cambria和Guadalupe。 中间是受保护的国家森林,中央山谷的绿色农田,以及沿途的许多景点,值得中途停留。 将顶部放下并准备在1高速公路上沿加利福尼亚海岸巡航,向北行驶 圣莫尼卡 到Carmel-by-the-Sea。

加州公路旅行Lone Cypress Carmel 17-Mile Drive。 照片:Claudia Laroye

Lone Cypress Carmel 17-Mile Drive。 照片:Claudia Laroye

你知道吗?

加州 州道1的行程超过1,055 km(659英里),是金州最长的州道。 在2017,一场大规模的山体滑坡封闭了大苏尔附近的大部分高速公路,旅客们从海岸转移了14个月。 这条道路重新开放了七月2018,让各地司机都感到高兴。 您可以从北端或南端以及其间的任何地方访问Highway 1。

加州公路旅行 - 冲浪巴士卡梅尔照片:Claudia Laroye

冲浪巴士卡梅尔照片:Claudia Laroye

加州沿海公路旅行

圣莫尼卡

这个有趣的城市位于洛杉矶西北部,是您开始沿着加利福尼亚海岸游览的好地方。 市中心非常适合步行,包括着名的圣莫尼卡码头,太平洋公园游乐园和码头水族馆的所在地。 租用巡洋舰自行车或使用无处不在的电动滑板车(首先下载应用程序),沿着Marvin Braude沿海自行车道行驶。 被称为“The Strand”的铺砌路径沿着海滨延伸大约35 km。

圣塔莫尼卡码头照片:

圣巴巴拉

优雅,精致的圣巴巴拉市拥有高大的棕榈树,色彩缤纷的开花藤蔓,以及经典的西班牙建筑,以及被称为“美国里维埃拉”的城市。享受沿着State Street漫步,流行当地的精品店,在McConnell的精致冰淇淋中品尝海盐冰淇淋。 历史悠久的Presidio建于1782,拥有该州现存最古老的建筑之一, El Cuartel。 经典的Old Mission Santa Barbara也值得一去。

加州公路旅行 - 圣巴巴拉。 照片:Claudia Laroye

圣巴巴拉。 照片:Claudia Laroye

庇斯摩海滩

Pismo Beach是加利福尼亚州的经典冲浪地点,拥有海岸上最宽阔的沙滩之一。 如果冲浪不是你的果酱,可以在Oceano Dunes尝试沙丘越野赛,这是该州唯一合法驾驶海滩的地方之一。 步行1,200脚Pismo海滩码头,建于1928。 从10月到2月,数万只明亮的橙色和黑色蝴蝶聚集在Monarch Butterfly Grove,在冬季的几个月里,在Pismo State Beach的树林中度过。

加州公路旅行 -

庇斯摩海滩照片:Claudia Laroye

莫罗湾州立公园

这个漂亮的沿海州立公园拥有海洋和Morro Rock的美丽景色(如Instagram上所见),以及野生动物河口和海岸线附近的苍鹭和白鹭的栖息地。 有一个解释性的河口自然中心,并留意地平线。 在一年中的某些时候,可以看到鲸鱼沿着海岸迁移到阿拉斯加。

加州公路旅行 - 莫罗湾。 照片:Claudia Laroye

莫罗湾。 照片:Claudia Laroye

赫斯特城堡和圣西蒙

赫斯特城堡(Hearst Castle)位于一座俯瞰海岸的山顶上,是一座巨大而豪华的豪宅,由1947出版的威廉·伦道夫·赫斯特(William Randolph Hearst)设计为私人住宅。 从现在的州立公园场地看到的景色令人惊叹,165室的城堡和127占地面积的露台花园,喷泉和游泳池。 出色的室外海王星游泳池是对古罗马的一种过度的敬意,其三叉戟同名的大理石雕像和守卫游泳池的其他神灵。

赫斯特城堡照片:

Piedras Blancas的象海豹保护区

虽然巨大的象海豹并不是最具吸引力的生物,但看到成千上万的它们沿着这段海岸线的崎岖的“白色岩石”蜷缩在一起值得观察。 虽然大多数5,000 lb海豹在风中靠近一起晒日光浴,但可以发现公牛大象在海滩上相互争斗并争夺空间,或者根据季节,交配权利。

加州公路旅行 - 象海豹保护照片:Claudia Laroye

象海豹保护照片:Claudia Laroye

大苏尔

如果你看过电视节目Big Little Lies,你就会熟悉将大苏尔连接到卡梅尔和蒙特利的比克斯比大桥。 大苏尔大约是90英里长的森林深处和雾海岸线,是1高速公路最具代表性的部分之一。 这条路沿着海岸线曲折蜿蜒,在海带中掠过迁鲸或海獭。 它的小村庄中心感觉就像是1960的倒退,坐落在高耸的红杉之中。 进入亨利米勒纪念图书馆,仔细阅读,或在树林里享受一场户外音乐会。 如果想要隐居或灵感,Esalen学院提供放松和600课程,从瑜伽到正念到桑巴。

加州公路旅行 - 比克斯比大苏尔。 照片:Claudia Laroye

Bixby Bridge Big Sur。 照片:Claudia Laroye

卡梅尔由这海

迷人而浪漫的卡梅尔是一个森林中的村庄,俯瞰着白色的沙滩。 多么可爱的海滩! 这是一个适合步行,狗狗友好的新月形软沙,让位于太平洋碧蓝的海水中。 卡梅尔在1906旧金山大地震后重新安置在这里的艺术家和作家创立,是一个富有创造力和休闲追求的富裕天堂。 走在狭窄的街道上,整齐的框架异想天开的小屋,沿着海洋大道流入艺术画廊和餐馆,在圆石滩的17-Mile Drive导航(不要错过百年历史的Lone Cypress),参观Point Lobos的海獭国家储备,并在18世纪的使命卡梅尔参加加利福尼亚的西班牙使命历史。

卡梅尔海滩 - 照片:Claudia Laroye

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

California Road Trip! Cruising the California Coast on Highway 1

Put the ragtop down, turn the radio up and hit the road for the quintessential California road trip along State Highway 1

As far as road trips go, California’s classic Highway 1 has it all. It’s an excellent route for drivers, with twists, turns and narrow bends in the road. It offers beautiful, wind-swept vistas of the Pacific Ocean, and snakes along a rugged coastline connecting megacities like San Diego, Los Angeles and San Francisco, as well as smaller dots on the map like Harmony, Cambria and Guadalupe. In between are protected state forests, the green farm fields of the Central Valley, and many points of interest along the way that are worthy of a stopover. Put the top down and get ready to cruise the California coast on Highway 1, driving northward between Santa Monica to Carmel-by-the-Sea.

california road trip Lone Cypress Carmel 17-Mile Drive. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Lone Cypress Carmel 17-Mile Drive. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Did You Know

California’s State Route 1 runs for over 1,055 km (659 miles) and is the longest state route in the Golden State. In 2017, a massive landslide closed a large section of the highway near Big Sur, and travellers were diverted from the coast for 14 months. The road reopened July 2018, to the joy of drivers everywhere. You can access Highway 1 from either the north or southern ends, and anywhere in between. 

California Road Trip - Surf Bus Carmel Photo: Claudia Laroye

Surf Bus Carmel Photo: Claudia Laroye

California Coastal Road Trip

Santa Monica

This fun city northwest of Los Angeles is a great spot to begin your cruise up the California coast. The downtown is highly walkable, including to the famous Santa Monica Pier, home to the Pacific Park amusement park and Pier Aquarium.  Rent cruiser bikes or use the ubiquitous e-scooters (download the app first) to follow the Marvin Braude Coastal Bike Trail. Known as “The Strand”, the paved path follows the oceanfront for around 35 km.

Santa Monica Pier Photo: Pixabay

Santa Barbara

The elegant, sophisticated city of Santa Barbara is shaded with tall palm trees, colourful flowering vines, and graced with classic Spanish architecture to the point that the city is referred to as the “American Riviera.” Enjoy a stroll down State Street, pop into local boutiques, and taste a sea salt ice cream cone at McConnell’s Fine Ice Cream. The historic Presidio, built in 1782, houses one of the oldest surviving buildings in the state, El Cuartel. The classic Old Mission Santa Barbara is also well worth a stop.

California Road Trip - Santa Barbara. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Santa Barbara. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Pismo Beach

A classic California surf spot, Pismo Beach enjoys one of the widest stretches of sandy beach anywhere on the coast. If surfing isn’t your jam, try dune-buggy racing at Oceano Dunes, one of the only spots in the state where it’s legal to drive on the beach. Walk the 1,200 foot Pismo Beach Pier, built in 1928. From October to February, tens of thousands of bright orange and black butterflies gather at the Monarch Butterfly Grove to spend the winter months in the trees of Pismo State Beach.

California Road Trip -

Pismo Beach Photo: Claudia Laroye

Morro Bay State Park

This pretty coastal state park has beautiful views of the ocean and Morro Rock (as seen on Instagram), as well as a wildlife estuary and rookery for herons and egrets near the shoreline. There’s an interpretive Estuary Nature Center, and keep an eye out on the horizon. At certain times of the year, whales can be seen migrating up the coast to Alaska. 

California Road Trip - Morro Bay. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Morro Bay. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Hearst Castle and San Simeon

Atop a hill overlooking the coast, Hearst Castle is a massive, opulent mansion built as a private residence by publishing icon William Randolph Hearst in 1947. The views from what is now state park grounds are stunning, as is the 165-room castle and 127 acres of terraced gardens, fountains and pools. The standout outdoor Neptune Pool is an over-the-top homage to ancient Rome, with marble statues of its trident-wielding namesake and other gods guarding the pool. 

Hearst Castle Photo: Pixabay

Elephant Seal Preserve at Piedras Blancas

While the massive elephant seal isn’t the most attractive of creatures, seeing thousands of them huddled along the rugged ‘white rocks’ of this section of coastline is worth an observation. While most of the 5,000 lb seals sunbathe close together against the wind, bull elephants can be spotted bellowing and battling one another for space on the beach or, depending on the season, mating rights. 

California Road Trip - Elephant Seal Preserve Photo: Claudia Laroye

Elephant Seal Preserve Photo: Claudia Laroye

Big Sur

If you’ve watched the television show Big Little Lies, you’re familiar with the Bixby Bridge that connects Big Sur to Carmel and Monterey. Roughly a 90-mile-long stretch of deeply forested and fog-bound coastline, Big Sur is one of the most iconic sections of Highway 1. The road twists and turns along the coastline, with glimpses of migrating whales or sea otters playing in the kelp. Its small village centre feels like a throwback to the 1960s and is nestled among towering redwoods. Stop into the Henry Miller Memorial Library to peruse the stacks, or enjoy one of its outdoor concerts in the woods. If looking for seclusion or inspiration, the Esalen Institute offers relaxation along with 600 courses in everything from yoga to mindfulness to samba.

California Road Trip - Bixby Bridge Big Sur. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Bixby Bridge Big Sur. Photo: Claudia Laroye

Carmel-by-the-Sea

At its core, charming and romantic Carmel is a village in a forest overlooking a white-sand beach. And what a lovely beach! It’s a walkable, dog-friendly crescent of soft sand giving way to the turquoise waters of the Pacific ocean. Founded by artists and writers that relocated here after the San Francisco earthquake in 1906, Carmel is an affluent haven of creativity and leisure pursuits inspired by nature. Walk along narrow streets with neatly framed whimsical cottages, pop into art galleries and restaurants along Ocean Avenue, navigate the 17-Mile Drive at Pebble Beach (and don’t miss the centuries-old Lone Cypress), visit the sea otters at Point Lobos State Reserve, and take in California’s Spanish Mission history at the 18th century Mission Carmel.

Carmel Beach – Photo: Claudia Laroye

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *