雷克雅未克,遥远,坚固和意想不到的美食家场景

在我访问冰岛之前,人们警告我,在僻静的火岛和冰岛国家,食物和饮料价格昂贵。 由于这是我的清单上的一次旅行,我决定不让它阻止我享受这个偏远的岛国所提供的一切。 令我惊讶的是,我了解到我不必担心打破银行在冰岛吃饭。 随着雷克雅未克的日益普及,这个城市已成为美食家的喜悦,其中包括所有预算的选择。

可能由于他们的隐居,冰岛的大部分食物都以当地无障碍的新鲜食材为中心。 这意味着很多鱼,羊和黑麦面包。 但这并不意味着美食很平淡!


CaféLoki咖啡厅位于Hallgrimskirkja教堂的街对面,毗邻宾馆,是一家家庭经营的餐厅,专门提供经典的冰岛家常菜。 如果您正在寻找快餐或传统的冰岛美食,CaféLoki将会到达现场。 他们还提供我们在冰岛最好的咖啡。 将它与配有大黄糖浆的黑麦面包冰淇淋配对,以获得独特的东西。

冰岛

提供传统食物经常意味着品尝'hakari'。 Hakari用英语翻译成腐烂的鲨鱼,是冰岛臭名昭着的发酵鲨鱼菜。 这道国菜有着浓郁的氨气味,通常会被冰岛的标志性杜松子酒(Brennivin)或黑死病(Black Death)所追逐。

当地人建议冷冻杜松子酒以改善口感。 无论哪种方式,它有助于对抗鲨鱼奇怪的鱼腥味。 我们的当地导游告诉我们,hakari是将鲨鱼悬挂发酵四至五个月的悠久传统,居民通常只在冰岛冬季中期节日期间供应它.þorrablót。

另一家餐厅宝石是Svarta Kaffid汤餐厅。 这家家庭经营的咖啡馆每天准备两份汤,一份传统肉类和一份素食者。 他们的肉汤通常是羊肉汤,因为它是该国现成的肉类来源。 慷慨的部分在面包碗中供应,最好与一品脱的当地啤酒一起享用。

雷克雅未克汤

照片Paige McEachern

如果您正在寻找更复杂的东西,可以尝试Skàl,厨师们在他们的菜肴中使用当地的觅食食材为自己命名。 简单的长桌和非正式服务设施位于HlemmurMathöll美食广场,营造出独特的氛围。 餐点价格是其他餐厅的一半,但质量令人印象深刻。 奖励是你可以看到厨师准备你的食物,他们有很棒的素食选择。

冰岛食物的一个不寻常的项目是热狗。 在该国拥有超过1百万只绵羊和羊肉,因此他们的热狗是以羊肉为主的并不奇怪。 它们是以番茄酱,冰岛甜棕芥末,mayo remoulade,炸洋葱和生洋葱为主的小圆面包。 它可能听起来像是太多的味道,但组合出奇的好! 你可以在雷克雅未克各地买到热狗,但看看自从1937以来一直卖热狗的BæjarinsBeztu热狗摊。

冰岛热狗雷克雅未克

照片Paige McEachern

在准备旅行时,我被告知要免税购买酒精饮料。 抵达后,我发现这是一个聪明的举动,因为与加拿大相比,酒精含量更高。 它也不容易获得。 在雷克雅未克,酒精只在名为Vínbúdin的国有酒类商店出售,其中我们发现很少,仅开放11 am - 6 pm并在周日休息。 我住的地方,你可以在每个杂货店,加油站和便利店购买啤酒和葡萄酒,所以你可以想象这是一个调整。

我必须找出为什么酒精法律如此严苛。 毕竟,维京人不是以饮酒闻名吗? 我发现冰岛的1915大多禁止饮酒,直到1989。 即使其他酒精在1935合法化,维京人最喜欢的啤酒(啤酒)饮料仍然被禁止,直到3月1,1989。 现在情况已经不是这样了,我很高兴能找到很多欧洲啤酒,包括休息的旅游,价格相当合理。

因为无论我去哪里,我都喜欢品尝当地风味,我不得不找出当地人喝的东西。 'Brennivin'的杜松子酒很常见,但冰岛植物的杜松子酒因其更微妙的口味而更受欢迎。 来自Foss酿酒厂的'Bjork'按扣和利口酒就是一个很好的例子。 'Bjork'是冰岛的冰岛语,是冰岛的标志性树木,用于调味27.5%酒精饮料。 这种输液使其比黑死酒更好吃。

照片Voula Martin

与冰岛制造的大多数酒精一样,Bjork采用北极泉水制成。 大多数冰岛伏特加制造商也使用这一过程。 大多数冰岛伏特加都是在冰岛首都雷克雅未克制造的,用纯净的冰川山水制成,经过数英里的4,000岁熔岩。 这种水被发现没有杂质,并且预示着冰岛伏特加的独特味道。 我曾经尝试过Reyka,所以这次旅行我尝试了Reykjavik伏特加。 38%大麦酒精的灵感来自雷克雅未克周围的地热温泉蒸汽。 它可能是清爽的冰岛空气,但我不得不同意它的味道比其他伏特加更好。 我猜我必须再回去确认这是真的。

由Paige McEachren提供

Paige McEachren花费了20公司为全球领先的技术,医疗和制药公司工作。 在2015中,她决定离开专业工作场所留在家中,并帮助她的小孩带着注意力缺陷多动症和诵读困难度过生活。 当不照顾她的孩子时(包括她丈夫在内的3),她喜欢计划家庭度假,与烘焙爱好斗争,想要健康,挑战自己尝试新事物,如果幸运的话,会找到一段安静的时间。 她在她的博客上分享了她无序生活的故事 www.pieceofpie.ca。 你也可以跟着她 Twitter or Instagram.

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. July 30, 2019

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Reykjavik, A Remote, Rugged and Unexpected Foodie Scene

Before I visited Iceland, people warned me that food and drinks were expensive in the secluded island country of fire and ice. Since this was a trip on my bucket list, I decided I wouldn’t let that stop me from enjoying everything this remote island nation had to offer.  To my surprise, I learned I didn’t have to worry about breaking the bank to eat in Iceland. With Reykjavik’s rising popularity, the city has become a foodies delight, and that includes options for all budgets.

Likely due to their seclusion, most food in Iceland is centred around local accessible fresh ingredients. That means a lot of fish, sheep and rye bread. But that doesn’t mean the cuisine is bland!


Across the street from Hallgrimskirkja church, and conveniently just next to our guest house, is Café Loki, a family-run restaurant specialising in classic Icelandic home cooking. If you are looking for a quick bite to eat or traditional Icelandic food, Café Loki will hit the spot. They also served the best coffee we had in Iceland. Pair it with their rye bread ice cream topped with rhubarb syrup for something unique.

Iceland

Offering traditional food frequently means a tasting plate of ‘hakari’. Hakari translates into rotten shark in English and is Iceland’s infamous fermented shark dish. This national dish has a robust flavour, of ammonia, and is usually chased with Iceland’s signature schnapps called ‘Brennivin’ or Black Death.

Locals suggest freezing the schnapps to improve the taste. Either way, it helps counter the odd fishy-ammonia taste of the shark. Our local guide informed us that hakari is a long tradition of hanging shark to ferment for four to five months, and residents usually only serve it during Iceland’s mid-winter festival þorrablót.

Another restaurant gem is Svarta Kaffid soup restaurant. The family-owned café prepares two soups a day, one a traditional meat and one vegetarian. Their meat soup is usually a lamb soup since it’s a readily available meat source for the country. The generous portion is served in a bread bowl and is best enjoyed alongside a pint of local beer.

Reykjavik soups

Photo Paige McEachern

If you are looking for something a little more sophisticated, try Skàl where chefs have made a name for themselves using locally foraged ingredients in their dishes. Located in Hlemmur Mathöll food court, the simple set-up of long tables and informal service creates a unique atmosphere. The meals are half the price as other restaurants, but the quality is impressive. A bonus is you get to watch chefs prepare your food, and they have great vegetarians’ options.

One unusual item of Iceland food is hotdogs. With over 1 million sheep and lamb in the country, it isn’t surprising their hot dogs are lamb based. They are served in a bun topped with ketchup, Iceland sweet brown mustard, a mayo remoulade, fried onions and raw onions. It may sound like too many flavours at once, but the combination is surprisingly good! You can get the hotdogs all over Reykjavik, but check out Bæjarins Beztu hot dog stand which has been selling hot dogs since 1937.

Iceland hotdogs Reykjavik

Photo Paige McEachern

In preparing for the trip, I was told to buy alcohol at duty-free. Upon arriving, I found out that was a smart move because alcohol is much pricier compared to Canada. It’s also not readily available. In Reykjavik, alcohol is only sold in state-owned liquor stores called Vínbúdin, of which we found few, only open 11 a.m. – 6 p.m. and closed on Sundays. Where I live, you can buy beer and wine in every grocery store, gas station and convenience store, so you can imagine this was an adjustment.

I had to find out why the alcohol laws were so draconian. After all, weren’t the Vikings known for drinking? I discovered alcohol was mostly banned in Iceland in 1915 until 1989. Even when some other alcohol became legalised in 1935, the Vikings favourite drink of ale (beer) was still prohibited until March 1, 1989. That is no longer the case, and I was happy to find a lot of European beers available everywhere, including rest stops of tours, for pretty reasonable prices.

Because I like to try local flavours wherever I go, I had to find out what locals drink.  ‘Brennivin’ schnapps is common, but schnapps with Icelandic botanicals are more popular for their more subtle flavours. ‘Bjork’ snaps and liqueur from Foss distillery is a great example. ‘Bjork’ is the Icelandic word for birch, the signature tree of Iceland and is used to flavour the 27.5% alcohol drink. This infusion makes it a lot better tasting than the black death drink.

Photo Voula Martin

As with most alcohols made in Iceland, Bjork is made using arctic spring water. This process is also used by the majority of Iceland’s vodka makers too. Most Iceland vodkas are made in Iceland’s capital city Reykjavik and made with pure glacier mountain water which passes through miles of 4,000-year-old lava. This water is found to have zero impurities and heralded as giving Iceland vodka it’s unique taste. I had already tried Reyka, so this trip I tried Reykjavik vodka. The 38% barley-based alcohol is inspired by the steam rising from the geothermal hot springs surrounding Reykjavik. It may have been the crisp Iceland air, but I have to agree that it tasted better than other vodkas. Guess I’ll have to go back again to confirm that it is true.

By Paige McEachren

Paige McEachren spent over 20 years working in corporate communications for world-leading technology, healthcare and pharmaceutical companies. In 2015, she decided to leave the professional workplace to stay home and help her young kids navigate life with ADHD and dyslexia. When not taking care of her kids (3 including her husband), she loves to plan family vacations, struggles with the love of baking and wanting to be healthy, challenges herself to try new things and if lucky, finds a bit of quiet time. She shares her tales of a disordered life on her blog www.pieceofpie.ca. You can also follow her on Twitter or Instagram.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. July 30, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *